DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Application filed on 02/27/2025.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d).
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 2 and 12 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 recites “the two adjacent cycles” in line 9. Said limitation lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 12 recites “a power transformer” in line 6. It appears that it should be “the power trasformer”.
Claim 13recites “the two adjacent cycles” in line 11. Said limitation lacks antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “An output control circuit, comprising: a power transformer, a secondary power loop, and a secondary control circuit, wherein one power transformer is configured, and the secondary power loop does not comprise an inductor…”
It is submitted that is unclear how many transformer Applicant is attempting to claim. Since the drawings shows a single transformer, for examination purpose, the Examiner is going to assume that “a power transformer” and “one power transformer” are the same.
Claim 12 recites similar features, therefore is also rejected for the same reasons as stated above with respect to claim 1.
Claims 2 – 11 and 13 – 20 depends directly and indirectly from claims 1 and 12, and therefore, are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 2 and 12 – 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pub. No. 2020/0313561; (hereinafter Moore).
Regarding claim 1, Moore [e.g. Fig. 2B] discloses an output control circuit, comprising: a power transformer [e.g. 102], a secondary power loop [e.g. 104-106], and a secondary control circuit [e.g. 108, 256], wherein one power transformer is configured [e.g. 102], and the secondary power loop does not comprise an inductor [e.g. as shown]; wherein a first terminal of the secondary control circuit [e.g. Vfb2] is electrically connected to at least one load [e.g. 238], a second terminal of the secondary control circuit [e.g. Vc2] is electrically connected to a first control terminal of the secondary power loop [e.g. control terminal of 223 receiving control signal Vc2], and a third terminal [e.g. Vc1] of the secondary control circuit is electrically connected to a second control terminal of the secondary power loop [e.g. control terminal of 226 receiving control signal Vc1]; a first terminal of the secondary power loop [e.g. Vsec2] is electrically connected to a first terminal [e.g. center tap 216/218] of a secondary winding of the power transformer, a second terminal of the secondary power loop [e.g. Vsec1] is electrically connected to a second terminal of the secondary winding of the power transformer [e.g. center tap 214/216], and the at least one load is connected in series in the secondary power loop [e.g. load 238]; the secondary control circuit is configured to acquire an electrical signal on the at least one load [e.g. Vfb2], and transmit a control signal [e.g. Vc2] to the secondary power loop based on the electrical signal, wherein the electrical signal is used for representing energy required by the at least one load [e.g. paragraph 048 recites “control signal VC2 can be used to provide gating signals to secondary switch 222 to regulate the output voltage VO2 (i.e., the CV2 output)”]; and the secondary power loop is configured to, based on the control signal, convert energy stored in the power transformer [e.g. VSEC2] into at least one power output [e.g. VO2], and transmit one of the at least one power output to each of the at least one load [e.g. 238].
