DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of 1-13 and 20-26 in the reply filed on 8/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-13 and 20-26 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 14-19 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The claims 1-13 and 20-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: The claims 1-13 are a method, claims 20-22 a computer readable medium, and claims 23-26 are a system. Thus, each independent claim, on its face, is directed to one of the statutory categories of 35 U.S.C. §101.
Step 2A Prong 1: The independent claims (1, 20 and 23, taking claim 1 as a representative claim) recite:
A computer-implemented method, comprising:
receiving item data corresponding to an item for an online listing;
extracting one or more item attributes from the item data;
based on the one or more item attributes, generating an item embedding, wherein the item embedding is a representation of the one or more item attributes;
based on the item embedding, generating one or more similarity scores for a plurality of item listings, wherein each of the one or more similarity scores is representative of a similarity between the item embedding and item listing embeddings corresponding to the plurality of item listings;
initiating retrieval of one or more relevant item listings including item attribute data based on each of the one or more relevant item listings being associated with a similarity score of the one or more similarity scores exceeding a threshold amount;
based on the item attribute data, generating a listing insight for the item; and
broadcasting the listing insight for the item for display.
These limitations, except for the italicized portions, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, recite certain methods of organizing human activity for managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) as well as commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations). The claimed invention recites steps for identifying similar items to the request of item from user and providing the listing insights regarding the item to the end user. The steps under its broadest reasonable interpretation specifically fall under sales activities. The Examiner notes that although the claim limitations are summarized, the analysis regarding subject matter eligibility considers the entirety of the claim and all of the claim elements individually, as a whole, and in ordered combination.
Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements of
A computer-implemented method, comprising: (claim 1)
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing executable instructions, which when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to perform operations comprising: (claim 20)
A system comprising: a memory component; and a processing device coupled to the memory component, the processing device to perform operations comprising: (claim 23)
Online listing
The additional elements emphasized above are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of processing data) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application – MPEP 2106.05(f).
The recitation of the emphasized limitations merely indicates a field of use or technological environment in which the judicial exception is performed. Although these additional elements limit the identified judicial exception, which involves online listings, this type of limitation merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (online commerce/marketplace) and thus fails to add an inventive concept to the claims. See MPEP 2106.05(h). These limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Accordingly, these additional elements when considered individually or as a whole do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The independent claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong two, the additional elements in the claims amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception using a generic computer component.
Even when considered as an ordered combination, the additional elements of claim 1, 20, and 23 do not add anything that is not already present when they are considered individually. Therefore, under Step 2B, there are no meaningful limitations in claims 1, 20, and 23 that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself (see MPEP 2106.05).
As such, independent claims 1, 20, and 23 are ineligible.
Dependent claims 2-13, 21-22, and 24-26 when analyzed as a whole, are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the additional recited limitations fail to establish that the claims are not directed to the same abstract idea of Independent Claims 1, 20 and 23 without significantly more.
Claim 2 recites wherein the receiving of the item data is via a user query. The limitation merely further limits the abstract idea and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 3 recites wherein the item data includes at least one keyword, digital content of the item, or description of the item. The limitation merely further limits the abstract idea and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 4 recites wherein the one or more item attributes include at least one of an item type, model type, item condition, or an item age. The limitation merely further limits the abstract idea and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 5 recites wherein the item attribute data includes price data, the listing insight includes a price recommendation, and the attribute for the item listing is a price for the item listing. The limitation merely further limits the abstract idea and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 6 recites further comprising: receiving the plurality of item listings, wherein each of the plurality of item listings includes item listing data; extracting one or more item attributes from the item listing data; and based on the one or more item attributes, generating, for each of the plurality of item listings, one of the item listing embeddings. The limitation merely further limits the abstract idea and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 7 recites wherein the plurality of item listings is received via web scraping. The limitation merely further limits the abstract idea and the additional element of web scraping is merely a collection of data which does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 8 recites wherein the plurality of item listings is from a plurality of platforms. The limitation merely further limits the abstract idea and the additional element of a plurality of platforms does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 9 recites wherein the generating of the item embedding, the generating of the one or more similarity scores, and the generating of the listing insight are via one or more artificial intelligence models. The limitation merely further limits the abstract idea and the additional element of AI models does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 10 recites, wherein one of the one or more artificial intelligence models is a large language model. The limitation merely further limits the abstract idea and the additional element of AI models does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 11 recites wherein the one or more item attributes are extracted via a machine learning model trained to identify item attributes. The limitation merely further limits the abstract idea and the additional element of AI models does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 12 recites wherein the listing insight includes an explanation for a recommendation included as part of the listing insight. The limitation merely further limits the abstract idea and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 13 recites broadcasting the listing insight for display. The limitation merely further limits the abstract idea and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claims 21-22 and 24-26 recite substantially parallel claim language and are rejected for the same reasons set forth above.
