Response to Amendment
The amendment filed May 25th, 2026 does not place the application in condition for allowance.
The objections to claims 7 & 17 are withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
The 112(b) rejection of claims 10 & 20 are withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
The 102(a)(1) rejections over Chung et al. have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
The double patenting rejection over U.S. Patent No. 12,278,299 has been withdrawn due to the terminal disclaimer filed 5/25/2026.
New rejections follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 10, Applicant recites, “a first portion”. Its unclear if this recitation is directed towards one of the first portions already recited in claim 1 or if a different first portion is being introduced. Appropriate action is required.
Regarding Claim 10, Applicant recites, “a second portion”. Its unclear if this recitation is directed towards one of the second portions already recited in claim 1 or if a different second portion is being introduced. Appropriate action is required.
Regarding Claim 20, Applicant recites, “a first portion”. Its unclear if this recitation is directed towards one of the first portions already recited in claim 1 or if a different first portion is being introduced. Appropriate action is required.
Regarding Claim 20, Applicant recites, “a second portion”. Its unclear if this recitation is directed towards one of the second portions already recited in claim 1 or if a different second portion is being introduced. Appropriate action is required.
Double Patenting
The terminal disclaimer filed on May 25th, 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent No. 12,278,299 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 2017/0179325 A1) in view of Yu et al. (AU 2021225144 B1).
In view of Claims 1 & 11, Chung et al. discloses a photovoltaic module (Fig. 36, #200 & Paragraph 0504) comprising:
at least one cell string formed by connecting a plurality of solar cells (Fig. 36, #101-#102 – Paragraph 0504-0505);
at least one encapsulation adhesive layer configured to cover surfaces of the at least one cell string (Fig. 36, #230 & Paragraph 0515);
at least one cover plate configured to cover surfaces of the at least one encapsulation adhesive layer facing away from the at least one cell string (Fig. 36, #210, #220 & Paragraph 0515);
wherein each of the solar cell of the plurality of solar cells comprise:
an N-type silicon substrate (Fig. 35O, #10 & Paragraph 0056-0057) having a front surface (Fig. 35O, #10 top surface) and a rear surface opposite to the front surface (Fig. 35O, #10 bottom surface),
wherein the front surface has a plurality of pyramid structures (Fig. 35O, #10 top surface – Paragraph 0051);
the rear surface has a plurality of grooves (Fig. 22, SD & Paragraph 0310); or in the alternative (Fig. 33, #40b & Paragraph 0075):
the rear surface has a plurality of grooves recessed relative to the rear surface and at least one subset of the plurality of grooves is arranges sequentially along one arrangement direction (Fig. 33, #40b & Paragraph 0075);
a passivation layer formed over the front surface (Fig. 35O, #24 – Paragraph 0081);
a tunneling dielectric layer formed on the rear surface (Fig. 35O, #202 & Paragraph 0096);
a doped conductive layer (Fig. 35O, #302), wherein the doped conductive layer includes first portions and second portions formed at intervals, the first portions are doped with one of a N-type doping element and a P-type doping element and the second portions are doped with the other one of the N-type doping element and the P-type doping element (Fig. 35O, #32, #34 – Paragraph 0056-0057).
Chung et al. does not disclose the rear surface has a plurality of grooves recessed relative to the rear surface and at least one subset of the plurality of grooves is arranged sequentially along one arrangement direction.
Yu et al. a rear surface of a solar cell that has a plurality of grooves, some grooves of the plurality of grooves being arranged sequentially along one arrangement direction (See Annotated Yu et al. Fig. 3, below).
Annotated Yu et al. Figure 3
Yu et al. teaches a respective groove of at least one subset of the plurality of grooves has M top edges that form a polygon and M is a positive integer greater than or equal to 4 (See Annotated Yu et al. Fig. 3, below).
