FINAL REJECTION
This action is responsive to the amendment and response filed July 13, 2026 (“Amendment”).
The instant 19/065,833 application is a reissue of U.S. Pat. 10,455,558 to Rico Alvarino et al. (“the ‘558 Patent”), which issued October 22, 2019 from application 15/498,246, filed April 26, 2017.
By way of priority, the instant underlying Patent is deemed to have an effective filing date of May 13, 2016.
Claims 1-96 were initially pending in the application. An amendment was filed with the application amending claims 1, 8, 15, 22, 25, 32, 39, 46, 49, 56, 63, 70, 73, 79, 86, and 87-96. Claims 1-96 are pending and are rejected below.
This action is Final.
Reissue
Applicant is reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.178(b), to timely apprise the Office of any prior or concurrent proceed-ing in which Patent No. 10,455,558 is or was involved. These proceedings would include interferences, reissues, reexaminations, and litigation.
Applicant is further reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.56, to timely apprise the Office of any information which is mate-rial to patentability of the claims under consideration in this reissue appli-cation.
These obligations rest with each individual associated with the filing and prosecution of this application for reissue. See also MPEP §§ 1404, 1442.01 and 1442.04.
Applicant is notified that any subsequent amendment to the specification and/or claims must comply with 37 CFR 1.173(b).
Because the instant application appears to contain a claim having an effective date on or after March 16, 2013, the America Invents Act First Inventor to File (“AIA -FITF”) provisions apply rather than pre-AIA “First to Invent” provisions. See 35 U.S.C. § 100 (note). In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Reissue Amendment
The July 13, 2026 Amendment is objected to for the following:
The Amendment aims to remove matter from the claims using strikethrough and/or double bracketing instead of single bracketing, which is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.173(d)(1). See also MPEP § 1453.
Further, Patent Owner’s statement of support for matter added in the Amendment, “[s]upport for these amendments can be found throughout applicant’s application as filed”, is not a sufficient statement of support as per 37 CFR 1.173(c).
A proper amendment is required in response to this Office action.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations using means plus function format. They are as follows:
In claim 25, “means for receiving a query from a base station”;
In claim 25, “means for, in response to the query, providing an indication to the BS of the switching capability information of the UE”;
In claim 31, “means for receiving a CA configuration in response to providing the indication”;
In claim 32, “means for sending a query to a user equipment (UE) for capability information of the UE”;
In claim 32, “means for, in response to the query, receiving an indication of switching capability information of the UE”;
In claim 38, “means for providing a CA configuration in response to receiving the indication”;
In claim 39, “means for interrupting the uplink transmission on a first component carrier (CC) to switch between the first CC and a second CC to transmit an uplink reference signal on the second CC”;
In claim 39, “means for adjusting, based on the determined corresponding parameter value, one or more parameters or parameter values of the uplink transmission on the first CC to account for the interrupting communication on the second CC”;
In claim 46, “means for receiving the set of parameter values, from a base station (BS)”;
In claim 46, “means for determining the adjustment for the one or more parameters or parameter values based on the received set of parameters values and the associated durations or uplink transmission types”;
In claim 48, “means for receiving an indication from a base station (BS) of the adjustment for the one or more parameters or parameter values”;
In claim 39, “means for receiving a set of parameter values from a base station…”;
In claim 39, “means for determining, from the received set of parameter values, a corresponding parameter value…”;
Looking to the specification, the Examiner determines the appropriate structure under §112(f) as follows.
As to limitation 1, the means for receiving a query is defined in the disclosure as a receiver in FIG 4. ‘558 Patent at 21:15-20.
As to limitation 2, the means for providing an indication is defined in the disclosure as a transmitter in FIG 4. ‘558 Patent at 21:10-15.
As to limitation 3, the means for receiving a CA configuration is not defined in the disclosure, and cannot appropriately be defined as the same means for receiving in limitation 1 as the two means are separately claimed. Thus as the corresponding structure cannot be ascertained, the claim is rejected below under §112(b).
As to limitation 4, the means for sending a query is defined by Patent Owner as transmission processor 420 and transmitter 432. the disclosure. Thus as the corresponding structure cannot be ascertained, the claim is rejected below under §112(b).
As to limitation 5, the means for receiving an indication is defined by Patent Owner as transmit processor 464 and transmitter 454, however these are transmitting means and not receiving means. Thus as the corresponding structure cannot be ascertained, the claim is rejected below under §112(b).
As to limitation 6, the means for providing a CA configuration is not defined in the disclosure. Thus as the corresponding structure cannot be ascertained, the claim is rejected below under §112(b).
As to limitation 7, the means for interrupting is defined in the disclosure as a processor in FIG 4. ‘558 Patent at 21:1-10.
As to limitation 8, the means for adjusting is defined in the disclosure as a processor in FIG 4. ‘558 Patent at 21:1-10. Note that this must be a separate processor of the “one or more processors” described as the two means of the claim are separately claimed, and the claim cannot be considered as a single means claim. MPEP § 2181 V.
As to limitation 9, the means for receiving is not defined in the disclosure. Thus as the corresponding structure cannot be ascertained, the claim is rejected below under §112(b).
As to limitation 10, Patent Owner asserts that this means for determining a processor in ¶116.
As to limitation 11, the means for receiving an indication is not defined in the disclosure. Thus as the corresponding structure cannot be ascertained, the claim is rejected below under §112(b).
As to limitation 12, the means for receiving parameter values is not defined in the disclosure, and Patent Owner’s amendment provides no support for this amended matter as noted above. Thus as the corresponding structure cannot be ascertained, the claim is rejected below under §112(b).
As to limitation 13, the means for determining is not defined in the disclosure, and Patent Owner’s amendment provides no support for this amended matter as noted above. Thus as the corresponding structure cannot be ascertained, the claim is rejected below under §112(b).
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under §112(f) because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
In claim 49, “at least one processor … configured to: receive a query from a base station (BS) for witching capability information of the apparatus”;
In claim 49, “at least one processor … configured to: in response to the query, provide an indication to the BS of the switching capability information of the apparatus”;
In claim 55, “the at least one processor is configured to receive a CA configuration in response to providing the indication”;
In claim 56, “at least one processor … configured to: send a query to a user equipment (UE) for switching capability information of the UE”;
In claim 56, “at least one processor … configured to: in response to the query, receive an indication of switching capability information of the UE”;
In claim 62, “the at least one processor is configured to provide a CA configuration in response to receiving the indication”;
In claim 63, “at least one processor … configured to: interrupt the uplink transmission on a first component carrier (CC) to switch between the first CC and a second CC to transmit an uplink reference signal on the second CC”;
In claim 63, “at least one processor … configured to: adjust, based on the determined corresponding parameter value, one or more parameters or parameter values of the uplink transmission on the first CC”;
In claim 70, “the at least one processor is configured to: receive a set of parameter values, from a base station (BS)”;
In claim 70, “the at least one processor is configured to: determine the adjustment for the one or more parameters or parameter values based on the received set of parameters values and the associated durations or uplink transmission types”;
In claim 72, “the at least one processor is configured to receive an indication from a base station (BS) of the adjustment for the one or more parameters or parameter values”;
In claim 63, “at least one processor configured to: receive a set of parameter values from a base station…”;
In claim 63, “at least one processor configured to: determine, from the received set of parameter values, a corresponding parameter value…”;
It is noted that these limitations as well as means listed above (limitations 7, 8, and 10) are described in the disclosure as being able to be performed by a general-purpose processor. ‘558 Patent at 21:21-36. The presumption that § 112(f) does not apply to a claim limitation that does not use the term "means" is overcome when "the claim term fails to 'recite sufficiently definite structure' or else recites 'function without reciting sufficient structure for performing that function.'" Williamson v. Citrix Online, LLC, 792 F.3d 1339, 1349, 115 USPQ2d 1105, 1111 (Fed. Cir. 2015). Here, the mere recitation of a processor and the associated functions claimed recite 'function without reciting sufficient structure for performing that function.'. Id.
For a computer-implemented 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim limitation, the specification must disclose an algorithm for performing the claimed specific computer function, or else the claim is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). See Net MoneyIN, Inc. v. Verisign. Inc., 545 F.3d 1359, 1367, 88 USPQ2d 1751, 1757 (Fed. Cir. 2008). See also In re Aoyama, 656 F.3d 1293, 1297, 99 USPQ2d 1936, 1939 (Fed. Cir. 2011) ("[W]hen the disclosed structure is a computer programmed to carry out an algorithm, ‘the disclosed structure is not the general purpose computer, but rather that special purpose computer programmed to perform the disclosed algorithm.’") (quoting WMS Gaming, Inc. v. Int’l Game Tech., 184 F.3d 1339, 1349, 51 USPQ2d 1385, 1391 (Fed. Cir. 1999)).
In cases involving a special purpose computer-implemented means-plus-function limitation, the Federal Circuit has consistently required that the structure be more than simply a general purpose computer or microprocessor and that the specification must disclose an algorithm for performing the claimed function. See, e.g., Noah Systems Inc. v. Intuit Inc., 675 F.3d 1302, 1312, 102 USPQ2d 1410, 1417 (Fed. Cir. 2012); Aristocrat Techs. Australia PTY Ltd. v. Int’l Game Tech., 521 F.3d 1328, 1336-37, 86 USPQ2d 1235, 1242 (Fed. Cir. 2008).
The corresponding structure is not simply a general purpose computer by itself but the special purpose computer as programmed to perform the disclosed algorithm. Aristocrat, 521 F.3d at 1333, 86 USPQ2d at 1239. Thus, the specification must sufficiently disclose an algorithm to transform a general purpose microprocessor to the special purpose computer. See Aristocrat, 521 F.3d at 1338, 86 USPQ2d at 1241. ("Aristocrat was not required to produce a listing of source code or a highly detailed description of the algorithm to be used to achieve the claimed functions in order to satisfy 35 U.S.C. § 112 ¶ 6. It was required, however, to at least disclose the algorithm that transforms the general purpose microprocessor to a ‘special purpose computer programmed to perform the disclosed algorithm.’" (quoting WMS Gaming, 184 F.3d at 1349, 51 USPQ2d at 1391.)) An algorithm is defined, for example, as "a finite sequence of steps for solving a logical or mathematical problem or performing a task." Microsoft Computer Dictionary, Microsoft Press, 5th edition, 2002. Applicant may express the algorithm in any understandable terms including as a mathematical formula, in prose, in a flow chart, or "in any other manner that provides sufficient structure." Finisar, 523 F.3d at 1340, 86 USPQ2d at 1623; see also Intel Corp. v. VIA Techs., Inc., 319 F.3d 1357, 1366, 65 USPQ2d 1934, 1941 (Fed. Cir. 2003); In re Dossel, 115 F.3d 942, 946-47, 42 USPQ2d 1881, 1885 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Typhoon Touch Inc. v. Dell Inc., 659 F.3d 1376, 1385, 100 USPQ2d 1690, 1697 (Fed. Cir. 2011); In re Aoyama, 656 F.3d at 1306, 99 USPQ2d at 1945.
Here, the disclosure states generally that processes of the specification may be implemented in software. ‘558 Patent at 21:63-22:51.
As to limitation 14, the ‘558 Patent disclosure describes the receiving of a query in the flowchart of FIG 17 step 1702 and corresponding disclosure, the software programming of which is, with the processor claimed, considered the corresponding structure of the claim limitation.
As to limitation 15, the ‘558 Patent disclosure describes the providing an indication in the flowchart of FIG 17 step 1704 and corresponding disclosure, the software programming of which is, with the processor claimed, considered the corresponding structure of the claim limitation.
