DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Response filed June 3, 2026 has been entered. Claims 16-30 are pending in the application.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election of Invention I in the reply filed on June 3, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 28, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
locking feature (of the first core member) as recited in line 4 of claim 17;
locking feature (of the second core member) as recited in line 10 of claim 17.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-17, 23-24, and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shibata et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20080312665; hereinafter “Shibata”).
Regarding claim 16, Shibata discloses a clipping system for treating tissue (Figs. 1-2), comprising:
a first clip (10; Fig. 4) including a first capsule (combination of tail portion (15) and fastening ring (18); Fig. 3) extending longitudinally from a proximal end to a distal end and including a first channel (inner passage of ring (18); Fig. 4) extending therethrough, and a first pair of clip arms (11), proximal ends of which are slidably received within the first channel to move the first clip arms between an open configuration (Fig. 3), in which distal ends of the first clip arms are separated from one another to receive a tissue therebetween, and a closed configuration (Fig. 2), in which the distal ends of the first clip arms are drawn toward one another to grip a tissue therebetween, the proximal end of the first capsule including a pivot feature (15a) extending across the first channel thereof (Figs. 3-4); and
a second clip (10; Fig. 1; para.[0034]) including a second capsule (combination of tail portion (15) and fastening ring (18); Fig. 3) extending longitudinally from a proximal end to a distal end and including a second channel (inner passage of ring (18); Fig. 4) extending therethrough, and a second pair of clip arms (11), proximal ends of which are slidably received within the second channel to move the second clip arms between an open configuration (Fig. 3), in which distal ends of the second clip arms are separated from one another to receive the tissue therebetween, and a closed configuration (Fig. 2), in which the distal ends of the second clip arms are drawn toward one another to grip the tissue therebetween, the distal ends of the second clip arms configured to engage the pivot feature of the first clip so that the first and second clips are releasably and pivotally connected to one another in an insertion configuration (e.g., clip arms (11) are configured to releasably connected with tail portion (15; para. [0034]) and at least capable of allowing pivotal movement between clips (10) when inserted into a patient).
Regarding claim 17, Shibata discloses the system further comprising:
a first core member (14) received between and connected to the proximal ends of the first pair of clip arms to couple the proximal ends of the first pair of clip arms to one another (Figs. 3-4; para. [0027]), the first core member including a locking feature (reduced diameter ends of shaft (14; Fig. 4) meet or are an equivalent to the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function (e.g., wings; Spec. para. [0065])) movable between an unlocked configuration, in which the first core member is slidable within the first channel (e.g., prior to and/or while shaft (14) is being assembled into the clip), and a locked configuration, in which the locking feature of the first core member engages a corresponding portion of the first capsule to lock the first pair of clip arms in the closed configuration (e.g., while the shaft (14) is assembled into the clip; Fig. 2); and
a second core member (14) received between and connected to the proximal ends of the second pair of clip arms to couple the proximal ends of the second pair of clip arms to one another (Figs. 3-4; para. [0027]), the second core member including a locking feature (reduced diameter ends of shaft (14; Fig. 4) meet or are an equivalent to the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function (e.g., wings; Spec. para. [0065])) movable between an unlocked configuration, in which the second core member is slidable within the second channel (e.g., prior to and/or while shaft (14) is being assembled into the clip), and a locked configuration, in which the locking feature of the second core member engages a corresponding portion of the second capsule to lock the second pair of clip arms in the closed configuration (e.g., while the shaft (14) is assembled into the clip; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 23, Shibata discloses wherein the pivot feature includes a curved distal surface (annotated Fig. 4 below) configured to pivotally engage a correspondingly curved portion of the distal ends of the second pair of clip arms (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 24, Shibata disclose wherein the pivot feature may be one of machined into a material of the first capsule, stamped from a portion of a wall of the first capsule, and formed of a separate element connected to the proximal end of the first capsule (e.g., the structure of tail portion (15; para. [0028]) is capable of being one of machined, stamped, and formed as claimed).
Regarding claim 27, Shibata discloses wherein the first capsule includes a stop (annotated Fig. 4 below) positioned distally of the pivot feature, the stop configured to prevent a proximal movement of the second pair of clip arms relative thereto when the distal ends of the second pair of clip arms is engaged with the pivot feature of the first clip, in the insertion configuration (e.g., the stop is capable of preventing proximal movement of the second pair of clip arms when gripped by the clip arms).
Regarding claim 28, Shibata discloses wherein the stop is stamped from a material of the wall of the first capsule and bent radially inwards (annotated Fig. 4 above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-22, 25-26, and 29-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 18, the prior art does not show by itself or in combination, the limitation “the enlarged distal end [ of the control member] is releasably received within a proximal portion of the first core member so that the remaining length passes through an opening extending through the pivot feature of the first clip, between the second clip arms and through the second core member to a proximal end that is configured to be accessible a user,” as read with all the limitations of the claim.
Claims 19, 22, 25-26, and 29-30 are objected to as being dependent upon allowable claim 18.
Regarding claim 20, the prior art does not show by itself or in combination, the limitation “a connector received within holes extending through each of the proximal ends of the first and second clip arms and through an elongated opening extending through each of the first and second core members,” as read with all the limitations of the claim.
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon allowable claim 20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Griego (U.S. Patent No. 9763669) disclosing a multiple clip assembly having clips releasably connected to one another (Figs. 30-48);
Boulnois et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20100191257) disclosing a multiple clip assembly having a rails extending through clips and connected by joints (Figs. 5A-7E);
Ortiz Garcia et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230248370) disclosing a clip assembly having a core member (Figs. 4-11);
Yamada (WO 2019131713) disclosing a clip connection that is freely rotatable (Figs. 6-11).
/JONATHAN A HOLLM/Examiner, Art Unit 3771