DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 2 and 4-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 03 March 2026.
Specification
The amendments to the Specification received 30 July 2026 are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Augusto et al. (hereinafter “Augusto” US 2005 / 0255649) in view of Akiyama et al. (hereinafter “Akiyama” US 2022 / 0172679).
As pertaining to Claim 1, Augusto discloses (see Fig. 7A, Fig. 7D, and Fig. 7H) a light-emitting apparatus comprising a plurality of pixels (see Page 1, Para. [0012] and Page 3, Para. [0046]) arranged in a substrate (120, 121),
a first isolation portion (102) configured in a trench-type to isolate two adjacent regions (i.e., see regions of (103, 104) separated by (102); and/or see regions of (104, 113) separated by (102)) having different conductivity types (i.e., N-type and P-type) from each other, and
a second isolation portion (119) configured in a trench-type to isolate two adjacent regions (i.e., see left and right central regions (104) on each side of (119)) having the same conductivity type (i.e., N-type) as each other,
wherein a depth of the second isolation portion (119) is larger than a depth of the first isolation portion (102; see Fig. 7A shows 119 is larger than a depth of 102 and see Page 4 through Page 5, Para. [0085]-[0086] and [0092]-[0111]).
Augusto discloses that the light emitting apparatus (see Fig. 7A, Fig. 7D, and Fig. 7H) is applicable to optoelectronic devices comprising pixels that can emit light (see Page 1, Para. [0012]). Further, in this regard, Augusto discloses the implementation of a first isolation portion (102) as a shallow trench portion to provide electrical isolation inside of a pixel while implementing a second isolation portion (119) as a deep trench portion to provide full electrical isolation between adjacent pixels (see Page 4, Para. [0086]).
However, Augusto does not explicitly disclose that the light-emitting apparatus comprises pixels wherein each of the plurality of pixels includes a light-emitting element, a driving transistor connected to the light-emitting element, and a selection transistor connected to the driving transistor, wherein the first isolation portion is disposed between the driving transistor and the selection transistor, as a shallow trench portion inside of the pixel comprising the selection transistor and the driving transistor, and wherein the second isolation portion is disposed between the driving transistor and another driving transistor, as a deep trench portion between adjacent pixels comprising respective driving transistors.
However, in the same field of endeavor and in a manner similar to that of Augusto, Akiyama discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 4) a light emitting apparatus (103; see Fig. 1) comprising a plurality of pixels (102; see Fig. 2) arranged in a substrate (401; see Fig. 4), where each of the plurality of pixels (102; again, see Fig. 2) includes a light-emitting element (200), a driving transistor (201) connected to the light-emitting element (200), and a selection transistor (203) connected to the driving transistor (201), wherein a first isolation portion (see (403) in Fig. 4) is disposed between the driving transistor (201) and the selection transistor (203), and a second isolation portion (see (403)) is disposed between the driving transistor (201) and another driving transistor (i.e., another (201) in an adjacent pixel), wherein the first and second isolation portions (403) are configured in a trench-type (see Fig. 4) to isolate two adjacent regions having different conductivity types from each other (i.e., P and N types; see Fig. 4) and to isolate adjacent regions having the same conductivity type as each other (i.e., P type or N type; again, see Fig. 4; and see Page 2, Para. [0028]-[0029], and [0033]; and Page 3, Para. [0042] and [0044]; and note that Akiyama discloses regions comprising N type and P type, and further suggests that a driving transistor and a selection transistor can be of different types). Akiyama explicitly suggests a light emitting apparatus, analogous to that disclosed by Augusto, that can enable a display with more favorable image quality (see Page 13, Para. [0138]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Augusto with the teachings of Akiyama, such that the light-emitting apparatus of Augusto comprises pixels wherein each of the plurality of pixels includes a light-emitting element, a driving transistor connected to the light-emitting element, and a selection transistor connected to the driving transistor, wherein the first isolation portion is disposed between the driving transistor and the selection transistor and wherein the second isolation portion is disposed between the driving transistor and another driving transistor, as suggested by Akiyama, in order to enable display with more favorable image quality in an application that is particularly suited for the light emitting apparatus of Augusto. In this regard, the combined teachings of Augusto and Akiyama suggest that the first isolation portion is disposed between the driving transistor and the selection transistor, as a shallow trench portion inside of the pixel comprising the selection transistor and the driving transistor as suggested by Augusto, and wherein the second isolation portion is disposed between the driving transistor and another driving transistor, as a deep trench portion between adjacent pixels comprising respective driving transistors, again as suggested by Augusto, in the display application suggested by Akiyama.
As pertaining to Claim 3, Augusto discloses (see Fig. 7A, Fig. 7D, and Fig. 7H) that in a direction parallel to a surface of the substrate (120, 121), an opening width of the first isolation portion (102) is narrower than an opening width of the second isolation portion (119; see Fig. 7A; and again, see Page 4 through Page 5, Para. [0085]-[0086] and [0092]-[0111]).