As to limitation 16, the ‘558 Patent disclosure does not describe the receiving of a CA configuration in any algorithmic manner, merely stating the step as an aside that the UE itself may perform. ‘558 Patent at 20:25-26. Thus as the corresponding structure cannot be ascertained, the claim is rejected below under §112(b).
As to limitation 17, the ‘558 Patent disclosure describes the sending of a query in the flowchart of FIG 16 step 1602 and corresponding disclosure, the software programming of which is, with the processor claimed, considered the corresponding structure of the claim limitation.
As to limitation 18, the ‘558 Patent disclosure describes the receiving of an indication in the flowchart of FIG 16 step 1604 and corresponding disclosure, the software programming of which is, with the processor claimed, considered the corresponding structure of the claim limitation.
As to limitation 19, the ‘558 Patent disclosure does not describe the providing of a CA configuration in any algorithmic manner, merely stating that the UE itself may receive one. ‘558 Patent at 20:25-26. Thus as the corresponding structure cannot be ascertained, the claim is rejected below under §112(b).
As to limitations 7 and 20, the ‘558 Patent disclosure describes the interrupting of communication in the flowchart of FIG 13 step 1302 and corresponding disclosure, the software programming of which is, with the processor claimed, considered the corresponding structure of the claim limitation.
As to limitation 21, the ‘558 Patent disclosure describes the adjusting of parameters in the flowchart of FIG 13 step 1304 and corresponding disclosure, the software programming of which is, with the processor claimed, considered the corresponding structure of the claim limitation.
As to limitation 22, the ‘558 Patent disclosure does not describe the receiving of a set of parameter values in any algorithmic manner. Thus as the corresponding structure cannot be ascertained, the claim is rejected below under §112(b).
As to limitations 10 and 23, the ‘558 Patent disclosure describes the adjustment in 17:22-30 of disclosure and states the adjustment may be determined explicitly or implicitly, but does not describe it being “based on the received set of parameters values and the associated durations or uplink transmission types” as claimed and thus as the corresponding structure cannot be ascertained, the claim is rejected below under §112(b).
As to limitation 24, the ‘558 Patent disclosure does not describe the receiving of an indication from a base station (BS) of the adjustment in any algorithmic manner. Thus as the corresponding structure cannot be ascertained, the claim is rejected below under §112(b).
As to limitation 25, the ‘558 Patent disclosure does not describe the receiving of parameter values in any algorithmic manner. Thus as the corresponding structure cannot be ascertained, the claim is rejected below under §112(b).
As to limitation 26, the ‘558 Patent disclosure does not describe the determining of a parameter as claimed in any algorithmic manner. Thus as the corresponding structure cannot be ascertained, the claim is rejected below under §112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 31-48, 55, 62, 70, 72, 81, and 87-96 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claims 31, 32, 38, 46, 48, 55, 62, 70, and 72, as noted above these claims are interpreted under §112(f), however, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claims are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
As to claims 87-96, claim 87 recites a computer-readable medium comprising steps of receiving, determining, interrupting, and adjusting. This is indefinite. The Examiner suggests amending the claim to reflect that the CRM comprises instructions for such functions. Claim 94 suffers from the same issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-24, 39-48, 63-72, and 87-96 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. PGPUB 2023/0208578A1 to Liu et al. (“Liu”).
As to claim 15, Liu discloses:
A method for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
Liu discloses a method for wireless communications in a UE. Liu element 210 and at Abstract and ¶81.
receiving a set of parameter values from a base station (BS), the set of parameter values being associated with different types of uplink transmission
determining, from the received set of parameter values, a corresponding parameter value based on an interruption of an uplink transmission and a type of uplink transmission
Liu discloses receiving parameter values from a base station. Liu at ¶¶86-88 (“[d]ownlink Control Information (DCI) messages may also be used to signal SRS configuration parameter/instruction to a UE. FIG. 6 illustrates an embodiment communications sequence 600 for communicating a DCI message to specify or indicate a transmission parameter (e.g., power control parameter) for a SRS transmission”). The BS may provide multiple such parameters. Id. and at ¶117 (“[i]n some scenarios, a base station may want to broadcast a control message that includes multiple SRS parameters (including SRS power control and/or SRS triggers) for one or multiple UEs.”); ¶92: (“the RRC message 921 may specify a specific DCI message format for triggering an SRS symbol transmission and the associated SRS transmission power level, for the same or different CC, for one or multiple CCs”). These parameters may also include timing or other information. Id. at ¶159 (“network configuration or network indication, including the transmission power, timing, bandwidth, etc.”)
As these SRS power and timing values may be for multiple CCs, they are read as being associated with different uplink transmissions. Liu uses these parameters to transmit SRS over a CC when interrupting transmission over a first CC as shown below. Id. at ¶93 (“the UE transmits an SRS symbol over a component carrier according to the SRS configuration parameter associated with the DCI message format”). This is done at the power and/or timing for that CC. Id. and at ¶159 (“[t]he transmission of the SRS on the switch-to CC is also according to the network configuration or network indication, including the transmission power, timing, bandwidth, etc.”) This reads determining the power and/or timing value for the SRS from the parameters as it is a value from the network configured parameters.
interrupting the uplink transmission on a first component carrier (CC) to switch between the first CC and a second CC to transmit an uplink reference signal on the second CC;
Liu discloses the UE may interrupt uplink transmissions on a first CC to switch between it and a second CC to transmit an SRS signal on the second CC. Liu at FIG 28 and ¶¶124-125. See also id. at ¶172 (“[t]he switching from a CC that can support PUCCH/PUSCH causes an interruption to the UL transmission on that CC”).
and adjusting, based on the determined corresponding parameter value, one or more parameters or parameter values of the uplink transmission on the first CC to account for the interrupting communication on the second CC.
Liu discloses adjusting one or more parameters or parameter values of the uplink transmission on the first CC to account for the interruption in several ways. First, Liu discloses that transmission is adjusted on the first CC in that transmissions thereon may be punctured. Liu at ¶123 (“[i]n some embodiments, a UE may puncture a portion of an uplink signal … [t]o compensate for the uplink RF retuning delay, the UE 210 punctures a portion 2731 of the uplink transmission 2730 that overlaps with the period t4. … The puncturing may occur on the source component carrier and/or on the target component carrier.”). See also id. at ¶166 (“[i]n addition, the transmissions on the switching-from CCs may be punctured”); ¶¶134 (“switching the TX chain 218 back to the source component carrier requires a shortening, or puncturing, or dropping on one or more symbols, of the uplink signal 3614.”).
Liu states that puncturing may mean null symbols i.e. zero power, which reads adjusting transmission power (to zero) responsive to the determination. Id. at ¶219 (“[p]uncturing symbols in a transmission may comprise not transmitting the punctured symbols, or otherwise transmitting null symbols (e.g., symbols transmitted at a zero power level)”). Further, Liu explicitly states that punctured symbols may instead be transmitted with a higher transmission power. Id. at ¶316 (“[t]he punctured PUSCH may be transmitted with higher power, lower MCS levels, or modified beta values so that the reliability can be improved”). This also reads a power level adjustment on the first CC responsive to the determination.
Further as to claim 16:
The method of claim 15, wherein interrupting communication on the first CC to switch between the first CC and the second CC includes interrupting communication caused by at least one of switching to the second CC from the first CC to transmit the uplink reference signal on the second CC or switching back from the second CC to the first CC to resume the uplink transmission on the first CC.
Liu discloses that the switching is either switching from the first to the second CC or switching back to the first CC after having switched away from it. Liu at ¶¶134, 154.
Further as to claim 17:
The method of claim 15, wherein the second CC is a CC configured for downlink data transmission only.
Liu discloses that the CCs may include DL subframes. Liu at ¶192 (“[t]o increase the opportunity for switching-from operations, an embodiment is to perform the switching-from operation on a DL subframe”); see also id. at ¶193 (“[a]n issue that needs to be addressed is the lack of UL SRS TXOP in the switching-to CC. Generally, a SRS TXOP lies in a UL subframe or the UpPTS of a special subframe. In a DL-heavy scenario, the number of configured UL subframes and special subframes may be very limited. There may even be a TDD CC with no UL or special subframe configured at all.”)
Further as to claim 18:
The method of claim 15, wherein adjusting the one or more parameters or parameter values comprises adjusting, based on a time to switch between the first CC and the second CC, a transmit power level associated with one or more symbols of a physical channel for the uplink transmission on the first CC.
Liu discloses that the adjustment of parameters may comprise adjusting a transmit power on a PUSCH for the first CC based on a switching time. Liu at ¶123 (“[i]n some embodiments, a UE may puncture a portion of an uplink signal … [t]o compensate for the uplink RF retuning delay, the UE 210 punctures a portion 2731 of the uplink transmission 2730 that overlaps with the period t4.”); see also id. at ¶316 (“[t]he punctured PUSCH may be transmitted with higher power, lower MCS levels, or modified beta values so that the reliability can be improved”).
Further as to claim 19:
The method of claim 15, wherein the uplink transmission on the first CC comprises at least one of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH).
Liu discloses that the first uplink signal comprises a PUSCH or a PUCCH. Liu at claim 11 (“an uplink transmission over each CC in the first set of CCs includes at least one of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission”).
Further as to claim 20:
The method of claim 15, wherein the reference signal comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS).
Liu discloses that the reference signal comprises a SRS. Liu at FIG 12 element 1262 and ¶96 and Abstract.
Further as to claim 21:
The method of claim 15, wherein adjusting the one or more parameters or parameter values comprises adjusting resources used for the uplink transmission on the first CC.
Liu discloses that the adjustment may be of resources used. Liu at ¶123 (“[i]n one embodiment, the UE 210 may perform a rate adjustment (e.g., rate matching) for the non-punctured portion of the uplink transmission 2730 to compensate for bandwidth lost from puncturing the portion 2731.”). See also id. at ¶224 (“due to puncturing, the eNB may configure larger PUCCH regions related to PUSCH hopping offset so that more RBs may be used for PUCCH”)
Further as to claim 22:
The method of claim 15, further comprising: receiving the set of parameter values, from a base station (BS), the parameter values further associated with different durations of the interruption or different types of uplink transmission; and determining the adjustment for the one or more parameters or parameter values based on the received set of parameters values and the associated different durations or the different uplink transmission types.
In Liu, SRS is configured by the network and sounding is performed by UE. Liu at ¶532. Liu further states that the interruption can be configured to a certain time period. Liu at ¶¶533-536.
Further as to claim 23:
The method of claim 22, wherein the set of parameter values is received via at least one of a system information block (SIB) broadcast or radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
Liu discloses that the BS sends parameter values to the UE over SIB or RRC. Liu at ¶¶166 as well as 144 and 324 (“[t]he control message may be a media access control (MAC) message, or another type of control message (E.g., a DCI message, an RRC message, etc.)”, “the mobile device processes SIB messages to obtain downlink control information (DCI) associated with the corresponding component carriers. The DCI may indicate transmission parameters”)
Further as to claim 24:
The method of claim 15, further comprising receiving an indication from the base station of the adjustment for the one or more parameters or parameter values.
Liu discloses receiving indications as to the parameters from a BS. Liu at ¶¶166 as well as 144 and 324.
