DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 are presented for examination.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 4-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12266643. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because when claims in the pending application are broader than the ones in the patent, the broad claims in the pending application are rejected under obviousness type double patenting over previously patented narrow claims, In re Van Ornum and Stang, 214 USPQ 761.
Instant App
Pat ‘643
1. A display device comprising: a metal layer having a rear surface in which at least one groove is provided, the groove being thinner than the other portion of the metal layer;
1. A display device comprising: a metal layer having a rear surface in which a groove is provided;
a display panel disposed on a front surface of the metal layer;
a display panel disposed on a front surface of the metal layer;
a piezoelectric film type actuator disposed on rear surface of the metal layer;
a piezoelectric film type actuator disposed at least one side of the drive in the groove of the metal layer, and electrically connected with the drive;
a heat dissipation sheet disposed on a front surface of the piezoelectric film type actuator; and
a heat dissipation sheet disposed on a front surface of the drive and a front surface of the piezoelectric film type actuator; and
an enclosure provided to cover a rear surface of the piezoelectric film type actuator,
an enclosure provided to cover a rear surface of the drive and a rear surface of the piezoelectric film type actuator.
wherein the heat dissipation sheet and the piezoelectric film type actuator are disposed in the groove.
a heat dissipation sheet disposed in the groove, a piezoelectric film type actuator disposed at least one side of the drive in the groove
a drive disposed in the groove of the metal layer;
Regarding the above double patenting rejections, one of ordinary skill in the art would find similar mappings between claims 4-10 of the instant application and claims 2-8, respectively, of Patent ‘643; however, the mappings have been omitted for the sake of brevity.
Claims 2-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. ‘643 in view of Wada US Publication No. 20060078138.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Referring to claims 1-10, claim 1 recites the limitation "the groove" in the second and last lines and “the other portion” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Examiner interprets as the at least one groove in both instances and another portion. Claims 2-10 depend from claim 1, therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons.
Referring to claims 2-3, claims 2-3 recite the limitation "the rear surface". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Examiner interprets as a second rear surface in line 5 of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada US Publication No. 20060078138 (from IDS) in view of Masuda et al. US Publication No. 20190268681 (from IDS) and Tada et al. US Publication No. 20130272537 (from IDS).
Referring to claim 1, Wada teaches a display device (Fig. 1: electro-optical device 1A) comprising: a metal layer (Fig. 1: first frame 4; para 0010: “the first frame can be made of…a metal”) having a rear surface in which at least one groove is provided (Fig. 1: rear surface of first frame 4 has grooves), the groove being thinner than the other portion of the metal layer (Fig. 1: groove is thinner than outer vertical surface of first frame 4; a display panel disposed on a front surface of the metal layer (Fig. 1: liquid crystal display device 2 on front surface of first frame 4); a piezoelectric film type actuator disposed on rear surface of the metal layer (Fig. 1: piezoelectric elements 13 of speaker units 3a,b disposed on rear surface of first frame 4); and an enclosure provided to cover a rear surface of the piezoelectric film type actuator (Fig. 1: second frame 5 covers rear surface of speakers 3a,b), wherein the piezoelectric film type actuator is disposed in the groove (Fig. 1: piezoelectric elements 13 of speaker units 3a,b disposed in grooves).
However, Wada does not teach a heat dissipation sheet, but Masuda et al. teaches a heat dissipation sheet disposed on a front surface of the actuator (Fig. 16: heat dissipation sheet 74 on front surface of exciter 71/73). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a heat dissipation sheet, as taught in Masuda et al. in the device of Wada because the heat generated in actuators “does not concentrate on one spot and is distributed to some extent. As a result, it is possible to suppress the color unevenness of displayed images due to the local distribution of the heat.”
However, Wada and Masuda et al. do not teach a thermal sheet in a groove, but Tada et al. teaches the heat dissipation sheet disposed in the groove (Fig. 2: thermal conductive sheet 15 in groove formed by case 10). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to put the thermal sheet of Tada et al. in the groove of Wada, in the device of Wada and Masuda et al. because it allows the heat dissipation sheet to easily be inserted in the device groove without any major modifications to the frame.