As pertaining to Claim 18, Akiyama suggests (see Fig. 18) that the light-emitting apparatus is particularly suited for a wearable device (1600) comprising a display apparatus configured to display an image, wherein the display apparatus includes a light emitting apparatus (103) according to claim 1 (see Page 12, Para. [0127]-[0128]).
Again, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Augusto with the teachings of Akiyama, such that for a wearable device comprising a display apparatus configured to display an image, the display apparatus includes a light emitting apparatus according to claim 1, as suggested by Akiyama, in order to enable display with more favorable image quality in an application that is particularly suited for the light emitting apparatus defined in claim 1.
As pertaining to Claim 19, Akiyama suggests (see Fig. 1) that the light-emitting apparatus is particularly suited for a display apparatus application comprising a light-emitting apparatus defined in claim 1, and an active element (201, 203) connected to the light-emitting apparatus (see Page 2, Para. [0028]).
Again, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Augusto with the teachings of Akiyama, such that a display apparatus comprises a light emitting apparatus defined in claim 1, and an active element connected to the light emitting apparatus, as suggested by Akiyama, in order to enable display with more favorable image quality in an application that is particularly suited for the light emitting apparatus defined in claim 1.
As pertaining to Claim 20, Akiyama discloses (see Fig. 15A) that the light-emitting apparatus is particularly suited for a photoelectric conversion apparatus (1100) comprising an optical unit (not shown) including a plurality of lenses (now shown); an image sensor (not shown) configured to receive light having passed through the optical unit; and a display unit (1102) configured to display an image, wherein the display unit (1102) displays an image captured by the image sensor, and includes a light-emitting apparatus according to claim 1 (see Page 10 through Page 11, Para. [0109] and [0112]).
Again, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Augusto with the teachings of Akiyama, such that for a photoelectric conversion apparatus comprising an optical unit including a plurality of lenses; an image sensor configured to receive light having passed through the optical unit; and a display unit configured to display an image, wherein the display unit displays an image captured by the image sensor, and includes a light-emitting apparatus defined in claim 1, as suggested by Akiyama, in order to enable display with more favorable image quality in an application that is particularly suited for the light emitting apparatus defined in claim 1.
As pertaining to Claim 21, Akiyama discloses (see Fig. 15B) that the light-emitting apparatus is particularly suited for electronic equipment (1200) comprising: a housing (1203) provided with a display unit (1201); and a communication unit provided in the housing (1203) and configured to perform external communication, wherein the display unit (1201) includes a light-emitting apparatus according to claim 1 (see Page 11, Para. [0113]).
Again, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Augusto with the teachings of Akiyama, such that for electronic equipment comprising a housing provided with a display unit, and a communication unit provided in the housing and configured to perform external communication, the display unit includes a light-emitting apparatus defined in claim 1, as suggested by Akiyama, in order to enable display with more favorable image quality in an application that is particularly suited for the light emitting apparatus defined in claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 30 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant has generally argued that the teachings of Augusto and Akiyama, as relied upon by the examiner in the prior Office Action, do not disclose or fairly suggest the claimed “first isolation portion” and “second isolation portion” of independent Claim 1 as applied to the claimed plurality of pixels comprising a driving transistor, a selection transistor, and a light-emitting element (see Remarks at Pages 1 and 2). The applicant has not provided any specific arguments beyond a general traversal of the Non-Final Rejection mailed 04 May 2026. The examiner respectfully maintains that the combined teachings of Augusto and Akiyama, as relied upon in the above rejections, plainly suggest all of the features of Claims 1, 3, and 18-21. Augusto discloses the implementation of a first isolation portion (102) as a shallow trench portion to provide electrical isolation inside of a pixel while implementing a second isolation portion (119) as a deep trench portion to provide full electrical isolation between adjacent pixels (see Page 4, Para. [0086]). The examiner respectfully maintains that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Augusto with the teachings of Akiyama, such that the light-emitting apparatus of Augusto comprises pixels wherein each of the plurality of pixels includes a light-emitting element, a driving transistor connected to the light-emitting element, and a selection transistor connected to the driving transistor, wherein the first isolation portion is disposed between the driving transistor and the selection transistor and wherein the second isolation portion is disposed between the driving transistor and another driving transistor, as suggested by Akiyama, in order to enable display with more favorable image quality in an application that is particularly suited for the light emitting apparatus of Augusto. As such, the combined teachings of Augusto and Akiyama suggest that the first isolation portion is disposed between the driving transistor and the selection transistor, as a shallow trench portion inside of the pixel comprising the selection transistor and the driving transistor as suggested by Augusto, and wherein the second isolation portion is disposed between the driving transistor and another driving transistor, as a deep trench portion between adjacent pixels comprising respective driving transistors, again as suggested by Augusto, in the display application suggested by Akiyama.
Therefore, the rejection of Claims 1, 3, and 18-21 is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A number of references including at least Kim et al. (US 2024 / 0292708) and Wakashima (US 2021 / 0159258) disclose the implementation of deep trench isolation at a pixel level and shallow trench isolation at an element level with respect to imaging sensors.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON M MANDEVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623