As to claim 39, Liu discloses:
An apparatus for wireless communications, comprising:
Liu discloses an apparatus for wireless communications in a UE. Liu element 210 and at Abstract and ¶81.
means for receiving a set of parameter values from a base station (BS), the set of parameter values being associated with different types of uplink transmission;
means for determining, from the received set of parameter values, a corresponding parameter value based on an interruption of an uplink transmission and a type of uplink transmission;
Liu discloses a receiver 5608 for receiving parameter values from a base station. Liu at FIG 56 and ¶¶86-88 (“[d]ownlink Control Information (DCI) messages may also be used to signal SRS configuration parameter/instruction to a UE. FIG. 6 illustrates an embodiment communications sequence 600 for communicating a DCI message to specify or indicate a transmission parameter (e.g., power control parameter) for a SRS transmission”). The BS may provide multiple such parameters. Id. and at ¶117 (“[i]n some scenarios, a base station may want to broadcast a control message that includes multiple SRS parameters (including SRS power control and/or SRS triggers) for one or multiple UEs.”); ¶92: (“the RRC message 921 may specify a specific DCI message format for triggering an SRS symbol transmission and the associated SRS transmission power level, for the same or different CC, for one or multiple CCs”). These parameters may also include timing or other information. Id. at ¶159 (“network configuration or network indication, including the transmission power, timing, bandwidth, etc.”)
As these SRS power and timing values may be for multiple CCs, they are read as being associated with different uplink transmissions. Liu uses these parameters to transmit SRS over a CC when interrupting transmission over a first CC as shown below. Id. at ¶93 (“the UE transmits an SRS symbol over a component carrier according to the SRS configuration parameter associated with the DCI message format”). This is done at the power and/or timing for that CC. Id. and at ¶159 (“[t]he transmission of the SRS on the switch-to CC is also according to the network configuration or network indication, including the transmission power, timing, bandwidth, etc.”) This reads determining the power and/or timing value for the SRS from the parameters as it is a value from the network configured parameters, and it is performed by processor 5500 using software. Id. at ¶¶538-539.
means for interrupting the uplink transmission on a first component carrier (CC) to switch between the first CC and a second CC to transmit an uplink reference signal on the second CC; and
Liu discloses the UE may interrupt uplink transmissions on a first CC to switch between it and a second CC to transmit an SRS signal on the second CC. Liu at FIG 28 and ¶¶124-125. See also id. at ¶172 (“[t]he switching from a CC that can support PUCCH/PUSCH causes an interruption to the UL transmission on that CC”). Liu discloses this is performed by processing means utilizing a memory for storing program instructions. Id. at ¶538.
means for adjusting, based on the determined corresponding parameter value, one or more parameters or parameter values of the uplink transmission on the first CC to account for the interrupting communication on the second CC.
Liu discloses adjusting one or more parameters or parameter values of the uplink transmission on the first CC to account for the interruption in several ways. First, Liu discloses that transmission is adjusted on the first CC in that transmissions thereon may be punctured. Liu at ¶123 (“[i]n some embodiments, a UE may puncture a portion of an uplink signal … [t]o compensate for the uplink RF retuning delay, the UE 210 punctures a portion 2731 of the uplink transmission 2730 that overlaps with the period t4. … The puncturing may occur on the source component carrier and/or on the target component carrier.”). See also id. at ¶166 (“[i]n addition, the transmissions on the switching-from CCs may be punctured”); ¶¶134 (“switching the TX chain 218 back to the source component carrier requires a shortening, or puncturing, or dropping on one or more symbols, of the uplink signal 3614.”).
Liu states that puncturing may mean null symbols i.e. zero power, which reads adjusting transmission power (to zero) responsive to the determination. Id. at ¶219 (“[p]uncturing symbols in a transmission may comprise not transmitting the punctured symbols, or otherwise transmitting null symbols (e.g., symbols transmitted at a zero power level)”). Further, Liu explicitly states that punctured symbols may instead be transmitted with a higher transmission power. Id. at ¶316 (“[t]he punctured PUSCH may be transmitted with higher power, lower MCS levels, or modified beta values so that the reliability can be improved”). This also reads a power level adjustment on the first CC responsive to the determination.
Liu discloses this is performed by processing means. Liu at ¶538.
Further as to claim 40:
The apparatus of claim 39, wherein interrupting communication on the first CC to switch between the first CC and the second CC includes interrupting communication caused by at least one of switching to the second CC from the first CC to transmit the uplink reference signal on the second CC or switching back from the second CC to the first CC to resume the uplink transmission on the first CC.
Liu discloses that the switching is either switching from the first to the second CC or switching back to the first CC after having switched away from it. Liu at ¶¶134, 154.
Further as to claim 41:
The apparatus of claim 39, wherein the second CC is a CC configured for downlink data transmission only.
Liu discloses that the CCs may include DL subframes. Liu at ¶192 (“[t]o increase the opportunity for switching-from operations, an embodiment is to perform the switching-from operation on a DL subframe”); see also id. at ¶193 (“[a]n issue that needs to be addressed is the lack of UL SRS TXOP in the switching-to CC. Generally, a SRS TXOP lies in a UL subframe or the UpPTS of a special subframe. In a DL-heavy scenario, the number of configured UL subframes and special subframes may be very limited. There may even be a TDD CC with no UL or special subframe configured at all.”)
Further as to claim 42:
The apparatus of claim 39, wherein adjusting the one or more parameters or parameter values comprises adjusting, based on a time to switch between the first CC and the second CC, a transmit power level associated with one or more symbols of a physical channel for the uplink transmission on the first CC.
Liu discloses that the adjustment of parameters may comprise adjusting a transmit power on a PUSCH for the first CC based on a switching time. Liu at ¶123 (“[i]n some embodiments, a UE may puncture a portion of an uplink signal … [t]o compensate for the uplink RF retuning delay, the UE 210 punctures a portion 2731 of the uplink transmission 2730 that overlaps with the period t4.”); see also id. at ¶316 (“[t]he punctured PUSCH may be transmitted with higher power, lower MCS levels, or modified beta values so that the reliability can be improved”).
Further as to claim 43:
The apparatus of claim 39, wherein the uplink transmission on the first CC comprises at least one of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH).
Liu discloses that the first uplink signal comprises a PUSCH or a PUCCH. Liu at claim 11 (“an uplink transmission over each CC in the first set of CCs includes at least one of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission”).
Further as to claim 44:
The apparatus of claim 39, wherein the reference signal comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS).
Liu discloses that the reference signal comprises a SRS. Liu at FIG 12 element 1262 and ¶96 and Abstract.
Further as to claim 45:
The apparatus of claim 39, wherein adjusting the one or more parameters or parameter values comprises adjusting resources used for the uplink transmission on the first CC.
Liu discloses that the adjustment may be of resources used. Liu at ¶123 (“[i]n one embodiment, the UE 210 may perform a rate adjustment (e.g., rate matching) for the non-punctured portion of the uplink transmission 2730 to compensate for bandwidth lost from puncturing the portion 2731.”). See also id. at ¶224 (“due to puncturing, the eNB may configure larger PUCCH regions related to PUSCH hopping offset so that more RBs may be used for PUCCH”)
Further as to claim 46:
The apparatus of claim 39, further comprising: means for receiving the set of parameter values, from the base station (BS), the parameter values further associated with different durations of the interruption or different types of uplink transmission; and means for determining the adjustment for the one or more parameters or parameter values based on the received set of parameters values and the associated different durations or the different uplink transmission types.
In Liu, SRS is configured by the network and sounding is performed by UE. Liu at ¶532. Liu further states that the interruption can be configured to a certain time period. Liu at ¶¶533-536. Parameters are received by a receiver and adjustment is performed by a processor. Id. at ¶¶538 and 540.
Further as to claim 47:
The apparatus of claim 46, wherein the set of parameter values is received via at least one of a system information block (SIB) broadcast or radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
Liu discloses that the BS sends parameter values to the UE over SIB or RRC. Liu at ¶¶166 as well as 144 and 324 (“[t]he control message may be a media access control (MAC) message, or another type of control message (E.g., a DCI message, an RRC message, etc.)”, “the mobile device processes SIB messages to obtain downlink control information (DCI) associated with the corresponding component carriers. The DCI may indicate transmission parameters”)
Further as to claim 48:
The apparatus of claim 39, further comprising means for receiving an indication from the base station of the adjustment for the one or more parameters or parameter values.
Liu discloses receiving indications as to the parameters from a BS. Liu at ¶¶166 as well as 144 and 324. This occurs by way of a receiver. Id. at ¶540.
As to claim 63, Liu discloses:
An apparatus for wireless communications, comprising:
at least one processor coupled with a memory and configured to:
Liu discloses an apparatus for wireless communications in a UE. Liu element 210 and at Abstract and ¶81. The apparatus includes at least one processor and memory for performing the following. Id. at ¶538 and claim 14.
receive a set of parameter values from a base station (BS), the set of parameter values being associated with different types of uplink transmission;
determine, from the received set of parameter values, a corresponding parameter value based on an interruption of an uplink transmission and a type of uplink transmission;
Liu discloses receiving parameter values from a base station. Liu at FIG 56 and ¶¶86-88 (“[d]ownlink Control Information (DCI) messages may also be used to signal SRS configuration parameter/instruction to a UE. FIG. 6 illustrates an embodiment communications sequence 600 for communicating a DCI message to specify or indicate a transmission parameter (e.g., power control parameter) for a SRS transmission”). The BS may provide multiple such parameters. Id. and at ¶117 (“[i]n some scenarios, a base station may want to broadcast a control message that includes multiple SRS parameters (including SRS power control and/or SRS triggers) for one or multiple UEs.”); ¶92: (“the RRC message 921 may specify a specific DCI message format for triggering an SRS symbol transmission and the associated SRS transmission power level, for the same or different CC, for one or multiple CCs”). These parameters may also include timing or other information. Id. at ¶159 (“network configuration or network indication, including the transmission power, timing, bandwidth, etc.”)
As these SRS power and timing values may be for multiple CCs, they are read as being associated with different uplink transmissions. Liu uses these parameters to transmit SRS over a CC when interrupting transmission over a first CC as shown below. Id. at ¶93 (“the UE transmits an SRS symbol over a component carrier according to the SRS configuration parameter associated with the DCI message format”). This is done at the power and/or timing for that CC. Id. and at ¶159 (“[t]he transmission of the SRS on the switch-to CC is also according to the network configuration or network indication, including the transmission power, timing, bandwidth, etc.”) This reads determining the power and/or timing value for the SRS from the parameters as it is a value from the network configured parameters, and it is performed by processor 5500 using software. Id. at ¶¶538-539.
interrupt the uplink transmission on a first component carrier (CC) to switch between the first CC and a second CC to transmit an uplink reference signal on the second CC; and
Liu discloses the UE may interrupt uplink transmissions on a first CC to switch between it and a second CC to transmit an SRS signal on the second CC. Liu at FIG 28 and ¶¶124-125. See also id. at ¶172 (“[t]he switching from a CC that can support PUCCH/PUSCH causes an interruption to the UL transmission on that CC”). Liu discloses this is performed by processing means utilizing a memory for storing program instructions. Id. at ¶538.
adjust, based on the determined corresponding parameter value, one or more parameters or parameter values of the uplink transmission on the first CC to account for the interrupting communication on the second CC.
Liu discloses adjusting one or more parameters or parameter values of the uplink transmission on the first CC to account for the interruption in several ways. First, Liu discloses that transmission is adjusted on the first CC in that transmissions thereon may be punctured. Liu at ¶123 (“[i]n some embodiments, a UE may puncture a portion of an uplink signal … [t]o compensate for the uplink RF retuning delay, the UE 210 punctures a portion 2731 of the uplink transmission 2730 that overlaps with the period t4. … The puncturing may occur on the source component carrier and/or on the target component carrier.”). See also id. at ¶166 (“[i]n addition, the transmissions on the switching-from CCs may be punctured”); ¶¶134 (“switching the TX chain 218 back to the source component carrier requires a shortening, or puncturing, or dropping on one or more symbols, of the uplink signal 3614.”).
