Status of Claims
The following is a non-final, first office action in response to the communication filed 02/27/2025. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Benefit is given to the priority document 16/714,115 and the effective filing date of 12/13/2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 02/27/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in lines 6-7, “wherein the geometric model including one or more zones” should read . “wherein the geometric model includes one or more zones” for grammatical reasons.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: in lines 2-3, the phrase “mobile device paths within a predefined threshold spatially and temporally to the target building” is grammatically incorrect due to its pairing of the adverbs “spatially” and “temporally” with the preposition “to”. Examiner suggests revising the statement to read “mobile device paths within a predefined spatial and temporal threshold of the target building.”
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 6, “surrounding environment” requires an article, such as “a surrounding environment”.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2, “position of dwell” requires an article: “a position of dwell”.
Claim 11 is objected to for reasons analogous to claim 1.
Claims 8, 12 and 18 are objected to for reasons analogous to claim 2.
Claim 13 is objected to for reasons analogous to claim 3.
Claim 19 is objected to for reasons analogous to claim 9.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 20: “means for providing a model datastore configured to store a spatial processing model” is interpreted under 112(f). The corresponding structure is the data memory 416 disclosed in Fig. 4 and specification paragraph [0033].
Claim 20: “means for obtaining a signal input” is interpreted under 112(f). The corresponding structure is the communication interfaces 152 disclosed in Figs. 1-3 and specification paragraph [0016].
Claim 20: “means for…building a geometric model” is interpreted under 112(f). The corresponding structure is the spatial processing circuitry 154 disclosed in Figs. 1-3 and specification paragraph [0031].
Claim 20: “means for estimating a building footprint” is interpreted under 112(f). The corresponding structure is the spatial processing circuitry 154 disclosed in Figs. 1-3 and specification paragraph [0027].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, lines 3-4 recite “obtain a signal input for a mobile device associated with a target building”. It is unclear whether the signal input is an input to be put in to the mobile device (as suggested by the current wording), or whether it is a signal input to the spatial processing circuitry that characterizes the mobile device (as taught by paragraph [0018] of the instant specification). Furthermore, it is not clear from the phrasing what is associated with the target building: either the signal input, or the mobile device itself. For purposes of examination, this phrase will be read as “obtain a signal input characterizing a mobile device and associated with a target building”.
Regarding claims 2, 8, 12 and 18 lines 2-3 recite “a predefined threshold spatially and temporally to the target building”. It is not understood how a temporal threshold may be defined to a building, because a temporal threshold has units of time and a building exists in a location in space. For purposes of examination, the spatial and temporal threshold will be read as selecting for data within a spatial threshold and gathered over the time a mobile device is within that spatial threshold.
Regarding claim 9, lines 3-4 recite “configured to interpolate the position of the dwell for the mobile device”. The position of dwell appears to designate a single location. It is unclear how a single location may be interpolated, given that interpolation is a process that involves at least 2 points. For purposes of examination, this portion of claim 9 will be read as interpolating between multiple positions of dwell.
Claim 10 contains the same indefinite language discussed regarding claim 1 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim 19 contains the same indefinite language discussed regarding claim 9 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Dependent claims are likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alsehly et al. (GB-2570853-A, cited in the IDS dated 02/27/2025; hereinafter Alsehly).
