DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter in the form of a “computer-readable storage medium.” The claim falls outside the scope of patent-eligible subject matter at least because the claimed computer-readable storage medium is broad enough to encompass transitory embodiments. (E.g., one of ordinary skill in the art could reasonably be expected to interpret the claimed computer readable medium as a carrier wave onto which instructions could be coded.) See also the Official Gazette Notice 1351 OG 212 February 23, 2010 “Subject Matter Eligibility of Computer Readable Media” which states in relevant part “[i]n an effort to assist the patent community in overcoming a rejection or potential rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 in this situation, the USPTO suggests the following approach. A claim drawn to such a computer readable medium that covers both transitory and non-transitory embodiments may be amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 by adding the limitation ‘non-transitory’ to the claim.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 9-12, 14-17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weber (US 2025/0036673) in view of XU (US 10,929,420).
With respect to claim 11 (similarly claims 1 and 20), Weber teaches an apparatus (e.g. electronic device 102 Fig 1 [0026] and/or 800 Fig 8 [0113]) for providing prompt input to a large language model (LLM) engine (e.g. for providing prompt input 302 and/or 312 Fig 3A-B [0070], [0072]), the apparatus (e.g. electronic device 102 Fig 1 [0026] and/or 800 Fig 8 [0113]) comprising:
at least one processor (e.g. one or more processors 814, Fig 8 [0113]);
at least one memory (e.g. memory 812, Fig 8 [0113]) stored instructions wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (e.g. storing instructions, when executed by processor 814), cause the processor to:
receive one or more input documents containing unstructured text data (e.g. receive one or more input documents 202 Fig 2 containing unstructured text data [0063]);
receive a prompt that references the one or more input documents (e.g. receive prompt 302/312 Fig 3A-B that references the one or more input documents 202 [0070], [0072]) and is associated with a task for the LLM engine to perform utilizing the one or more input documents (e.g. and is associated with generating a document as suggested in [0075], [0078] utilizing the document set 202); and
transmit, to the LLM engine, the one or more input documents, the prompt, and the document vector data together with instructions to cause the LLM engine to perform the task based on the one or more input documents, the prompt and the document vector data (e.g. transmit to LLM engine 112 which uses LLM 110 to produce output, the one or more input documents, the prompt, and the document vector data together with instructions to cause the LLM engine 112 to perform the task i.e. generating a new document [0023], [0075], [0078] based on the one or more input documents, the prompt and the document vector data, Fig 3A-B [0069]-[0070], [0072]).
However, Weber fails to teach generate structured data based on at least one of the one or more input documents;
Xu teaches generate structured data based on at least one of the one or more input documents (e.g. generating structured report data based on one or more input sentences, see Figs 1-2 col 8 ln 61-67-col 9 ln 1-54);
Weber and Xu are analogous art because they all pertain to generating document vector/structured report data from document set/sentences. Therefore, it would have been obvious to people having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Weber with the teachings of Xu to include: generate structured data based on at least one of the one or more input documents as suggested by Xu in Figs 1-2 col 8 ln 61-67-col 9 ln 1-54; and
Transmit (i.e. after the modification), to the LLM engine, the one or more input documents, the prompt, and the structured data together with instructions to cause the LLM engine to perform the task based on the one or more input documents and the structured data. The benefit of the modification would be to provide summaries of the document set, questions related to the content of the document set, and so forth, Weber [0069].
With respect to claim 12 (similarly claim 2), Weber in view of Xu teaches the apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the processor to generate the structured data comprises instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the processor to:
identify, in the one or more input documents, a span of text (Xu e.g. labels 208, 210, 214, 216, 218 identify, in the one or more input documents, a span of text as suggested in Fig 2 col 9 ln 5-28);
identify a concept that is associated with text included in the identified span of text (Xu e.g. identify a concept “Pulmonary arteries.” that is associated with text included in the identified span of text as suggested in col 9 ln 5-28 Fig 2);
wherein the structured data includes the identified concept and an identification of the identified span of text associated with the identified concept (Xu e.g. the structured data 206/212 Fig 2 includes the identified concept and an identification of the identified span of text associated with the identified concept).
