DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of the species according to the First Embodiment in the reply filed on 06/22/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 5-11, 17, 18, and 21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/22/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the image bearing member being an intermediate transfer member must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
TITLE - The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
“JUMBO CASE” - The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a unit, a drive source, in claim 1; an operation unit in claim 4.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: In the passage “after an instruction on transfer to the mode is given from a user”, the phrase “on transfer to” is unconventional. For clarity, the Examiner suggest amending the claim to use “an instruction on transition to the mode”, in correspondence with the specification par. [0139]. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 12, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4,435,722 to Kato.
Kato teaches:
(claim 1) An image forming apparatus (Fig.1 & 2) comprising:
an image bearing member (1) configured to rotate;
a unit (24) capable of taking a first state in which a part of a surface of the image bearing member is allowed to be exposed to an outside of the image forming apparatus, and a second state in which the surface of the image bearing member is not exposed to the outside of the image forming apparatus;
a drive source (23) configured to drive the image bearing member; and
a control unit (Fig.3) configured to control the drive source, the control unit being configured to execute a mode in which the image bearing member is rotated by the drive source while the unit is in the first state (col.2 lines 57-65).
(claim 2) The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, in the mode, after the control unit causes the drive source to start the rotation of the image bearing member in a state where a first area of the surface of the image bearing member is exposed to the outside of the image forming apparatus, the control unit is configured to stop the rotation of the image bearing member in a state where a second area of the surface of the image bearing member different from the first area is exposed to the outside of the image forming apparatus (rotation of the drum 1 only while the switch SW is depressed anticipated the claimed second area; col. 3 lines 14-21).
(claim 3) The image forming apparatus according to claim 2, wherein a part of the first area overlaps the second area (rotation of the drum 1 only while the switch SW is depressed anticipated the claimed second area; col. 3 lines 14-21).
(claim 4) The image forming apparatus according to claim 2, further comprising: an operation unit (SW) configured to receive an operation of a user, wherein, in the mode, the control unit is configured to execute a unit operation to rotate the image bearing member by a predetermined amount and then stop the rotation of the image bearing member each time the operation unit is operated (col. 3 lines 14-21).
(claim 12) The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a casing (21) having an opening portion, wherein the unit is an opening/closing member (24) movable between an open position where the opening portion is opened and a closed position where the opening portion is closed, the first state is a state in which the unit is at the open position, and the second state is a state in which the unit is at the closed position, and in a case where the opening/closing member is at the open position, the part of the surface of the image bearing member is allowed to be exposed to the outside of the image forming apparatus through the opening portion (see Fig.2).
(claim 20) The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the image bearing member is a photosensitive drum (col.2 line 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4,435,722 to Kato, as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of US 5,517,281 to Miyashiro.
Regarding claim 13, Kato teaches, image forming apparatus according to claim 12, further comprising: a transfer unit (6) having a transfer member. Kato does not teach the transfer member being movable.
Miyashiro discloses an image forming apparatus (Fig.1) comprising: an image bearing member (3) configured to rotate; a unit (8B) capable of taking a first state in which a part of a surface of the image bearing member is allowed to be exposed to an outside of the image forming apparatus, and a second state in which the surface of the image bearing member is not exposed to the outside of the image forming apparatus; and a casing (8) having an opening portion, wherein the unit is an opening/closing member (upper casing 8B) movable between an open position where the opening portion is opened and a closed position where the opening portion is closed, the first state is a state in which the unit is at the open position, and the second state is a state in which the unit is at the closed position, and in a case where the opening/closing member is at the open position, the part of the surface of the image bearing member is allowed to be exposed to the outside of the image forming apparatus through the opening portion; and further comprising a transfer unit having a transfer member (2), wherein the transfer unit is movable to a first position where a transfer portion where a toner image is transferred from the image bearing member to a member to be transferred is formed between the transfer member and the image bearing member and to a second position where the transfer member is separated from the image bearing member, and the part of the surface of the image bearing member is exposed to the outside of the image forming apparatus through the opening portion in a state where the opening/closing member is at the open position and the transfer unit is at the second position (Fig.1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the claimed mode in Kato to an image forming apparatus configured as in Miyashiro, for at least the purpose of enabling rotation of the image bearing member for visual inspection, thus facilitate servicing of the apparatus.
The modification above further renders obvious:
(claim 15) The image forming apparatus according to claim 13, wherein in the mode, the control unit is configured to cause the drive source to rotate the image bearing member in a state where the opening/closing member is at the open position and the transfer unit is at the second position (Miyashiro: Fig.11).
(claim 16) The image forming apparatus according to claim 13, further comprising: a detection unit (Kato: MS) configured to output a detection signal according to whether or not the opening/closing member is at the closed position, wherein the control unit is configured to, after an instruction on transfer to the mode is given from a user (e.g., opening the door 24), start the mode (upon activation of switch SW) in a case where the control unit detects that the opening/closing member is moved from the closed position to the open position on a basis of the detection signal of the detection unit (open/close detector switch MS activation turns off switch controller SSR1 to enable the mode).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4,435,722 to Kato, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 5,517,281 to Miyashiro.