Liu states that puncturing may mean null symbols i.e. zero power, which reads adjusting transmission power (to zero) responsive to the determination. Id. at ¶219 (“[p]uncturing symbols in a transmission may comprise not transmitting the punctured symbols, or otherwise transmitting null symbols (e.g., symbols transmitted at a zero power level)”). Further, Liu explicitly states that punctured symbols may instead be transmitted with a higher transmission power. Id. at ¶316 (“[t]he punctured PUSCH may be transmitted with higher power, lower MCS levels, or modified beta values so that the reliability can be improved”). This also reads a power level adjustment on the first CC responsive to the determination.
Liu discloses this is performed by processing means. Liu at ¶538. Note also Liu discloses multiple processors as is claimed. Liu at e.g. claim 14.
Further as to claim 64:
The apparatus of claim 63, wherein interrupting communication on the first CC to switch between the first CC and the second CC includes interrupting communication caused by at least one of switching to the second CC from the first CC to transmit the uplink reference signal on the second CC or switching back from the second CC to the first CC to resume the uplink transmission on the first CC.
Liu discloses that the switching is either switching from the first to the second CC or switching back to the first CC after having switched away from it. Liu at ¶¶134, 154.
Further as to claim 65:
The apparatus of claim 63, wherein the second CC is a CC configured for downlink data transmission only.
Liu discloses that the CCs may include DL subframes. Liu at ¶192 (“[t]o increase the opportunity for switching-from operations, an embodiment is to perform the switching-from operation on a DL subframe”); see also id. at ¶193 (“[a]n issue that needs to be addressed is the lack of UL SRS TXOP in the switching-to CC. Generally, a SRS TXOP lies in a UL subframe or the UpPTS of a special subframe. In a DL-heavy scenario, the number of configured UL subframes and special subframes may be very limited. There may even be a TDD CC with no UL or special subframe configured at all.”)
Further as to claim 66:
The apparatus of claim 63, wherein adjusting the one or more parameters or parameter values comprises adjusting, based on a time to switch between the first CC and the second CC, a transmit power level associated with one or more symbols of a physical channel for the uplink transmission on the first CC.
Liu discloses that the adjustment of parameters may comprise adjusting a transmit power on a PUSCH for the first CC based on a switching time. Liu at ¶123 (“[i]n some embodiments, a UE may puncture a portion of an uplink signal … [t]o compensate for the uplink RF retuning delay, the UE 210 punctures a portion 2731 of the uplink transmission 2730 that overlaps with the period t4.”); see also id. at ¶316 (“[t]he punctured PUSCH may be transmitted with higher power, lower MCS levels, or modified beta values so that the reliability can be improved”).
Further as to claim 67:
The apparatus of claim 63, wherein the uplink transmission on the first CC comprises at least one of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH).
Liu discloses that the first uplink signal comprises a PUSCH or a PUCCH. Liu at claim 11 (“an uplink transmission over each CC in the first set of CCs includes at least one of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission”).
Further as to claim 68:
The apparatus of claim 63, wherein the reference signal comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS).
Liu discloses that the reference signal comprises a SRS. Liu at FIG 12 element 1262 and ¶96 and Abstract.
Further as to claim 69:
The apparatus of claim 63, wherein adjusting the one or more parameters or parameter values comprises adjusting resources used for the uplink transmission on the first CC.
Liu discloses that the adjustment may be of resources used. Liu at ¶123 (“[i]n one embodiment, the UE 210 may perform a rate adjustment (e.g., rate matching) for the non-punctured portion of the uplink transmission 2730 to compensate for bandwidth lost from puncturing the portion 2731.”). See also id. at ¶224 (“due to puncturing, the eNB may configure larger PUCCH regions related to PUSCH hopping offset so that more RBs may be used for PUCCH”)
Further as to claim 70:
The apparatus of claim 63, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive the set of parameter values, from the base station (BS), the parameter values associated with different durations of the interruption or different types of uplink transmission; and determine the adjustment for the one or more parameters or parameter values based on the received set of parameters values and the associated different durations or the different uplink transmission types.
In Liu, SRS is configured by the network and sounding is performed by UE. Liu at ¶532. Liu further states that the interruption can be configured to a certain time period. Liu at ¶¶533-536. Parameters are received by a receiver and adjustment is performed by a processor. Id. at ¶¶538 and 540.
Further as to claim 71:
The apparatus of claim 70, wherein the set of parameter values is received via at least one of a system information block (SIB) broadcast or radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
Liu discloses that the BS sends parameter values to the UE over SIB or RRC. Liu at ¶¶166 as well as 144 and 324 (“[t]he control message may be a media access control (MAC) message, or another type of control message (E.g., a DCI message, an RRC message, etc.)”, “the mobile device processes SIB messages to obtain downlink control information (DCI) associated with the corresponding component carriers. The DCI may indicate transmission parameters”)
Further as to claim 72:
The apparatus of claim 63, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive an indication from the base station of the adjustment for the one or more parameters or parameter values.
Liu discloses receiving indications as to the parameters from a BS. Liu at ¶¶166 as well as 144 and 324. This occurs by way of a receiver. Id. at ¶540.
As to claim 87, Liu discloses:
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing computer executable code thereon for wireless communications, comprising:
Liu discloses an apparatus for wireless communications in a UE. Liu element 210 and at Abstract and ¶81. The apparatus includes at least one processor and memory for performing the following. Id. at ¶538 and claim 14.
receiving a set of parameter values from a base station (BS), the set of parameter values being associated with different types of uplink transmission;
determining, from the received set of parameter values, a corresponding parameter value based on an interruption of an uplink transmission and a type of uplink transmission;
Liu discloses receiving parameter values from a base station. Liu at FIG 56 and ¶¶86-88 (“[d]ownlink Control Information (DCI) messages may also be used to signal SRS configuration parameter/instruction to a UE. FIG. 6 illustrates an embodiment communications sequence 600 for communicating a DCI message to specify or indicate a transmission parameter (e.g., power control parameter) for a SRS transmission”). The BS may provide multiple such parameters. Id. and at ¶117 (“[i]n some scenarios, a base station may want to broadcast a control message that includes multiple SRS parameters (including SRS power control and/or SRS triggers) for one or multiple UEs.”); ¶92: (“the RRC message 921 may specify a specific DCI message format for triggering an SRS symbol transmission and the associated SRS transmission power level, for the same or different CC, for one or multiple CCs”). These parameters may also include timing or other information. Id. at ¶159 (“network configuration or network indication, including the transmission power, timing, bandwidth, etc.”)
As these SRS power and timing values may be for multiple CCs, they are read as being associated with different uplink transmissions. Liu uses these parameters to transmit SRS over a CC when interrupting transmission over a first CC as shown below. Id. at ¶93 (“the UE transmits an SRS symbol over a component carrier according to the SRS configuration parameter associated with the DCI message format”). This is done at the power and/or timing for that CC. Id. and at ¶159 (“[t]he transmission of the SRS on the switch-to CC is also according to the network configuration or network indication, including the transmission power, timing, bandwidth, etc.”) This reads determining the power and/or timing value for the SRS from the parameters as it is a value from the network configured parameters, and it is performed by processor 5500 using software. Id. at ¶¶538-539.
interrupting an uplink transmission on a first component carrier (CC) to switch between the first CC and a second CC to transmit an uplink reference signal on the second CC; and
Liu discloses the UE may interrupt uplink transmissions on a first CC to switch between it and a second CC to transmit an SRS signal on the second CC. Liu at FIG 28 and ¶¶124-125. See also id. at ¶172 (“[t]he switching from a CC that can support PUCCH/PUSCH causes an interruption to the UL transmission on that CC”). Liu discloses this is performed by processing means utilizing a memory for storing program instructions. Id. at ¶538.
adjusting, based on the determined corresponding parameter value, one or more parameters or parameter values of the uplink transmission on the first CC to account for the interrupting communication on the second CC.
Liu discloses adjusting one or more parameters or parameter values of the uplink transmission on the first CC to account for the interruption in several ways. First, Liu discloses that transmission is adjusted on the first CC in that transmissions thereon may be punctured. Liu at ¶123 (“[i]n some embodiments, a UE may puncture a portion of an uplink signal … [t]o compensate for the uplink RF retuning delay, the UE 210 punctures a portion 2731 of the uplink transmission 2730 that overlaps with the period t4. … The puncturing may occur on the source component carrier and/or on the target component carrier.”). See also id. at ¶166 (“[i]n addition, the transmissions on the switching-from CCs may be punctured”); ¶¶134 (“switching the TX chain 218 back to the source component carrier requires a shortening, or puncturing, or dropping on one or more symbols, of the uplink signal 3614.”).
Liu states that puncturing may mean null symbols i.e. zero power, which reads adjusting transmission power (to zero) responsive to the determination. Id. at ¶219 (“[p]uncturing symbols in a transmission may comprise not transmitting the punctured symbols, or otherwise transmitting null symbols (e.g., symbols transmitted at a zero power level)”). Further, Liu explicitly states that punctured symbols may instead be transmitted with a higher transmission power. Id. at ¶316 (“[t]he punctured PUSCH may be transmitted with higher power, lower MCS levels, or modified beta values so that the reliability can be improved”). This also reads a power level adjustment on the first CC responsive to the determination.
Liu discloses this is performed by processing means. Liu at ¶538. Note also Liu discloses multiple processors as is claimed. Liu at e.g. claim 14.
Further as to claim 88:
The apparatus of claim 87, wherein interrupting communication on the first CC to switch between the first CC and the second CC includes interrupting communication caused by at least one of switching to the second CC from the first CC to transmit the uplink reference signal on the second CC or switching back from the second CC to the first CC to resume the uplink transmission on the first CC.
Liu discloses that the switching is either switching from the first to the second CC or switching back to the first CC after having switched away from it. Liu at ¶¶134, 154.
Further as to claim 89:
The apparatus of claim 87, wherein the second CC is a CC configured for downlink data transmission only.
Liu discloses that the CCs may include DL subframes. Liu at ¶192 (“[t]o increase the opportunity for switching-from operations, an embodiment is to perform the switching-from operation on a DL subframe”); see also id. at ¶193 (“[a]n issue that needs to be addressed is the lack of UL SRS TXOP in the switching-to CC. Generally, a SRS TXOP lies in a UL subframe or the UpPTS of a special subframe. In a DL-heavy scenario, the number of configured UL subframes and special subframes may be very limited. There may even be a TDD CC with no UL or special subframe configured at all.”)
Further as to claim 90:
The apparatus of claim 87, wherein adjusting the one or more parameters or parameter values comprises adjusting, based on a time to switch between the first CC and the second CC, a transmit power level associated with one or more symbols of a physical channel for the uplink transmission on the first CC.
Liu discloses that the adjustment of parameters may comprise adjusting a transmit power on a PUSCH for the first CC based on a switching time. Liu at ¶123 (“[i]n some embodiments, a UE may puncture a portion of an uplink signal … [t]o compensate for the uplink RF retuning delay, the UE 210 punctures a portion 2731 of the uplink transmission 2730 that overlaps with the period t4.”); see also id. at ¶316 (“[t]he punctured PUSCH may be transmitted with higher power, lower MCS levels, or modified beta values so that the reliability can be improved”).
Further as to claim 91:
The apparatus of claim 87, wherein the uplink transmission on the first CC comprises at least one of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH).
Liu discloses that the first uplink signal comprises a PUSCH or a PUCCH. Liu at claim 11 (“an uplink transmission over each CC in the first set of CCs includes at least one of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission”).
Further as to claim 92:
The apparatus of claim 87, wherein the reference signal comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS).
Liu discloses that the reference signal comprises a SRS. Liu at FIG 12 element 1262 and ¶96 and Abstract.
