DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/27/25 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “An electric field generation device for inhibiting tumor cells” should recite --An electric field generation device configured for inhibiting tumor cells-- for clarity purposes. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the same type and frequency as the target waveform” should recite –the type and the frequency of the target waveform—to properly refer back to “a type and frequency of the target waveform” previously recited in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 5 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities: “each filter circuit is corresponding to one type of waveform” should recite –each filter circuit corresponds to one type of waveform—for grammatical purposes. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 6 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the electric field signal” should recite –the target electric field signal—for consistency purposes. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “A system for inhibiting tumor cells” should recite -- A system configured for inhibiting tumor cells-- for clarity purposes. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“signal generation module” in claims 1, 4, and 13;
“waveform modulation module” in claim 1;
“filter module” in claim 1;
“excitation module” in claim 1; and
“switching devices” in claims 2, 4, 11, and 13.
For “a signal generation module” in claims 1, 4, and 13, the specification discloses “the signal generation module 101 may further include any signal generator capable of generating multi-waveform signals, such as a function signal generator, which is not limited herein” (¶41). Therefore, the Examiner is interpreting the signal generation module to be a signal generator, or equivalents thereof.
For “a waveform modulation module” in claim 1, the specification discloses “the waveform modulation module includes a modulation circuit and an inverter” (¶11). Therefore, the Examiner is interpreting the waveform modulation module to be a modulation circuit and an inverter, or equivalents thereof.
For “a filter module” in claim 1, the specification discloses “the filter module includes a selection circuit and at least one filter circuit” (¶15) and “the filter module further includes a transformer that is configured to perform voltage boosting on the electric field signal after filtering to generate the target electric field signal” (¶17). Therefore, the Examiner is interpreting the filter module to be a selection circuit and at least one filter circuit, a transformer, or equivalents thereof.
For “an excitation module” in claim 1, the specification discloses “the excitation module includes an electrode selection channel and at least one group of electrodes” (¶18). Therefore, the Examiner is interpreting the excitation module to be an electrode selection channel and at least one group of electrodes, or equivalents thereof.
For “switching devices” in claims 2, 4, 11, and 13, the specification discloses “The inverter may include a plurality of switching devices, such as H-bridge structures. The plurality of switching devices may include a high-power transistor, such as a MOS power transistor” (¶47). Therefore, the Examiner is interpreting the switching devices to be H-bridge structures, a high-power transistor, such as a MOS power transistor, or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 8 and 17, the limitation of “a spatial electric field” seems unclear. It remains unclear how this is different from “a spatial electric field” in claims 7 and 16 which claims 8 and 17 depend from. For the purposes of examination, the Examiner is interpreting “a spatial electric field” in claims 8 and 17 to recite –the spatial electric field--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 9-10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 105617494 filed on 2/19/16 as cited in the IDS and a copy relied upon is being furnished with this Office Action) in view of Yao (WO 2020057155 published on 3/26/20).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches an electric field generation device for inhibiting tumor cells, comprising a signal generation module (page 2, last ¶-a software waveform generator), a waveform modulation module (page 2, last ¶-a signal modulation and driving circuit), a filter module (page 3, ¶3-the pulse measurement module is composed of…a low pass filter), and an excitation module (page 2, last ¶-the MCU outputs a PWM signal with a variable pulse width of 15 kHz through PB6, so that the output of the booster circuit (ie, the H-bridge operating voltage) varies between 60 and 120V. The effect of stimulation intensity) which are connected in sequence (Fig. 1), wherein the signal generation module is configured for generating a target waveform matched with a target electric field signal expected to be output (page 1, 2nd to last ¶-the ultrasonic atomizing unit uses an oscillating circuit with a transistor T11 as a core to generate ultrasonic waves of 1.7 MHz through the piezoelectric transducer TD); page 2, last ¶-a software waveform generator and a signal modulation and driving circuit. Under the control of the software, the single-chip microcomputer outputs two-phase low-frequency pulse signals from PF0 and PF1; MPEP 2114-“[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990)); the waveform modulation module is configured for modulating the target waveform into a pulse sequence (page 2, last ¶-modulates the intermediate frequency carrier outputted by the PB5 through the transistors T8 and T9. The H-bridge drive circuit composed of T3, T4, T5, and T6 is power-amplified, and finally outputted through the medical electrode to act on acupuncture points or lesions of the human body. T1, L1, D1, and C1 form a boost converter circuit. The MCU outputs a PWM signal with a variable pulse width of 15 kHz through PB6, so that the output of the booster circuit (ie, the H-bridge operating voltage) varies between 60 and 120V), the filter module is configured for carrying out low-pass filtering on the pulse sequence (page 3, ¶3-the pulse measurement module is composed of…a low pass filter) and the excitation module is configured for applying the target electric field signal on tumor cells (page 1, ¶9-a tumor physiotherapy instrument; page 2, last ¶-the MCU outputs a PWM signal with a variable pulse width of 15 kHz through PB6, so that the output of the booster circuit (ie, the H-bridge operating voltage) varies between 60 and 120V. The effect of stimulation intensity. The electrotherapy module has cured the digital code of 60 experience waveforms, which is the prescription).
