Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 2, 5, 7 – 9, 12, 14 – 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karplus et al. (US 20180123412 A1) in view of Chen et al. (US 20190074751 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Karplus et al. discloses a LIDAR assembly (device 400) (Karplus et al. comprising:
a first portion/platform (430) and a second portion/platform (410) configured to rotate relative to one another (Karplus et al. Fig. 4A);
a first magnet (426) located on the second portion (Karplus Fig. 4B);
a second magnet (424) located on the second portion (Karplus Fig. 4B),
wherein the first magnet and second magnet are adjacent (Karplus Fig. 4B);
a first sensor (magnetic sensor 490) located on the first portion (Karplus et al. Fig. 4C),
wherein the first sensor is further configured to measure a first magnetic field of the first magnet and a second magnetic field of the second magnet as the first portion and the second portion rotate relative to one another (Karplus et al. Para [0115] lines 1 – 7),
wherein the first magnetic field measurement and the second magnetic field measurement produce a sine wave output by the first sensor (Karplus et al. Fig. 5);
memory that stores computer-executable instructions (Karplus et al. Para [0140] whole paragraph for complete understanding e.g. Karplus et al. discloses an embodiment of a computing system that has a data storage with instructions and one or more processors to access the data storage);
and a processor configured to access the memory (Karplus et al. Para [0140] whole paragraph for complete understanding),
wherein the processor is configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to (Karplus et al. Para [0140] whole paragraph for complete understanding):
calculate a position of the first sensor relative to the second portion based on a zero-crossing data point (see annotated Karplus et al. Fig. 5 below) in the sine wave output between the first magnetic field measurement and the second magnetic field measurement (Karplus Para [0126] whole paragraph).
Karplus et al. does not disclose:
a first magnet arranged with a north pole of the first magnet facing a first radial direction;
a second magnet arranged with a south pole of the second magnet facing the first radial direction.
Chen et al. discloses:
a first magnet (104-1) arranged with a north pole of the first magnet facing a first radial direction (Chen et al. Fig. 2A);
a second magnet (104 – 2) arranged with a south pole of the second magnet facing the first radial direction (Chen et al. Fig. 2A).
Karplus et al. and Chen et al. disclose magnets with magnetic fields therefore, Chen et al. constitutes as prior art. Chen et al. discloses a motor positional sensing device having a rotor with magnets that have alternating magnetic north to south poles and south to north poles. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first magnet arranged with a north pole of the first magnet facing a first radial direction; and a second magnet arranged with a south pole of the second magnet facing the first radial direction of Chen et al. for the purpose of having an circumferential arrangement of magnets having alternating magnetic fluxes in the radial direction to produce more power.
Regarding Claim 2, Karplus et al. and Chen et al. disclose the LIDAR assembly of claim 1, further comprising:
a third magnet (another magnet similar to 426) located on the second portion of the LIDAR assembly (Karplus et al. Fig. 4B),
the third magnet having a north pole that is facing a second direction (Karplus et al. Fig. 4B),
wherein the first magnet, the second magnet and the third magnet are arranged in equal intervals (Karplus et al. Fig. 4B).
Regarding Claim 5, Karplus et al. and Chen et al. discloses the LIDAR assembly of claim 1, wherein the LIDAR assembly further comprises a third magnet (another magnet similar to 426) and a fourth magnet (another magnet similar to 424) (Karplus et al. Fig. 4B),
and wherein the processor is configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to (Karplus et al. Para [0115] lines 5 – 6):
receive from the first sensor (Karplus et al. Para [0115] lines 1 – 7),
as the first portion and the second portion rotate relative to one another (Karplus Fig. 4A),
a third magnetic field measurement associated with a third magnetic field of the third magnet (Karplus et al. Para [0115] lines 1 – 7);
receive (Karplus et al. Para [0115] lines 1 – 7),
from the first sensor (Karplus et al. Para [0115] lines 1 – 7),
a fourth magnetic field measurement associated with a fourth magnetic field of the fourth magnet from the first sensor (Karplus et al. Para [0115] lines 1 – 7);
and calculate a rotational speed (calculating rotational speed is inherently included when calculating rotor position, MPEP 2112 & Karplus et al. Para [0146] whole paragraph) of the first portion relative to the second portion based on a first zero-crossing of the first magnetic field measurement and the second magnetic field measurement and a second zero-crossing of the third magnetic field measurement and the fourth magnetic field measurement (Karplus et al. Para [0146] whole paragraph).