Annotated Yu et al. Figure 3
Yu et al. at least one groove of the plurality of grooves is recessed relative to the rear surface (Paragraph 0087, 0091, 0099-0103 – the grooves are formed via etching solution and thus these grooves are formed by removing material from the rear surface and would be “recessed” relative to the rear surface) and has a bottom surface, a top opening opposite to the bottom surface, and a side wall located between the bottom surface and the top opening, and an area of an orthographic projection of the bottom surface on the N-type silicon substrate is less than an area of an orthographic projection of the top opening on the N-type silicon substrate (See Annotated Yu et al. Figure 3, below & Paragraph 0052-0057). Yu et al. teaches that this configuration ensures that the roughness of the rear surface of the semiconductor substrate is controlled with an ideal range and it can be ensured that the roughness of the rear surface of the semiconductor substrate is within an appropriate range which helps to improve the uniformity of the tunnel oxide layer formed on the first texture structure, ensures better performance of the tunnel oxide layer formed, and further inhibits high local doping concentration of the doped conductive layer, reduces contact resistivity, and improves the open-circuit voltage of the solar cell, and improves the fill factor and photoelectric conversion efficiency (Paragraph 0020). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate the rear texturing configuration of Yu et al. on the rear surface of Chung et al. substrate such that the rear surface has a plurality of grooves recessed relative to the rear surface and at least one subset of the plurality of grooves is arranged sequentially along one arrangement direction for the advantages of ensuring that the roughness of the rear surface of the semiconductor substrate is controlled with an ideal range and thus ensuring that the roughness of the rear surface of the semiconductor substrate is within an appropriate range to improve the uniformity of the tunnel oxide layer formed on the first texture structure, thus ensuring better performance of the tunnel oxide layer formed, and further inhibiting high local doping concentration of the doped conductive layer, reducing contact resistivity, while improving the open-circuit voltage of the solar cell, and improving the fill factor and photoelectric conversion efficiency.
Annotated Yu et al. Figure 3
In view of Claims 2 & 12, Chung et al. and Yu et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claims 1 & 11. Yu et al. discloses the plurality of grooves include N groove groups, any one groove group of the N groove groups includes grooves arranged sequentially in a corresponding arrangement direction, arrangement directions of some groove groups of the N groove groups are the same, while arrangement directions of some groove groups of the N groove groups are different, and N is a positive integer greater than 2 (See Annotated Yu et al. Figure 3, above).
In view of Claims 3-4, and 13-14, Chung et al. and Yu et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claims 2 & 11. Yu et al. teaches at least two first groove groups of the N groove groups are next to each other and spaced apart from each other by an interval, and at least two second groove groups of the N groove groups overlap with each other by an overlapping region (See Annotated Yu et al. Figure 3, below).
Annotated Yu et al. Figure 3
In view of Claims 5 & 15, Chung et al. and Yu et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claims 1 & 11. Yu et al. teaches in a direction away from the rear surface, a single groove of the plurality of grooves includes a bottom surface, a top opening opposite to the bottom surface and a side wall located between the bottom surface and the top opening, and an area of an orthographic projection of the bottom surface on the N-type silicon substrate is less than an area of an orthographic projection of the top opening on the N-type silicon substrate (See Annotated Yu et al. Figure 3, below).
Annotated Yu et al. Figure 3
In view of Claims 6 & 16, Cheng et al. and Yu et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claims 1 & 11. Chung et al. teaches the respective orthographic projections of at least some grooves of the at least one subset of the plurality of grooves on the N-type silicon substrate have circular shapes of circle-like shapes (Fig. 33, #40b & Paragraph 0075).
Annotated Yu et al. Figure 3
In view of Claims 7 & 17, Cheng et al. and Yu et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claims 1 & 11. Yu et al. teaches that the vertical cross-section of at least some of the plurality of grooves are in a shape of a trapezoid that is tapered in direction directing from the rear surface to the front surface (See Annotated Yu et al. Figure 3, below).
In view of Claims 8 & 18, Chung et al. and Yu et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claims 1 & 11. In regards to the limitation, “a distribution density of the plurality of grooves on the rear surface ranges from 1000/mm2 to 50000/mm2”. Applicant discloses that the plurality of grooves on the rear surface are formed by an etching process, wherein the etching solution comprises 2% to 5% sodium hydroxide (Instant Specification – Paragraph 0127), at a temperature between 70-85°C (Instant Specification – Paragraph 0132), at a time of 50-300 seconds (Instant Specification – Paragraph 0135-0137).