Regarding claim 12, Moore [e.g. Fig. 2B] discloses a switching power supply, comprising a primary power loop [e.g. 101, 110, 112, 152, GND, 103] and an output control circuit [e.g. 104, 106, 214 - 218], wherein the primary power loop is electrically connected to the output control circuit; the primary power loop is configured to control energy storage and transfer for a power transformer in the output control circuit [e.g. by turning on/off of switch 152], such that the output control circuit control a magnitude of a power [e.g. by on/off of 223 using Vc2] required by at least one load [e.g. 238]; and the output control circuit comprises: a power transformer [e.g. 102], a secondary power loop [e.g. 104, 106], and a secondary control circuit [e.g. 260, 256], wherein one power transformer is configured, and the secondary power loop does not comprise an inductor [e.g. as shown]; wherein a first terminal of the secondary control circuit [e.g. Vfb2] is electrically connected to at least one load [e.g. 238], a second terminal of the secondary control circuit [e.g. Vc2] is electrically connected to a first control terminal of the secondary power loop [e.g. control terminal of 223 receiving control signal Vc2], and a third terminal [e.g. Vc1] of the secondary control circuit is electrically connected to a second control terminal of the secondary power loop [e.g. control terminal of 226 receiving control signal Vc1]; a first terminal of the secondary power loop [e.g. Vsec2] is electrically connected to a first terminal [e.g. center tap 216/218] of a secondary winding of the power transformer, a second terminal of the secondary power loop [e.g. Vsec1] is electrically connected to a second terminal of the secondary winding of the power transformer [e.g. center tap 214/216], and the at least one load is connected in series in the secondary power loop [e.g. load 238]; the secondary control circuit is configured to acquire an electrical signal on the at least one load [e.g. Vfb2], and transmit a control signal [e.g. Vc2] to the secondary power loop based on the electrical signal, wherein the electrical signal is used for representing energy required by the at least one load [e.g. paragraph 048 recites “control signal VC2 can be used to provide gating signals to secondary switch 222 to regulate the output voltage VO2 (i.e., the CV2 output)”]; and the secondary power loop is configured to, based on the control signal, convert energy stored in the power transformer [e.g. VSEC2] into at least one power output [e.g. VO2], and transmit one of the at least one power output to each of the at least one load [e.g. 238].
Regarding claim 2 and claim 13, Moore [e.g. Fig. 2B] discloses wherein in a case where the at least one load comprises a first load [e.g. 236] and a second load [e.g. 283, 284], with respect to each cycle where the power transformer is in an energy release state, the secondary power loop is configured to, based on the control signal [e.g. Vc2], divide the energy stored in the power transformer into a first power output [e.g. Vo2] and a second power output [e.g. Vo3], transmit the first power output [e.g. IL2] to the first load, and transmit the second power output [e.g. IL3] to the second load; or, with respect to two adjacent cycles where the power transformer is in an energy release state, the secondary power loop is configured to, based on the control signal, convert the energy stored in the power transformer into a first power output and transmit the first power output to the first load within a previous cycle of the two adjacent cycles, and convert the energy stored in the power transformer into a second power output and transmit the second power output to the second load within a subsequent cycle of the two adjacent cycles; or in a case where the at least one load comprises one load, with respect to each cycle where the power transformer is in an energy release state, the secondary power loop is configured to, based on the control signal, convert the energy stored in the power transformer into one power output and transmit the one power output to the one load.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claims 3 – 5 and 14 – 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore in view of US Pub. No. 2018/0019587; (hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 3 and claim 14, Moore fails to disclose further comprising: a power supply absorption circuit; wherein an input terminal of the power supply absorption circuit is electrically connected to the first terminal of the secondary winding of the power transformer or a third terminal of the secondary power loop, and an output terminal of the power supply absorption circuit is electrically connected to a power terminal of the secondary control circuit; and the power supply absorption circuit is configured to provide an operating voltage to the secondary control circuit to start the secondary control circuit.
Chen [e.g. Fig. 3] teaches further comprising: a power supply absorption circuit [e.g. C1]; wherein an input terminal of the power supply absorption circuit is electrically connected to the first terminal of the secondary winding of the power transformer [e.g. via D1] or a third terminal of the secondary power loop, and an output terminal of the power supply absorption circuit is electrically connected to a power terminal of the secondary control circuit [e.g. GND]; and the power supply absorption circuit is configured to provide an operating voltage [e.g. Vcc] to the secondary control circuit [e.g. 310] to start the secondary control circuit [e.g. paragraph 020 recites “The power supply voltage VCC stored across an output capacitor C1 cannot drive a Vbus power terminal in a downstream facing port (DFP) 110 of a USB cable 115 until a secondary controller 310 detects the discharge of either a CC1 terminal or a CC2 terminal in DFP port 110. The default, no device connection to USB cable 115 state of a Vbus power switch transistor S2 is off. But when secondary controller 310 detects the discharge of either the CC1 terminal or the CC2 terminal (which one being discharged depending upon the particular orientation of USB cable 115 as connected by a user), secondary controller 310 begins a soft-start of Vbus power switch transistor S2 after the expiration of the de-bouncing period”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Moore by further comprising: a power supply absorption circuit; wherein an input terminal of the power supply absorption circuit is electrically connected to the first terminal of the secondary winding of the power transformer or a third terminal of the secondary power loop, and an output terminal of the power supply absorption circuit is electrically connected to a power terminal of the secondary control circuit; and the power supply absorption circuit is configured to provide an operating voltage to the secondary control circuit to start the secondary control circuit as taught by Chen in order of being able to provide soft start so as to avoid over current during start period.
