DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim(s) 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 12, 13 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230088548 A1, Yu et al. in view of CN 117637876 A, Tong et al. with US 20250248168 A1 used as an English language equivalent.
Regarding claims 1 and 18
Yu teaches a photovoltaic module [Fig. 7a and para. 0073], comprising: at least one cover plate (1), at least one encapsulation material layer (corresponding to first and second packaging adhesive layers 2 and 4) and at least one solar cell string (3) [Fig. 7a and para. 0073], wherein the at least one solar cell string (3) comprises a plurality of solar cells [Fig. 7a and para. 0074], and at least one of the plurality of solar cells (see paras. 0037 and 0071 wherein the solar cells may be embodied as shown in Fig. 9) comprises:
a semiconductor substrate including a front surface and a rear surface opposite to the front surface [Fig. 9, paras. 0037 and 0071], wherein P-type conductive regions (40-2) and N-type conductive regions (40-1) are arranged in an alternating manner on the rear surface of the semiconductor substrate [Fig. 9 and para. 0037], and gap regions are each formed between adjacent P-type conductive region (40-2) and N-type conductive region (40-1) [Fig. 9 and para. 0037], a first notch region (corresponding to separation region) is formed by recessing along a first direction between the P-type conductive region (40-2) and the gap region [Fig. 9 and para. 0037], a second texture structure is formed within the gap region (see pyramid-shaped microstructure at bottom surface of the notch/reparation region) [Fig. 9 and para. 0037], the first direction is parallel to a direction from the gap region to the P-type conductive region (40-2) [Fig. 9];
a first passivation layer (20) formed over the front surface of the semiconductor substrate (in the IBC solar cell of FIG. 9, the solar cell may include the substrate, the first passivation layer and the second passivation layer which are same as the substrate 10, the first passivation layer 20 and the second passivation layer 50 illustrated in FIG. 1) [Figs. 1 and 9, paras. 0037 and 0067];
a second passivation layer (50) formed over the rear surface of the semiconductor substrate (in the IBC solar cell of FIG. 9, the solar cell may include the substrate, the first passivation layer and the second passivation layer which are same as the substrate 10, the first passivation layer 20 and the second passivation layer 50 illustrated in FIG. 1) [Figs. 1 and 9, paras. 0037 and 0067], wherein the second passivation layer (50) covers the P-type conductive regions (40-2), the first notch regions, the gap regions and the N-type conductive regions (40-1) [Fig. 9 and para. 0037-0038];
a first electrode (70-2) penetrating the second passivation layer (50) to form an ohmic contact with the P-type conductive region (40-2) [Figs. 1 and 9, paras. 0037-0038 and 0069]; and
a second electrode (70-2) penetrating the second passivation layer (50) to form an ohmic contact with the N-type conductive region (40-1) [Figs. 1 and 9, paras. 0037-0038 and 0069].
Fig. 9
Yu does not teach a first texture structure is formed within the first notch region,
and a shape of the second texture structure is different from a shape of the first texture structure.
Tong teaches a solar cell comprising a semiconductor substrate (11) including a front surface and a rear surface opposite to the front surface [Figs. 1 and 7-9, para. 0071], wherein first notch regions (groove structures 15) comprise a first textured structure (corresponding to texture within slope defined by length L1, see region noted as “A” in Fig. 8 below) and a second texture structure (corresponding to texture at the bottom of the groove structure 15, see region noted as “B” in Fig. 8 below) [Figs. 7-9, paras. 0082-0083], wherein a shape of the second texture structure (B) is different from a shape of the first texture structure (A) (see Fig. 8 below).
Fig. 8
The groove structure of Tong, comprising the first and second textured structures as set forth above, reduce the current leakage risk on the back surface of the back contact solar cell and ensuring high electrical reliability of the back contact solar cell [para. 0083].
In addition, the first textured structure of Tong provides a sidewall that is arranged obliquely relative to the horizontal plane which helps reflect light, thereby further reducing a probability that the light is refracted out from the back surface of the back contact solar cell, which is further conducive to improving the photoelectric conversion efficiency of the back contact solar cell [para. 0083].
Yu and Tong are analogous inventions in the field of back-contact solar cells. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the notch region of Yu with the groove/notch region of Tong, including the first and second textured surfaces as set forth above, for the purposes of reducing the risk of current leakage while also improving the photoelectric conversion efficiency of the back contact solar cell.
Regarding claims 2 and 19
Modified Yu teaches the solar cell/photovoltaic module as set forth above, wherein the first notch region includes a first sidewall (corresponding to suspended portion) and a second sidewall (denoted L1), the first sidewall is farther away from the semiconductor substrate than the second sidewall [Tong, Fig. 9 and para. 0098], an included angle is formed between the first sidewall and the second sidewall, and the included angle is a non-right angle [Tong, paras. 0084-0085].
Regarding claims 3 and 20
Modified Yu teaches the solar cell/photovoltaic module as set forth above, wherein the included angle is an acute angle [Tong, paras. 0084-0085].
Regarding claim 4
Modified Yu teaches the solar cell as set forth above, wherein a length of the first sidewall is denoted as L1 (corresponding to length of the end portion in a suspended manner) [Figs. 7-9 and para. 0098], and a length of the second sidewall is denoted as L2 (corresponding to L1 in Fig. 9 of Tong].
