DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“actuation assembly” recited in claims 1 and 9
The limitation “actuation assembly” invokes interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because:
(A) The limitation uses a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder for performing the claimed function (“assembly”).
(B) The generic placeholder is modified by functional language (configured to move the truss mover “from a retracted position at least partially below the table top to an extended position at least partially above the table top”).
(C) The generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
Due to the invocation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f), the limitation “actuation assembly” will be interpreted so as to comprise ‘an upper section, a lower section, a first hinge connected to the upper section and to the lower section, a second hinge connected to the upper section and to the lower section, wherein the first hinge connects the upper section to the lower section, and wherein the second hinge connects the upper section to the lower section, wherein the upper section includes a roller support. A first pair of legs fixedly connected to and extending downwardly from the roller support, a second pair of legs fixedly connected to and extending downwardly from the roller support, a first roller end support fixedly connected to and extending upwardly from the roller support, and a second roller end support fixedly connected to and extending upwardly from the roller supper, and wherein each of the first pair of legs is pivotally connected to the first hinge, and each of the second pair of legs is pivotally connected to the second hinge, and wherein the lower section includes an actuation arm, a first actuation hand fixedly connected to and extending upwardly from a first end of the actuation arm, and a second actuation hand fixedly connected to and extending upwardly from an opposite second end of the actuation arm, wherein the first actuation hand is pivotally connected to the first hinge and the second actuation hand is pivotally connected to the second hinge, as taught by the Specification (paragraphs 53 – 58), or an equivalent thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 8, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “each truss ejection assembly” in the third paragraph of the body of the claim. It is unclear as to whether Applicant intends the limitation to refer to at least one of the ‘plurality of truss ejection assemblies’ previously set forth in the claim, or whether Applicant intends the limitation to refer to a ‘truss ejection assemblies’ other than those previously set forth. For the purposes of this Office Action, Examiner will interpret the limitation as “at least one of the truss ejection assemblies.”
Claim 6 and 14 recite the limitation “these pairs of legs.” It is generally unclear as to which ‘pair of legs’ Applicant intends the limitations to refer to. For the purposes of this Office Action, Examiner will interpret the limitations as “each of the first and second pairs of legs.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 8 – 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McAdoo (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2005/0055955, cited in IDS)
As to claim 1, McAdoo teaches a truss assembly table (abstract) comprising: a table frame (figures 1 and 4, elements 24, 28, and 38 being the ‘table frame’; paragraphs 24 – 25); a table top supported by the table frame (figures 1 – 4, elements 18a – 18j being the ‘table top’; paragraph 24); and a plurality of spaced-apart truss ejection assemblies supported by the table frame (figures 6 – 8, elements 80 and 82 being the ‘plurality of truss ejection assemblies’; paragraph 31), one of the truss ejection assemblies (figures 6 – 8, element 80) including: a support assembly supported by the table frame (figures 6 – 8, element 84 ‘support assembly’; paragraph 32), an actuation assembly supported by the support assembly (figures 6 – 8, elements 112, 108, 114, 116, 118, and 102 being the ‘actuation assembly’; paragraphs 36 – 37), an actuator supported by the support assembly (figures 6 – 8, elements 106 and 110 being the ‘actuator’; paragraph 36), and a truss mover supported by the support assembly and including a roller (figures 6 – 8, element 120 being the ‘truss mover’ and one of elements 120 being the ‘roller’; paragraph 37), the truss mover movable by the actuator and the actuation assembly from a retracted position below the table top to an extended position above the table top (figures 6 – 8, elements 120, 106, 110, 112, 108, 114, 116, 118, and 102, wherein figures 6 and 7 depict the ‘retracted position’ and figure 8 depicts the ‘extended position’; paragraphs 36 – 37), wherein in the retracted position, a top of the roller is below a top surface of the table top (figures 6 and 7, element 78 being the ‘top surface of the table top’ and element 120; paragraph 36), and wherein in the extended position, the top of the roller is above the top surface of the table top and configured to vertically lift and longitudinally guide a truss built on the table top (figure 8, elements 120 and 78; paragraph 36).
As to claim 2, McAdoo teaches that the roller is a cylindrically driven rotatable roller rotatably supported at opposite ends by upwardly extending roller supports (figures 6 – 8, left and right ends of element 102 being the ‘upwardly extending roller supports’; paragraph 37).
As to claim 3, McAdoo teaches that the actuation assembly includes first and second hinges configured to pivot to move the truss mover from the retracted position to the extended position (figures 6 – 8, element 116 being the ‘first hinge’ and element 108 being the ‘second hinge’; paragraph 36).
As to claim 8, McAdoo teaches that the actuator has a non-actuated configuration and an actuated configuration, wherein in the non-actuated configuration, the actuator causes the actuation assembly to be in a lower position, and in the actuated configuration, the actuator causes the actuation assembly to be in an upper position (figures 6 and 7 illustrating the ‘non-actuated configuration,’ figure 8 illustrating the ‘actuated configuration,’ and elements 106 and 110; paragraph 36).
As to claim 9, the discussion of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
As to claim 10, the discussion of claim 2 is incorporated herein.
As to claim 11, the discussion of claim 3 is incorporated herein.
As to claim 16, the discussion of claim 8 is incorporated herein.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 – 7, 14, and 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 12 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: McAdoo teaches the actuation assembly including an upper section, a first hinge connected to the upper section, a second hinge connected to the upper section (figures 6 – 7, element 102 being the ‘upper section,’ element 116 and 118 being the ‘first hinge,’ and elements 108 and 114 being the ‘second hinge’; paragraph 36). However, McAdoo does not teach, either expressly or implicitly, the actuation assembly further including a lower section, wherein the first hinge is connected to the lower section, the second hinge is connected to the lower hinge, the first hinger connects the upper section to the lower section, and the second hinge connects the upper section to the lower section, as recited by claims 4 and 12. This is because McAdoo expressly teaches that each of the first and second hinges connects to the support assembly (figures 6 – 8, elements 116, 108, and 84; paragraph 36), rather than a lower section of the actuation assembly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
O’Berg (U.S. Patent Number 5,725,205) teaches a truss assembly table comprising: a table frame; a table top supported by the table frame; and a plurality of spaced-apart truss ejection assemblies supported by the table frame, at least one of the truss ejection assemblies including: a support assembly supported by the table frame, an actuation assembly supported by the support assembly, an actuator supported by the support assembly, and a truss mover supported by the support assembly.
Arent (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2005/0127799) teaches a truss assembly table comprising: a table frame; a table top supported by the table frame; and a plurality of spaced-apart truss ejection assemblies supported by the table frame, at least one of the truss ejection assemblies including: a support assembly supported by the table frame, an actuation assembly supported by the support assembly, an actuator supported by the support assembly, and a truss mover supported by the support assembly.
/CHRISTOPHER J. BESLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725