Yu et al. discloses that the plurality of grooves are also formed by an etching process, wherein the etching solution comprises 1% to 15% sodium hydroxide, at a temperature between 70-80°C, at a time of 80-250 seconds (Paragraph 00106). Accordingly, as evidenced by Applicant’s specification, the method of Yu et al. would produce “a distribution density of the plurality of grooves on the rear surface ranges from 1000/mm2 to 50000/mm2”.
Additionally, Yu et al. is disclosing the same method for producing the plurality of grooves as Applicant, therefore under the principles of inherency, the production method of Yu et al. solar cell (in its normal and usual production method as outlined above) would necessarily produce the same distribution density of the plurality of grooves on the rear surface which would range from 1000/mm2 to 50000/mm2. See MPEP 2112.02
In view of Claims 9 & 19, Chung et al. and Yu et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claims 1 & 11. Yu et al. teaches that in a direction away from the rear surface, a maximum value of a depth of a single groove of the plurality of grooves ranges from 0.1 to 2 microns or 100 to 2000 nm (Paragraph 0113). See MPEP 2131.03.
Claims 10 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 2017/0179325 A1) in view of Yu et al. (AU 2021225144 B1) in view of Li et al. (US 2025/0143008 A1).
In view of Claims 10 & 20, Chung et al. and Yu et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claims 1 & 11. Chung et al. teaches that the doped conductive layer includes N-type doping elements (Fig. 35O, #32 & Paragraph 0057) and the doped conductive layer (Fig. 35O, #32) is formed over a surface of the tunneling dielectric layer (Fig. 35O, #202) facing away from the N-type silicon substrate (Fig. 35O, #10) but does not disclose that the tunneling layer includes first regions and second regions, a respective first region of the first regions contacts a first portion, a respective second region of the second regions contacts a second portion, the respective first region is doped with a doping element of a type same as that of a doping element in the first portion, and the respective second region is doped with a doping element of a type same as that of a doping element in the second portion.
Li et al. discloses a tunneling layer includes first regions and second regions, a respective first region of the first regions contacts a first portion, a respective second region of the second regions contacts a second portion, the respective first region is doped with a doping element of a type same as that of a doping element in the first portion, and the respective second region is doped with a doping element of a type same as that of a doping element in the second portion and that this configuration is beneficial to the improvement of the performance of a solar cell while reducing transmission resistance (Paragraph 0099). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the tunneling layer includes first regions and second regions, a respective first region of the first regions contacts a first portion, a respective second region of the second regions contacts a second portion, the respective first region is doped with a doping element of a type same as that of a doping element in the first portion, and the respective second region is doped with a doping element of a type same as that of a doping element in the second portion for the advantages of improving performance of the solar cell while reducing transmission resistance.
Claims 1-7, and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 2017/0179325 A1) in view of Ohbo et al. (US 2014/0209165 A1).
In view of Claims 1 & 11, Chung et al. discloses a photovoltaic module (Fig. 36, #200 & Paragraph 0504) comprising:
at least one cell string formed by connecting a plurality of solar cells (Fig. 36, #101-#102 – Paragraph 0504-0505);
at least one encapsulation adhesive layer configured to cover surfaces of the at least one cell string (Fig. 36, #230 & Paragraph 0515);
at least one cover plate configured to cover surfaces of the at least one encapsulation adhesive layer facing away from the at least one cell string (Fig. 36, #210, #220 & Paragraph 0515);
wherein each of the solar cell of the plurality of solar cells comprise:
an N-type silicon substrate (Fig. 35O, #10 & Paragraph 0056-0057) having a front surface (Fig. 35O, #10 top surface) and a rear surface opposite to the front surface (Fig. 35O, #10 bottom surface),
wherein the front surface has a plurality of pyramid structures (Fig. 35O, #10 top surface – Paragraph 0051);
the rear surface has a plurality of grooves (Fig. 22, SD & Paragraph 0310); or in the alternative (Fig. 33, #40b & Paragraph 0075):
the rear surface has a plurality of grooves recessed relative to the rear surface and at least one subset of the plurality of grooves is arranges sequentially along one arrangement direction (Fig. 33, #40b & Paragraph 0075);
a passivation layer formed over the front surface (Fig. 35O, #24 – Paragraph 0081);
a tunneling dielectric layer formed on the rear surface (Fig. 35O, #202 & Paragraph 0096);
a doped conductive layer (Fig. 35O, #302), wherein the doped conductive layer includes first portions and second portions formed at intervals, the first portions are doped with one of a N-type doping element and a P-type doping element and the second portions are doped with the other one of the N-type doping element and the P-type doping element (Fig. 35O, #32, #34 – Paragraph 0056-0057).
