DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sasaki et al. (US 6,305,794 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Sasaki et al. teach method for manufacturing an ink container including an ink containing portion and an ink supply port in communication with the ink containing portion (see Fig. 1a-1c, item 100, 101, 103; also see Figs. 5a-5d), the method comprising: discharging a parison in a Z-axis direction when a discharge direction of the parison is defined as the Z-axis direction, one direction orthogonal to the Z-axis direction is defined as an X-axis direction, and a direction orthogonal to the Z-axis direction and the X-axis direction is defined as a Y-axis direction (Fig 17a-17d are manufacturing steps where extruder 212 is used to extrude plastic material to form the preform, when is then blown); setting a mold by forming the mold by a first mold and a second mold paired with the first mold (see Figs 17a-17d which shows split mold), the mold including a molding portion having a length in the X-axis direction larger than a length in the Z-axis direction (Figs. 17b-17d also shows that one side of the mold is larger than the other side, see col 17 lines 45 to col 18 lines 65) and pinching the parison from both sides in the Y-axis direction by the first mold and the second mold (see Figs 19(a1) – 19(c2) for various pinching steps, col 19 lines 5-35 discloses pinching steps via the mold); and molding the ink containing portion by inserting a blow nozzle into an air blowing port of the mold and blowing air (see col 19 lines 1-65) .
Regarding claim 2, Sasaki et al. further teach wherein in the molding, an inner peripheral surface of the ink supply port is molded through pressing of the blow nozzle against a resin of the air blowing port (Figs. 19a1 – 19c2; col 19 lines 5 to col 20 lines 65).
As for claim 5, Sasaki et al. further teach a method for manufacturing an ink container including an ink containing portion and an ink supply port in communication with the ink containing portion (see Figs. 1a-1c, item 100, 101, 103; additionally see Figs. 2-5d) the method comprising:
discharging a parison in a Z-axis direction when a discharge direction of the parison is defined as the Z-axis direction, one direction orthogonal to the Z-axis direction is defined as an X-axis direction, and a direction orthogonal to the Z-axis direction and the X-axis direction is defined as a Y-axis direction (Figs. 17a-17d shows examples of discharging a parison that is multilayered; see col 17 lines 45 to col 18 lines 65);
setting a mold by forming the mold by a first mold and a second mold paired with the first mold and pinching the parison from both sides in the Y-axis direction by the first mold and the second mold (see Figs. 19 (a1) to 19 (c2)); and molding the ink containing portion by inserting a blow nozzle into an air blowing port of the mold and blowing air (see col 18 lines 65 to col 20 lines 65), wherein in the molding of the ink containing portion, an inner peripheral surface of the ink supply port is molded through pressing of the blow nozzle against a resin of the air blowing port (Figs. 19(a1)-19(c2)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art above Sasaki et al. (US 6,305,794 B1), fails to teach wherein in the ink containing portion, a plurality of recessed portions arranged in the X-axis direction are formed on a side surface facing in the Y-axis direction by protrusions protruding in the Y-axis direction in the mold, and a width of the parison in the X-axis direction is larger than an arrangement range of the plurality of recessed portions; deburring, when the discharge direction of the parison in the Z-axis direction is defined as a Z plus direction, and a direction opposite to the Z plus direction is defined as a Z minus direction, by cutting off a burr on the Z plus direction side and a burr on the Z minus direction side of a molded product after the molding, wherein in the deburring, the burrs of portions excluding the ink supply port are cut off.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2007/0092674 A1 discloses after molding container it is deburred (see [0015]).
NAHIDA SULTANA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1743
/NAHIDA SULTANA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743