Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “deformable image-registration system,” “anatomical-feature-set-generation machine-learning system,” “anatomical-feature-constraint generation machine-learning system,” and “deformable-image-registration machine-learning system” in claim 1.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The claim limitations “anatomical-feature-set-generation machine-learning system,” “anatomical-feature-constraint generation machine-learning system,” and “deformable-image-registration machine-learning system” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. All the above stated limitations are not present in the specification, and therefore they have no structure available to clearly link the systems and the functions that they perform. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112 , second paragraph.
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 line 11-12 states that an unconstrained map is generated when no anatomical features are present, however, lines 3-10 state the steps required to generate a constrained map. It is unclear if that implies that the steps of 3-10 are optional, since line 11-12 “no anatomical features are generated by the anatomical-feature-set-generation machine-learning system” could indicate that the anatomical-feature-set-generation machine-learning system was never used.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20230114934 (hereinafter referred to as Liao) in view of US 20210059762 (hereinafter referred to as NG).
Regarding claim 1, Liao teaches an improved deformable image-registration system that registers a second image to a first image, the improved deformable image-registration system comprising [See Fig. 10 where a first and second image is input, and a registered image is output. See section 1000 where the image registration system is done through deformation]:
an anatomical-feature-set-generation machine-learning system that generates a set of anatomical features identified in the first image [see paragraph 0088 where a deep neural network is used to extract features from images, which could be anatomical landmarks such as a bladder];
an anatomical-feature-constraint generation machine-learning system that generates or updates a constraint map to include an anatomical-feature constraint based on an input anatomical feature [See paragraph 0097 where the deformation model encodes a deformation field (constraint map) based on features of the image (landmarks/ control points). See also paragraph 0105];
a deformable-image-registration machine-learning system that generates a map or transform representing a deformable image registration of the second image to the first image using a constraint map [See 0098 that with a DNN (deep neural network) the dense deformation field (constraint map) is used to transform a mesh to generate a warped (registered) moving image. The first image is also called a "fixed image" and the second image is also called a "moving image"];
Liao also teaches a controller that generates a constrained map or transform
by deformable-image registration when at least one anatomical feature is generated by the anatomical-feature-set- generation machine-learning system [See paragraph 108 the moving image is transformed by the correspondence-based deformation model using the landmarks that were identified by the neural network in the preprocessing stage].
Liao also teaches an unconstrained transformation map where the features are not segmented into meshes [See Liao 0096 which teaches a dense model, where the entire image is deformed in a similar manner. This indicates that the transformation map is unconstrained since individual structures are not segmented into meshes]
Liao does not explicitly teach using non-constrained deformation when an anatomical landmark is not detected.
Ng teaches using non-constrained deformation on soft tissue images [See paragraph 0204 where soft tissue images (images without rigid anatomical landmarks) are registered using an intensity based (non-constrained) registration].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine a non-constrained method of deformable image registration such as NG when an anatomical feature/landmark (such as a rigid body like bone/ or dense organ) is not detected with a constrained method such as Liao. Additionally, using an unconstrained deformation map for soft tissue when landmarks aren’t present, disregard the need to insert some kind of artificial landmark into the body to properly register the image. The motivation combine would be to reduce the computational processing needed in performing the deformation. Additionally, by applying constraints to the images that have visible anatomical landmarks, unrealistic/ dangerous deformation can be avoided on the registered image, while soft tissue such as fat can be registered in a free form manner to account for its natural elasticity and potential medical concerns (such as swelling or tumors).
Contact Information
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Conclusion
/ANUSHA KASHYAPA/Examiner, Art Unit 2669 /CHAN S PARK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2669