Chung et al. does not disclose the rear surface has a plurality of grooves recessed relative to the rear surface and at least one subset of the plurality of grooves is arranged sequentially along one arrangement direction or that a respective groove of at least one subset of the plurality of grooves has M top edges that form a polygon and M is a positive integer greater than or equal to 4.
Ohbo et al. a rear surface of a solar cell that has a plurality of grooves, some grooves of the plurality of grooves being arranged sequentially along one arrangement direction (Figs. 3 & 5) and that a respective groove of at least one subset of the plurality of grooves has M top edges that form a polygon and M is a positive integer greater than or equal to 4 (Figs. 3-5, any of the recessed grooves take this shape when viewed in a orthographic projection – Paragraph 0039-0040). Ohbo et al. teaches that this configuration improves photoelectric conversion efficiency of a solar cell (Paragraph 0039). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the rear surface of Chung et al. solar cell include a plurality of grooves recessed relative to the rear surface and at least one subset of the plurality of grooves is arranged sequentially along one arrangement direction or that a respective groove of at least one subset of the plurality of grooves has M top edges that form a polygon and M is a positive integer greater than or equal to 4 for the advantage of improving the photoelectric conversion efficiency of the solar cell.
In view of Claims 2 & 12, Chung et al. and Ohbo et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claims 1 & 11. Ohbo et al. discloses the plurality of grooves include N groove groups, any one groove group of the N groove groups includes grooves arranged sequentially in a corresponding arrangement direction, arrangement directions of some groove groups of the N groove groups are the same, while arrangement directions of some groove groups of the N groove groups are different, and N is a positive integer greater than 2 (See Annotated Ohbo et al. Fig. 4, below).
Annotated Ohbo et al. Fig. 4
In view of Claims 3-4, and 13-14, Chung et al. and Ohbo et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claims 2 & 11. Ohbo et al. teaches at least two first groove groups of the N groove groups are next to each other and spaced apart from each other by an interval, and at least two second groove groups of the N groove groups overlap with each other by an overlapping region (See Annotated Ohbo et al. Fig. 4, below).
Annotated Ohbo et al. Fig. 4
In view of Claims 5 & 15, Chung et al. and Ohbo et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claims 1 & 11. Ohbo et al. teaches in a direction away from the rear surface, a single groove of the plurality of grooves includes a bottom surface, a top opening opposite to the bottom surface and a side wall located between the bottom surface and the top opening, and an area of an orthographic projection of the bottom surface on the N-type silicon substrate is less than an area of an orthographic projection of the top opening on the N-type silicon substrate (Figs. 3-5, any of the recessed grooves take this shape when viewed in a orthographic projection – Paragraph 0039-0040).
In view of Claims 6 & 16, Chung et al. and Ohbo et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claims 1 & 11. Chung et al. teaches the respective orthographic projections of at least some grooves of the at least one subset of the plurality of grooves on the N-type silicon substrate have circular shapes of circle-like shapes (Fig. 33, #40b & Paragraph 0075).
In view of Claims 7 & 17, Chung et al. and Ohbo et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claims 1 & 11. Ohbo et al. teaches that the vertical cross-section of at least some of the plurality of grooves are in a shape of a trapezoid that is tapered in direction directing from the rear surface to the front surface (Figs. 3-5, any of the recessed grooves take this shape when viewed in a orthographic projection – Paragraph 0039-0040).
Claims 10 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 2017/0179325 A1) in view of Ohbo et al. (US 2014/0209165 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 2025/0143008 A1).