However, Liu does not explicitly teach a type and frequency of the target waveform are at least adjustable; and a width of a pulse in the pulse sequence is matched with an amplitude of the target waveform; and converting the pulse sequence into the target electric field signal with the same type and frequency as the target waveform.
Yao relates to the technical field of tumor tissue ablation, and in particular to a device, method, medium and electronic equipment for targeted ablation of cells based on a pulsed electric field (page 1, ¶2). Yao further teaches the invention using the following steps:
a type and frequency of the target waveform are at least adjustable (page 4, ¶6-the waveform of the high-voltage electric pulse and the electric field intensity generated by the high-voltage electric pulse are adjusted in real time; page 8, ¶7-the frequency range obtained after the Fourier transform of the high-voltage electric pulse matches the component structural parameters and dielectric parameters of the target cell; page 8, ¶6-the waveform of the high-voltage electrical pulse generated by the pulse forming module includes: a unipolar square wave, and / or a bipolar square wave, and / or a trapezoidal wave, and / or a triangular wave, And / or sine wave); and a width of a pulse in the pulse sequence is matched with an amplitude of the target waveform (page 9, ¶2-a pulsed electric field of high amplitude and narrow pulse width to the cells or tissues through electrodes; page 14, ¶1-pulse parameter is Amplitude 15kV / cm, pulse width 200ns); and converting the pulse sequence into the target electric field signal with the same type and frequency as the target waveform (page 8, ¶6-the waveform of the high-voltage electrical pulse generated by the pulse forming module includes: a unipolar square wave, and / or a bipolar square wave, and / or a trapezoidal wave, and / or a triangular wave, And / or sine wave; page 8, ¶7-the frequency range obtained after the Fourier transform of the high-voltage electric pulse matches the component structural parameters and dielectric parameters of the target cell, and the high-voltage electric pulse undergoes the Fourier transform after the Fourier transform; page 1, last ¶-pulse sequences can be used to selectively target tumor-resistant cells and tumor stem cells; page 2, ¶3-the pulse forming module generates a high-voltage electric pulse targeted to ablate a target cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Liu to include a type and frequency of the target waveform are at least adjustable; and a width of a pulse in the pulse sequence is matched with an amplitude of the target waveform; and converting the pulse sequence into the target electric field signal with the same type and frequency as the target waveform of Yao in order to achieve complete ablation of the therapeutic target area (Yao, page 17, ¶1) and overcome one or more of the inability to complete ablation of tumor-resistant cells or stem cells (Yao, page 1, last ¶).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Liu and Yao teaches the electric field generation device of claim 1, wherein the filter module further comprises a transformer that is configured to perform voltage boosting on the electric field signal after filtering to generate the target electric field signal (Yao, page 2, ¶9-a linear transformer drive source; page 16, ¶1-high-voltage electric pulses targeted to ablate the target cells are repeatedly generated; page 8, last ¶-high-voltage pulse generating unit 202 is used to generate high-voltage electric pulses required for targeting and selective malignant tumor cells, and the electrode array 204 is used to receive the high-voltage electric pulses generated by the high-voltage pulse generating unit 202 Signals, and applied to target cells (tissues or cells that need to be ablated, such as chemotherapy-resistant cells, or radiotherapy-resistant cells, tumor stem cells, and other target cells)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Liu to include wherein the filter module further comprises a transformer that is configured to perform voltage boosting on the electric field signal after filtering to generate the target electric field signal of Yao in order to achieve complete ablation of the therapeutic target area (Yao, page 17, ¶1) and overcome one or more of the inability to complete ablation of tumor-resistant cells or stem cells (Yao, page 1, last ¶).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Liu and Yao teaches a system for inhibiting tumor cells, comprising a controller (Liu, page 1, 4th to last ¶-control unit) and the electric field generation device (Liu, page 2, last ¶-a software waveform generator) of claim 1, wherein the controller is signal-coupled with the electric field generation device (Liu, page 2, last ¶-the electrotherapy unit is composed of a software waveform generator and a signal modulation and driving circuit. Under the control of the software, the single-chip microcomputer outputs two-phase low-frequency pulse signals from PF0 and PF1; page 2, 2nd to last ¶-ultrasonic atomization unit circuit: The oscillation circuit with the transistor T11 as the core generates 1.7MHz ultrasonic wave through the piezoelectric transducer TD) and configured to adjust the type and frequency of the target waveform (Yao, page 4, ¶6-the waveform of the high-voltage electric pulse and the electric field intensity generated by the high-voltage electric pulse are adjusted in real time; page 8, ¶7-the frequency range obtained after the Fourier transform of the high-voltage electric pulse matches the component structural parameters and dielectric parameters of the target cell; page 8, ¶6-the waveform of the high-voltage electrical pulse generated by the pulse forming module includes: a unipolar square wave, and / or a bipolar square wave, and / or a trapezoidal wave, and / or a triangular wave, And / or sine wave)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Liu to include adjusting the type and frequency of the target waveform of Yao in order to achieve complete ablation of the therapeutic target area (Yao, page 17, ¶1) and overcome one or more of the inability to complete ablation of tumor-resistant cells or stem cells (Yao, page 1, last ¶).