Further as to claim 93:
The apparatus of claim 87, wherein adjusting the one or more parameters or parameter values comprises adjusting resources used for the uplink transmission on the first CC.
Liu discloses that the adjustment may be of resources used. Liu at ¶123 (“[i]n one embodiment, the UE 210 may perform a rate adjustment (e.g., rate matching) for the non-punctured portion of the uplink transmission 2730 to compensate for bandwidth lost from puncturing the portion 2731.”). See also id. at ¶224 (“due to puncturing, the eNB may configure larger PUCCH regions related to PUSCH hopping offset so that more RBs may be used for PUCCH”)
Further as to claim 94:
The apparatus of claim 87, further comprising: receiving the set of parameter values, from a base station (BS), the parameter values associated with different durations of the interruption or different types of uplink transmission; and code for determining the adjustment for the one or more parameters or parameter values based on the received set of parameters values and the associated different durations or the different uplink transmission types.
In Liu, SRS is configured by the network and sounding is performed by UE. Liu at ¶532. Liu further states that the interruption can be configured to a certain time period. Liu at ¶¶533-536. Parameters are received by a receiver and adjustment is performed by a processor. Id. at ¶¶538 and 540.
Further as to claim 95:
The apparatus of claim 94, wherein the set of parameter values is received via at least one of a system information block (SIB) broadcast or radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
Liu discloses that the BS sends parameter values to the UE over SIB or RRC. Liu at ¶¶166 as well as 144 and 324 (“[t]he control message may be a media access control (MAC) message, or another type of control message (E.g., a DCI message, an RRC message, etc.)”, “the mobile device processes SIB messages to obtain downlink control information (DCI) associated with the corresponding component carriers. The DCI may indicate transmission parameters”)
Further as to claim 96:
The apparatus of claim 87, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive an indication from the base station of the adjustment for the one or more parameters or parameter values.
Liu discloses receiving indications as to the parameters from a BS. Liu at ¶¶166 as well as 144 and 324. This occurs by way of a receiver. Id. at ¶540.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14, 25-38, 49-62, and 73-86 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. PGPUB 2023/0208578A1 to Liu et al. (“Liu”) in view of U.S. Pat. PGPUB 2018/0167943A1 to Takahashi et al. (“Takahashi”).
As to claim 1,
A method for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
Liu discloses a method in a UE 210. Liu at FIG 12 element 110 and Abstract.
[…] providing an indication to the BS of switching capability information of the UE for one or more carrier aggregation (CA) configurations,
the switching capability information for switching between a first component carrier (CC) for transmission of a first uplink signal and a second CC for transmission of a second uplink signal,
Liu discloses the UE providing an indication to a base station of switching capability for the UE as to one or more CA configurations. Liu at FIGS 12 and 13 and at ¶96 (“[a]s shown, the UE 210 reports uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221 to the base station 220. The uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221 may specify the number of component carriers that the UE 210 is capable of transmitting uplink signals over at the same time and/or an uplink RF retuning delay of the UE 210”). See also id. at ¶95 (“[d]ifferent UEs may have different uplink carrier aggregation capabilities … [a]dditionally, UEs may have different uplink RF retuning delays. The RF retuning delays may also be referred to as RF retuning times, RF retuning gaps, or in the context of SRS switching, SRS switching gaps, SRS switching times, etc.”). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time would understand that retuning delays/gaps as well as SRS switching times are for switching carriers. Liu discloses that the switching capability regards switching between a first CC and second CC for transmission of an uplink signal, thus a first and second uplink signal. Id. at steps 1241-1245.
wherein the switching capability information comprises CCs between which the UE supports switching and a switching time associated with switching between different CCs.
Liu discloses that the switching capability comprises CCs the UE supports switching between as well as a switching time. Liu at ¶96 (“[t]he uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221 may specify the number of component carriers that the UE 210 is capable of transmitting uplink signals over at the same time and/or an uplink RF retuning delay of the UE 210. The base station 220 may then assign an uplink carrier switching configuration 1222 to the UE based on the uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221, and send the uplink carrier switching configuration 1222.”).
Liu does not disclose the specifics of the indication or that it is provided to the BS in response to a query.
Takahashi discloses an analogous invention, namely carrier aggregation in a wireless system. Takahashi at ¶¶34-36. Takahashi states that the UE may, similar to Liu, provide an indication to the base station of its capabilities with respect to communicating on component carriers as to CA configurations. Id. at ¶¶41-42. Notably, Takahashi states that the indications may be provided to the base station in response to a query. Id. at ¶56.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the ‘558 Patent’s filing to modify Liu so as to add a base station query and provide the specific carrier information in response. A network requesting information from a UE was common at the time, and while Liu discloses the UE providing carrier information, Takahashi discloses the UE providing specifics as to carriers it operates on, giving the network sufficient information to provide the parameters of Liu, as merely declaring the number of CCs the UE can be capable of using would not be sufficient information for the eNB to assign CCs to the UE in such a large-scale environment. Further, the combination would have been seen as an example of merely combining similar prior art elements according to known methods, each element performing in combination the same function as it does separately, with predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A), citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Further as to claim 2:
The method of claim 1, wherein the switching capability of the UE is based on at least one of: UE capability, whether the CCs are contiguous CCs, or whether the CCs are inter-band CCs.
Liu discloses that the UE’s capabilities to switch carriers are based on the CCs being contiguous or inter-band. Liu at ¶81 (“[t]he different carriers may be in the same band, i.e., intra-band CA, or in different bands, i.e., inter-band CA”). See also id. at ¶379 (“[i]t is needed for the UE to report sufficient information for SRS switching configuration, e.g., switching times for inter-band RF retuning and intra-band RF retuning”).
Further as to claim 3:
The method of claim 1, wherein the first uplink signal comprises at least one of: a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH).
Liu discloses that the first uplink signal comprises a PUSCH or a PUCCH. Liu at claim 11 (“an uplink transmission over each CC in the first set of CCs includes at least one of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission”).
Further as to claim 4:
The method of claim 1, wherein the second uplink signal comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS).
Liu discloses that the second uplink signal comprises a SRS. Liu at FIG 12 element 1262 and ¶96 and Abstract.
Further as to claim 5:
The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more CA configurations comprise a CA configuration that the UE is currently configured with.
Liu discloses that the UE provides the information as to a current set of CCs. Liu at ¶¶78, 96, and 202.
Further as to claim 6:
The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more CA configurations comprise potential CA configurations.
Liu discloses that the CA configurations may comprise potential CCs. Liu at ¶159 (“To enable fast carrier switching to and between TDD component carriers (CCs), the network needs to first configure a UE with SRS on more TDD CCs or potentially even all TDD CCs”).
Further as to claim 7:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a CA configuration in response to providing the indication.
Liu discloses the BS transmitting a CA configuration to the UE in response to the indication. Liu at FIG 12 element 1222, FIG 13 element 1320, and at ¶¶95-97 (“ The base station 220 may then assign an uplink carrier switching configuration 1222 to the UE based on the uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221, and send the uplink carrier switching configuration 1222. The uplink carrier switching configuration 1222 may be communicated in various ways, such as via higher-layer signaling channel (e.g., in an RRC message), media access control (MAC) signaling channel, or a PDCCH (e.g., in a DCI message).”).
As to claim 8, Liu discloses:
A method for wireless communications by a base station (BS), comprising:
Liu discloses a method in a BS 220. Liu at FIG 12 element 110 and Abstract.
[…] receiving an indication of switching capability information of the UE for one or more carrier aggregation (CA) configurations, the switching capability information for switching between a first component carrier (CC) for transmission of a first uplink signal and a second CC for transmission of a second uplink signal,
Liu discloses the BS receiving an indication from a UE of switching capability for the UE as to one or more CA configurations. Liu at FIGS 12 and 13 and at ¶96 (“[a]s shown, the UE 210 reports uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221 to the base station 220. The uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221 may specify the number of component carriers that the UE 210 is capable of transmitting uplink signals over at the same time and/or an uplink RF retuning delay of the UE 210”). See also id. at ¶95 (“[d]ifferent UEs may have different uplink carrier aggregation capabilities … [a]dditionally, UEs may have different uplink RF retuning delays. The RF retuning delays may also be referred to as RF retuning times, RF retuning gaps, or in the context of SRS switching, SRS switching gaps, SRS switching times, etc.”). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time would understand that retuning delays/gaps as well as SRS switching times are for switching carriers. Liu discloses that the switching capability regards switching between a first CC and second CC for transmission of an uplink signal, thus a first and second uplink signal. Id. at steps 1241-1245.
wherein the switching capability information comprises CCs between which the UE supports switching and a switching time associated with switching between different CCs.
Liu discloses that the switching capability comprises CCs the UE supports switching between as well as a switching time. Liu at ¶96 (“The uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221 may specify the number of component carriers that the UE 210 is capable of transmitting uplink signals over at the same time and/or an uplink RF retuning delay of the UE 210. The base station 220 may then assign an uplink carrier switching configuration 1222 to the UE based on the uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221, and send the uplink carrier switching configuration 1222.”).
Liu does not disclose the specifics of the indication or that it is provided to the BS in response to a query.
Takahashi discloses an analogous invention, namely carrier aggregation in a wireless system. Takahashi at ¶¶34-36. Takahashi states that the UE may, similar to Liu, provide an indication to the base station of its capabilities with respect to communicating on component carriers as to CA configurations. Id. at ¶¶41-42. Notably, Takahashi states that the indications may be provided to the base station in response to a query. Id. at ¶56.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the ‘558 Patent’s filing to modify Liu so as to add a base station query and provide the specific carrier information in response. A network requesting information from a UE was common at the time, and while Liu discloses the UE providing carrier information, Takahashi discloses the UE providing specifics as to carriers it operates on, giving the network sufficient information to provide the parameters of Liu, as merely declaring the number of CCs the UE can be capable of using would not be sufficient information for the eNB to assign CCs to the UE in such a large-scale environment. Further, the combination would have been seen as an example of merely combining similar prior art elements according to known methods, each element performing in combination the same function as it does separately, with predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A), citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Further as to claim 9:
The method of claim 8, wherein the switching capability of the UE is based on at least one of: UE capability, whether the CCs are contiguous CCs, or whether the CCs are inter-band CCs.
Liu discloses that the UE’s capabilities to switch carriers are based on the CCs being contiguous or inter-band. Liu at ¶81 (“[t]he different carriers may be in the same band, i.e., intra-band CA, or in different bands, i.e., inter-band CA”). See also id. at ¶379 (“[i]t is needed for the UE to report sufficient information for SRS switching configuration, e.g., switching times for inter-band RF retuning and intra-band RF retuning”).
Further as to claim 10:
The method of claim 8, wherein the first uplink signal comprises at least one of: a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH).
Liu discloses that the first uplink signal comprises a PUSCH or a PUCCH. Liu at claim 11 (“an uplink transmission over each CC in the first set of CCs includes at least one of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission”).
Further as to claim 11:
The method of claim 8, wherein the second uplink signal comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS).
Liu discloses that the second uplink signal comprises a SRS. Liu at FIG 12 element 1262 and ¶96 and Abstract.
Further as to claim 12:
The method of claim 8, wherein the one or more CA configurations comprise a CA configuration that the UE is currently configured with.
Liu discloses that the UE provides the information as to a current set of CCs. Liu at ¶¶78, 96, and 202.
Further as to claim 13:
The method of claim 8, wherein the one or more CA configurations comprise potential CA configurations.
Liu discloses that the CA configurations may comprise potential CCs. Liu at ¶159 (“To enable fast carrier switching to and between TDD component carriers (CCs), the network needs to first configure a UE with SRS on more TDD CCs or potentially even all TDD CCs”).