Regarding claim 1, Alsehly discloses:
A signal processing system (see at least Fig. 1, mobile telecommunications device 1 in communication with server computer 8) comprising:
a model datastore configured to store a spatial processing model (see at least Fig. 4 and page 10, line 16; “Figure 4 is a schematic of a system for training point of interest (POI) classification models for use in a first embodiment”); and spatial processing circuitry configured to (see at least page 8, lines 25-28; “The present invention also extends to apparatus features, such as a user device and/or a server having at least one processor and associated memory storing computer program code for causing the processor to carry out a method as aforesaid…”):
obtain a signal input (see at least page 14, line 10; “A plurality of such devices 1 is provided which report location data to the server 8.”) characterizing a mobile device (see at least page 13, lines 30-36; “The mobile device 1 typically determines location data as it changes location, and sends the location data to the server 8 using one or more of its data communication antennas 6. The location data may comprise estimates of the location of the mobile device 1 (e.g. determined by the location sensor 9) or it may comprise positioning data from which locations of the mobile device 1 can be estimated (e.g. signal source data detected from a plurality of electromagnetic signal sources, or accelerometer and orientation sensor data from which a location of the device 1 can be estimated).”) and associated with a target building (see at least page 15, lines 1-3; “Thus, the existence of spatial features, their types and their locations can be identified from unstructured location data crowdsourced from a plurality of mobile devices 1.”);
based on the signal input for the mobile device, build a geometric model of a signal field for the target building, wherein the geometric model including one or more zones (see at least page 17, line 36 – page 18, line 6; “Location data received in respect of each Geolndex is aggregated, and each location data session or time frame is normalised. The normalisation typically includes extracting the useful data per each reported visit, such as speed, dwell time, number of turns, number of seconds in pedestrian mode/stationary mode/driving mode, and so on, and then assigning an initial weightage to each parameter (which defaults to a lookup table based on data quality indicators). After all Geolndices have been processed then all data from all areas is grouped by classification.” ‘Zones’ are mapped to ‘areas’.); and
estimate a building footprint of the target building based on a bounding shape around a zone, among the one or more zones of the geometric model, representing a probability density of a visit above a predefined value (see at least page 18, lines 15-23; “In a related process, areas in the geospatial database with data quantities above a threshold are located. For each area, the location data received for the area is aggregated per Geolndex. Each location data session or time frame is normalised as per the equivalent step of the training phase. After this is completed, the data is run through each model (obtained from the training phase) to extract a score indicating similarity for the Geolndex with each classification. An attempt is made to classify each Geolndex to one or more models based on the highest similarity score. Polygons (or a spatial feature) are then generated for Geolndices that fall under one (the same) model.” The data represent data collected during visits, see page 18, lines 1-5. High data quantities represent a high probability of visits to this area over all the location data represented in the dataset. Examiner notes that the ‘building footprint’ is not limited to be a boundary representing the external building walls.).
Regarding claim 3, Alsehly teaches the signal processing system of claim 1. Alsehly further teaches:
the spatial processing circuitry is further configured to construct a visitation model configured to predict a probability of a visit by the mobile device to the target building based on a building polygon, approach and exit paths of the mobile device, a dwell time for the mobile device in or around the target building (see at least page 33, lines 6-16; “To integrate Store Visit Confirmation, in particular lnStore classification, the following features have been added: • Mean PDR-based speed (Feature 1); • Mean WiFi-distance-changing-rate/WiFi-based-speed (Feature 2); • Mean heading-changing-rate per PDR-travel-distance (Feature 3); • Length of track-part in between detected turns (Feature 4); and • Corridor matching probability (Feature 5). These features are used on the mobile-side to calculate the rough probability of a segment being within a corridor or in a store.”), and/or surrounding environment.
Regarding claim 4, Alsehly teaches the signal processing system of claim 3. Alsehly further teaches:
the signal input includes a survey answer regarding previous visitation, and the spatial processing circuitry is further configured to refine the visitation model based on the survey answer (see at least page 3, line 35 – page 4, line 6; “The method may further comprise receiving an identity of a site, determining a sub- region associated with the side, and adding the identity and associated sub-region to the identification data. The identity may be inputted by a user who has visited the site, or otherwise (for example generated or allocated automatically, by a user device or otherwise, or otherwise inputted, for example as part of a survey, map service or commercial directory). The sub-region associated with the identity may be determined with reference to sensor data received by a user device associated with the user inputting the identity, for example cross-referencing with fingerprint data as mentioned elsewhere.”).
Regarding claim 5, Alsehly teaches the signal processing system of claim 1. Alsehly further teaches:
the signal input includes a dwell time for the mobile device, and
the probability density of the visit is based on the dwell time (see at least page 33, lines 6-16; “To integrate Store Visit Confirmation, in particular lnStore classification, the following features have been added: • Mean PDR-based speed (Feature 1); • Mean WiFi-distance-changing-rate/WiFi-based-speed (Feature 2); • Mean heading-changing-rate per PDR-travel-distance (Feature 3); • Length of track-part in between detected turns (Feature 4); and • Corridor matching probability (Feature 5). These features are used on the mobile-side to calculate the rough probability of a segment being within a corridor or in a store.” Speed is a measure of time spent traversing a length or distance.).