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Liu and Yao teaches the system of claim 9, further comprising a user terminal (Yao, page 8, 2nd to last ¶-user interface), wherein the user terminal is signal-coupled with the controller (Yao, page 8, 2nd to last ¶-a user interface 205 and control unit 206) and configured to receive a control instruction input by a user and transmit the control instruction to the controller (Yao, page 9, ¶1-for control and monitoring, the user interface 205 is used to provide user input, treatment process control and detection functions; page 17, last ¶-the computer-readable medium may send, propagate, or transmit the program for use by or in combination with the instruction execution system, apparatus, or device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Liu to include a user terminal, wherein the user terminal is signal- coupled with the controller and configured to receive a control instruction input by a user and transmit the control instruction to the controller of Yao in order to achieve complete ablation of the therapeutic target area (Yao, page 17, ¶1) and overcome one or more of the inability to complete ablation of tumor-resistant cells or stem cells (Yao, page 1, last ¶).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Liu and Yao teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the filter module further comprises a transformer that is configured to perform voltage boosting on the electric field signal after filtering to generate the target electric field signal (Yao, page 2, ¶9-a linear transformer drive source; page 16, ¶1-high-voltage electric pulses targeted to ablate the target cells are repeatedly generated; page 8, last ¶-high-voltage pulse generating unit 202 is used to generate high-voltage electric pulses required for targeting and selective malignant tumor cells, and the electrode array 204 is used to receive the high-voltage electric pulses generated by the high-voltage pulse generating unit 202 Signals, and applied to target cells (tissues or cells that need to be ablated, such as chemotherapy-resistant cells, or radiotherapy-resistant cells, tumor stem cells, and other target cells)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Liu to include a transformer that is configured to perform voltage boosting on the electric field signal after filtering to generate the target electric field signal of Yao in order to achieve complete ablation of the therapeutic target area (Yao, page 17, ¶1) and overcome one or more of the inability to complete ablation of tumor-resistant cells or stem cells (Yao, page 1, last ¶).
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Yao as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Shen (CN 114099957 published on 3/1/22).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Liu and Yao teaches the electric field generation device of claim 1, and the width of the pulse in the pulse sequence is matched with the amplitude of the target waveform (Yao, page 9, ¶2-applies a pulsed electric field with a high amplitude and narrow pulse width to cells or tissues through electrodes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Liu to include the width of the pulse in the pulse sequence is matched with the amplitude of the target waveform of Yao in order to achieve complete ablation of the therapeutic target area (Yao, page 17, ¶1) and overcome one or more of the inability to complete ablation of tumor-resistant cells or stem cells (Yao, page 1, last ¶).
However, the combination of Liu and Yao does not teach wherein the waveform modulation module comprises a modulation circuit and an inverter, the inverter comprises a plurality of switching devices, and an output terminal of the modulation circuit has a signal connection to the plurality of switching devices in the inverter; and the modulation circuit is configured to take the target waveform as a modulated wave, and control on/off of the plurality of switching devices in the inverter according to intersection points between the target waveform and a carrier wave, so that the inverter is capable of outputting the pulse sequence.
Shen teaches wherein the waveform modulation module comprises a modulation circuit and an inverter (page 9, ¶2-the AC signal generator 9 is used to output a sinusoidal signal with adjustable frequency and amplitude. In this embodiment, the control signal generator 7 is a square wave generator, which generates a square wave signal, and the inverter 8 is used for inverting the square wave signal of the control signal generator 7), the inverter comprises a plurality of switching devices (page 10, ¶3-the first switch/amplifier module 10 and the second switch/amplifier module 10'), and an output terminal of the modulation circuit has a signal connection to the plurality of switching devices in the inverter (page 9, ¶3-the first switch/amplifier module 10 and the input end of the second switch/amplifier module 10' are connected with the AC signal generator 9; the output end of the first switch/amplifier module 10 is connected with the first pair of insulated electrodes 1, and the output of the second switch/amplifier module 10' The ends are connected to the second pair of insulated electrodes 2 . The first switch/amplifier module 10 and the second switch/amplifier module 10' have the function of signal amplification and also function as switches); and the modulation circuit is configured to take the target waveform as a modulated wave (page 9, 4th to last ¶-an alternating therapeutic electric field acting on the target area, that is, the alternately applied first electric field 3 and second electric field 4), and control on/off of the plurality of switching devices in the inverter according to intersection points between the target waveform and a carrier wave (page 9, 4th to last ¶-the first pair of insulated electrodes 1 and the second pair of insulated electrodes 2 are controlled to be turned on alternately to form an alternating therapeutic electric field acting on the target area, that is, the alternately applied first electric field 3 and second electric field 4; page 9, 4th to last ¶-the first pair of insulating electrodes 1 and the second pair of insulating electrodes 2 make the first electric field 3 and The electric field directions of the second electric fields 4 are arranged in such a manner that they intersect perpendicularly), so that the inverter is capable of outputting the pulse sequence (page 9, 2nd to last ¶-the control signal input by the control signal generator 7 to the first switch/amplifier module 10, similar to the signal 5 in FIG. 2, is used to turn on and off the first electric field 3; due to the setting of the inverter 8; page 1, 4th to last ¶-generates a periodic control signal having a first output state and a second output state).