For these reasons all claims are rejected under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 2, 4, 6, 9, 11, 13, 20, 13, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Al Jadda (US20210073891).
Regarding claims 1, 20, and 23, Al Jadda discloses:
A computer-implemented method, comprising: (claim 1)
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing executable instructions, which when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to perform operations comprising: (claim 20) (shown in Figure 5)
A system comprising: a memory component; and a processing device coupled to the memory component, the processing device to perform operations comprising: (claim 23) (shown in Figure 5)
receiving item data corresponding to an item for an online listing; [0041] The method 200 may include a block 202 that includes receiving a selection of an anchor product by the product recommendation system 100. In an embodiment, the anchor product may be selected by a user using one of the user devices 120. In an embodiment, the anchor product may be a product within a listing of search results and selected responsive to a user query in a user interface made available to the user devices 120 by the server 118. In an embodiment, the anchor product may be a product that is selected by the user via the user interface for reviewing additional details about the product.
extracting one or more item attributes from the item data; [0041] In an embodiment, the anchor product may be a product that is selected by the user via the user interface for reviewing additional details about the product.[0042] The method 200 may further include a block 204 that includes determining the similarity of embeddings vectors to the other embeddings vectors. That is, each embeddings vector (e.g., text embeddings vectors as described in additional detail in accordance with FIG. 3 below) may be compared to each other embeddings vector, or a subset thereof, to determine the similarity of the two embeddings vectors to each other. The similarity of two embeddings vectors may be determined by using a cosine similarity function, for example. For example, a text embeddings vector for the anchor product can be compared with the text embeddings vectors for all other products in the product data database 104. In an embodiment, the text embeddings vector of the anchor product may be compared with text embeddings vectors of products having certain product types in the product data database 104. That is, in an embodiment, the number of text embeddings vectors for the comparison can be reduced by, for example, filtering based on a feature of the anchor product.
based on the one or more item attributes, generating an item embedding, wherein the item embedding is a representation of the one or more item attributes; [0051] The method 300 may further include a block 306 that includes generating text embeddings for a plurality of products (e.g., respective vector descriptions of text associated with each of those products). Embeddings may be generated with a machine learning model trained at block 304, based on product information (e.g., the product information stored in the product data database 104). Embeddings may be generated for thousands, tens of thousands, hundreds of thousands, millions, or more products. The generating text embeddings block 306 may result in a set of text embeddings vectors, with a single text embeddings vector per product.
based on the item embedding (anchor product embedding), generating one or more similarity scores for a plurality of item listings, wherein each of the one or more similarity scores is representative of a similarity between the item embedding and item listing embeddings corresponding to the plurality of item listings; [0042] The method 200 may further include a block 204 that includes determining the similarity of embeddings vectors to the other embeddings vectors. That is, each embeddings vector (e.g., text embeddings vectors as described in additional detail in accordance with FIG. 3 below) may be compared to each other embeddings vector, or a subset thereof, to determine the similarity of the two embeddings vectors to each other. The similarity of two embeddings vectors may be determined by using a cosine similarity function, for example. For example, a text embeddings vector for the anchor product can be compared with the text embeddings vectors for all other products in the product data database 104. In an embodiment, the text embeddings vector of the anchor product may be compared with text embeddings vectors of products having certain product types in the product data database 104. That is, in an embodiment, the number of text embeddings vectors for the comparison can be reduced by, for example, filtering based on a feature of the anchor product. And see [0047] detailing scoring
initiating retrieval of one or more relevant item listings including item attribute data based on each of the one or more relevant item listings being associated with a similarity score of the one or more similarity scores exceeding a threshold amount; [0044] In some embodiments, block 206 may include determining the similarity of visual feature vectors of fewer products than were compared at block 204. For example, in some embodiments, for each product, the n most similar products based on text embeddings similarity at block 204 may be further compared for visual feature similarity at block 206, with n being less than the total number of products available for comparison. The method 200 may further include a block 208 that includes determining the overall similarity of the products to each other based on the embeddings similarities and the visual feature similarities determined at blocks 204 and 206. For example, the similarities respective of a two-product combination may be weighted respective to each other and mathematically combined to determine the overall similarity of the two products. And see [0047] detailing scoring
based on the item attribute data, generating a listing insight for the item; and [0044] The overall similarity of each product combination may be ranked for each potential product. Based on the overall similarities, a set of complementary products may be defined for each product. The set of complementary products may include the most similar product from each of a plurality of product categories that are related, in some embodiments.