Further as to claim 14:
The method of claim 8, further comprising: providing a CA configuration in response to receiving the indication.
Liu discloses the BS transmitting a CA configuration to the UE in response to the indication. Liu at FIG 12 element 1222, FIG 13 element 1320, and at ¶¶95-97 (“ The base station 220 may then assign an uplink carrier switching configuration 1222 to the UE based on the uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221, and send the uplink carrier switching configuration 1222. The uplink carrier switching configuration 1222 may be communicated in various ways, such as via higher-layer signaling channel (e.g., in an RRC message), media access control (MAC) signaling channel, or a PDCCH (e.g., in a DCI message).”).
As to claim 25, Liu discloses:
An apparatus for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
Liu discloses a UE 210. Liu at FIG 12 element 110 and Abstract.
[…] means for […] providing an indication to the BS of the switching capability information of the UE for one or more carrier aggregation (CA) configurations, the switching capability information for switching between a first component carrier (CC) for transmission of a first uplink signal and a second CC for transmission of a second uplink signal,
Liu discloses the UE includes means for providing an indication to a base station of switching capability for the UE as to one or more CA configurations. Liu at ¶540 describing transmitter 5606, and at FIGS 12 and 13 and at ¶96 (“[a]s shown, the UE 210 reports uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221 to the base station 220. The uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221 may specify the number of component carriers that the UE 210 is capable of transmitting uplink signals over at the same time and/or an uplink RF retuning delay of the UE 210”). See also id. at ¶95 (“[d]ifferent UEs may have different uplink carrier aggregation capabilities … [a]dditionally, UEs may have different uplink RF retuning delays. The RF retuning delays may also be referred to as RF retuning times, RF retuning gaps, or in the context of SRS switching, SRS switching gaps, SRS switching times, etc.”). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time would understand that retuning delays/gaps as well as SRS switching times are for switching carriers. Liu discloses that the switching capability regards switching between a first CC and second CC for transmission of an uplink signal, thus a first and second uplink signal. Id. at steps 1241-1245.
wherein the switching capability information comprises CCs between which the UE supports switching and a switching time associated with switching between different CCs.
Liu discloses that the switching capability comprises CCs the UE supports switching between as well as a switching time. Liu at ¶96 (“The uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221 may specify the number of component carriers that the UE 210 is capable of transmitting uplink signals over at the same time and/or an uplink RF retuning delay of the UE 210. The base station 220 may then assign an uplink carrier switching configuration 1222 to the UE based on the uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221, and send the uplink carrier switching configuration 1222.”).
Liu does not disclose the specifics of the indication or that it is provided to the BS in response to a query.
Takahashi discloses an analogous invention, namely carrier aggregation in a wireless system. Takahashi at ¶¶34-36. Takahashi states that the UE may, similar to Liu, provide an indication to the base station of its capabilities with respect to communicating on component carriers as to CA configurations. Id. at ¶¶41-42. Notably, Takahashi states that the indications may be provided to the base station in response to a query. Id. at ¶56.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the ‘558 Patent’s filing to modify Liu so as to add a base station query and provide the specific carrier information in response. A network requesting information from a UE was common at the time, and while Liu discloses the UE providing carrier information, Takahashi discloses the UE providing specifics as to carriers it operates on, giving the network sufficient information to provide the parameters of Liu, as merely declaring the number of CCs the UE can be capable of using would not be sufficient information for the eNB to assign CCs to the UE in such a large-scale environment. Further, the combination would have been seen as an example of merely combining similar prior art elements according to known methods, each element performing in combination the same function as it does separately, with predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A), citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Further as to claim 26:
The apparatus of claim 25, wherein the one or more CA configurations comprise potential CA configurations.
Liu discloses that the CA configurations may comprise potential CCs. Liu at ¶159 (“To enable fast carrier switching to and between TDD component carriers (CCs), the network needs to first configure a UE with SRS on more TDD CCs or potentially even all TDD CCs”).
Further as to claim 27:
The apparatus of claim 25, wherein the switching capability of the UE is based on at least one of: UE capability, whether the CCs are contiguous CCs, or whether the CCs are inter-band CCs.
Liu discloses that the UE’s capabilities to switch carriers are based on the CCs being contiguous or inter-band. Liu at ¶81 (“[t]he different carriers may be in the same band, i.e., intra-band CA, or in different bands, i.e., inter-band CA”). See also id. at ¶379 (“[i]t is needed for the UE to report sufficient information for SRS switching configuration, e.g., switching times for inter-band RF retuning and intra-band RF retuning”).
Further as to claim 28:
The apparatus of claim 25, wherein the first uplink signal comprises at least one of: a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH).
Liu discloses that the first uplink signal comprises a PUSCH or a PUCCH. Liu at claim 11 (“an uplink transmission over each CC in the first set of CCs includes at least one of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission”).
Further as to claim 29:
The apparatus of claim 25, wherein the second uplink signal comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS).
Liu discloses that the second uplink signal comprises a SRS. Liu at FIG 12 element 1262 and ¶96 and Abstract.
Further as to claim 30:
The apparatus of claim 25, wherein the one or more CA configurations comprise a CA configuration that the UE is currently configured with.
Liu discloses that the UE provides the information as to a current set of CCs. Liu at ¶¶78, 96, and 202.
Further as to claim 31:
The apparatus of claim 25, further comprising: means for receiving a CA configuration in response to providing the indication.
Liu discloses the BS transmitting a CA configuration to the UE in response to the indication. Liu at FIG 12 element 1222, FIG 13 element 1320, and at ¶¶95-97 (“ The base station 220 may then assign an uplink carrier switching configuration 1222 to the UE based on the uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221, and send the uplink carrier switching configuration 1222. The uplink carrier switching configuration 1222 may be communicated in various ways, such as via higher-layer signaling channel (e.g., in an RRC message), media access control (MAC) signaling channel, or a PDCCH (e.g., in a DCI message).”). The UE receives this through means for receiving i.e. receiver 5608. Id. at ¶540.
As to claim 32, Liu discloses:
An apparatus for wireless communications, comprising:
Liu discloses a BS 220. Liu at FIG 12 element 110 and Abstract.
[…] means for […] receiving an indication of switching capability information of the UE for one or more carrier aggregation (CA) configurations, the switching capability information for switching between a first component carrier (CC) for transmission of a first uplink signal and a second CC for transmission of a second uplink signal,
Liu discloses the BS receiving an indication from a UE of switching capability for the UE as to one or more CA configurations by way of a receiving means. Liu at FIG 56 and ¶540 element 5608 and at FIGS 12 and 13 and at ¶96 (“[a]s shown, the UE 210 reports uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221 to the base station 220. The uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221 may specify the number of component carriers that the UE 210 is capable of transmitting uplink signals over at the same time and/or an uplink RF retuning delay of the UE 210”). See also id. at ¶95 (“[d]ifferent UEs may have different uplink carrier aggregation capabilities … [a]dditionally, UEs may have different uplink RF retuning delays. The RF retuning delays may also be referred to as RF retuning times, RF retuning gaps, or in the context of SRS switching, SRS switching gaps, SRS switching times, etc.”). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time would understand that retuning delays/gaps as well as SRS switching times are for switching carriers. Liu discloses that the switching capability regards switching between a first CC and second CC for transmission of an uplink signal, thus a first and second uplink signal. Id. at steps 1241-1245.
wherein the switching capability information comprises CCs between which the UE supports switching and a switching time associated with switching between different CCs.
Liu discloses that the switching capability comprises CCs the UE supports switching between as well as a switching time. Liu at ¶96 (“The uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221 may specify the number of component carriers that the UE 210 is capable of transmitting uplink signals over at the same time and/or an uplink RF retuning delay of the UE 210. The base station 220 may then assign an uplink carrier switching configuration 1222 to the UE based on the uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221, and send the uplink carrier switching configuration 1222.”).
Liu does not disclose the specifics of the indication or that it is provided to the BS in response to a query.
Takahashi discloses an analogous invention, namely carrier aggregation in a wireless system. Takahashi at ¶¶34-36. Takahashi states that the UE may, similar to Liu, provide an indication to the base station of its capabilities with respect to communicating on component carriers as to CA configurations. Id. at ¶¶41-42. Notably, Takahashi states that the indications may be provided to the base station in response to a query. Id. at ¶56.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the ‘558 Patent’s filing to modify Liu so as to add a base station query and provide the specific carrier information in response. A network requesting information from a UE was common at the time, and while Liu discloses the UE providing carrier information, Takahashi discloses the UE providing specifics as to carriers it operates on, giving the network sufficient information to provide the parameters of Liu, as merely declaring the number of CCs the UE can be capable of using would not be sufficient information for the eNB to assign CCs to the UE in such a large-scale environment. Further, the combination would have been seen as an example of merely combining similar prior art elements according to known methods, each element performing in combination the same function as it does separately, with predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A), citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Further as to claim 33:
The apparatus of claim 32, wherein the switching capability of the UE is based on at least one of: UE capability, whether the CCs are contiguous CCs, or whether the CCs are inter-band CCs.
Liu discloses that the UE’s capabilities to switch carriers are based on the CCs being contiguous or inter-band. Liu at ¶81 (“[t]he different carriers may be in the same band, i.e., intra-band CA, or in different bands, i.e., inter-band CA”). See also id. at ¶379 (“[i]t is needed for the UE to report sufficient information for SRS switching configuration, e.g., switching times for inter-band RF retuning and intra-band RF retuning”).
Further as to claim 34:
The apparatus of claim 32, wherein the first uplink signal comprises at least one of: a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH).
Liu discloses that the first uplink signal comprises a PUSCH or a PUCCH. Liu at claim 11 (“an uplink transmission over each CC in the first set of CCs includes at least one of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission”).
Further as to claim 35:
The apparatus of claim 32, wherein the second uplink signal comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS).
Liu discloses that the second uplink signal comprises a SRS. Liu at FIG 12 element 1262 and ¶96 and Abstract.
Further as to claim 36:
The apparatus of claim 32, wherein the one or more CA configurations comprise a CA configuration that the UE is currently configured with.
Liu discloses that the UE provides the information as to a current set of CCs. Liu at ¶¶78, 96, and 202.
Further as to claim 37:
The apparatus of claim 32, wherein the one or more CA configurations comprise potential CA configurations.
Liu discloses that the CA configurations may comprise potential CCs. Liu at ¶159 (“To enable fast carrier switching to and between TDD component carriers (CCs), the network needs to first configure a UE with SRS on more TDD CCs or potentially even all TDD CCs”).
Further as to claim 38:
The apparatus of claim 32, further comprising: means for providing a CA configuration in response to providing the indication.
Liu discloses the BS transmitting a CA configuration to the UE in response to the indication. Liu at FIG 12 element 1222, FIG 13 element 1320, and at ¶¶95-97 (“ The base station 220 may then assign an uplink carrier switching configuration 1222 to the UE based on the uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221, and send the uplink carrier switching configuration 1222. The uplink carrier switching configuration 1222 may be communicated in various ways, such as via higher-layer signaling channel (e.g., in an RRC message), media access control (MAC) signaling channel, or a PDCCH (e.g., in a DCI message).”). The BS transmits this through means for providing i.e. transmitter 5606. Id. at ¶540.
As to claim 49, Liu discloses:
An apparatus for wireless communications, comprising:
Liu discloses a UE 210. Liu at FIG 12 element 110 and Abstract.
at least one processor coupled with a memory and configured to:
Liu discloses the UE includes a processor with memory for performing the following steps. Liu at FIG 55 and at ¶538 and claim 14 (“one or more processors in communication with the memory storage, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to perform:”).
