Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with C.F.R 1.84(u) because view numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation "FIG." MPEP 608.02 V.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with C.F.R 1.84(t) because the drawing sheet numbering must be clear and larger than the numbers used as reference characters to avoid confusion. MPEP 608.02 V.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains the form and legal phraseology of “comprises”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peck (US 6029808) further in view of Chien (US 20190177063).
Claim 1: Peck discloses a blister pack 10 (contact lens package) comprising: a base 11 (accommodation element) which has at least one recess 13 (cup) for accommodation of a contact lens fluid and a contact lens; and a cover 12 (cover film) which is connected to the base 11 (accommodation element) in order to close the at least one recess 13 (cup) (see fig. 1).
Peck does not disclose wherein the accommodation element has, at least in a region of the at least one cup, a coating containing silicon oxide or aluminium oxide.
Chien teaches an anti-contamination contact lens package 100 including a substrate 10 having an inner surface 101 with a receiving groove 11 for receiving contact lenses and a photocatalyst film layer 20 of silicon dioxide (coating containing silicon oxide) formed on at least the inner surface 101 (see P. 0015, 0024 and fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the blister pack 10 (contact lens package) to have a photocatalyst film layer 20 of silicon dioxide (coating containing silicon oxide) formed on at least the at least one recess 13 (cup), as taught by Chien, in order to give the blister pack 10 (contact lens package) anti-contamination properties as the photocatalyst material will convert light energy into chemical energy thereby causing the decomposition of organisms (such as bacteria) when irradiated.
Claim 2: The combination discloses wherein the base 11 (accommodation element) has, in the region of the at least one recess 13 (cup), a wall thickness of less than 0.55 mm which overlaps the claimed range of between 0.05 mm and 0.6 mm (see C. 2 L. 52-54).
Examiner notes that no criticality has been established for the claimed range.
Claim 3: The combination discloses wherein the photocatalyst film layer 20 (coating) has a layer thickness which is between 0.003 micrometers to 86 micrometers which the claimed range of 10 nm and 250 nm lies within (see P. 0019).
Examiner notes that no criticality has been established for the claimed range.
Claim 4: The combination discloses wherein the photocatalyst film layer 20 (coating) has a layer thickness which is between 0.003 micrometers to 86 micrometers which the claimed range of 20 nm and 80 nm lies within (see P. 0019).
Examiner notes that no criticality has been established for the claimed range.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peck (US 6029808) and Chien (US 20190177063) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wills (US 20190015561).
Claim 3: En arguendo, if applicant disagrees that the disclosure of 0.003 micrometers to 86 micrometers obviates the claimed range, Wills teaches a blister pack having a barrier coating 288 of SiOx with a thickness in the range of at least 10 nm and at most 300 nm which contains the claimed range of between 10 nm and 250 nm (see P. 0091 and 0064).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have made the thickness of the photocatalyst film layer 20 (coating) be in the range of at least 10 nm and at most 300 nm, as taught by Wills in order to reduce the ingress of atmospheric gas and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In. re Aller, 105 USPW 233.
Claim 4: En arguendo, if applicant disagrees that the disclosure of 0.003 micrometers to 86 micrometers obviates the claimed range, Wills teaches a blister pack having a barrier coating 288 of SiOx with a thickness of at least 20nm and at most 80 nm (between 20 nm and 80 nm) (see P. 0091 and 0064).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have made the thickness of the photocatalyst film layer 20 (coating) be between 20 nm and 80 nm, as taught by Wills in order to reduce the ingress of atmospheric gas and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In. re Aller, 105 USPW 233.
Conclusion
/ALLAN D STEVENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736