broadcasting the listing insight for the item for display. [0045] The method 200 may further include a block 210 that includes returning the set of complementary products as determined. In an embodiment, returning the set of complementary products can include, for example, displaying the complementary products to the user of the user device 120 in conjunction with the display of an anchor product as selected or in conjunction with a listing of search results based on the user's search.
Regarding claims 2 and 24, Al Jadda discloses the limitations set forth above and further discloses:
wherein the receiving of the item data is via a user query. [0041] The method 200 may include a block 202 that includes receiving a selection of an anchor product by the product recommendation system 100. In an embodiment, the anchor product may be selected by a user using one of the user devices 120. In an embodiment, the anchor product may be a product within a listing of search results and selected responsive to a user query in a user interface made available to the user devices 120 by the server 118. In an embodiment, the anchor product may be a product that is selected by the user via the user interface for reviewing additional details about the product.
Regarding claims 4 and 26, Al Jadda discloses the limitations set forth above and further discloses:
wherein the one or more item attributes include at least one of an item type, model type, item condition, or an item age. [0023] A “text attribute,” as used herein, includes a textual descriptor of a product. Examples of textual descriptors include, but are not limited to, titles of a product, descriptions of a product, brand name of a product, model name or number of a product, size, or the like.
Regarding claims 6 and 21, Al Jadda discloses the limitations set forth above and further discloses:
further comprising: receiving the plurality of item listings, wherein each of the plurality of item listings includes item listing data; (shown in Figure 4, see inputs 402 and 404 of product titles into embeddings 410 and product description 1 and 2 into embedding 412)
extracting one or more item attributes from the item listing data; and [0041] In an embodiment, the anchor product may be a product that is selected by the user via the user interface for reviewing additional details about the product.[0042] The method 200 may further include a block 204 that includes determining the similarity of embeddings vectors to the other embeddings vectors. That is, each embeddings vector (e.g., text embeddings vectors as described in additional detail in accordance with FIG. 3 below) may be compared to each other embeddings vector, or a subset thereof, to determine the similarity of the two embeddings vectors to each other. The similarity of two embeddings vectors may be determined by using a cosine similarity function, for example. For example, a text embeddings vector for the anchor product can be compared with the text embeddings vectors for all other products in the product data database 104. In an embodiment, the text embeddings vector of the anchor product may be compared with text embeddings vectors of products having certain product types in the product data database 104. That is, in an embodiment, the number of text embeddings vectors for the comparison can be reduced by, for example, filtering based on a feature of the anchor product.
based on the one or more item attributes, generating, for each of the plurality of item listings, one of the item listing embeddings. [0051] The method 300 may further include a block 306 that includes generating text embeddings for a plurality of products (e.g., respective vector descriptions of text associated with each of those products). Embeddings may be generated with a machine learning model trained at block 304, based on product information (e.g., the product information stored in the product data database 104). Embeddings may be generated for thousands, tens of thousands, hundreds of thousands, millions, or more products. The generating text embeddings block 306 may result in a set of text embeddings vectors, with a single text embeddings vector per product.