With respect to claim 14 (similarly claim 4), Weber in view of Xu teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the processor to identify the concept that is associated with text included in the identified span of text comprises instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the processor to identify two or more concepts associated with the text included in the span of text and a relationship between the two or more concepts (Xu e.g. Fig 2 206 and 212 identify two or more concepts associated with the text included in the span of text and a relationship between the two or more concepts).
With respect to claim 15 (similarly claim 5), Weber in view of Xu teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the one or more input documents are associated with a context (Weber e.g. the document set is associated with a context, as suggested in [0003], [0023]), and the structured data is generated by a fine-tuned language model engine that is specific to the context (e.g. and the structured data, in the combination, is generated by a fine-tuned language model engine that is specific to the context as suggested in [0040] and claim 5 of Weber).
With respect to claim 16 (similarly claim 6), Weber in view of Xu teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the context is medicine, and the one or more input documents are patient medical documents (Weber e.g. generating information derived from medical records and drafting medical forms [0023], the set of documents may be a group of documents pertaining to a specific event, such as medical records for an individual [0003] suggest the context is medicine, and the one or more input documents are patient medical documents).
With respect to claim 17 (similarly claim 7), Weber in view of Xu teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the fine-tuned language model engine specific to the context is trained using medical ontologies and human labelled medical data (Weber e.g. The model can be pre-trained using a large document corpus [0039], which include medical ontologies and human labelled medical data as suggested in [0020]).
With respect to claim 19 (similarly claim 9), Weber in view of Xu teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the processor to receive from the LLM engine an output resulting from performing the task based on the one or more input documents and the structured data (Weber e.g. receive an output from LLM 110 resulting from performing the task based on the one or more input documents and the structured data, as suggested in Fig 3A-B [0070]-[0074], Fig 9 S912 [0120]).
With respect to claim 10, Weber in view of Xu teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising transmitting the output to a remote device, or displaying the output on a display (Weber e.g. the generated document may be provided to the computing device 102 and rendered at a display [0032], [0080]).
Claim(s) 18 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weber (US 2025/0036673) in view of XU (US 10,929,420) and further in view of Wachira (US 2021/0050076).
With respect to claim 18 (similarly claim 8), Weber in view of Xu teaches the apparatus of claim 17 including the medical ontologies as suggested in [0020] and [0039]).
However, the combination fails to teach wherein the medical ontologies include SNOMED-CT.
Wachira teaches medical ontologies that include SNOMED-CT, see [0017].
Weber and Wachira are analogous art because they all pertain to processing individual/patient’s medical records/conditions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to people having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Weber with the teachings of Wachira to include: wherein the medical ontologies include SNOMED-CT, as suggested by Wachira in [0017]. The benefit of the modification would be to better train the AI model in the medical field.
Claim(s) 13 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weber (US 2025/0036673) in view of XU (US 10,929,420) and further in view of Gattani (US 8,255,786).
With respect to claim 13 (similarly claim 3), Weber in view of Xu teaches the apparatus of claim 12 including to identify a concept associated with the text in the identified span of text.
However, the combination fails to teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the processor to identify a concept associated with the text in the identified span of text comprises instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the processor to perform disambiguation of an ambiguous term included in the span of text.
Gattani teaches to perform disambiguation of an ambiguous term included in the span of text (e.g. Fig 5 col 11 ln 64-67-col 12 ln 1-38).
Weber in view of Xu and Gattani are analogous art because they all pertain to processing documents to identify concepts. Therefore, it would have been obvious to people having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with the teachings of Gattani to include: wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the processor to identify a concept associated with the text in the identified span of text comprises instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the processor to perform disambiguation of an ambiguous term included in the span of text, as suggested by Gattani in Fig 5. The benefit of the modification would be to ensure clarity and accuracy in the system.
Conclusion
/IBRAHIM SIDDO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681