Regarding claim 6, Alsehly teaches the signal processing system of claim 1. Alsehly further teaches:
the geometric model includes a vector field indicating an entry path or an exit path (see at least the vectors of Fig. 15, reproduced below. Within the Box 1 region, one vector points at an adjacent point, showing that it is an exit from the first point to the second point. Examiner notes that the claim does not specify what is being entered or exited.).
Fig. 15 of Alsehly
Regarding claim 7, Alsehly teaches the signal processing system of claim 6. Alsehly further teaches:
the signal input includes place data (see at least page 13, line 30 – page 14, line 5; “The mobile device 1 typically determines location data as it changes location, and sends the location data to the server 8 using one or more of its data communication antennas 6… Heading data (typically measured by the orientation sensor 7 of the mobile device) is also typically transmitted by the mobile device 1 to the server 8.”) and/or image data, and
the entry path or the exit path is based on the place data (see at least page 35, lines 25-28; “As a part of the mobile-side algorithm, the outdoor/indoor (OI) detection function is applied to calculate outdoor/indoor probability for each segment. These probabilities are then used to detect entrance/exit events using a particle filter associated with position, bearing and signal profile.”) and/or the image data.
Regarding claim 8, Alsehly teaches the signal processing system of claim 1. Alsehly further teaches:
the signal input includes mobile device paths within a predefined threshold spatially and temporally to the target building (see at least page 3, lines 15-23; “A first aspect of the invention provides a (typically computer implemented) method of facilitating the identification of sites visited by a user device within an indoor region, the indoor region including a plurality of sites and at least one transition region, each transition region connecting two or more said sites, and the method comprising generating sub-region data representing a division of the indoor region into a plurality of sub-regions, preferably in dependence on aggregate sensor data received from sensors within the indoor region (or in dependence on other sensor data, or other types of data, obtained within the indoor region, or otherwise relating to the indoor region).”), and the spatial processing circuitry is further configured to interpolate the mobile device paths in proximity of the target building (see at least page 35, lines 32-37; “The SLAM mobile-side algorithm can collect, process and qualify PDR-based tracks while the server-side algorithm can merge uploaded tracks incrementally and update the crowd-sourced database automatically with more qualified track inputs. The SLAM database consists of merged route branches/segments attached with fused PDR/WiFi profiles and fusion weightage.”).
Regarding claim 9, Alsehly teaches the signal processing system of claim 1. Alsehly further teaches:
the signal input includes position of dwell for the mobile device (see at least page 21, lines 1-3; “As mentioned above, the location data may provide a plurality of locations determined by the respective devices or data from which a plurality of locations of the said respective devices can be determined.”), and the spatial processing circuitry is further configured to interpolate the position of the dwell for the mobile device in proximity of the target building (see at least page 31, lines 12-26; “The aim of the project is to estimate the probability of mobile device being in a store which is part of complex indoor layout, such as shopping mall. A trajectory-based solution is provided as both location data and Wi-Fi signals detected by the mobile device along a track are examined to estimate "lnStore" probability. The proposed solution can satisfy at least one of the following objectives: • Developed for large scale smartphone applications with zero calibration and unsupervised deployment. • Can fully utilize location history from sessions with or without Checklns. • Capable of extracting spatial features and signal characteristics to prompt the session for SVC. • Utilize series of events topologically links together along one track…” See also the tracks illustrated in Fig. 12.).
Regarding claim 10, Alsehly teaches the signal processing system of claim 1. Alsehly further teaches:
the spatial processing circuitry is further configured to refine the estimated building footprint based on satellite image data (see at least page 12, lines 14-19; “The presently described process attempts to learn as many POI details as possible with geo-fence (boundaries) from location data collected via a fully unsupervised positioning system, without the need to acquire geo-reference information of the operation territory from businesses or public sectors. However, some publicly available data, such as community maps and satellite images, can be utilised to improve the shape/quality of the geo-fences.”).