In view of Claims 10 & 20, Chung et al. and Ohbo et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claims 1 & 11. Chung et al. teaches that the doped conductive layer includes N-type doping elements (Fig. 35O, #32 & Paragraph 0057) and the doped conductive layer (Fig. 35O, #32) is formed over a surface of the tunneling dielectric layer (Fig. 35O, #202) facing away from the N-type silicon substrate (Fig. 35O, #10) but does not disclose that the tunneling layer includes first regions and second regions, a respective first region of the first regions contacts a first portion, a respective second region of the second regions contacts a second portion, the respective first region is doped with a doping element of a type same as that of a doping element in the first portion, and the respective second region is doped with a doping element of a type same as that of a doping element in the second portion.
Li et al. discloses a tunneling layer includes first regions and second regions, a respective first region of the first regions contacts a first portion, a respective second region of the second regions contacts a second portion, the respective first region is doped with a doping element of a type same as that of a doping element in the first portion, and the respective second region is doped with a doping element of a type same as that of a doping element in the second portion and that this configuration is beneficial to the improvement of the performance of a solar cell while reducing transmission resistance (Paragraph 0099). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the tunneling layer includes first regions and second regions, a respective first region of the first regions contacts a first portion, a respective second region of the second regions contacts a second portion, the respective first region is doped with a doping element of a type same as that of a doping element in the first portion, and the respective second region is doped with a doping element of a type same as that of a doping element in the second portion for the advantages of improving performance of the solar cell while reducing transmission resistance.
Claims 1-9, and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 2017/0179325 A1) in view of Yu et al. (AU 2021225144 B1) in view of Ohbo et al. (US 2014/0209165 A1).
In view of Claims 1 & 11, Chung et al. discloses a photovoltaic module (Fig. 36, #200 & Paragraph 0504) comprising:
at least one cell string formed by connecting a plurality of solar cells (Fig. 36, #101-#102 – Paragraph 0504-0505);
at least one encapsulation adhesive layer configured to cover surfaces of the at least one cell string (Fig. 36, #230 & Paragraph 0515);
at least one cover plate configured to cover surfaces of the at least one encapsulation adhesive layer facing away from the at least one cell string (Fig. 36, #210, #220 & Paragraph 0515);
wherein each of the solar cell of the plurality of solar cells comprise:
an N-type silicon substrate (Fig. 35O, #10 & Paragraph 0056-0057) having a front surface (Fig. 35O, #10 top surface) and a rear surface opposite to the front surface (Fig. 35O, #10 bottom surface),
wherein the front surface has a plurality of pyramid structures (Fig. 35O, #10 top surface – Paragraph 0051);
the rear surface has a plurality of grooves (Fig. 22, SD & Paragraph 0310); or in the alternative (Fig. 33, #40b & Paragraph 0075):
the rear surface has a plurality of grooves recessed relative to the rear surface and at least one subset of the plurality of grooves is arranges sequentially along one arrangement direction (Fig. 33, #40b & Paragraph 0075);
a passivation layer formed over the front surface (Fig. 35O, #24 – Paragraph 0081);
a tunneling dielectric layer formed on the rear surface (Fig. 35O, #202 & Paragraph 0096);
a doped conductive layer (Fig. 35O, #302), wherein the doped conductive layer includes first portions and second portions formed at intervals, the first portions are doped with one of a N-type doping element and a P-type doping element and the second portions are doped with the other one of the N-type doping element and the P-type doping element (Fig. 35O, #32, #34 – Paragraph 0056-0057).
Chung et al. does not disclose the rear surface has a plurality of grooves recessed relative to the rear surface and at least one subset of the plurality of grooves is arranged sequentially along one arrangement direction.
Yu et al. a rear surface of a solar cell that has a plurality of grooves, some grooves of the plurality of grooves being arranged sequentially along one arrangement direction (See Annotated Yu et al. Fig. 3, below).
Annotated Yu et al. Figure 3
Yu et al. teaches a respective groove of at least one subset of the plurality of grooves has M top edges that form a polygon and M is a positive integer greater than or equal to 4 (See Annotated Yu et al. Fig. 3, below).