Shen relates to a tumor electric field treatment system, which belongs to the field of medical technology equipment (page 1, ¶2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Liu to include wherein the waveform modulation module comprises a modulation circuit and an inverter, the inverter comprises a plurality of switching devices, and an output terminal of the modulation circuit has a signal connection to the plurality of switching devices in the inverter; and the modulation circuit is configured to take the target waveform as a modulated wave, and control on/off of the plurality of switching devices in the inverter according to intersection points between the target waveform and a carrier wave, so that the inverter is capable of outputting the pulse sequence of Shen in order to provide a tumor electric field treatment system with better effect of inhibiting tumor cell proliferation (Shen, page 1, 6th to last ¶).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Liu and Yao teaches the system of claim 9, and the width of the pulse in the pulse sequence is matched with the amplitude of the target waveform (Yao, page 9, ¶2-applies a pulsed electric field with a high amplitude and narrow pulse width to cells or tissues through electrodes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Liu to include the width of the pulse in the pulse sequence is matched with the amplitude of the target waveform of Yao in order to achieve complete ablation of the therapeutic target area (Yao, page 17, ¶1) and overcome one or more of the inability to complete ablation of tumor-resistant cells or stem cells (Yao, page 1, last ¶).
However, the combination of Liu and Yao does not teach wherein the waveform modulation module comprises a modulation circuit and an inverter, the inverter comprises a plurality of switching devices, and an output terminal of the modulation circuit has a signal connection to the plurality of switching devices in the inverter; and the modulation circuit is configured to take the target waveform as a modulated wave, and control on/off of the plurality of switching devices in the inverter according to intersection points between the target waveform and a carrier wave, so that the inverter is capable of outputting the pulse sequence.
Shen teaches wherein the waveform modulation module comprises a modulation circuit and an inverter (page 9, ¶2-the AC signal generator 9 is used to output a sinusoidal signal with adjustable frequency and amplitude. In this embodiment, the control signal generator 7 is a square wave generator, which generates a square wave signal, and the inverter 8 is used for inverting the square wave signal of the control signal generator 7), the inverter comprises a plurality of switching devices (page 10, ¶3-the first switch/amplifier module 10 and the second switch/amplifier module 10'), and an output terminal of the modulation circuit has a signal connection to the plurality of switching devices in the inverter (page 9, ¶3-the first switch/amplifier module 10 and the input end of the second switch/amplifier module 10' are connected with the AC signal generator 9; the output end of the first switch/amplifier module 10 is connected with the first pair of insulated electrodes 1, and the output of the second switch/amplifier module 10' The ends are connected to the second pair of insulated electrodes 2 . The first switch/amplifier module 10 and the second switch/amplifier module 10' have the function of signal amplification and also function as switches); and the modulation circuit is configured to take the target waveform as a modulated wave (page 9, 4th to last ¶-an alternating therapeutic electric field acting on the target area, that is, the alternately applied first electric field 3 and second electric field 4), and control on/off of the plurality of switching devices in the inverter according to intersection points between the target waveform and a carrier wave (page 9, 4th to last ¶-the first pair of insulated electrodes 1 and the second pair of insulated electrodes 2 are controlled to be turned on alternately to form an alternating therapeutic electric field acting on the target area, that is, the alternately applied first electric field 3 and second electric field 4; page 9, 4th to last ¶-the first pair of insulating electrodes 1 and the second pair of insulating electrodes 2 make the first electric field 3 and The electric field directions of the second electric fields 4 are arranged in such a manner that they intersect perpendicularly), so that the inverter is capable of outputting the pulse sequence (page 9, 2nd to last ¶-the control signal input by the control signal generator 7 to the first switch/amplifier module 10, similar to the signal 5 in FIG. 2, is used to turn on and off the first electric field 3; due to the setting of the inverter 8; page 1, 4th to last ¶-generates a periodic control signal having a first output state and a second output state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Liu to include wherein the waveform modulation module comprises a modulation circuit and an inverter, the inverter comprises a plurality of switching devices, and an output terminal of the modulation circuit has a signal connection to the plurality of switching devices in the inverter; and the modulation circuit is configured to take the target waveform as a modulated wave, and control on/off of the plurality of switching devices in the inverter according to intersection points between the target waveform and a carrier wave, so that the inverter is capable of outputting the pulse sequence of Shen in order to provide a tumor electric field treatment system with better effect of inhibiting tumor cell proliferation (Shen, page 1, 6th to last ¶).