Referring to claim 2, Wada teaches a size of the piezoelectric film type actuator is smaller than a size of the at least one groove, and wherein the enclosure covers the rear surface and lateral surfaces of the piezoelectric film type actuator (Fig. 1: speakers 3a,b smaller than groove and frame 5 covers rear and lateral sides of speakers 3a,b).
Referring to claim 3, Wada teaches a drive configured to drive the piezoelectric film type actuator and disposed in an area other than an area where the at least one groove is provided in the rear surface of the metal layer (para 0089).
Referring to claim 5, Masuda et al. teaches a heat conductivity of the heat dissipation sheet is higher than a heat conductivity of the metal layer (Fig. 16: heat dissipation sheet 74; para 0089). Motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1.
Referring to claim 8, Wada teaches the enclosure is made of a same material as the metal layer (paras 0010, 0054).
Referring to claim 9, Wada teaches a heating element disposed on one side of the display panel or the metal layer, wherein the at least one groove is disposed closer to another side opposite to the one side where the heating element is disposed (Fig. 1: grooves closer to side opposite from illumination device 7).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada, Masuda et al., and Tada et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fujiwara et al. US Publication No. 20080018203 (from IDS).
Referring to claim 4, Wada teaches a layer disposed between the piezoelectric film type actuator and the enclosure (Fig. 1: buffing member 16 between speakers 3 a,b and frame 5). However, Wada, Masuda et al., and Tada et al. do not teach that the layer is an adhesive, but Fujiwara et al. teaches an adhesive layer (para 0026). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an adhesive layer, as taught in Fujiwara et al. in the layer of Wada, Masuda et al., and Tada et al. because it helps to secure and bond the layers together.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada, Masuda et al., and Tada et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ahn et al. US Publication No. 20190014402 (from IDS).
Referring to claim 6, Wada, Masuda et al., and Tada et al. do not teach a carbon-based heat dissipation sheet, but Ahn et al. teaches the heat dissipation sheet is a carbon-based heat dissipation sheet (para 0114). Both Masuda et al. and Ahn et al. teach heat dissipation sheets, therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute in a carbon-based heat dissipation sheet, as taught in Ahn et al. for the sheet of Masuda et al., in the device of Wada, Masuda et al., and Tada et al. because both sheets will allow heat to be less concentrated.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada, Masuda et al., and Tada et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ahn et al. US Publication No. 20200183637 (from IDS).
Referring to claim 7, Wada, Masuda et al., and Tada et al. do not teach adhesive layers, but Ahn et al. teaches a plurality of adhesive layers disposed between the heat dissipation sheet and the metal layer and between the heat dissipation sheet and the piezoelectric film type actuator, respectively (Fig.5A: adhesive member 115 between heat dissipation film 130 and bottom cover 180; para 0088: “The bobbin 212 may be attached to one surface of the heat-dissipation film 130 by an adhesive member”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use adhesive layers, as taught in Ahn et al. in the device of Wada, Masuda et al., and Tada et al. because they help to secure and bond the layers together.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada, Masuda et al., and Tada et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jang et al. US Publication No. 20200314515 (from IDS).
Referring to claim 10, Wada, Masuda et al., and Tada et al. do not teach an adhesive layer, but Jang et al. teaches an adhesive layer including a getter material, and disposed between the metal layer and the display panel (Fig. 1: adhesive material 250 between display 100 and wall 730; para 0076). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an adhesive layer, as taught in Jang et al. in the device of Wada, Masuda et al., and Tada et al. because it helps to secure and bond the layers together.
Conclusion
Examiner respectfully requests, in response to this Office Action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist Examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Va. 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, for formal communications intended for entry and for
informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”.
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Arlington, VA 22314
/KATHERINE A FALEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693