Regarding claim 9, Al Jadda discloses the limitations set forth above and further discloses:
wherein the generating of the item embedding, the generating of the one or more similarity scores, [0029] The training module 108 may train a machine learning model such as a Siamese network having Bidirectional LSTM (long short-term memory) components, or another machine learning tool type. After training, the machine learning model may determine the similarity of two products to each other based on input product information respective of those products. and the generating of the listing insight are via one or more artificial intelligence models. [0051] The method 300 may further include a block 306 that includes generating text embeddings for a plurality of products (e.g., respective vector descriptions of text associated with each of those products). Embeddings may be generated with a machine learning model trained at block 304, based on product information (e.g., the product information stored in the product data database 104). Embeddings may be generated for thousands, tens of thousands, hundreds of thousands, millions, or more products. The generating text embeddings block 306 may result in a set of text embeddings vectors, with a single text embeddings vector per product. And return set of products at 210
Regarding claim 11, Al Jadda discloses the limitations set forth above and further discloses:
wherein the one or more item attributes are extracted via a machine learning model trained to identify item attributes. [0051] The method 300 may further include a block 306 that includes generating text embeddings for a plurality of products (e.g., respective vector descriptions of text associated with each of those products). Embeddings may be generated with a machine learning model trained at block 304, based on product information (e.g., the product information stored in the product data database 104). Embeddings may be generated for thousands, tens of thousands, hundreds of thousands, millions, or more products. The generating text embeddings block 306 may result in a set of text embeddings vectors, with a single text embeddings vector per product. And return set of products at 210
Regarding claim 13, Al Jadda discloses the limitations set forth above and further discloses:
further comprising, broadcasting the listing insight for display. [0045] The method 200 may further include a block 210 that includes returning the set of complementary products as determined. In an embodiment, returning the set of complementary products can include, for example, displaying the complementary products to the user of the user device 120 in conjunction with the display of an anchor product as selected or in conjunction with a listing of search results based on the user's search.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, 7, 8, 22, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al Jadda (US20210073891) in view of Christiansen (US 20240378653).
Regarding claims 3 and 25, Al Jadda discloses the limitations set forth above but does not expressly disclose:
wherein the item data includes at least one keyword, digital content of the item, or description of the item
However Christiansen teaches:
wherein the item data includes at least one keyword, digital content of the item, or description of the item [0064] In some implementations, the product search 132 is executed in response to a user-initiated search requests. The user-initiated search request may include a detailed keyword description of a product.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data collection and comparison regarding a plurality of products in Al Jadda to include wherein the item data includes at least one keyword, digital content of the item, or description of the item, as taught in Christiansen, in order to provide the most up to date real time information regarding products and their pricing ([0019]).
Regarding claim 5, Al Jadda discloses the limitations set forth above but does not expressly disclose:
wherein the item attribute data includes price data, the listing insight includes a price recommendation, and the attribute for the item listing is a price for the item listing.
However Christiansen teaches:
wherein the item attribute data includes price data, the listing insight includes a price recommendation (negotiated prices), and the attribute for the item listing is a price for the item listing. [0069] the data harvesting server 104 provides a search report to a user that lists the availability and pricing for acquiring a certain product (having a unique part attribute) from a plurality of different vendors. The contract management 136 component determines whether the user has special negotiated pricing for the product with any of the plurality of vendors. If the user has negotiated pricing with a certain vendor, then the negotiated price (rather than the public list price) of the product will be reflected in the search report. And see [0115]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data collection and comparison regarding a plurality of products in Al Jadda to include wherein the item attribute data includes price data, the listing insight includes a price recommendation, and the attribute for the item listing is a price for the item listing, as taught in Christiansen, in order to provide the most up to date real time information regarding products and their pricing ([0019]).
Regarding claim 7, Al Jadda discloses the limitations set forth above but does not expressly disclose:
wherein the plurality of item listings is received via web scraping.
However Christiansen teaches:
wherein the plurality of item listings is received via web scraping. [0080] The vendor crawler 232 is a software program designed to systematically browse and extract information from the vendor websites 226. The extracted information may include, for example, product listings, structured product data, unstructured product data, pricing data, availability data, specifications, and so forth. The vendor crawler 232 navigates through the vendor websites 226 to gather desired information. This process may involve scraping HTML content, parsing structured data like JSON or XML, and interacting with web forms and APIs to access data. When the vendor crawler 232 identifies relevant web pages, the vendor crawler 232 extracts information according to predefined rules or patterns. This may include extracting product names, descriptions, prices, images, product numbers, and other data points.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data collection and comparison regarding a plurality of products in Al Jadda to include wherein the plurality of item listings is received via web scraping, as taught in Christiansen, in order to provide the most up to date real time information regarding products and their pricing ([0019]).
Regarding claim 8, Al Jadda discloses the limitations set forth above but does not expressly disclose:
wherein the plurality of item listings is from a plurality of platforms.
However Christiansen teaches:
wherein the plurality of item listings is from a plurality of platforms. [0019] wherein the unique search request simultaneously extracts up-to-date information in real-time from a plurality of vendor websites to indicate current availability and pricing for an identified product or part attribute.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data collection and comparison regarding a plurality of products in Al Jadda to include wherein the plurality of item listings is from a plurality of platforms, as taught in Christiansen, in order to provide the most up to date real time information regarding products and their pricing ([0019]).