Regarding Claim 7, Karplus et al. and Chen et al. discloses the LIDAR assembly of claim 1, wherein the LIDAR assembly is a part of a LIDAR system (Karplus et al. Para [0097] lines 1 – 4),
wherein the second portion is affixed to a vehicle (device 400 is affixed to vehicle (100) (Karplus et al. Para [0097] lines 1 – 4),
and wherein the first sensor is a Hall effect sensor (Karplus et al. Para [0115] lines 2 – 3).
Regarding Claim 8, Karplus et al. discloses a method (device 400) (Karplus et al. Fig. 4B) comprising:
receiving from a first sensor (one of a plurality of sensors 490) (Karplus et al. Para [0115] lines 1 – 7),
as a first portion (430) of a LIDAR assembly rotates relative to a second portion (410) of the LIDAR assembly (Karplus et al. Fig. 4A),
a first magnetic field measurement associated with a first magnetic field of a first magnet (426) (Karplus et al. Para [0115] lines 1 – 5),
wherein a first magnet (426) located on the second portion (Karplus Fig. 4B);
wherein a second magnet (424) located on the second portion (Karplus Fig. 4B),
wherein the first magnet and second magnet are adjacent (Karplus Fig. 4B);
wherein the first sensor located on the first portion (Karplus et al. Fig. 4C),
wherein the first sensor is further configured to measure the first magnetic field of the first magnet and a second magnetic field of the second magnet as the first portion rotates relative to the second portion,
wherein the first magnetic field measurement and the second magnetic field measurement produce a sine wave output by the first sensor (Karplus et al. Fig. 5);
and calculate a position of the first sensor relative to the second portion based on a zero-crossing data point (see annotated Karplus et al. Fig. 5 above) in the sine wave output between the first magnetic field measurement and the second magnetic field measurement (Karplus Para [0126] whole paragraph).
Karplus et al. does disclose:
wherein the first magnet is arranged with a north pole of the first magnet facing a first radial direction,
wherein a second magnet is arranged with a south pole of the second magnet facing the first radial direction.
Chen et al. discloses:
a first magnet (104-1) arranged with a north pole of the first magnet facing a first radial direction (Chen et al. Fig. 2A);
a second magnet (104 – 2) arranged with a south pole of the second magnet facing the first radial direction (Chen et al. Fig. 2A).
Karplus et al. and Chen et al. disclose magnets with magnetic fields therefore, Chen et al. constitutes as prior art. Chen et al. discloses a motor positional sensing device having a rotor with magnets that have alternating magnetic north to south poles and south to north poles. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first magnet arranged with a north pole of the first magnet facing a first radial direction; and a second magnet arranged with a south pole of the second magnet facing the first radial direction of Chen et al. for the purpose of having an circumferential arrangement of magnets having alternating magnetic fluxes in the radial direction to produce more power.
Regarding Claim 9, Karplus et al. and Chen et al. disclose the method of claim 8, wherein the LIDAR assembly further comprises:
a third magnet (another magnet similar to 426) located on the second portion of the LIDAR assembly (Karplus et al. Fig. 4B),
the third magnet having a north pole that is facing a second direction (Karplus et al. Fig. 4B),
wherein the first magnet, the second magnet and the third magnet are arranged in equal intervals (Karplus et al. Fig. 4B).