Regarding claim 4 and claim 15, Moore fails to disclose wherein the power supply absorption circuit is further configured to absorb a spike voltage generated by the secondary power loop in a case where the secondary power loop converts the energy stored in the power transformer into at least one power output.
Chen [e.g. Figs. 3 and 5] teaches wherein the power supply absorption circuit is further configured to absorb a spike voltage generated by the secondary power loop [e.g. Fig. 5; spike at t2 Vbus absorbed at Vcc] in a case where the secondary power loop converts the energy stored in the power transformer into at least one power output [e.. paragraph 025 recites “The Vbus voltage also begins ramping up but does not exceed the Vbus rise threshold voltage due to the presence of a short circuit, which causes the output current I_discharge through the Vbus switch transistor S2 to exceed the output current limit for the power converter but not to exceed the maximum current rating of Vbus switch transistor S2. The relatively robust output current supplied by the output capacitor C1 causes the power supply voltage VCC to drop below the VCC short circuit detection threshold voltage at a time t2”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Moore by wherein the power supply absorption circuit is further configured to absorb a spike voltage generated by the secondary power loop in a case where the secondary power loop converts the energy stored in the power transformer into at least one power output as taught by Chen in order of being able to provide soft start so as to avoid over current during start period.
Regarding claim 5 and claim 16, Moore fails to disclose wherein the power supply absorption circuit comprises a diode and a first capacitor; wherein a first terminal of the diode is electrically connected to the first terminal of the secondary windings of the power transformer or the third terminal of the secondary power loop, a second terminal of the diode is electrically connected to a first terminal of the first capacitor, a second terminal of the first capacitor is grounded, and the power terminal of the secondary control circuit is electrically connected between the second terminal of the diode and the first terminal of the first capacitor.
Chen [e.g. Figs. 3] teaches wherein the power supply absorption circuit comprises a diode [e.g. D1] and a first capacitor [e.g. C1] ; wherein a first terminal of the diode [e.g. anode] is electrically connected to the first terminal of the secondary windings of the power transformer [e.g. upper terminal of T2] or the third terminal of the secondary power loop, a second terminal of the diode [e.g. cathode] is electrically connected to a first terminal of the first capacitor [e.g. upper terminal], a second terminal of the first capacitor is grounded [e.g. lower termina of C1 is grounded at GND], and the power terminal of the secondary control circuit is electrically connected between the second terminal of the diode and the first terminal of the first capacitor [e.g. Vcc to 310 is located between cathode of D1 and upper terminal of C1].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Moore by wherein the power supply absorption circuit comprises a diode and a first capacitor; wherein a first terminal of the diode is electrically connected to the first terminal of the secondary windings of the power transformer or the third terminal of the secondary power loop, a second terminal of the diode is electrically connected to a first terminal of the first capacitor, a second terminal of the first capacitor is grounded, and the power terminal of the secondary control circuit is electrically connected between the second terminal of the diode and the first terminal of the first capacitor as taught by Chen in order of being able to provide soft start so as to avoid over current during start period.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 – 11 and 17 – 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 6 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein in a case where the operating voltage of the secondary control circuit is equal to or greater than a predetermined voltage, the secondary winding of the power transformer comprises a central tap; wherein the central tap is configured to divide coils of the seconding winding of the power transformer into a first coil group and a second coil group, wherein a first terminal of the first coil group is electrically connected to the input terminal of the power supply absorption circuit, a second terminal of the first coil group is electrically connected to a first terminal of the second coil group, the central tap is positioned between the second terminal of the first coil group and the first terminal of the second coil group, the central tap is electrically connected to the first terminal of the secondary power loop, and a second terminal of the second coil group is electrically connected to the second terminal of the secondary power loop”.