Regarding claim 22, Al Jadda discloses the limitations set forth above and further discloses:
wherein the generating of the item embedding, the generating of the one or more relevance scores, [0029] The training module 108 may train a machine learning model such as a Siamese network having Bidirectional LSTM (long short-term memory) components, or another machine learning tool type. After training, the machine learning model may determine the similarity of two products to each other based on input product information respective of those products. […] are via one or more artificial intelligence models. [0051] The method 300 may further include a block 306 that includes generating text embeddings for a plurality of products (e.g., respective vector descriptions of text associated with each of those products). Embeddings may be generated with a machine learning model trained at block 304, based on product information (e.g., the product information stored in the product data database 104). Embeddings may be generated for thousands, tens of thousands, hundreds of thousands, millions, or more products. The generating text embeddings block 306 may result in a set of text embeddings vectors, with a single text embeddings vector per product. And return set of products at 210
Al Jadda does not expressly disclose:
and the generating of the price recommendation are via one or more artificial intelligence models.
However Christiansen teaches:
and the generating of the price recommendation [0069] the data harvesting server 104 provides a search report to a user that lists the availability and pricing for acquiring a certain product (having a unique part attribute) from a plurality of different vendors. The contract management 136 component determines whether the user has special negotiated pricing for the product with any of the plurality of vendors. If the user has negotiated pricing with a certain vendor, then the negotiated price (rather than the public list price) of the product will be reflected in the search report. And see [0115] are via one or more artificial intelligence models. [0048] The AI/ML engine 118 comprises storage and processing resources for executing a machine learning or artificial intelligence algorithm. The AI/ML engine 118 may include a deep learning convolutional neural network (CNN). The convolutional neural network is based on the shared weight architecture of convolution kernel or filters that slide along input features and provide translation equivalent responses known as feature maps. The AI/ML engine 118 may include one or more independent neural networks trained to implement different machine learning processes.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data collection and comparison regarding a plurality of products in Al Jadda to include and the generating of the price recommendation are via one or more artificial intelligence models, as taught in Christiansen, in order to provide the most up to date real time information regarding products and their pricing ([0019]).
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al Jadda (US20210073891) in view of Micaelian (US 20250086191).
Regarding claim 10, Al Jadda discloses the limitations set forth above but does not expressly disclose:
wherein one of the one or more artificial intelligence models is a large language model
However Micaelian teaches:
wherein one of the one or more artificial intelligence models is a large language model [0044] Operation 116 may employ an existing AI/ML engine that employs a Large Language Model (LLM), commonly referred to as a generative AI engine, to provide criteria for a particular category received as an input.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data collection and comparison regarding a plurality of products in Al Jadda to include, wherein one of the one or more artificial intelligence models is a large language model, as taught in Micaelian, in order to provide scalability to the modeling through the presentation of tradeoff data to an end user ([0027]).
Regarding claim 12, Al Jadda discloses the limitations set forth above but does not expressly disclose:
wherein the listing insight includes an explanation for a recommendation included as part of the listing insight
However Micaelian teaches:
wherein the listing insight includes an explanation for a recommendation included as part of the listing insight. [0041] The tradeoff platform 102 offers a variety of services via APIs 130 that include a ranking API 132 that ranks the results and a causality API 134 that reverse engineers a decision to derive the importance of the criteria providing means of justifying or insight on the implication of a decision. Ranking API 132 receives from application 115 a category and application settings in the form of tradeoffs and applies the tradeoffs to items in a database, such as database 120, that correspond to the received category to provide to the application 115 a ranked listing of the items from the database, where each provided item is provided with a corresponding score that indicates its correspondence to the received tradeoffs. Inference API 134 receives from application 115 a category and retrieves from a database a set of items that have associated with them an ordering and infers tradeoff values to match the ordering of items and provides to the application 115 a ranked listing of the items from the database, where each provided item is provided with a corresponding score that indicates its correspondence to the received tradeoffs.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data collection and comparison regarding a plurality of products in Al Jadda to include wherein the listing insight includes an explanation for a recommendation included as part of the listing insight, as taught in Micaelian, in order to provide scalability to the modeling through the presentation of tradeoff data to an end user ([0027]).
Relevant Art Not Cited
US 8612306 discloses determining pricing recommendations based on the web crawling performed by the system.
Conclusion
VICTORIA E. FRUNZI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit TC 3689
/VICTORIA E. FRUNZI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3689 9/13/2026