Annotated Yu et al. Figure 3
Yu et al. at least one groove of the plurality of grooves is recessed relative to the rear surface (Paragraph 0087, 0091, 0099-0103 – the grooves are formed via etching solution and thus these grooves are formed by removing material from the rear surface and would be “recessed” relative to the rear surface) and has a bottom surface, a top opening opposite to the bottom surface, and a side wall located between the bottom surface and the top opening, and an area of an orthographic projection of the bottom surface on the N-type silicon substrate is less than an area of an orthographic projection of the top opening on the N-type silicon substrate (See Annotated Yu et al. Figure 3, below & Paragraph 0052-0057). Yu et al. teaches that this configuration ensures that the roughness of the rear surface of the semiconductor substrate is controlled with an ideal range and it can be ensured that the roughness of the rear surface of the semiconductor substrate is within an appropriate range which helps to improve the uniformity of the tunnel oxide layer formed on the first texture structure, ensures better performance of the tunnel oxide layer formed, and further inhibits high local doping concentration of the doped conductive layer, reduces contact resistivity, and improves the open-circuit voltage of the solar cell, and improves the fill factor and photoelectric conversion efficiency (Paragraph 0020). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate the rear texturing configuration of Yu et al. on the rear surface of Chung et al. substrate such that the rear surface has a plurality of grooves recessed relative to the rear surface and at least one subset of the plurality of grooves is arranged sequentially along one arrangement direction for the advantages of ensuring that the roughness of the rear surface of the semiconductor substrate is controlled with an ideal range and thus ensuring that the roughness of the rear surface of the semiconductor substrate is within an appropriate range to improve the uniformity of the tunnel oxide layer formed on the first texture structure, thus ensuring better performance of the tunnel oxide layer formed, and further inhibiting high local doping concentration of the doped conductive layer, reducing contact resistivity, while improving the open-circuit voltage of the solar cell, and improving the fill factor and photoelectric conversion efficiency.
Annotated Yu et al. Figure 3
Ohbo et al. a rear surface of a solar cell that has a plurality of grooves, some grooves of the plurality of grooves being arranged sequentially along one arrangement direction (Figs. 3 & 5) and that a respective groove of at least one subset of the plurality of grooves has M top edges that form a polygon and M is a positive integer greater than or equal to 4 (Figs. 3-5, any of the recessed grooves take this shape when viewed in a orthographic projection – Paragraph 0039-0040). Ohbo et al. teaches that this configuration improves photoelectric conversion efficiency of a solar cell (Paragraph 0039). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to ensure that the grooves of modified Chung et al. are adopting a respective groove with M top edges that form a polygon where M is a positive integer greater than or equal to 4 because this specific shape is known to improve the photoelectric conversion efficiency of a solar cell.
In view of Claims 2 & 12, Chung et al., Yu et al., and Ohbo et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claims 1 & 11. Yu et al. discloses the plurality of grooves include N groove groups, any one groove group of the N groove groups includes grooves arranged sequentially in a corresponding arrangement direction, arrangement directions of some groove groups of the N groove groups are the same, while arrangement directions of some groove groups of the N groove groups are different, and N is a positive integer greater than 2 (See Annotated Yu et al. Figure 3, above).
In view of Claims 3-4, and 13-14, Chung et al., Yu et al., and Ohbo et al.are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claims 2 & 11. Yu et al. teaches at least two first groove groups of the N groove groups are next to each other and spaced apart from each other by an interval, and at least two second groove groups of the N groove groups overlap with each other by an overlapping region (See Annotated Yu et al. Figure 3, below).
Annotated Yu et al. Figure 3
In view of Claims 5 & 15, Chung et al., Yu et al., and Ohbo et al.are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claims 1 & 11. Yu et al. teaches in a direction away from the rear surface, a single groove of the plurality of grooves includes a bottom surface, a top opening opposite to the bottom surface and a side wall located between the bottom surface and the top opening, and an area of an orthographic projection of the bottom surface on the N-type silicon substrate is less than an area of an orthographic projection of the top opening on the N-type silicon substrate (See Annotated Yu et al. Figure 3, below).
Annotated Yu et al. Figure 3
In view of Claims 6 & 16, Chung et al., Yu et al., and Ohbo et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claims 1 & 11. Chung et al. teaches the respective orthographic projections of at least some grooves of the at least one subset of the plurality of grooves on the N-type silicon substrate have circular shapes of circle-like shapes (Fig. 33, #40b & Paragraph 0075).