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 7 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein the control signal comprises a first control signal and a second control signal; and the secondary power loop comprises a synchronous rectifier circuit and a power distribution circuit; wherein a control terminal of the synchronous rectifier circuit is electrically connected to the second terminal of the secondary control circuit, and a control terminal of the power distribution circuit is electrically connected to the third terminal of the secondary control circuit; the first terminal of the secondary winding of the power transformer is electrically connected to a first terminal of the synchronous rectifier circuit, a second terminal of the synchronous rectifier circuit is electrically connected to an input terminal of the power distribution circuit, and an output terminal of the power distribution circuit is electrically connected to the second terminal of the secondary winding of the power transformer via the at least one load; or the first terminal of the secondary winding of the power transformer is electrically connected to an input terminal of the power distribution circuit, an output terminal of the power distribution circuit is electrically connected to a second terminal of the synchronous rectifier circuit via the at least one load, and a first terminal of the synchronous rectifier circuit is electrically connected to the second terminal of the secondary winding of the power transformer; the synchronous rectifier circuit is configured to, based on the first control signal, rectify the energy stored in the power transformer, and transmit rectified energy to the power distribution circuit; and the power distribution circuit is configured to, based on the second control signal, convert the rectified energy into at least one power output, and transmit the at least one power output to the at least one load”.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 17 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein in a case where the operating voltage of the secondary control circuit is equal to or greater than a predetermined voltage, the secondary winding of the power transformer comprises a central tap; wherein the central tap is configured to divide coils of the seconding winding of the power transformer into a first coil group and a second coil group, wherein a first terminal of the first coil group is electrically connected to the input terminal of the power supply absorption circuit, a second terminal of the first coil group is electrically connected to a first terminal of the second coil group, the central tap is positioned between the second terminal of the first coil group and the first terminal of the second coil group, the central tap is electrically connected to the first terminal of the secondary power loop, and a second terminal of the second coil group is electrically connected to the second terminal of the secondary power loop”.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 18 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein the control signal comprises a first control signal and a second control signal; and the secondary power loop comprises a synchronous rectifier circuit and a power distribution circuit; wherein a control terminal of the synchronous rectifier circuit is electrically connected to the second terminal of the secondary control circuit, and a control terminal of the power distribution circuit is electrically connected to the third terminal of the secondary control circuit; the first terminal of the secondary winding of the power transformer is electrically connected to a first terminal of the synchronous rectifier circuit, a second terminal of the synchronous rectifier circuit is electrically connected to an input terminal of the power distribution circuit, and an output terminal of the power distribution circuit is electrically connected to the second terminal of the secondary winding of the power transformer via the at least one load; or the first terminal of the secondary winding of the power transformer is electrically connected to an input terminal of the power distribution circuit, an output terminal of the power distribution circuit is electrically connected to a second terminal of the synchronous rectifier circuit via the at least one load, and a first terminal of the synchronous rectifier circuit is electrically connected to the second terminal of the secondary winding of the power transformer; the synchronous rectifier circuit is configured to, based on the first control signal, rectify the energy stored in the power transformer, and transmit rectified energy to the power distribution circuit; and the power distribution circuit is configured to, based on the second control signal, convert the rectified energy into at least one power output, and transmit the at least one power output to the at least one load”.
Claims 8 – 11 and 19 – 20 are objected to because inherent dependency on claims 7 and 18, respectively.
Conclusion
/ALEX TORRES-RIVERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838