DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: “eh central flange” should be replaced with “the central flange”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 requires the flanged ends to “substantially prevent movement of each cable insert half within the WCOS.” However, the cable insert halves are part of the WCOS and it is not physically possible for a structure (i.e., the cable insert halves) to be within itself. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as “the flanged ends substantially prevent movement of each cable insert half within the pair of opposed WCSO body halves.”
Claim 4 requires the central flange to “substantially prevent movement of each cable insert half within the WCOS.” However, the cable insert halves are part of the WCOS and it is not physically possible for a structure (i.e., the cable insert halves) to be within itself. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as “the central flange substantially prevent movement of each cable insert half within the pair of opposed WCSO body halves.”
Claim 5 requires the flanged ends and the central flange in combination to “substantially prevent movement of each cable insert half within the WCOS.” However, the cable insert halves are part of the WCOS and it is not physically possible for a structure (i.e., the cable insert halves) to be within itself. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as “the flanged ends and the central flange in combination substantially prevent movement of each cable insert half within the pair of opposed WCSO body halves.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wheater (US 2012/0031609).
With respect to claim 1: Wheater discloses a wireline cased-hole standoff (WCSO) (1) comprising:
a pair of cable insert halves (3), wherein each cable insert half comprises flanged ends (ends of 3 in Figs. 5-6) disposed on opposing ends of the each cable insert half (Figs. 5-6), and wherein each cable insert half comprises a central flange (21);
a pair of opposing WCSO body halves (2); and
a pair of outer low-friction shells (8; ¶ [0033]) configured to reduce friction between the WCSO and a cased-hole (more than one that form a shell over/around part of 7 and aids in reducing friction; ¶ [0028, 0033]), wherein the pair of cable insert halves, the pair of opposing WCSO body halves, and the pair of outer shells are fastened together onto a wireline cable (11; Figs. 1-2, 4-8; ¶ [0033-34]).
With respect to claim 2: Wheater further discloses the central flange is disposed about a middle portion of the each cable insert half (Figs. 5-6).
With respect to claim 3: Wheater further discloses, in view of the 112(b) rejection above, the flanged ends substantially prevent axial movement of the each cable insert half within the WCSO (Figs. 5-6; ¶ [0025, 0037-38]; the flanged ends perform the function in combination with the central flange).
With respect to claim 4: Wheater further discloses, in view of the 112(b) rejection above, the central flange substantially prevents axial movement of the each cable insert half within the WCSO (Figs. 5-6; ¶ [0025, 0037-38]).
With respect to claim 5: Wheater further discloses, in view of the 112(b) rejection above, the flanged ends and the central flange in combination substantially prevents axial movement of the each cable insert half within the WCSO (Figs. 5-6; ¶ [0025, 0037-38]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,125,025 in view of Wheater (US 2012/0031609). The claims are issue are fully encompassed by the claim of the issued patent except for the flanged ends are on opposite ends of each cable insert, the pair of outer low-friction shells are configured to reduce friction between the WCOS and a cased-hole, and the central flange is disposed about a middle portion of each cable insert half. Wheater teaches it is old and well known in the art for a pair of cable insert halves (3) with flanged ends (ends of 3 in Figs. 5-6) to have the ends be on opposing ends of each cable insert half ( Figs. 5-6), for the pair of outer low-friction shells (8; ¶ [0033]) be configured to reduce friction between the WCOS (2) and a cased-hole (¶ [0028, 0033]), and for the central flange (21) to be disposed about a middle portion of the each cable insert half (Figs. 5-6).
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the flanged ends on opposing ends of the pair of cable insert halves of Wheater for the generic flanged ends of the current invention since doing so would perform the same predictable result of providing a projection that aids the structures in maintaining position. It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the friction reducing relationship between the WCOS and cased-hole of Wheater with the current invention since doing so would allow the casing to perform its intended function of providing support to the wellbore and would provide a more efficient system (Wheater ¶ [0011]).
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the central flange in the middle position of Wheater for the central flange in a generic position of the current invention since doing so would perform the same predictable result of providing a projection that aids the structures in maintaining position.
Conclusion
/KRISTYN A HALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672