Regarding claim 11, Alsehly discloses:
A signal processing method comprising:
providing a model datastore configured to store a spatial processing model (see at least Fig. 4 and page 10, line 16; “Figure 4 is a schematic of a system for training point of interest (POI) classification models for use in a first embodiment”); and with spatial processing circuitry (see at least page 8, lines 25-28; “The present invention also extends to apparatus features, such as a user device and/or a server having at least one processor and associated memory storing computer program code for causing the processor to carry out a method as aforesaid…”):
obtaining a signal input (see at least page 14, line 10; “A plurality of such devices 1 is provided which report location data to the server 8.”) characterizing a mobile device (see at least page 13, lines 30-36; “The mobile device 1 typically determines location data as it changes location, and sends the location data to the server 8 using one or more of its data communication antennas 6. The location data may comprise estimates of the location of the mobile device 1 (e.g. determined by the location sensor 9) or it may comprise positioning data from which locations of the mobile device 1 can be estimated (e.g. signal source data detected from a plurality of electromagnetic signal sources, or accelerometer and orientation sensor data from which a location of the device 1 can be estimated).”) and associated with a target building (see at least page 15, lines 1-3; “Thus, the existence of spatial features, their types and their locations can be identified from unstructured location data crowdsourced from a plurality of mobile devices 1.”);
based on the signal input for the mobile device, building a geometric model of a signal field for the target building, wherein the geometric model including one or more zones (see at least page 17, line 36 – page 18, line 6; “Location data received in respect of each Geolndex is aggregated, and each location data session or time frame is normalised. The normalisation typically includes extracting the useful data per each reported visit, such as speed, dwell time, number of turns, number of seconds in pedestrian mode/stationary mode/driving mode, and so on, and then assigning an initial weightage to each parameter (which defaults to a lookup table based on data quality indicators). After all Geolndices have been processed then all data from all areas is grouped by classification.” ‘Zones’ are mapped to ‘areas’.); and
estimating a building footprint of the target building based on a bounding shape around a zone, among the one or more zones of the geometric model, representing a probability density of a visit above a predefined value (see at least page 18, lines 15-23; “In a related process, areas in the geospatial database with data quantities above a threshold are located. For each area, the location data received for the area is aggregated per Geolndex. Each location data session or time frame is normalised as per the equivalent step of the training phase. After this is completed, the data is run through each model (obtained from the training phase) to extract a score indicating similarity for the Geolndex with each classification. An attempt is made to classify each Geolndex to one or more models based on the highest similarity score. Polygons (or a spatial feature) are then generated for Geolndices that fall under one (the same) model.” The data represent data collected during visits, see page 18, lines 1-5. High data quantities represent a high probability of visits to this area over all the location data represented in the dataset. Examiner notes that the ‘building footprint’ is not limited to be a boundary representing the external building walls.).
Regarding claim 13, Alsehly teaches the signal processing method of claim 11. The remaining limitations of claim 13 are analogous to those of claim 3 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 14, Alsehly teaches the signal processing method of claim 13. The remaining limitations of claim 14 are analogous to those of claim 4 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 15, Alsehly teaches the signal processing method of claim 11. The remaining limitations of claim 15 are analogous to those of claim 5 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 16, Alsehly teaches the signal processing method of claim 11. The remaining limitations of claim 16 are analogous to those of claim 6 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 17, Alsehly teaches the signal processing method of claim 16. The remaining limitations of claim 17 are analogous to those of claim 7 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 18, Alsehly teaches the signal processing method of claim 11. The remaining limitations of claim 18 are analogous to those of claim 8 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 19, Alsehly teaches the signal processing method of claim 11. The remaining limitations of claim 19 are analogous to those of claim 9 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 20, Alsehly discloses:
A signal processing system (see at least Fig. 1, mobile telecommunications device 1 in communication with server computer 8) comprising:
means for providing a model datastore (see at least page 8, lines 25-28; “The present invention also extends to apparatus features, such as a user device and/or a server having at least one processor and associated memory storing computer program code for causing the processor to carry out a method as aforesaid…”) configured to store a spatial processing model (see at least Fig. 4 and page 10, line 16; “Figure 4 is a schematic of a system for training point of interest (POI) classification models for use in a first embodiment”);
means for obtaining a signal input (see at least page 14, line 10; “A plurality of such devices 1 is provided which report location data to the server 8.”) for a mobile device (see at least page 13, lines 30-36; “The mobile device 1 typically determines location data as it changes location, and sends the location data to the server 8 using one or more of its data communication antennas 6. The location data may comprise estimates of the location of the mobile device 1 (e.g. determined by the location sensor 9) or it may comprise positioning data from which locations of the mobile device 1 can be estimated (e.g. signal source data detected from a plurality of electromagnetic signal sources, or accelerometer and orientation sensor data from which a location of the device 1 can be estimated).”) associated with a target building (see at least page 15, lines 1-3; “Thus, the existence of spatial features, their types and their locations can be identified from unstructured location data crowdsourced from a plurality of mobile devices 1.”);
