Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-17) in the reply filed on 09/18/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 18-20 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 10,375,834) in view of Buller (US 2017/0304894).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 2 (steps 201 to 211), a method of three-dimensional (3D) printing multi-component furniture (ABSTRACT; it is noticed that, at least PCB board (or components including computer chips) can be one portion of the furniture (e.g., smart furniture)), the method comprising
providing a first furniture component (e.g., items 206, 210A and 216A, Fig. 2 (col. 4. lines 9-42)),
depositing at least one first layer of molten material (item 204, Fig. 2 (col. 4, lines 12-14 (i.e., polymeric material 204))) on a print surface to form a first side of a second furniture component (in step 203),
depositing at least one second layer of molten material (e.g., item 208, Fig. 2 (col. 4, lines 22-25)) onto the at least one first layer of molten material while the at least one first layer of molten material is molten to form a body of the second furniture component having a cavity (e.g., item 212, Fig. 2 (col. 4, lines 33-37)),
inserting the first furniture component into the cavity of the second furniture component (e.g., item 216A, Fig. 2 (col. 4, lines 33-37)),
depositing at least one third layer of molten material onto the at least one second layer of molten material and the first furniture component while the at least one second layer of molten material is molten to form a second side of the second furniture component (col. 4, lines 39-42).
However, Liu does not explicitly disclose to cool the first layer of molten material, the one second layer of molten material, and the one third layer of molten material for solidification.
In the same field of endeavor, 3d printing, Buller discloses that, the method may further comprise cooling the layer (e.g., a temperature below the transformation (e.g., melting) point of the powder material). A new layer of pre-transformed (e.g., powder) material can be provided over the first layer and subsequently transformed along a (e.g., predetermined) pattern ([0182], lines 8-17).
Thus, Buller discloses that, cooling the at least one first layer of molten material, the at least one second layer of molten material, and the at least one third layer of molten material to cause the at least one first layer of molten material, the at least one second layer of molten material, and the at least one third layer of molten material to solidify and form the second furniture component having the first furniture component at least partially encapsulated therein.
It would have been obvious to use the method of Liu to have the multiple layers for the 3d printing as Buller teaches that it is known to have to cool the multiple layers for solidification. It has been held that the combination of known techniques to improve similar methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skills in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 2 (steps 201 to 211), depositing at least one third layer of molten material onto the at least one second layer of molten material and the first furniture component includes depositing the at least one third layer of molten material on a perimeter of the first furniture component so that the first furniture component is captured in the second furniture component by the at least one third layer of molten material and at least a portion of the first furniture component is accessible from an exterior of the second furniture component (e.g., vis the drilled holes 212).
Regarding claim 3, Liu discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 2 (steps 201 to 211), depositing at least one third layer of molten material onto the at least one second layer of molten material and the first furniture component includes depositing the at least one third layer of molten material on an entirety of the first furniture component so that the first furniture component is entirely encapsulated in the second furniture component by the at least one third layer of molten material.
Regarding claim 4, Liu discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 8 (step 819), the first furniture component is not accessible from an exterior of the second furniture component (col. 6, lines 30-31 (e.g., due to insulation requirement)).
Regarding claims 5, 6, Liu discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 2 (step 209), after the step of cooling, removing material (e.g., holes 212 are drilled (col. 4, lines 33) (related to claim 6)) from the second side of the second furniture component located above the first furniture component to form an opening in the second side of the second furniture component so that the first furniture component is accessible from an exterior of the second furniture component (e.g., via metals (conductive) 216, item 206A is accessible).
Regarding claim 7, Liu discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 2 (step 211), providing a metal plate (col. 4, lines 34-37 (i.e., copper vias)) configured to be embedded or captured in the second furniture component.
Regarding claim 8, Liu discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 2 (steps 201 to 211), after the step of depositing at least one first layer of molten material on a print surface and before the step of depositing at least one second layer of molten material onto the at least one first layer of molten material, locating the metal plate on the at least one first layer of molten material and depositing at least one fourth layer of molten material on the at least one first layer of molten material and the metal plate (col. 4, lines 39-42 (e.g., the contour of the completed device 202)).
Regarding claim 9, Liu discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 4, after the step of cooling, heating the metal plate (e.g., in step 407, laser heating being able to be applied to sinter the metal particles to bond the metal together (col. 4, lines 65-67 and col. 5, lines 1-2)) to cause the solidified at least one third layer of molten material and the solidified at least one fourth layer of molten material located on the metal plate to become molten (col. 6, lines 49-65 (i.e., heating and forming conductive interconnection between components’ pads)).
