DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 8/18/2026 is entered and fully considered.
The amendment incorporates the limitations of claim 6 and clarifies that the agricultural equipment is not aviation equipment. The corrosive resistance was also noted in originally filed claim 8.
Upon review of claim 17 the examiner notes there is a typo in which the metal surface that is sprayed can include “a cattle” which obviously does not have a metal surface. The language is likely meant to be --a cattle trailer-- as included in claim 16.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues one of ordinary skill in the art would not use the protective polyurea of BUSBY which describes protecting aircraft parts on agricultural equipment. However, the LARSON reference teaches that polyurea can be used to protect both farm equipment and aircraft. The BUSBY reference was relied upon for teaching the spraying of the urea as a two part polymer. In contrast, the LARSON reference does not teach how the polyurea is applied but teaches the coating can be used on both aircraft and farm equipment. Therefore, the examiner maintains that one of ordinary skill in the art would use polyurea for both aircraft and agricultural equipment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 7-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BUSBY et al. (US 2022/0266275) in view of LARSON et al. (US 2010/0247904).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 10, and 13,
BUSBY teaches a method of spraying a two part polymer from a pneumatic mix and spray gun abstract. The two-part polymer can be polyurea [0013]. The reference teaches spraying aircraft pieces/parts abstract. Aircraft can be used in agricultural environments such as crop dusting, top dressing, or data collection.
BUSBY teaches spraying a two part polyurea such as “AvDEC SF 5387” [0082]-[0083] but does not expressly teach the properties of the polyurea. However, LARSON teaches a polyurea for farm equipment or aircraft abstract that can be sprayed on (bare) metal [0016]. LARSON teaches polyurea can have a shore D hardness of 32-75 and elongation of over 114-141% Table 1. Impact resistance is shown in Table 5 [0032]. LARSON does not expressly teach how quickly the polyurea cures. However, BUSBY shows that other polyurea coatings can cure in minutes (“capable” of curing 5 minutes to 2 hours) [0083] and [0118]. BUSBY teaches known two part polyureas have a peel strength of 10-30piw on bare Al 6061, 90° peel back [0083]. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to select a polyurea or mixture of polyurea to obtain the desired properties for a particular application.
Regarding claim 3,
The references teach applying a polyurea coating to the surfaces of farm equipment. The same polyurea material is expected to be resistant to degradation in animal waste.
Regarding claim 8,
BUSBY teaches known two part polyureas pass a 3000-hour salt fog test [0082].
Regarding claim 9,
BUSBY teaches the coating material is VOC-free (volatile organic component) [0018] and [0111].
Regarding claim 11,
LARSON teaches applying multiple layers of the polyurea [0022]. The last applied layer is considered a “topcoat” while the underlayers can be considered the polyurea coating.
Regarding claim 12,
LARSON teaches including a biocide in either the first or second component of the polyurea [0013].
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BUSBY et al. (US 2022/0266275) in view of LARSON et al. (US 2010/0247904) and MAYO et al. (US 2021/0363358).
Regarding claim 4,
LARSON teaches including colorants (pigment) in the coating [0013] but does not expressly teach including carbon black. However, MAYO teaches when making coatings a pigment such as carbon black can be included to impart the desired color [0120]. The carbon black is interpreted to be in “granular” form. The reference does not expressly teach the loading of carbon black. The amount of pigment applied directly controls the color of the coating. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to manipulate the amount of carbon black added to the coating as the optimization of a result effective variable to obtain a desired aesthetic.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BUSBY et al. (US 2022/0266275) in view of LARSON et al. (US 2010/0247904) further in view of MORROW (US 2021/0040733).
Regarding claim 14,
BUSBY and LARSON teach using the polyurea coating on aircraft parts and agricultural equipment but do not expressly teach other substrate materials. However, BUSBY teaches the coating is a corrosion protective layer [0079] and generally protective coverings according to LARSON abstract. The references do not teach applying the polyurea to a metal bracket trim or lower wall. However, MORROW teaches applying impact resistant coatings to structures to protect lower walls from impacts of cattle and forklifts abstract. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply a two part polyurea coating to agricultural structures such as walls to protect the walls from forklifts and cattle.
Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BUSBY et al. (US 2022/0266275) in view of LARSON et al. (US 2010/0247904) further in view of NYE et al. (US 2012/0193942).
Regarding claim 15,
BUSBY and LARSON teach using the polyurea coating on aircraft parts and agricultural equipment but do not expressly teach other substrate materials. NYE teaches a trailer abstract and notes that all portions of the metal trailer can be coated with a surface treatment including polyurea [0032] and [0034]. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the protective coatings of BUSBY and LARSON to trailer parts such as walls and wheel wells to protect the trailer.
Regarding claim 16,
NYE teaches a trailer but does not limit what the trailer can be used for. Accordingly, the trailer could be a cattle trailer. As noted above, all portions of the trailer can be coated with protective material, including a bed member (floor) [0038].
Regarding claim 17,
NYE teaches coating all portions of a trailer with protective coating and notes that the trailer can include gates [0035].
Regarding claim 18,
The trailer in NYE could be pulled by a tractor and is therefore considered to be a “tractor implement”.
Claim(s) 16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BUSBY et al. (US 2022/0266275) in view of LARSON et al. (US 2010/0247904) further in view of UHLIANUK et al. (US 2008/0305347).
Regarding claims 16 and 19,
BUSBY and LARSON teach using the polyurea coating on aircraft parts and agricultural equipment but do not expressly teach other substrate materials. However, BUSBY teaches the coating is a corrosion protective layer [0079] and generally protective coverings according to LARSON abstract.
UHLIANUK similarly teaches polyurea are protective coatings and specifically notes their use in livestock (cattle) trailer floors and truck beds (upper and outer surface of a vehicle) [0042]. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to apply the protective coatings of BUSBY and LARSON to livestock trailers and truck beds to offer protection to that equipment.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BUSBY et al. (US 2022/0266275) in view of LARSON et al. (US 2010/0247904) and MAYO et al. (US 2021/0363358) further in view of NYE et al. (US 2012/0193942).
Regarding claim 20,
BUSBY teaches a method of spraying a two part polymer from a pneumatic mix and spray gun abstract. The two-part polymer can be polyurea [0013]. The reference teaches spraying aircraft pieces/parts abstract. Aircraft and drones can be used in agricultural environments such as crop dusting, top dressing, or simply data collection.
BUSBY teaches spraying a two part polyurea such as “AvDEC SF 5387” [0082]-[0083] but does not expressly teach the properties of the polyurea. However, LARSON teaches a polyurea for farm equipment or aircraft abstract that can be sprayed on (bare) metal [0016]. LARSON teaches polyurea can have a shore D hardness of 32-75 and elongation of over 114-141% Table 1. Impact resistance is shown in Table 5 [0032]. LARSON does not expressly teach how quickly the polyurea cures. However, BUSBY shows that other polyurea coatings can cure in minutes [0083] and [0118]. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to select a polyurea or mixture of polyurea to obtain the desired properties for a particular application.
LARSON teaches including colorants (pigment) in the coating [0013] but does not expressly teach including carbon black. However, MAYO teaches when making coatings a pigment such as carbon black can be included to impart the desired color [0120]. The carbon black is interpreted to be in “granular” form. The reference does not expressly teach the loading of carbon black. The amount of pigment applied directly controls the color of the coating. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to manipulate the amount of carbon black added to the coating as the optimization of a result effective variable to obtain a desired aesthetic.
BUSBY and LARSON teach using the polyurea coating on aircraft parts and agricultural equipment but do not expressly teach other substrate materials. NYE teaches a trailer abstract and notes that all portions of the metal trailer can be coated with a surface treatment including polyurea [0032] and [0034]. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the protective coatings of BUSBY and LARSON to trailer parts such as walls and wheel wells to protect the trailer.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AUSTIN MURATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712