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Yao as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Zheng (CN 112501015 published on 3/16/21).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Liu, Yao, and Shen teaches the electric field generation device of claim 2. However, the combination of Liu, Yao, and Shen does not teach wherein a power supply of the inverter is adjustable, and a voltage value of the power supply is matched with an excitation voltage value required for inhibiting the tumor cells.
Zheng teaches wherein a power supply of the inverter is adjustable (page 4, 4th to last ¶-the DC/AC circuit 21 may also be a half-bridge inverter circuit, an I-type inverter circuit, a T-type inverter circuit, or the like; page 3, 2nd to last ¶-the square wave voltage source 20 may be provided with a dc source such as a battery as its power supply, or may be provided with a dc source such as an external battery; page 4, ¶2-a corresponding number of square wave voltage sources 20 are arranged to supply power according to the number of pairs of body surface conductive electrodes, for example, N pairs (N ═ 1,2,3 … …), so that N sets of square wave voltage sources 20 are provided), and a voltage value of the power supply is matched with an excitation voltage value required for inhibiting the tumor cells (page 5, ¶2-the voltage amplitude of the circuit can be adjusted by the DC/DC circuit 22, the inverter and duty cycle, voltage, and frequency can be adjusted by the DC/AC circuit 21, and then the signal distribution circuit 23 can be used to distribute the body surface conductive electrodes 10 Wave signal; page 1, ¶2-inhibiting or destroying tumor cell division).
Zheng relates to the field of medical technology, in particular to a device for inhibiting or destroying tumor cell division (page 1, ¶2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Liu to include wherein a power supply of the inverter is adjustable, and a voltage value of the power supply is matched with an excitation voltage value required for inhibiting the tumor cells of Zheng in order for inhibiting or destroying tumor cell division to solve the existing problem of uncontrolled mitosis of tumor cells (Zheng, page 1, 6th to last ¶).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Liu, Yao, and Shen teaches the system of claim 11. However, the combination of Liu, Yao, and Shen does not teach wherein a power supply of the inverter is adjustable, and a voltage value of the power supply is matched with an excitation voltage value required for inhibiting the tumor cells.
Zheng teaches wherein a power supply of the inverter is adjustable (page 4, 4th to last ¶-the DC/AC circuit 21 may also be a half-bridge inverter circuit, an I-type inverter circuit, a T-type inverter circuit, or the like; page 3, 2nd to last ¶-the square wave voltage source 20 may be provided with a dc source such as a battery as its power supply, or may be provided with a dc source such as an external battery; page 4, ¶2-a corresponding number of square wave voltage sources 20 are arranged to supply power according to the number of pairs of body surface conductive electrodes, for example, N pairs (N ═ 1,2,3 … …), so that N sets of square wave voltage sources 20 are provided), and a voltage value of the power supply is matched with an excitation voltage value required for inhibiting the tumor cells (page 5, ¶2-the voltage amplitude of the circuit can be adjusted by the DC/DC circuit 22, the inverter and duty cycle, voltage, and frequency can be adjusted by the DC/AC circuit 21, and then the signal distribution circuit 23 can be used to distribute the body surface conductive electrodes 10 Wave signal; page 1, ¶2-inhibiting or destroying tumor cell division).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Liu to include wherein a power supply of the inverter is adjustable, and a voltage value of the power supply is matched with an excitation voltage value required for inhibiting the tumor cells of Zheng in order for inhibiting or destroying tumor cell division to solve the existing problem of uncontrolled mitosis of tumor cells (Zheng, page 1, 6th to last ¶).
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Yao as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Zhang (US 20080174366 filed on 1/2/08).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Liu, Yao, and Shen teaches the electric field generation device of claim 2. However, the combination of Liu, Yao, and Shen does not teach wherein the signal generation module is further configured to generate a differential waveform with the target waveform while generating the target waveform, and correspondingly, the modulation circuit is further configured to control the on/off of different switching devices in the inverter according to the intersection points between the target waveform and the carrier wave and intersection points between the differential waveform and the carrier wave, so that the inverter is capable of outputting two pulse sequences, a width of the pulse in one pulse sequence is matched with the amplitude of the target waveform, and a width of the pulse in the other pulse sequence is matched with the amplitude of the differential waveform.