Regarding the limitation “a ratio of L1 to L2 is 1:(1~5)”, modified Yu discloses that the length of the suspended end portion may be greater than 0 and less than or equal to 3000 nm (e.g., 100 nm, 500 nm, etc.) and that the length L1 may be greater than 0 and less than 1 μm (0-1000nm, e.g, 100 nm; 1 μm = 1000 nm) [Tong, paras. 0093 and 0098]. Accordingly, modified Yu teaches a ratio of L1 to L2 is 1:1~5 (e.g., both the suspended end and L1 can have a length of 100 nm).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding claim 12
Modified Yu teaches the solar cell as set forth above, wherein a length of a projection of the first sidewall on the plane of the semiconductor substrate is within a range of 1 μm to 4 μm (length of the suspended manner may be greater than 0 and less than or equal to 3000 nm; 0-3 μm; 1nm = 0.001 μm) [para. 0098].
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding claim 13
Modified Yu teaches the solar cell as set forth above.
Modified Yu is silent to a distribution proportion of the first notch region on the rear surface of the semiconductor substrate is within a range of 0.5% to 1.5%.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious to optimize the distribution of the first notch region on the rear surface of the substrate such that the current leakage is prevented [Tong, paras. 0008 and 0012-0013].
Absent a showing of criticality or unexpected results with respect to the distribution proportion of the first notch region on the rear surface of the semiconductor substrate (a result-effective variable), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize said parameter through routine experimentation in order to achieve the desired electrical reliability/current leakage reduction of the back contact solar cell. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art [MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding claim 15
Modified Yu teaches the solar cell as set forth above, wherein the first passivation layer (20) has a thickness in a range from 10 nm to 100 nm (10nm-120 nm) [Yu, para. 0046].
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
It is noted that Yu specifically discloses that in the IBC solar cell of FIG. 9, the solar cell may include the substrate, the first passivation layer and the second passivation layer which are same as the substrate 10, the first passivation layer 20 and the second passivation layer 50 illustrated in FIG. 1 [para. 0037].
Regarding claim 16
Modified Yu teaches the solar cell as set forth above, further comprising an anti-reflection layer (the first passivation layer structure 20 may include a stacked passivation structure including an aluminum oxide layer, a silicon nitride layer and a silicon oxynitride layer sequentially stacked, the silicon oxynitride layer reading on the claimed anti-reflection layer) formed over a surface of the first passivation layer (corresponding to the aluminum oxide layer and/or the silicon nitride layer of first passivation layer 20) away from the front surface of the semiconductor substrate [Figs. 1 and 9, paras. 0037 and 0047-0048], and the first passivation layer (20) has a thickness in a range from 40 nm to 100 nm (the aluminum oxide layer has a thickness ranging from 2 nm to 10 nm and the silicon nitride layer has a thickness ranging from 40 nm to 80 nm, thereby providing an individual or combined thickness that falls within the claimed range of 40 nm to 100 nm) [Yu, para. 0046].
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding claim 17
Modified Yu teaches the solar cell as set forth above, wherein the second passivation layer (50) has a thickness in a range from 10 nm to 100 nm (70 to 120 nm) [Yu, paras. 0037 and 0067].
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
It is noted that Yu specifically discloses that in the IBC solar cell of FIG. 9, the solar cell may include the substrate, the first passivation layer and the second passivation layer which are same as the substrate 10, the first passivation layer 20 and the second passivation layer 50 illustrated in FIG. 1 [para. 0037].
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Tong, as applied to claims 1-4, 12, 13 and 15-2 above, and further in view of WO 2023123814 A1, Zhang et al.
Regarding claim 14
Modified Yu does not teach the wherein the second passivation layer including a second notch region formed by recessing along the first direction corresponding to a position of the first notch region, the second notch region has a third sidewall and a fourth sidewall, the third sidewall is farther away from the semiconductor substrate than the fourth sidewall, and an included angle between the third sidewall and the fourth sidewall is a non-right angle.
Zhang, similar to modified Yu, teaches an IBC solar cell, wherein a second passivation layer (any one of first or second film layers 4 and 5) including a second notch region (corresponding to undercut structure) formed by recessing along the first direction corresponding to a position of the first notch region (corresponding to undercut structure of doped layer 3), the second notch region has a third sidewall and a fourth sidewall (see Fig. 5 below), the third sidewall is farther away from the semiconductor substrate than the fourth sidewall (See Fig. 5 below), and an included angle between the third sidewall and the fourth sidewall is a non-right angle [para. 006].
Fig. 5
The second notch region/undercut structure of the second passivation layer in Zhang can increase the creepage distance and reduce electric leakage [Fig. 5, paras. 0038, 0069]
Yu and Tong Zhang analogous inventions in the field of interdigitated back-contact solar cells. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the second passivation layer of modified Yu to comprise a second notch region, as in Zhang, in order to increase the creepage distance and reduce electric leakage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 5-11
The prior art of record, whether alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest the following limitation: “wherein the first texture structure includes a plurality of first texture substructures a formed on the first sidewall and a plurality of first texture substructures b formed on the second sidewall, the first texture substructures a protrude from a surface of the first sidewall, and the first texture substructures b protrude from a surface of the second sidewall.”
Modified Yu discloses forming a textured structure on the bottom surface of the substrate [para. 0082]. However, Modified Yu does not disclose the plurality of first texture substructures a formed on the first sidewall (suspended portion) and a plurality of first texture substructures b formed on the second sidewall (defined by L1) as required by the claim. Accordingly, the claim is allowed.
Claims 6-11 are allowed for their dependency on claim 5.
Conclusion
/MAYLA GONZALEZ RAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721