DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (Invention I) in the reply filed on 09/11/2026is acknowledged. The arguments filed have been considered but are not found persuasive. As previously stated, Inventions I and II are related as product and process of use. The inventions can be shown to be distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) the process for using the product as claimed can be practiced with another materially different product or (2) the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product. See MPEP § 806.05(h). In the instant case the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product such as using the C. glutamicum strain in a recombinant process to produce a recombinant protein or enzyme. The reference of US20180037918 (2018-02-08; PTO 892) which is directed toward methods of producing heterologous recombinant proteins by culturing coryneform bacteria including C. glutamicum (see entire publication and claims especially claims 1-18). Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all of inventions are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and of record, and there would be a serious search and examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply: (a) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification; (b) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter; and (c) the inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries).
Claims 8-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-7 are under consideration in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims are drawn to a broad and widely varying genus of C. glutamicum strains having the ability to produce L-lysine, the C. glutamicum strain comprising: a heterologous gene encoding a genus of NAD(P)(+) transhydrogenase subunit alpha, a heterologous gene encoding a genus of NAD(P)(+) transhydrogenase subunit beta, and a gene encoding a genus of myo-inositol permease that is overexpressed by increasing a copy number of the gene, functionally linking the gene with a strong promoter, enhancing a ribosomal binding site, by codon usage optimization of a start codon or of up to the whole gene, inactivation or deletion of a repressor gene, mutation of a repressor binding region of the strong promotor or by a combination of two or more of these measures. According to MPEP 2163:
“For each claim drawn to a genus: The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice (see i)(A), above), reduction to drawings (see i)(B), above), or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus (see i)(C), above). See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
A "representative number of species" means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. See AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co., KG v. Janssen Biotech, Inc., 759 F.3d 1285, 1300, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014)…”
According to MPEP 2163.02:
“The courts have described the essential question to be addressed in a description requirement issue in a variety of ways. An objective standard for determining compliance with the written description requirement is, "does the description clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed." In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989). Under Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1117 (Fed. Cir. 1991), to satisfy the written description requirement, an applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention, and that the invention, in that context, is whatever is now claimed. The test for sufficiency of support in a parent application is whether the disclosure of the application relied upon "reasonably conveys to the artisan that the inventor had possession at that time of the later claimed subject matter." Ralston Purina Co. v. Far-Mar-Co., Inc., 772 F.2d 1570, 1575, 227 USPQ 177, 179 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (quoting In re Kaslow, 707 F.2d 1366, 1375, 217 USPQ 1089, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 1983)).”
The specification as originally filed does not disclose a representative number of species encompassed by the claimed genus by actual reduction to practice. The specification as originally filed does not provide a correlation between function and structure to enable one of ordinary skill in the art to predict which amino acid sequences and structures correlate with enzymatic activity that allow any C. glutamicum strain to produce L-lysine.
Hence, the specification does not provide sufficient written description to inform one of ordinary skill in the art that applicants were in possession at the time the application was filed of the claimed broad and widely varying genus varying genus of C. glutamicum strains having the ability to produce L-lysine, the C. glutamicum strain comprising: a heterologous gene encoding a genus of NAD(P)(+) transhydrogenase subunit alpha, a heterologous gene encoding a genus of NAD(P)(+) transhydrogenase subunit beta, and a gene encoding a genus of myo-inositol permease that is overexpressed by increasing a copy number of the gene, functionally linking the gene with a strong promoter, enhancing a ribosomal binding site, by codon usage optimization of a start codon or of up to the whole gene, inactivation or deletion of a repressor gene, mutation of a repressor binding region of the strong promotor or by a combination of two or more of these measures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN116640791A (08/25/2023; IDS filed 02/27/2025) in view of EP2330184 (06/08/2011; IDS filed 02/27/2025),
Accession B1VI89 (20-MAY-2008; PTO 892), Accession B1VI90 (20-MAY-2008; PTO 892),
Accession Q8NL90 (01-OCT-2002; PTO 892).
CN116640791A teaches a lysine-producing C. glutamicum strain that overexpresses the transhydrogenase gene pntAB from C. glutamicum comprising a subunit alpha pntA (having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID No. 2 and a subunit beta pntB having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID No. 3, and the use of the strain (13032-Cg12680::pntAB) for the fermentative production of lysine. See entire publication and claims especially Example 7, claim 10; and see the document European Search Report received for European Patent Application No. 25159262.2, mailed on July 23, 2025, 7 pages. (IDS filed 02/27/2025). The teachings of the reference differ from the claims in that the reference does not teach the claimed C. glutamicum.
EP2330184 teaches the overexpression of the Cg13058 gene encoding a myo-inositol transporter/permease having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID No. 14, which is identical with SEQ ID No. 12 of the instant application, in a lysine-producing C. glutamicum strain resulting in the increased production of lysine. See entire publication and claims especially paragraph [0027] and Example 4; and see the document European Search Report received for European Patent Application No. 25159262.2, mailed on July 23, 2025, 7 pages. (IDS filed 02/27/2025)
Accession B1VI89 teaches Corynebacterium urealyticum Nicotinamide nucleotide transhydrogenase subunit alpha having an amino acid sequence that is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO: 7 (see attached alignment).
Accession B1VI90 teaches the Corynebacterium urealyticum NAD(P) transhydrogenase subunit beta having an amino acid sequence that is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO: 8 (see attached alignment).
Accession Q8NL90 teaches Corynebacterium glutamicum permease having an amino acid sequence that is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO: 12 (see attached alignment).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify and/or combine the reference teachings to make the claimed invention by modifying the C. glutamicum strain of CN116640791A to overexpress the genes encoding the nucleotide transhydrogenase subunit alpha of Accession B1VI89, the NAD(P) transhydrogenase subunit beta of Accession B1VI90, the permease of Accession Q8NL90. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this in order to obtain a modified C. glutamicum strain that can produce L-lysine and can be used in a process for producing L-lysine comprising cultivating the modified C. glutamicum strain in fermentation broth. It would have been obvious to further modify the C. glutamicum strain to express any and all of the recited enzyme and/or proteins having the recited modifications as routine optimization and/or as desired in order to allow and enable the C. glutamicum strain to produce L-lysine. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have a reasonable expectation of success because C. glutamicum strain to overexpress enzymes are known in the art as shown by the reference teachings. Hence, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of Application Serial No. 18782424. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons.
The claims and/or specification of the copending applications teach the claimed C. glutamicum strain having the ability to produce L-lysine, the C. glutamicum strain comprising: a heterologous gene encoding a NAD(P)(+) transhydrogenase subunit alpha, a heterologous gene encoding a NAD(P)(+) transhydrogenase subunit beta, and a gene encoding a myo-inositol permease that is overexpressed by increasing a copy number of the gene, functionally linking the gene with a strong promoter, enhancing a ribosomal binding site, by codon usage optimization of a start codon or of up to the whole gene, inactivation or deletion of a repressor gene, mutation of a repressor binding region of the strong promotor or by a combination of two or more of these measures. Thus, the teachings anticipate the claimed invention.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/CHRISTIAN L FRONDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1652