Regarding Claim 12, Karplus et al. and Chen et al. discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the LIDAR assembly further comprises a third magnet (another magnet similar to 426) and a fourth magnet (another magnet similar to 424) (Karplus et al. Fig. 4B),
and wherein the method further comprises:
receiving from the first sensor (Karplus et al. Para [0115] lines 1 – 7),
as the first portion and the second portion rotate relative to one another (Karplus Fig. 4A),
a third magnetic field measurement associated with a third magnetic field of the third magnet (Karplus et al. Para [0115] lines 1 – 7);
receiving (Karplus et al. Para [0115] lines 1 – 7),
from the first sensor (Karplus et al. Para [0115] lines 1 – 7),
a fourth magnetic field measurement associated with a fourth magnetic field of the fourth magnet from the first sensor (Karplus et al. Para [0115] lines 1 – 7);
and calculating a rotational speed (calculating rotational speed is inherently included when calculating rotor position, MPEP 2112 & Karplus et al. Para [0146] whole paragraph) of the first portion relative to the second portion based on a first zero-crossing of the first magnetic field measurement and the second magnetic field measurement and a second zero-crossing of the third magnetic field measurement and the fourth magnetic field measurement (Karplus et al. Para [0146] whole paragraph).
Regarding Claim 14, Karplus et al. and Chen et al. discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the LIDAR assembly is a part of a LIDAR system (Karplus et al. Para [0097] lines 1 – 4),
wherein the second portion is affixed to a vehicle (device 400 is affixed to vehicle (100) (Karplus et al. Para [0097] lines 1 – 4),
and wherein the first sensor is a Hall effect sensor (Karplus et al. Para [0115] lines 2 – 3).
Regarding Claim 15, A non-transitory computer readable medium including computer-executable instructions stored thereon, which when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations of (Karplus Para [0140] lines 10 – 14):
receiving from a first sensor (one of a plurality of sensors 490) (Karplus et al. Para [0115] lines 1 – 7),
as a first portion (430) of a LIDAR assembly rotates relative to a second portion (410) of the LIDAR assembly (Karplus et al. Fig. 4A),
a first magnetic field measurement associated with a first magnetic field of a first magnet (426) (Karplus et al. Para [0115] lines 1 – 5),
wherein a first magnet (426) located on the second portion (Karplus Fig. 4B);
wherein a second magnet (424) located on the second portion (Karplus Fig. 4B),
wherein the first magnet and second magnet are adjacent (Karplus Fig. 4B);
wherein the first sensor located on the first portion (Karplus et al. Fig. 4C),
wherein the first sensor is further configured to measure the first magnetic field of the first magnet and a second magnetic field of the second magnet as the first portion rotates relative to the second portion,
wherein the first magnetic field measurement and the second magnetic field measurement produce a sine wave output by the first sensor (Karplus et al. Fig. 5);
and calculating a position of the first sensor relative to the second portion based on a zero-crossing data point (see annotated Karplus et al. Fig. 5 above) in the sine wave output between the first magnetic field measurement and the second magnetic field measurement (Karplus Para [0126] whole paragraph).
Karplus et al. does disclose:
wherein the first magnet is arranged with a north pole of the first magnet facing a first radial direction,
wherein a second magnet is arranged with a south pole of the second magnet facing the first radial direction.
Chen et al. discloses:
a first magnet (104-1) arranged with a north pole of the first magnet facing a first radial direction (Chen et al. Fig. 2A);
a second magnet (104 – 2) arranged with a south pole of the second magnet facing the first radial direction (Chen et al. Fig. 2A).
Karplus et al. and Chen et al. disclose magnets with magnetic fields therefore, Chen et al. constitutes as prior art. Chen et al. discloses a motor positional sensing device having a rotor with magnets that have alternating magnetic north to south poles and south to north poles. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first magnet arranged with a north pole of the first magnet facing a first radial direction; and a second magnet arranged with a south pole of the second magnet facing the first radial direction of Chen et al. for the purpose of having an circumferential arrangement of magnets having alternating magnetic fluxes in the radial direction to produce more power.
Regarding Claim 16, Karplus et al. and Chen et al. disclose the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 15, wherein the LIDAR assembly (Karplus et al. Fig. 4B) further comprises:
a third magnet (another magnet similar to 426) located on the second portion of the LIDAR assembly (Karplus et al. Fig. 4B),
the third magnet having a north pole that is facing a second direction (Karplus et al. Fig. 4B),
wherein the first magnet, the second magnet and the third magnet are arranged in equal intervals (Karplus et al. Fig. 4B).