Zhang teaches wherein the signal generation module is further configured to generate a differential waveform with the target waveform while generating the target waveform (¶36-generating a differential pulse train; MPEP 2114-“[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990)), and correspondingly, the modulation circuit is further configured to control the on/off of different switching devices in the inverter according to the intersection points between the target waveform and the carrier wave and intersection points between the differential waveform and the carrier wave (¶33-modulation circuit, inverter circuit; ¶36-generating a differential pulse train to reduce crossover distortion. Delay cell 312 delays the received signal by a fixed amount of time. When combined with the combination logic of the digital circuit, differential pulse trains may be generated at nodes 423 and 424 near zero crossing; MPEP 2114-“[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990)), so that the inverter is capable of outputting two pulse sequences (¶35-the pulse width modulated signal is then inverted by inverter 310; ¶32-a differential pulse train has been added on both channels near the crossover point as illustrated by 354 and 355; MPEP 2114-“[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990)), a width of the pulse in one pulse sequence is matched with the amplitude of the target waveform (¶4-a continuous input signal is received by a modulator 101 and converted into a train of pulses. The input signal is transformed into a stream of pulses where the pulse characteristics are linked to the amplitude of the input signal; MPEP 2114-“[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990)), and a width of the pulse in the other pulse sequence is matched with the amplitude of the differential waveform (¶37-with delay cell 312 of FIG. 4, plot 510 shifts to the right by an amount equal to the fixed delay time of delay cell 312. This will result in differential fixed width pulse trains generated at nodes 423 and 424; MPEP 2114-“[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
Zhang relates to amplifiers, and in particular, switching amplifier circuits and methods (¶2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Liu to include wherein the signal generation module is further configured to generate a differential waveform with the target waveform while generating the target waveform, and correspondingly, the modulation circuit is further configured to control the on/off of different switching devices in the inverter according to the intersection points between the target waveform and the carrier wave and intersection points between the differential waveform and the carrier wave, so that the inverter is capable of outputting two pulse sequences, a width of the pulse in one pulse sequence is matched with the amplitude of the target waveform, and a width of the pulse in the other pulse sequence is matched with the amplitude of the differential waveform of Zhang in order to result in a decrease of total harmonic distortion and noise in the output signal (Zhang, ¶32).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Liu, Yao, and Shen teaches the system of claim 11. However, the combination of Liu, Yao, and Shen does not teach wherein the signal generation module is further configured to generate a differential waveform with the target waveform while generating the target waveform, and correspondingly, the modulation circuit is further configured to control the on/off of different switching devices in the inverter according to the intersection points between the target waveform and the carrier wave and intersection points between the differential waveform and the carrier wave, so that the inverter is capable of outputting two pulse sequences, a width of the pulse in one pulse sequence is matched with the amplitude of the target waveform, and a width of the pulse in the other pulse sequence is matched with the amplitude of the differential waveform.
Zhang teaches wherein the signal generation module is further configured to generate a differential waveform with the target waveform while generating the target waveform (¶36-generating a differential pulse train; MPEP 2114-“[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990)), and correspondingly, the modulation circuit is further configured to control the on/off of different switching devices in the inverter according to the intersection points between the target waveform and the carrier wave and intersection points between the differential waveform and the carrier wave (¶33-modulation circuit, inverter circuit; ¶36-generating a differential pulse train to reduce crossover distortion. Delay cell 312 delays the received signal by a fixed amount of time. When combined with the combination logic of the digital circuit, differential pulse trains may be generated at nodes 423 and 424 near zero crossing; MPEP 2114-“[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990)), so that the inverter is capable of outputting two pulse sequences (¶35-the pulse width modulated signal is then inverted by inverter 310; ¶32-a differential pulse train has been added on both channels near the crossover point as illustrated by 354 and 355; MPEP 2114-“[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990)), a width of the pulse in one pulse sequence is matched with the amplitude of the target waveform (¶4-a continuous input signal is received by a modulator 101 and converted into a train of pulses. The input signal is transformed into a stream of pulses where the pulse characteristics are linked to the amplitude of the input signal; MPEP 2114-“[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990)), and a width of the pulse in the other pulse sequence is matched with the amplitude of the differential waveform (¶37-with delay cell 312 of FIG. 4, plot 510 shifts to the right by an amount equal to the fixed delay time of delay cell 312. This will result in differential fixed width pulse trains generated at nodes 423 and 424; MPEP 2114-“[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Liu to include wherein the signal generation module is further configured to generate a differential waveform with the target waveform while generating the target waveform, and correspondingly, the modulation circuit is further configured to control the on/off of different switching devices in the inverter according to the intersection points between the target waveform and the carrier wave and intersection points between the differential waveform and the carrier wave, so that the inverter is capable of outputting two pulse sequences, a width of the pulse in one pulse sequence is matched with the amplitude of the target waveform, and a width of the pulse in the other pulse sequence is matched with the amplitude of the differential waveform of Zhang in order to result in a decrease of total harmonic distortion and noise in the output signal (Zhang, ¶32).
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Yao as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of John (US 20070142874 filed on 1/23/07).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Liu and Yao teaches the electric field generation device of claim 1. However, the combination of Liu and Yao does not teach wherein the filter module comprises a selection circuit and at least one filter circuit, each filter circuit is corresponding to one type of waveform, and the selection circuit is configured to input the pulse sequence to a filter circuit matched with the type of the target waveform in response to a received selection signal.