means for, based on the signal input for the mobile device, building (see at least page 8, lines 25-28; “The present invention also extends to apparatus features, such as a user device and/or a server having at least one processor and associated memory storing computer program code for causing the processor to carry out a method as aforesaid…”) a geometric model of a signal field for the target building, wherein the geometric model including one or more zones (see at least page 17, line 36 – page 18, line 6; “Location data received in respect of each Geolndex is aggregated, and each location data session or time frame is normalised. The normalisation typically includes extracting the useful data per each reported visit, such as speed, dwell time, number of turns, number of seconds in pedestrian mode/stationary mode/driving mode, and so on, and then assigning an initial weightage to each parameter (which defaults to a lookup table based on data quality indicators). After all Geolndices have been processed then all data from all areas is grouped by classification.” ‘Zones’ are mapped to ‘areas’.); and
means for estimating (see at least page 8, lines 25-28; “The present invention also extends to apparatus features, such as a user device and/or a server having at least one processor and associated memory storing computer program code for causing the processor to carry out a method as aforesaid…”) a building footprint of the target building based on a bounding shape around a zone, among the one or more zones of the geometric model, representing a probability density of a visit above a predefined value (see at least page 18, lines 15-23; “In a related process, areas in the geospatial database with data quantities above a threshold are located. For each area, the location data received for the area is aggregated per Geolndex. Each location data session or time frame is normalised as per the equivalent step of the training phase. After this is completed, the data is run through each model (obtained from the training phase) to extract a score indicating similarity for the Geolndex with each classification. An attempt is made to classify each Geolndex to one or more models based on the highest similarity score. Polygons (or a spatial feature) are then generated for Geolndices that fall under one (the same) model.” The data represent data collected during visits, see page 18, lines 1-5. High data quantities represent a high probability of visits to this area over all the location data represented in the dataset. Examiner notes that the ‘building footprint’ is not limited to be a boundary representing the external building walls.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alsehly in view of Dodge (US-20190096532-A1; hereinafter Dodge).
Regarding claim 2, Alsehly discloses [Note: what Alsehly fails to disclose is strike-through]:
the signal input includes mobile device paths within a predefined threshold spatially and temporally to the target building (see at least page 3, lines 15-23; “A first aspect of the invention provides a (typically computer implemented) method of facilitating the identification of sites visited by a user device within an indoor region, the indoor region including a plurality of sites and at least one transition region, each transition region connecting two or more said sites, and the method comprising generating sub-region data representing a division of the indoor region into a plurality of sub-regions, preferably in dependence on aggregate sensor data received from sensors within the indoor region (or in dependence on other sensor data, or other types of data, obtained within the indoor region, or otherwise relating to the indoor region).”), and
the spatial processing circuitry is further configured to associate a (see at least page 4, lines 15-18; “A discontinuity may be determined at local maxima or minima of signal strength, which may be tracked in relation to more than one signal source (for example using signal identifiers to keep track of the sources).”).
However, Alsehly does not explicitly teach the use of mobile advertising identifiers (MAIDs).
Alsehly discloses identifying sites visited by a user device, and Dodge is directed to tracking illness through user location tracking. Dodge teaches
the spatial processing circuitry is further configured to associate a mobile advertising identifiers (MAID) for the mobile device to the mobile device paths (see at least [0020]; “According to an embodiment, the server computer 14 receives a data packet including the health information of the user, the pseudonymous ID including the MAID data or MAID data, or both, associated with the user, along with position information of the user from the mobile device 12. Based on the data packet containing the health information, the pseudonymous ID including the MAID/MEID information, and the position information received from the user's mobile device 12, the server computer 14 processes the data to track the movement of the user having the illness.”).
Both Alsehly and Dodge use identifiers to track the position of a mobile user across time. Alsehly does not teach which specific identifier is used, while Dodge explicitly employs mobile advertising identifiers for this purpose. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the MAID taught by Dodge as the identifier in the method of Alsehly in order to implement the position tracking of particular users.
Regarding claim 12, Alsehly teaches the signal processing method of claim 11. The remaining limitations of claim 12 are analogous to those of claim 2 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Conclusion
/ASHLEY BROWN RAYNAL/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/OLUMIDE AJIBADE AKONAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648