Regarding Claim 19, Karplus et al. and Chen et al. disclose the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 15, wherein the LIDAR assembly further comprises a third magnet (another magnet similar to 426) and a fourth magnet (another magnet similar to 424) (Karplus et al. Fig. 4B),
and wherein the executed computer-executable instructions cause the one or more processors to further perform operations of (Karplus et al. Para [0140] lines 10 – 14):
receiving from the first sensor (Karplus et al. Para [0115] lines 1 – 7),
as the first portion and the second portion rotate relative to one another (Karplus Fig. 4A),
a third magnetic field measurement associated with a third magnetic field of the third magnet (Karplus et al. Para [0115] lines 1 – 7);
receiving (Karplus et al. Para [0115] lines 1 – 7),
from the first sensor (Karplus et al. Para [0115] lines 1 – 7),
a fourth magnetic field measurement associated with a fourth magnetic field of the fourth magnet from the first sensor (Karplus et al. Para [0115] lines 1 – 7);
and calculating a rotational speed (calculating rotational speed is inherently included when calculating rotor position, MPEP 2112 & Karplus et al. Para [0146] whole paragraph) of the first portion relative to the second portion based on a first zero-crossing of the first magnetic field measurement and the second magnetic field measurement and a second zero-crossing of the third magnetic field measurement and the fourth magnetic field measurement (Karplus et al. Para [0146] whole paragraph).
Claims 3 – 4, 10 – 11, and 17 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karplus et al. in view of Chen et al., and further in view of Tangudu et al. (US 20180342933 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Karplus et al. and Chen et al. disclose the LIDAR assembly of claim 1, further comprising:
a third magnet (another magnet similar to 426), located on the second portion of the LIDAR assembly (Karplus et al. Fig. 4B),
the third magnet having a north pole that is facing a second direction (Karplus et al. Fig. 4B),
wherein the second direction is orthogonally magnetic to the first radial direction (direction from edges 428a to 428b) (Karplus et al. Fig. 4B);
a second sensor (one of a plurality of 490 similar to 390) (Karplus et al. Para [0091 lines 4 – 6 and Para [0115] first sentence),
the second sensor being configured to measure a magnetic field of the third magnet (Karplus et al. Para [0115] lines 1 – 5).
Karplus et al. does not disclose:
a second sensor, located on the second portion of the LIDAR assembly.
Tangudu et al. discloses:
a second sensor (any one of HE1-HE4 140) (Tangudu et al. Fig. 3), located on the second portion (rotor position sensing assembly 100) of the LIDAR assembly (PM machine 1) (Tangudu et al. Fig. 1 and 2A).
Karplus et al., Chen et al., and Tangudu et al. disclose magnets with magnetic fields therefore, Chen et al. and Tangudu et al. constitute prior art. Tangudu et al. discloses a rotor position sensor that comprises a plurality of permanent magnets and a Hall Effect Sensor to measure the magnetic field of the plurality of magnets. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a second sensor, located on the second portion of the LIDAR assembly of Tangudu et al. for the purpose of having an accurate measurement and determination at low or zero speed on the rotating assembly.
Regarding Claim 4, Karplus et al., Chen et al., and Tangudu et al. disclose the LIDAR assembly of claim 3, wherein the processor is configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to (Karplus et al. Para [0115] lines 5 – 6).
Karplus et al. does not disclose:
receive a third magnetic field measurement from the second sensor based on a proximity of the third magnetic field of the third magnet to the second sensor;
compare the third magnetic field measurement of the second sensor to a threshold magnetic field value;
and identify, based on the third magnetic field measurement of the second sensor being greater than or equal to the threshold magnetic field value, that the second sensor has reached a position of the third magnet.