Regarding claim 10, Liu does not disclose removing the metal plate and the first furniture component from the second furniture component.
Buller discloses that, the material (for building 3d object) can be a powder material which comprises metal … etc. ([0008], lines 1-4). Buller discloses that, the 3D object can be devoid of one or more surface features indicative of layer removal during or after the 3D printing process ([0026], lines 22-25). Buller discloses that, auxiliary supports may enable the removal from the 3D object that is being formed ([0106], lines 10-12).
Thus, Buller discloses that, removing the metal plate and the first furniture component from the second furniture component.
It would have been obvious to use the method of Liu to have the multiple layers for the 3d printing as Buller teaches that it is known to have to remove the metal plate and the first furniture component from the second furniture component. It has been held that the combination of known techniques to improve similar methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skills in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
Regarding claim 11-12, Liu does not disclose, the first furniture component includes an RFID chip or a NFC chip or a sensor.
Buller discloses that, the invention relates to fabrication of a 3D object with unique internal structure which comprises sensor, RFID, …, etc. ([0066]).
It would have been obvious to use the method of Liu to have the multiple layers for the 3d printing as Buller teaches that it is known to have the first furniture component including an RFID chip or a NFC chip or a sensor. It has been held that the combination of known techniques to improve similar methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skills in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
Regarding claim 13, Liu discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 2 (steps 201 to 211), at step 207, electrically conductive inks 210A are printed on the surface of the second layer 208 to form conductive path patterns 210 (col. 4, lines 30-33). It is noticed that, in step 211, the electronic component(s) 206 are integrated with the conductor 210 as the first furniture component.
Regarding claim 14, Liu discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 8 (steps 801 to 819), a method of three-dimensional (3D) printing a multi-component structure (ABSTRACT), the method comprising
providing a first component (e.g., items 814 or 822, Fig. 8 (col. 6. lines 19-31)),
depositing at least one first layer of molten material (item 804, Fig. 8 (col. 5, lines 64-65 (i.e., polymeric material 804))) to form a first side of a second component (in step 801),
depositing at least one second layer of molten material (e.g., item 805, Fig. 8 (col. 6, lines 3-4)) onto the at least one first layer of molten material while the at least one first layer of molten material is molten to form a body of the second component,
positioning the first component on the second component (e.g., items 814 or 822, Fig. 8 (col. 6, lines 19-31)),
depositing at least one third layer of molten material onto the first component while the at least one second layer of molten material is molten to form a second side of the second component (item 819, Fig. 8 (col. 6, lines 30-31)).
However, Liu does not explicitly disclose to cool the first layer of molten material, the one second layer of molten material, and the one third layer of molten material for solidification.
In the same field of endeavor, 3d printing, Buller discloses that, the method may further comprise cooling the layer (e.g., a temperature below the transformation (e.g., melting) point of the powder material). A new layer of pre-transformed (e.g., powder) material can be provided over the first layer and subsequently transformed along a (e.g., predetermined) pattern ([0182], lines 8-17).
Thus, Buller discloses that, cooling the at least one first layer of molten material, the at least one second layer of molten material, and the at least one third layer of molten material to cause the at least one first layer of molten material, the at least one second layer of molten material, and the at least one third layer of molten material to solidify and form the second component having the first component at least partially embedded therein.
It would have been obvious to use the method of Liu to have the multiple layers for the 3d printing as Buller teaches that it is known to have to cool the multiple layers for solidification. It has been held that the combination of known techniques to improve similar methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skills in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
Regarding claim 15, Liu discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 8 (steps 801 to 819), positioning the first component on the second component includes positioning an embedded portion of the first component on top of the body of the second component and positioning an external portion of the first component adjacent to the body of the second component (e.g., as shown in Fig. 8 (steps 809, 815 and 819)).
Regarding claim 16, Liu discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 8 (steps 817 to 819), depositing at least one third layer of molten material onto the first component includes directing the at least one third layer of molten material through at least one hole formed in the embedded portion of the first component (as shown from step 817 to 819 in Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 17, Liu discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 8 (steps 801 to 819), the external portion of the first component is formed to include a plurality of ridges that align with the first layer of molten material and the second layer of molten material (e.g., due to the different thickness of the layers deposited in the progressive steps (from step 801 to step 819)).
Conclusion
/SHIBIN LIANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741