Regarding claim 19, Kato teaches image forming apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a fixing unit (11) that includes a pair of rotary members configured to rotate and that is configured to fix a toner image on a recording material while nipping and conveying the recording material at a nip portion of the pair of rotary members (Fig.1). Kato appears silent about driving of the rotary members.
Miyashiro, discloses an image forming apparatus (Fig.1); the apparatus body is divided into a lower casing 8A, an upper casing 8B and a fixing portion casing 8C in order to deal with a jam. The upper casing 8B can be rotated about a first hinge 9A so as to be vertically opened relative to the lower casing 8A, exposing a surface of photosensitive drum 3 to the outside. Miyashiro further discloses, when the upper casing is open, driving of the transfer drum 2 and the fixing device 5 is disabled (col. 4 line 57 - col. 5 line 38).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the claimed mode in Kato to an image forming apparatus having an apparatus body configured as in Miyashiro, for at least the purpose of enabling rotation of the image bearing member for visual inspection, thus facilitate servicing of the apparatus. The resulting apparatus thus renders obvious, an image forming apparatus according to claim 1 wherein the drive source is configured to rotationally drive the pair of rotary members, and at least one rotary member of the pair of rotary members is configured not to be rotationally driven by the drive source during execution of the mode.
Claim(s) 1, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,517,281 to Miyashiro in view of US 4,435,722 to Kato.
Miyashiro discloses:
Regarding claim 1, an image forming apparatus (Fig.1) comprising:
an image bearing member (3) configured to rotate;
a unit (8B) capable of taking a first state in which a part of a surface of the image bearing member is allowed to be exposed to an outside of the image forming apparatus, and a second state in which the surface of the image bearing member is not exposed to the outside of the image forming apparatus;
a drive source (22, Fig.11) configured to drive the image bearing member; and
a control unit (Fig.3) configured to control the drive source.
Miyashiro further teaches the first state enables a jam to be easily dealt with, but appears silent about a mode in which the image bearing member is rotated by the drive source while the unit is in the first state.
Kato teaches an image forming apparatus is which a control unit (Fig.3) is configured to control a drive source (23) configured to drive an image bearing member (1), the control unit being configured to execute a mode in which the image bearing member is rotated by the drive source while a door (24) is open exposing a surface of the image bearing member (col.2 lines 57-65). Kato teaches the mode useful in checking proper condition of the image bearing member for image formation.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the control unit of Miyashiro to execute a mode in which the image bearing member is rotated by the drive source while the unit is in the first state to enable an operator to check that the image bearing member is in proper condition for image formation upon clearing a jam.
The combination further renders obvious:
(claim 12) The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, a casing (8) having an opening portion, wherein the unit is an opening/closing member (upper casing 8B) movable between an open position (Miyashiro: Fig.10) where the opening portion is opened and a closed position (Miyashiro: Fig.9) where the opening portion is closed, the first state is a state in which the unit is at the open position, and the second state is a state in which the unit is at the closed position, and in a case where the opening/closing member is at the open position, the part of the surface of the image bearing member is allowed to be exposed to the outside of the image forming apparatus through the opening portion.
(claim 13) The image forming apparatus according to claim 12, further comprising: a transfer unit having a transfer member (Miyashiro: 2), wherein the transfer unit is movable to a first position (Fig.10) where a transfer portion where a toner image is transferred from the image bearing member to a member to be transferred is formed between the transfer member and the image bearing member and to a second position (Fig.9) where the transfer member is separated from the image bearing member, and the part of the surface of the image bearing member is exposed to the outside of the image forming apparatus through the opening portion in a state where the opening/closing member is at the open position and the transfer unit is at the second position (Miyashiro: Fig.10).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,517,281 to Miyashiro in view of US 4,435,722 to Kato, as applied to claim 13 above, as further in view of JP H09185302 to Matsumoto et al.
Regarding claim 14, neither Miyashiro nor Kato suggest wherein in the mode, the control unit is configured to cause the drive source to rotate the image bearing member in a state where the opening/closing member is at the open position and the transfer unit is at the first position.
Matsumoto discloses a cleaning mode for an image forming apparatus in which a cleaning member (14 or 15) is fed to a nip formed between a drum (3) and a transfer roller (4); when a user recognizes “drum fusion” on the surface of the drum, the image forming apparatus is set in the cleaning mode for removing welding and the cleaning member is allowed to pass the nip portion from a manual feeding tray, so that unnecessary substance such as the welding on the drum is removed.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the mode such that if residual toner (i.e., welding, drum fusion) is identified on the surface of the image bearing member during visual inspection (according to the modification in view of Kato), a cleaning operation is performed, as suggested by Matsumoto’s teachings) such that, in the mode, the control unit is configured to cause the drive source to rotate the image bearing member in a state where the opening/closing member is at the open position and the transfer unit is at the first position, for at least the purpose of preventing image defects.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. JP 2007-292984 is relevant to the teachings of actuation of a roller protecting means that is automatically performed with an opening/closing operation of an opening/closing cover of the image forming apparatus.
/Arlene Heredia Ocasio/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852