[…] provide an indication to the BS of the switching capability information of the apparatus for one or more carrier aggregation (CA) configurations, the switching capability information for switching between a first component carrier (CC) for transmission of a first uplink signal and a second CC for transmission of a second uplink signal,
Liu discloses the UE includes means for providing an indication to a base station of switching capability for the UE as to one or more CA configurations. Liu at ¶538 describing processor and memory, and at FIGS 12 and 13 and at ¶96 (“[a]s shown, the UE 210 reports uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221 to the base station 220. The uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221 may specify the number of component carriers that the UE 210 is capable of transmitting uplink signals over at the same time and/or an uplink RF retuning delay of the UE 210”). See also id. at ¶95 (“[d]ifferent UEs may have different uplink carrier aggregation capabilities … [a]dditionally, UEs may have different uplink RF retuning delays. The RF retuning delays may also be referred to as RF retuning times, RF retuning gaps, or in the context of SRS switching, SRS switching gaps, SRS switching times, etc.”). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time would understand that retuning delays/gaps as well as SRS switching times are for switching carriers. Liu discloses that the switching capability regards switching between a first CC and second CC for transmission of an uplink signal, thus a first and second uplink signal. Id. at steps 1241-1245.
wherein the switching capability information comprises CCs between which the UE supports switching and a switching time associated with switching between different CCs.
Liu discloses that the switching capability comprises CCs the UE supports switching between as well as a switching time. Liu at ¶96 (“The uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221 may specify the number of component carriers that the UE 210 is capable of transmitting uplink signals over at the same time and/or an uplink RF retuning delay of the UE 210. The base station 220 may then assign an uplink carrier switching configuration 1222 to the UE based on the uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221, and send the uplink carrier switching configuration 1222.”).
Liu does not disclose the specifics of the indication or that it is provided to the BS in response to a query.
Takahashi discloses an analogous invention, namely carrier aggregation in a wireless system. Takahashi at ¶¶34-36. Takahashi states that the UE may, similar to Liu, provide an indication to the base station of its capabilities with respect to communicating on component carriers as to CA configurations. Id. at ¶¶41-42. Notably, Takahashi states that the indications may be provided to the base station in response to a query. Id. at ¶56.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the ‘558 Patent’s filing to modify Liu so as to add a base station query and provide the specific carrier information in response. A network requesting information from a UE was common at the time, and while Liu discloses the UE providing carrier information, Takahashi discloses the UE providing specifics as to carriers it operates on, giving the network sufficient information to provide the parameters of Liu, as merely declaring the number of CCs the UE can be capable of using would not be sufficient information for the eNB to assign CCs to the UE in such a large-scale environment. Further, the combination would have been seen as an example of merely combining similar prior art elements according to known methods, each element performing in combination the same function as it does separately, with predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A), citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Further as to claim 50:
The apparatus of claim 49, wherein the one or more CA configurations comprise potential CA configurations.
Liu discloses that the CA configurations may comprise potential CCs. Liu at ¶159 (“To enable fast carrier switching to and between TDD component carriers (CCs), the network needs to first configure a UE with SRS on more TDD CCs or potentially even all TDD CCs”).
Further as to claim 51:
The apparatus of claim 49, wherein the switching capability of the UE is based on at least one of: UE capability, whether the CCs are contiguous CCs, or whether the CCs are inter-band CCs.
Liu discloses that the UE’s capabilities to switch carriers are based on the CCs being contiguous or inter-band. Liu at ¶81 (“[t]he different carriers may be in the same band, i.e., intra-band CA, or in different bands, i.e., inter-band CA”). See also id. at ¶379 (“[i]t is needed for the UE to report sufficient information for SRS switching configuration, e.g., switching times for inter-band RF retuning and intra-band RF retuning”).
Further as to claim 52:
The apparatus of claim 49, wherein the first uplink signal comprises at least one of: a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH).
Liu discloses that the first uplink signal comprises a PUSCH or a PUCCH. Liu at claim 11 (“an uplink transmission over each CC in the first set of CCs includes at least one of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission”).
Further as to claim 53:
The apparatus of claim 49, wherein the second uplink signal comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS).
Liu discloses that the second uplink signal comprises a SRS. Liu at FIG 12 element 1262 and ¶96 and Abstract.
Further as to claim 54:
The apparatus of claim 49, wherein the one or more CA configurations comprise a CA configuration that the UE is currently configured with.
Liu discloses that the UE provides the information as to a current set of CCs. Liu at ¶¶78, 96, and 202.
Further as to claim 55:
The apparatus of claim 49, wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive a CA configuration in response to providing the indication.
Liu discloses the BS transmitting a CA configuration to the UE in response to the indication. Liu at FIG 12 element 1222, FIG 13 element 1320, and at ¶¶95-97 (“ The base station 220 may then assign an uplink carrier switching configuration 1222 to the UE based on the uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221, and send the uplink carrier switching configuration 1222. The uplink carrier switching configuration 1222 may be communicated in various ways, such as via higher-layer signaling channel (e.g., in an RRC message), media access control (MAC) signaling channel, or a PDCCH (e.g., in a DCI message).”).
As to claim 56, Liu discloses:
An apparatus for wireless communications, comprising:
Liu discloses a BS 220. Liu at FIG 12 element 110 and Abstract.
at least one processor coupled with a memory and configured to:
Liu discloses the BS includes a processor with memory for performing the following steps. Liu at FIG 55 and at ¶538.
[…] receive an indication of switching capability information of the UE for one or more carrier aggregation (CA) configurations, the switching capability information for switching between a first component carrier (CC) for transmission of a first uplink signal and a second CC for transmission of a second uplink signal,
Liu discloses the BS receiving an indication from a UE of switching capability for the UE as to one or more CA configurations by way of a receiving means. Liu at ¶538 describing processor and memory and at FIGS 12 and 13 and at ¶96 (“[a]s shown, the UE 210 reports uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221 to the base station 220. The uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221 may specify the number of component carriers that the UE 210 is capable of transmitting uplink signals over at the same time and/or an uplink RF retuning delay of the UE 210”). See also id. at ¶95 (“[d]ifferent UEs may have different uplink carrier aggregation capabilities … [a]dditionally, UEs may have different uplink RF retuning delays. The RF retuning delays may also be referred to as RF retuning times, RF retuning gaps, or in the context of SRS switching, SRS switching gaps, SRS switching times, etc.”). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time would understand that retuning delays/gaps as well as SRS switching times are for switching carriers. Liu discloses that the switching capability regards switching between a first CC and second CC for transmission of an uplink signal, thus a first and second uplink signal. Id. at steps 1241-1245.
wherein the switching capability information comprises CCs between which the UE supports switching and a switching time associated with switching between different CCs.
Liu discloses that the switching capability comprises CCs the UE supports switching between as well as a switching time. Liu at ¶96 (“The uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221 may specify the number of component carriers that the UE 210 is capable of transmitting uplink signals over at the same time and/or an uplink RF retuning delay of the UE 210. The base station 220 may then assign an uplink carrier switching configuration 1222 to the UE based on the uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221, and send the uplink carrier switching configuration 1222.”).
Liu does not disclose the specifics of the indication or that it is provided to the BS in response to a query.
Takahashi discloses an analogous invention, namely carrier aggregation in a wireless system. Takahashi at ¶¶34-36. Takahashi states that the UE may, similar to Liu, provide an indication to the base station of its capabilities with respect to communicating on component carriers as to CA configurations. Id. at ¶¶41-42. Notably, Takahashi states that the indications may be provided to the base station in response to a query. Id. at ¶56.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the ‘558 Patent’s filing to modify Liu so as to add a base station query and provide the specific carrier information in response. A network requesting information from a UE was common at the time, and while Liu discloses the UE providing carrier information, Takahashi discloses the UE providing specifics as to carriers it operates on, giving the network sufficient information to provide the parameters of Liu, as merely declaring the number of CCs the UE can be capable of using would not be sufficient information for the eNB to assign CCs to the UE in such a large-scale environment. Further, the combination would have been seen as an example of merely combining similar prior art elements according to known methods, each element performing in combination the same function as it does separately, with predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A), citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Further as to claim 57:
The apparatus of claim 56, wherein the switching capability of the UE is based on at least one of: UE capability, whether the CCs are contiguous CCs, or whether the CCs are inter-band CCs.
Liu discloses that the UE’s capabilities to switch carriers are based on the CCs being contiguous or inter-band. Liu at ¶81 (“[t]he different carriers may be in the same band, i.e., intra-band CA, or in different bands, i.e., inter-band CA”). See also id. at ¶379 (“[i]t is needed for the UE to report sufficient information for SRS switching configuration, e.g., switching times for inter-band RF retuning and intra-band RF retuning”).
Further as to claim 58:
The apparatus of claim 56, wherein the first uplink signal comprises at least one of: a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH).
Liu discloses that the first uplink signal comprises a PUSCH or a PUCCH. Liu at claim 11 (“an uplink transmission over each CC in the first set of CCs includes at least one of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission”).
Further as to claim 59:
The apparatus of claim 56, wherein the second uplink signal comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS).
Liu discloses that the second uplink signal comprises a SRS. Liu at FIG 12 element 1262 and ¶96 and Abstract.
Further as to claim 60:
The apparatus of claim 56, wherein the one or more CA configurations comprise a CA configuration that the UE is currently configured with.
Liu discloses that the UE provides the information as to a current set of CCs. Liu at ¶¶78, 96, and 202.
Further as to claim 61:
The apparatus of claim 56, wherein the one or more CA configurations comprise potential CA configurations.
Liu discloses that the CA configurations may comprise potential CCs. Liu at ¶159 (“To enable fast carrier switching to and between TDD component carriers (CCs), the network needs to first configure a UE with SRS on more TDD CCs or potentially even all TDD CCs”).
Further as to claim 62:
The apparatus of claim 56, further comprising: means for providing a CA configuration in response to providing the indication.
Liu discloses the BS transmitting a CA configuration to the UE in response to the indication. Liu at FIG 12 element 1222, FIG 13 element 1320, and at ¶¶95-97 (“ The base station 220 may then assign an uplink carrier switching configuration 1222 to the UE based on the uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221, and send the uplink carrier switching configuration 1222. The uplink carrier switching configuration 1222 may be communicated in various ways, such as via higher-layer signaling channel (e.g., in an RRC message), media access control (MAC) signaling channel, or a PDCCH (e.g., in a DCI message).”). The BS transmits this through means for providing i.e. transmitter 5606. Id. at ¶540.
As to claim 73, Liu discloses:
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing computer executable code thereon for wireless communications, comprising:
Liu discloses a UE 210. Liu at FIG 12 element 110 and Abstract.
Liu discloses the UE includes a processor with memory for performing the following steps. Liu at FIG 55 and at ¶538 and claim 14 (“one or more processors in communication with the memory storage, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to perform:”).
[…] code for […] providing an indication to the BS of the switching capability information of the apparatus for one or more carrier aggregation (CA) configurations, the switching capability information for switching between a first component carrier (CC) for transmission of a first uplink signal and a second CC for transmission of a second uplink signal,
Liu discloses the UE includes code means for providing an indication to a base station of switching capability for the UE as to one or more CA configurations. Liu at ¶538 describing processor and memory, and at FIGS 12 and 13 and at ¶96 (“[a]s shown, the UE 210 reports uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221 to the base station 220. The uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221 may specify the number of component carriers that the UE 210 is capable of transmitting uplink signals over at the same time and/or an uplink RF retuning delay of the UE 210”). See also id. at ¶95 (“[d]ifferent UEs may have different uplink carrier aggregation capabilities … [a]dditionally, UEs may have different uplink RF retuning delays. The RF retuning delays may also be referred to as RF retuning times, RF retuning gaps, or in the context of SRS switching, SRS switching gaps, SRS switching times, etc.”). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time would understand that retuning delays/gaps as well as SRS switching times are for switching carriers. Liu discloses that the switching capability regards switching between a first CC and second CC for transmission of an uplink signal, thus a first and second uplink signal. Id. at steps 1241-1245.
wherein the switching capability information comprises CCs between which the UE supports switching and a switching time associated with switching between different CCs.