Karplus et al. and Tangudu et al. structurally disclose:
receive a third magnetic field measurement (y-maximum 508) (of Karplus et al. Fig. 5) from the second sensor (of Tangudu et al. Fig. 2B) based on a proximity of the third magnetic field of the third magnet (of Karplus et al. 4B) to the second sensor (of Tangudu et al. Fig. 2B);
compare the third magnetic field measurement of the second sensor (of Tangudu et al. Fig. 2B) to a threshold magnetic field value (also 508, above, Karplus et al. annotated Fig. 5 shows a mapping of magnetic field positions measured between magnets and through using the processor, a comparison is drawn to determine and modulate absolute positions of the second portion relative to detected magnetic field measurements);
and identify (Karplus et al. Para [0128] lines 3 – 6), based on the third magnetic field measurement of the second sensor (of Tangudu et al. Fig. 2B) being greater than or equal to the threshold magnetic field value (Karplus et al. Fig. 5), that the second sensor has reached a position of the third magnet (Karplus et al. Para [0128] lines 1 – 3).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive a third magnetic field measurement from the second sensor based on a proximity of the third magnetic field of the third magnet to the second sensor; compare the third magnetic field measurement of the second sensor to a threshold magnetic field value; and identify, based on the third magnetic field measurement of the second sensor being greater than or equal to the threshold magnetic field value, that the second sensor has reached a position of the third magnet of structurally disclosed Karplus et al. and Tangudu et al. for the purpose of making precise and reliable magnetic field measurements for the LIDAR assembly.
Regarding Claim 10, Karplus et al. and Chen et al. disclose the method of claim 8,
wherein the LIDAR assembly (Karplus et al. Fig. 4B) further comprises:
a third magnet (another magnet similar to 426), located on the second portion of the LIDAR assembly (Karplus et al. Fig. 4B),
the third magnet having a north pole that is facing a second direction (Karplus et al. Fig. 4B),
wherein the second direction is orthogonally magnetic to the first radial direction (direction from edges 428a to 428b) (Karplus et al. Fig. 4B);
a second sensor (one of a plurality of 490 similar to 390) (Karplus et al. Para [0091 lines 4 – 6 and Para [0115] first sentence),
the second sensor being configured to measure a magnetic field of the third magnet (Karplus et al. Para [0115] lines 1 – 5).
Karplus et al. does not disclose:
a second sensor, located on the second portion of the LIDAR assembly.
Tangudu et al. discloses:
a second sensor (any one of HE1-HE4 140) (Tangudu et al. Fig. 3), located on the second portion (rotor position sensing assembly 100) of the LIDAR assembly (PM machine 1) (Tangudu et al. Fig. 1 and 2A).
Karplus et al., Chen et al., and Tangudu et al. disclose magnets with magnetic fields therefore, Chen et al. and Tangudu et al. constitute prior art. Tangudu et al. discloses a rotor position sensor that comprises a plurality of permanent magnets and a Hall Effect Sensor to measure the magnetic field of the plurality of magnets. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a second sensor, located on the second portion of the LIDAR assembly of Tangudu et al. for the purpose of having an accurate measurement and determination at low or zero speed on the rotating assembly.
Regarding Claim 11, Karplus et al., Chen et al., and Tangudu et al. disclose the method of claim 10.
Karplus et al. does not disclose:
receiving a third magnetic field measurement from the second sensor based on a proximity of the third magnetic field of the third magnet to the second sensor;
comparing the third magnetic field measurement of the second sensor to a threshold magnetic field value;
and identifying, based on the third magnetic field measurement of the second sensor being greater than or equal to the threshold magnetic field value, that the second sensor has reached a position of the third magnet.