John teaches wherein the filter module comprises a selection circuit and at least one filter circuit (¶78-filtering this signal with filter settings selected in order to provide the desired carrier; claim 10- selecting protocols each configured to stimulate with sine wave of a unique frequency; ¶52-filters), each filter circuit is corresponding to one type of waveform (¶78-filtering this signal with filter settings selected in order to provide the desired carrier; ¶72), and the selection circuit is configured to input the pulse sequence to a filter circuit matched with the type of the target waveform in response to a received selection signal (¶53-the stimulation subsystem 14 provides for creation and transduction of different pulses and other waveshapes which serve as the stimulation signals, and can include programmable signal generators; ¶78-filtering this signal with filter settings selected in order to provide the desired carrier. The stimulation signal may be a selected band encompassing energy limited by a first frequency and a second frequency; ¶138-where the pulses of the treatment are matched to internal oscillations).
John is generally directed to treatment systems and methods used to guide stimulation treatments and includes providing, in both responsive and non-responsive manners, roving stimulation signals used by implanted or external stimulation devices such as magnetic stimulators (¶2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Liu to include wherein the filter module comprises a selection circuit and at least one filter circuit, each filter circuit is corresponding to one type of waveform, and the selection circuit is configured to input the pulse sequence to a filter circuit matched with the type of the target waveform in response to a received selection signal of John in order to be applied as an anti-cancer therapy for electrical treatment of malignant tumors (John, ¶146).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Liu and Yao teaches the system of claim 9. However, the combination of Liu and Yao does not teach wherein the filter module comprises a selection circuit and at least one filter circuit, each filter circuit is corresponding to one type of waveform, and the selection circuit is configured to input the pulse sequence to a filter circuit matched with the type of the target waveform in response to a received selection signal.
John teaches wherein the filter module comprises a selection circuit and at least one filter circuit (¶78-filtering this signal with filter settings selected in order to provide the desired carrier; claim 10- selecting protocols each configured to stimulate with sine wave of a unique frequency; ¶52-filters), each filter circuit is corresponding to one type of waveform (¶78-filtering this signal with filter settings selected in order to provide the desired carrier; ¶72), and the selection circuit is configured to input the pulse sequence to a filter circuit matched with the type of the target waveform in response to a received selection signal (¶53-the stimulation subsystem 14 provides for creation and transduction of different pulses and other waveshapes which serve as the stimulation signals, and can include programmable signal generators; ¶78-filtering this signal with filter settings selected in order to provide the desired carrier. The stimulation signal may be a selected band encompassing energy limited by a first frequency and a second frequency; ¶138-where the pulses of the treatment are matched to internal oscillations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Liu to include wherein the filter module comprises a selection circuit and at least one filter circuit, each filter circuit is corresponding to one type of waveform, and the selection circuit is configured to input the pulse sequence to a filter circuit matched with the type of the target waveform in response to a received selection signal of John in order to be applied as an anti-cancer therapy for electrical treatment of malignant tumors (John, ¶146).
Claims 7-8 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Yao as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Zhong (CN 113599703 published on 11/5/21).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Liu and Yao teaches the electric field generation device of claim 1. However, the combination of Liu and Yao does not teach wherein the excitation module comprises an electrode selection channel and at least one group of electrodes, the electrode selection channel is connected to each group of electrodes one by one and is configured to control whether to transmit the target electric field signal to each group of electrodes, the at least one group of electrodes is configured to receive the target electric field signal to form a spatial electric field that acts on the tumor cells.
Zhong teaches wherein the excitation module comprises an electrode selection channel and at least one group of electrodes (page 8, ¶4-selection of a better target electric field direction; page 1, 2nd to last ¶-the one-way signal sequence generator to each group of electrode pairs to control each group of electrode pairs), the electrode selection channel is connected to each group of electrodes one by one and is configured (page 1, 2nd to last ¶-control each group of electrode pairs) to control whether to transmit the target electric field signal to each group of electrodes (page 1, 2nd to last ¶-the one-way signal sequence generator to each group of electrode pairs to control each group of electrode pairs), the at least one group of electrodes is configured to receive the target electric field signal to form a spatial electric field that acts on the tumor cells (Abstract-each group of electrode pair forms the target electric field at least surrounding the target biological tissue; page 4, 3rd to last ¶-alternating electric fields are referred to herein as Tumor Treating Field (Tumor Treating Field) or TT fields. The TT field can prevent the proliferation and destruction of the rapidly proliferating active cells (e.g., cancer cells) from the active cells).