Annotated Yu et al. Figure 3
In view of Claims 7 & 17, Chung et al., Yu et al., and Ohbo et al.are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claims 1 & 11. Yu et al. teaches that the vertical cross-section of at least some of the plurality of grooves are in a shape of a trapezoid that is tapered in direction directing from the rear surface to the front surface (See Annotated Yu et al. Figure 3, below).
In view of Claims 8 & 18, Chung et al., Yu et al., and Ohbo et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claims 1 & 11. In regards to the limitation, “a distribution density of the plurality of grooves on the rear surface ranges from 1000/mm2 to 50000/mm2”. Applicant discloses that the plurality of grooves on the rear surface are formed by an etching process, wherein the etching solution comprises 2% to 5% sodium hydroxide (Instant Specification – Paragraph 0127), at a temperature between 70-85°C (Instant Specification – Paragraph 0132), at a time of 50-300 seconds (Instant Specification – Paragraph 0135-0137).
Yu et al. discloses that the plurality of grooves are also formed by an etching process, wherein the etching solution comprises 1% to 15% sodium hydroxide, at a temperature between 70-80°C, at a time of 80-250 seconds (Paragraph 00106). Accordingly, as evidenced by Applicant’s specification, the method of Yu et al. would produce “a distribution density of the plurality of grooves on the rear surface ranges from 1000/mm2 to 50000/mm2”.
Additionally, Yu et al. is disclosing the same method for producing the plurality of grooves as Applicant, therefore under the principles of inherency, the production method of Yu et al. solar cell (in its normal and usual production method as outlined above) would necessarily produce the same distribution density of the plurality of grooves on the rear surface which would range from 1000/mm2 to 50000/mm2. See MPEP 2112.02
In view of Claims 9 & 19, Chung et al., Yu et al., and Ohbo et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claims 1 & 11. Yu et al. teaches that in a direction away from the rear surface, a maximum value of a depth of a single groove of the plurality of grooves ranges from 0.1 to 2 microns or 100 to 2000 nm (Paragraph 0113). See MPEP 2131.03.
Claims 10 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 2017/0179325 A1) in view of Yu et al. (AU 2021225144 B1) in view of Ohbo et al. (US 2014/0209165 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 2025/0143008 A1).
In view of Claims 10 & 20, Chung et al., Yu et al., and Ohbo et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claims 1 & 11. Chung et al. teaches that the doped conductive layer includes N-type doping elements (Fig. 35O, #32 & Paragraph 0057) and the doped conductive layer (Fig. 35O, #32) is formed over a surface of the tunneling dielectric layer (Fig. 35O, #202) facing away from the N-type silicon substrate (Fig. 35O, #10) but does not disclose that the tunneling layer includes first regions and second regions, a respective first region of the first regions contacts a first portion, a respective second region of the second regions contacts a second portion, the respective first region is doped with a doping element of a type same as that of a doping element in the first portion, and the respective second region is doped with a doping element of a type same as that of a doping element in the second portion.
Li et al. discloses a tunneling layer includes first regions and second regions, a respective first region of the first regions contacts a first portion, a respective second region of the second regions contacts a second portion, the respective first region is doped with a doping element of a type same as that of a doping element in the first portion, and the respective second region is doped with a doping element of a type same as that of a doping element in the second portion and that this configuration is beneficial to the improvement of the performance of a solar cell while reducing transmission resistance (Paragraph 0099). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the tunneling layer includes first regions and second regions, a respective first region of the first regions contacts a first portion, a respective second region of the second regions contacts a second portion, the respective first region is doped with a doping element of a type same as that of a doping element in the first portion, and the respective second region is doped with a doping element of a type same as that of a doping element in the second portion for the advantages of improving performance of the solar cell while reducing transmission resistance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Yu et al. does not disclose at least one respective groove of at least one subset of the plurality of grooves has M top edges that form a polygon and M is a positive integer greater than or equal to 4. The Examiner respectfully points out to Applicant that the claim language only requires one groove to have this characteristic. Yu et al. discloses a plurality of scenarios where a polygonal shape that meets this limitation forms recessed relative to the rear surface of a substrate (See Annotated Yu et al. Fig. 3, below). Accordingly, this argument is unpersuasive.
Annotated Yu et al. Figure 3
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL P MALLEY JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726