Karplus et al. and Tangudu et al. structurally disclose:
receiving a third magnetic field measurement (y-maximum 508) (of Karplus et al. Fig. 5) from the second sensor (of Tangudu et al. Fig. 2B) based on a proximity of the third magnetic field of the third magnet (of Karplus et al. 4B) to the second sensor (of Tangudu et al. Fig. 2B);
comparing the third magnetic field measurement of the second sensor (of Tangudu et al. Fig. 2B) to a threshold magnetic field value (also 508, above, Karplus et al. annotated Fig. 5 shows a mapping of magnetic field positions measured between magnets and through using the processor, a comparison is drawn to determine and modulate absolute positions of the second portion relative to detected magnetic field measurements);
and identifying (Karplus et al. Para [0128] lines 3 – 6), based on the third magnetic field measurement of the second sensor (of Tangudu et al. Fig. 2B) being greater than or equal to the threshold magnetic field value (Karplus et al. Fig. 5), that the second sensor has reached a position of the third magnet (Karplus et al. Para [0128] lines 1 – 3).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receiving a third magnetic field measurement from the second sensor based on a proximity of the third magnetic field of the third magnet to the second sensor; comparing the third magnetic field measurement of the second sensor to a threshold magnetic field value; and identifying, based on the third magnetic field measurement of the second sensor being greater than or equal to the threshold magnetic field value, that the second sensor has reached a position of the third magnet of structurally disclosed Karplus et al. and Tangudu et al. for the purpose of making precise and reliable magnetic field measurements for the LIDAR assembly.
Regarding Claim 17, Karplus et al. and Chen et al. disclose the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 15, wherein the LIDAR assembly (Karplus et al. Fig. 4B) further comprises:
a third magnet (another magnet similar to 426), located on the second portion of the LIDAR assembly (Karplus et al. Fig. 4B),
the third magnet having a north pole that is facing a second direction (Karplus et al. Fig. 4B),
wherein the second direction is orthogonally magnetic to the first radial direction (direction from edges 428a to 428b) (Karplus et al. Fig. 4B);
a second sensor (one of a plurality of 490 similar to 390) (Karplus et al. Para [0091 lines 4 – 6 and Para [0115] first sentence),
the second sensor being configured to measure a magnetic field of the third magnet (Karplus et al. Para [0115] lines 1 – 5).
Karplus et al. does not disclose:
a second sensor, located on the second portion of the LIDAR assembly.
Tangudu et al. discloses:
a second sensor (any one of HE1-HE4 140) (Tangudu et al. Fig. 3), located on the second portion (rotor position sensing assembly 100) of the LIDAR assembly (PM machine 1) (Tangudu et al. Fig. 1 and 2A).
Karplus et al., Chen et al., and Tangudu et al. disclose magnets with magnetic fields therefore, Chen et al. and Tangudu et al. constitute prior art. Tangudu et al. discloses a rotor position sensor that comprises a plurality of permanent magnets and a Hall Effect Sensor to measure the magnetic field of the plurality of magnets. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a second sensor, located on the second portion of the LIDAR assembly of Tangudu et al. for the purpose of having an accurate measurement and determination at low or zero speed on the rotating assembly.
Regarding Claim 18, Karplus et al., Chen et al., and Tangudu et al. disclose the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 17, wherein the executed computer-executable instructions cause the one or more processors to further perform operations of (Karplus Para [0140] lines 10 – 14):
Karplus et al. does not disclose:
receiving a third magnetic field measurement from the second sensor based on a proximity of the third magnetic field of the third magnet to the second sensor;
comparing the third magnetic field measurement of the second sensor to a threshold magnetic field value;
and identifying, based on the third magnetic field measurement of the second sensor being greater than or equal to the threshold magnetic field value, that the second sensor has reached a position of the third magnet.
Karplus et al. and Tangudu et al. structurally disclose:
receiving a third magnetic field measurement (y-maximum 508) (of Karplus et al. Fig. 5) from the second sensor (of Tangudu et al. Fig. 2B) based on a proximity of the third magnetic field of the third magnet (of Karplus et al. 4B) to the second sensor (of Tangudu et al. Fig. 2B);
comparing the third magnetic field measurement of the second sensor (of Tangudu et al. Fig. 2B) to a threshold magnetic field value (also 508, above, Karplus et al. annotated Fig. 5 shows a mapping of magnetic field positions measured between magnets and through using the processor, a comparison is drawn to determine and modulate absolute positions of the second portion relative to detected magnetic field measurements);
and identifying (Karplus et al. Para [0128] lines 3 – 6), based on the third magnetic field measurement of the second sensor (of Tangudu et al. Fig. 2B) being greater than or equal to the threshold magnetic field value (Karplus et al. Fig. 5), that the second sensor has reached a position of the third magnet (Karplus et al. Para [0128] lines 1 – 3).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receiving a third magnetic field measurement from the second sensor based on a proximity of the third magnetic field of the third magnet to the second sensor; comparing the third magnetic field measurement of the second sensor to a threshold magnetic field value; and identifying, based on the third magnetic field measurement of the second sensor being greater than or equal to the threshold magnetic field value, that the second sensor has reached a position of the third magnet of structurally disclosed Karplus et al. and Tangudu et al. for the purpose of making precise and reliable magnetic field measurements for the LIDAR assembly.