Liu discloses that the switching capability comprises CCs the UE supports switching between as well as a switching time. Liu at ¶96 (“The uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221 may specify the number of component carriers that the UE 210 is capable of transmitting uplink signals over at the same time and/or an uplink RF retuning delay of the UE 210. The base station 220 may then assign an uplink carrier switching configuration 1222 to the UE based on the uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221, and send the uplink carrier switching configuration 1222.”).
Liu does not disclose the specifics of the indication or that it is provided to the BS in response to a query.
Takahashi discloses an analogous invention, namely carrier aggregation in a wireless system. Takahashi at ¶¶34-36. Takahashi states that the UE may, similar to Liu, provide an indication to the base station of its capabilities with respect to communicating on component carriers as to CA configurations. Id. at ¶¶41-42. Notably, Takahashi states that the indications may be provided to the base station in response to a query. Id. at ¶56.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the ‘558 Patent’s filing to modify Liu so as to add a base station query and provide the specific carrier information in response. A network requesting information from a UE was common at the time, and while Liu discloses the UE providing carrier information, Takahashi discloses the UE providing specifics as to carriers it operates on, giving the network sufficient information to provide the parameters of Liu, as merely declaring the number of CCs the UE can be capable of using would not be sufficient information for the eNB to assign CCs to the UE in such a large-scale environment. Further, the combination would have been seen as an example of merely combining similar prior art elements according to known methods, each element performing in combination the same function as it does separately, with predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A), citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Further as to claim 74:
The computer readable medium of claim 73, wherein the one or more CA configurations comprise potential CA configurations.
Liu discloses that the CA configurations may comprise potential CCs. Liu at ¶159 (“To enable fast carrier switching to and between TDD component carriers (CCs), the network needs to first configure a UE with SRS on more TDD CCs or potentially even all TDD CCs”).
Further as to claim 75:
The computer readable medium of claim 73, wherein the switching capability of the UE is based on at least one of: UE capability, whether the CCs are contiguous CCs, or whether the CCs are inter-band CCs.
Liu discloses that the UE’s capabilities to switch carriers are based on the CCs being contiguous or inter-band. Liu at ¶81 (“[t]he different carriers may be in the same band, i.e., intra-band CA, or in different bands, i.e., inter-band CA”). See also id. at ¶379 (“[i]t is needed for the UE to report sufficient information for SRS switching configuration, e.g., switching times for inter-band RF retuning and intra-band RF retuning”).
Further as to claim 76:
The computer readable medium of claim 73, wherein the first uplink signal comprises at least one of: a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH).
Liu discloses that the first uplink signal comprises a PUSCH or a PUCCH. Liu at claim 11 (“an uplink transmission over each CC in the first set of CCs includes at least one of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission”).
Further as to claim 77:
The computer readable medium of claim 73, wherein the second uplink signal comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS).
Liu discloses that the second uplink signal comprises a SRS. Liu at FIG 12 element 1262 and ¶96 and Abstract.
Further as to claim 78:
The computer readable medium of claim 73, wherein the one or more CA configurations comprise a CA configuration that the UE is currently configured with.
Liu discloses that the UE provides the information as to a current set of CCs. Liu at ¶¶78, 96, and 202.
Further as to claim 79:
The computer readable medium of claim 73, further comprising code for receiving a CA configuration in response to providing the indication.
Liu discloses the BS transmitting a CA configuration to the UE in response to the indication. Liu at FIG 12 element 1222, FIG 13 element 1320, and at ¶¶95-97 (“ The base station 220 may then assign an uplink carrier switching configuration 1222 to the UE based on the uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221, and send the uplink carrier switching configuration 1222. The uplink carrier switching configuration 1222 may be communicated in various ways, such as via higher-layer signaling channel (e.g., in an RRC message), media access control (MAC) signaling channel, or a PDCCH (e.g., in a DCI message).”).
As to claim 80, Liu discloses:
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing computer executable code thereon for wireless communications, comprising:
Liu discloses a BS 220. Liu at FIG 12 element 110 and Abstract.
Liu discloses the BS includes a processor with memory for performing the following steps. Liu at FIG 55 and at ¶538.
[…] code for […] receiving an indication of switching capability information of the UE for one or more carrier aggregation (CA) configurations, the switching capability information for switching between a first component carrier (CC) for transmission of a first uplink signal and a second CC for transmission of a second uplink signal,
Liu discloses the BS receiving an indication from a UE of switching capability for the UE as to one or more CA configurations by way of a receiving means. Liu at ¶538 describing processor and memory and at FIGS 12 and 13 and at ¶96 (“[a]s shown, the UE 210 reports uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221 to the base station 220. The uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221 may specify the number of component carriers that the UE 210 is capable of transmitting uplink signals over at the same time and/or an uplink RF retuning delay of the UE 210”). See also id. at ¶95 (“[d]ifferent UEs may have different uplink carrier aggregation capabilities … [a]dditionally, UEs may have different uplink RF retuning delays. The RF retuning delays may also be referred to as RF retuning times, RF retuning gaps, or in the context of SRS switching, SRS switching gaps, SRS switching times, etc.”). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time would understand that retuning delays/gaps as well as SRS switching times are for switching carriers. Liu discloses that the switching capability regards switching between a first CC and second CC for transmission of an uplink signal, thus a first and second uplink signal. Id. at steps 1241-1245.
wherein the switching capability information comprises CCs between which the UE supports switching and a switching time associated with switching between different CCs.
Liu discloses that the switching capability comprises CCs the UE supports switching between as well as a switching time. Liu at ¶96 (“The uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221 may specify the number of component carriers that the UE 210 is capable of transmitting uplink signals over at the same time and/or an uplink RF retuning delay of the UE 210. The base station 220 may then assign an uplink carrier switching configuration 1222 to the UE based on the uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221, and send the uplink carrier switching configuration 1222.”).
Liu does not disclose the specifics of the indication or that it is provided to the BS in response to a query.
Takahashi discloses an analogous invention, namely carrier aggregation in a wireless system. Takahashi at ¶¶34-36. Takahashi states that the UE may, similar to Liu, provide an indication to the base station of its capabilities with respect to communicating on component carriers as to CA configurations. Id. at ¶¶41-42. Notably, Takahashi states that the indications may be provided to the base station in response to a query. Id. at ¶56.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the ‘558 Patent’s filing to modify Liu so as to add a base station query and provide the specific carrier information in response. A network requesting information from a UE was common at the time, and while Liu discloses the UE providing carrier information, Takahashi discloses the UE providing specifics as to carriers it operates on, giving the network sufficient information to provide the parameters of Liu, as merely declaring the number of CCs the UE can be capable of using would not be sufficient information for the eNB to assign CCs to the UE in such a large-scale environment. Further, the combination would have been seen as an example of merely combining similar prior art elements according to known methods, each element performing in combination the same function as it does separately, with predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A), citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Further as to claim 81:
The computer readable medium of claim 80, wherein the switching capability of the UE is based on at least one of: UE capability, whether the CCs are contiguous CCs, or whether the CCs are inter-band CCs.
Liu discloses that the UE’s capabilities to switch carriers are based on the CCs being contiguous or inter-band. Liu at ¶81 (“[t]he different carriers may be in the same band, i.e., intra-band CA, or in different bands, i.e., inter-band CA”). See also id. at ¶379 (“[i]t is needed for the UE to report sufficient information for SRS switching configuration, e.g., switching times for inter-band RF retuning and intra-band RF retuning”).
Further as to claim 82:
The computer readable medium of claim 80, wherein the first uplink signal comprises at least one of: a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH).
Liu discloses that the first uplink signal comprises a PUSCH or a PUCCH. Liu at claim 11 (“an uplink transmission over each CC in the first set of CCs includes at least one of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission”).
Further as to claim 83:
The computer readable medium of claim 80, wherein the second uplink signal comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS).
Liu discloses that the second uplink signal comprises a SRS. Liu at FIG 12 element 1262 and ¶96 and Abstract.
Further as to claim 84:
The computer readable medium of claim 80, wherein the one or more CA configurations comprise a CA configuration that the UE is currently configured with.
Liu discloses that the UE provides the information as to a current set of CCs. Liu at ¶¶78, 96, and 202.
Further as to claim 85:
The computer readable medium of claim 80, wherein the one or more CA configurations comprise potential CA configurations.
Liu discloses that the CA configurations may comprise potential CCs. Liu at ¶159 (“To enable fast carrier switching to and between TDD component carriers (CCs), the network needs to first configure a UE with SRS on more TDD CCs or potentially even all TDD CCs”).
Further as to claim 86:
The computer readable medium of claim 80, further comprising code for providing a CA configuration in response to providing the indication.
Liu discloses the BS transmitting a CA configuration to the UE in response to the indication. Liu at FIG 12 element 1222, FIG 13 element 1320, and at ¶¶95-97 (“ The base station 220 may then assign an uplink carrier switching configuration 1222 to the UE based on the uplink carrier aggregation capabilities 1221, and send the uplink carrier switching configuration 1222. The uplink carrier switching configuration 1222 may be communicated in various ways, such as via higher-layer signaling channel (e.g., in an RRC message), media access control (MAC) signaling channel, or a PDCCH (e.g., in a DCI message).”). The BS transmits this through means for providing i.e. transmitter 5606. Id. at ¶540.
Response to Arguments
Patent Owner provides arguments in pp. 18-26 of his Amendment (“Remarks”).
As to various claims being interpreted under §112(f) (Remarks at 20-21), the Examiner notes that Patent Owner’s arguments do not cure all of the deficiencies previously noted. For example, claim 31 further limits claim 25 including an additional receiving means, yet Patent Owner points to the same receiving means as support for the structure of the receiving means of claim 31, whereas these must necessarily be separate means. The Examiner further notes the lack of algorithm support in the disclosure as to processor claims being interpreted under §112(f).
As to rejections of claims 15-24, 39-48, 63-72, and 87-96 under §102 (Remarks at 22-24), the Examiner finds Patent Owner’s arguments not persuasive for the reasons set forth below.
As to claim 15, which is exemplary, the Examiner notes that the adjustment claimed is not an adjustment of any of the parameters received from the base station; the parameter or parameter value adjusted may be a completely different parameter than any linked to the parameter values received from the base station. This means any parameter which is adjusted by Liu in response to a determined parameter value reads on the claim. Note that Liu explicitly discloses receiving power parameters from the base station, as well as adjusting a power level for uplink transmission when puncturing is occurring due to a switch in CCs. Patent Owner’s argument as to portions of the disclosure are not persuasive because these features are not claimed.
As to rejections of claims 1-14, 25-38, 49-62, and 73-86 under §103 (Remarks at 24-26), the Examiner finds Patent Owner’s arguments moot in view of the new ground of rejection above, which establishes that Liu discloses the claim except for a query as well as details as to the response thereto. Takahashi discloses provisioning specific CC capability information in response to a BS query.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner should be directed to Charles Craver whose telephone number is (571) 272-
7849. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday 8:30-5:30 PT Pacific
Time.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s
supervisor, Andrew J. Fischer can be reached on 571-272-6779. The fax phone
number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-
273-8300.
Signed,
/CHARLES R CRAVER/Reexamination Specialist, Art Unit 3992
Conferees:
/MATTHEW E HENEGHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992
/ANDREW J. FISCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3992