Zhong relates to the field of medical equipment. Specifically, this application relates to an electric field generating device and a control method thereof (page 1, ¶2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Liu to include wherein the excitation module comprises an electrode selection channel and at least one group of electrodes, the electrode selection channel is connected to each group of electrodes one by one and is configured to control whether to transmit the target electric field signal to each group of electrodes, the at least one group of electrodes is configured to receive the target electric field signal to form a spatial electric field that acts on the tumor cells of Zhong in order to make it easier for medical personnel to determine the correspondence between the target electric field in different directions and the therapeutic effect of the target biological tissue, so that it is easy to observe the effect of the electric field in different directions on the target organism (Zhong, page 5, 3rd to last ¶) and to prevent rapidly proliferating active cells (such as cancer cells) from proliferating and destroying the active cells (Zhong, page 4, 3rd to last ¶).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Liu, Yao, and Zhong teaches the electric field generation device of claim 7, wherein the at least one group of electrodes is arranged oppositely along different directions to receive the target electric field signal to form a spatial electric field which is capable of penetrating a tumor region (Zhong, page 5, 3rd to last ¶-due to the output of a one-way electrical signal sequence to each set of electrode pairs, it is easier for medical personnel to determine the correspondence between the target electric field in different directions and the therapeutic effect of the target biological tissue, so that it is easy to observe the effect of the electric field in different directions on the target biological tissue. The treatment effect is convenient for selecting a better target electric field direction, and the inhibitory effect on the target biological tissues such as the division of diseased cells is improved).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Liu to include wherein the at least one group of electrodes is arranged oppositely along different directions to receive the target electric field signal to form a spatial electric field which is capable of penetrating a tumor region of Zhong in order to make it easier for medical personnel to determine the correspondence between the target electric field in different directions and the therapeutic effect of the target biological tissue, so that it is easy to observe the effect of the electric field in different directions on the target organism (Zhong, page 5, 3rd to last ¶) and to prevent rapidly proliferating active cells (such as cancer cells) from proliferating and destroying the active cells (Zhong, page 4, 3rd to last ¶).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Liu and Yao teaches the system of claim 9. However, the combination of Liu and Yao does not teach wherein the excitation module comprises an electrode selection channel and at least one group of electrodes, the electrode selection channel is connected to each group of electrodes one by one and is configured to control whether to transmit the target electric field signal to each group of electrodes, the at least one group of electrodes is configured to receive the target electric field signal to form a spatial electric field that acts on the tumor cells.
Zhong teaches wherein the excitation module comprises an electrode selection channel and at least one group of electrodes (page 8, ¶4-selection of a better target electric field direction; page 1, 2nd to last ¶-the one-way signal sequence generator to each group of electrode pairs to control each group of electrode pairs), the electrode selection channel is connected to each group of electrodes one by one and is configured (page 1, 2nd to last ¶-control each group of electrode pairs) to control whether to transmit the target electric field signal to each group of electrodes (page 1, 2nd to last ¶-the one-way signal sequence generator to each group of electrode pairs to control each group of electrode pairs), the at least one group of electrodes is configured to receive the target electric field signal to form a spatial electric field that acts on the tumor cells (Abstract-each group of electrode pair forms the target electric field at least surrounding the target biological tissue; page 4, 3rd to last ¶-alternating electric fields are referred to herein as Tumor Treating Field (Tumor Treating Field) or TT fields. The TT field can prevent the proliferation and destruction of the rapidly proliferating active cells (e.g., cancer cells) from the active cells).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Liu to include wherein the excitation module comprises an electrode selection channel and at least one group of electrodes, the electrode selection channel is connected to each group of electrodes one by one and is configured to control whether to transmit the target electric field signal to each group of electrodes, the at least one group of electrodes is configured to receive the target electric field signal to form a spatial electric field that acts on the tumor cells of Zhong in order to make it easier for medical personnel to determine the correspondence between the target electric field in different directions and the therapeutic effect of the target biological tissue, so that it is easy to observe the effect of the electric field in different directions on the target organism (Zhong, page 5, 3rd to last ¶) and to prevent rapidly proliferating active cells (such as cancer cells) from proliferating and destroying the active cells (Zhong, page 4, 3rd to last ¶).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Liu, Yao, and Zhong teaches the system of claim 16, wherein the at least one group of electrodes is arranged oppositely along different directions to receive the target electric field signal to form a spatial electric field which is capable of penetrating a tumor region (Zhong, page 5, 3rd to last ¶-due to the output of a one-way electrical signal sequence to each set of electrode pairs, it is easier for medical personnel to determine the correspondence between the target electric field in different directions and the therapeutic effect of the target biological tissue, so that it is easy to observe the effect of the electric field in different directions on the target biological tissue. The treatment effect is convenient for selecting a better target electric field direction, and the inhibitory effect on the target biological tissues such as the division of diseased cells is improved).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Liu to include wherein the at least one group of electrodes is arranged oppositely along different directions to receive the target electric field signal to form a spatial electric field which is capable of penetrating a tumor region of Zhong in order to make it easier for medical personnel to determine the correspondence between the target electric field in different directions and the therapeutic effect of the target biological tissue, so that it is easy to observe the effect of the electric field in different directions on the target organism (Zhong, page 5, 3rd to last ¶) and to prevent rapidly proliferating active cells (such as cancer cells) from proliferating and destroying the active cells (Zhong, page 4, 3rd to last ¶).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20160213931: relates generally to the field of electromagnetic signals used in neuromodulation and, more specifically, to shaping and controlling the generation of electromagnetic signals of the frequency spectrum of stimulation applied to the nervous system (¶1).
/LAURA HODGE/Examiner, Art Unit 3792