Claims 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karplus et al. in view of Chen et al., and further in view of Beckman et al. (US 20180083503 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Karplus et al. and Chen et al. disclose the LIDAR assembly of claim 1, further comprising:
a third magnet (another magnet similar to 426), located on the second portion of the LIDAR assembly (Karplus et al. Fig. 4B),
the third magnet having a north pole that is facing a second direction (Karplus et al. Fig. 4B).
Karplus et al. and Chen et al. do not disclose:
wherein the first magnet, the second magnet and the third magnet are arranged in non-equal intervals.
Beckman et al. discloses:
wherein the first magnet, the second magnet and the third magnet are arranged in non-equal intervals (Beckman et al. Para [0031] lines 4 – 9 disclose a plurality of magnets 212 can have random spacing between each other).
Karplus et al., Chen et al., and Beckman et al. disclose magnets therefore, Beckman et al. constitutes as prior art. Beckman et al. discloses a rotor having a plurality of magnets that can have random spacing between each other. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the first magnet, the second magnet and the third magnet are arranged in non-equal intervals of Beckman et al. for the purpose of controlling the magnetic field strength, distribution, and direction of the magnets in the LIDAR assembly.
Regarding Claim 13, Karplus et al. and Chen et al. disclose the method of claim 8,
wherein the LIDAR assembly (Karplus et al. Fig. 4B) further comprises:
a third magnet (another magnet similar to 426), located on the second portion of the LIDAR assembly (Karplus et al. Fig. 4B),
the third magnet having a north pole that is facing a second direction (Karplus et al. Fig. 4B).
Karplus et al. and Chen et al. do not disclose:
wherein the first magnet, the second magnet and the third magnet are arranged in non-equal intervals.
Beckman et al. discloses:
wherein the first magnet, the second magnet and the third magnet are arranged in non-equal intervals (Beckman et al. Para [0031] lines 4 – 9 disclose a plurality of magnets 212 can have random spacing between each other).
Karplus et al., Chen et al., and Beckman et al. disclose magnets therefore, Beckman et al. constitutes as prior art. Beckman et al. discloses a rotor having a plurality of magnets that can have random spacing between each other. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the first magnet, the second magnet and the third magnet are arranged in non-equal intervals of Beckman et al. for the purpose of controlling the magnetic field strength, distribution, and direction of the magnets in the LIDAR assembly.
Regarding Claim 20, Karplus et al. and Chen et al. disclose the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 15, wherein the LIDAR assembly (Karplus et al. Fig. 4B) further comprises:
a third magnet (another magnet similar to 426), located on the second portion of the LIDAR assembly (Karplus et al. Fig. 4B),
the third magnet having a north pole that is facing a second direction (Karplus et al. Fig. 4B).
Karplus et al. and Chen et al. do not disclose:
wherein the first magnet, the second magnet and the third magnet are arranged in non-equal intervals.
Beckman et al. discloses:
wherein the first magnet, the second magnet and the third magnet are arranged in non-equal intervals (Beckman et al. Para [0031] lines 4 – 9 disclose a plurality of magnets 212 can have random spacing between each other).
Karplus et al., Chen et al., and Beckman et al. disclose magnets therefore, Beckman et al. constitutes as prior art. Beckman et al. discloses a rotor having a plurality of magnets that can have random spacing between each other. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the first magnet, the second magnet and the third magnet are arranged in non-equal intervals of Beckman et al. for the purpose of controlling the magnetic field strength, distribution, and direction of the magnets in the LIDAR assembly.
Conclusion
/THEODORE L PERKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TERRANCE L KENERLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834