DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Application 19/065,983 was filed on February 27, 2025 and is a continuation-in-part of U.S. Application No. 18/981,410, filed December 13, 2024, which claims benefit of U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/610,450, filed December 15, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 12, 2025 was filed before the mailing date of this non-final action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 13, and 19 recite, “a hatch operatively connected to said plurality of storage units, wherein said hatch is configured to provide access to a storage unit of said plurality of storage units” (emphasis added). This limitation is unclear. Specifically, it is unclear whether 1) a single hatch is used to access the plurality of storage units or 2) each storage unit has its own hatch for access. The phrase, “a hatch operatively connected to said plurality of storage units” implies option 1, while the phrase, “wherein said hatch is configured to provide access to a storage unit of said plurality of storage units” implies option 2. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation and per Fig. 2 of Applicant’s specification, the claims are interpreted to mean option 2 (i.e., each storage unit has its own hatch). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 recites, “wherein said delivery device comprises one of a drone and an electronic device operated by a delivery agent” (emphasis added). Claim 1, upon which claim 2 depends, recites “wherein said delivery device is configured to carry said packages to deliver into said plurality of storage units” (emphasis added). Paragraph [0038] of Applicant’s specification describes a “second device 18” operated by a delivery agent as “a mobile phone, a laptop, a computer, a personal digital assistant device, etc.”. It is unclear how such a device can be configured to carry packages. Therefore, it is unclear whether a “device operated by a delivery agent” is intended to be included as a delivery device or not. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, claim 2 is interpreted to mean that the delivery device is a drone. Examiner notes that the reference to “said drone” in claim 9 also supports this interpretation. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 recites, “further comprises a proximity sensor configured to detect the presence of said drone in proximity to said delivery system” (emphasis added). Claim 2, upon which claim 9 depends, recites “wherein said delivery device comprises one of a drone and an electronic device operated by a delivery agent” (emphasis added). As such, the delivery device does not have to be a drone. It is therefore unclear what “said drone” in claim 9 refers to in the case where the delivery device is an electronic device operated by a delivery agent. Examiner notes that the interpretation of claim 2 above as only including a drone also clarifies claim 9. However, if a different interpretation of claim 2 is intended, claim 9 will need correction as well.
Claims 2-12, 14-18, and 20 are rejected by virtue of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0300187 to Kashi et al. (Kashi).
As to claims 1 and 19, Kashi teaches, a plurality of storage units configured to store packages (“The subject disclosure is related to systems, methods, and devices for retrieving, sending, and storing items for delivery …” and “In another embodiment, device 100 can comprise a receptacle component 110 comprising multiple storage compartments within device 100, where the compartments are organized in rows, columns, or both rows and columns …” [0045 and 0056]);
a hatch operatively connected to said plurality of storage units, wherein said hatch is configured to provide access to a storage unit of said plurality of storage units (“… In another aspect, device 100 can comprise a receptacle component 110 comprising a set of storage compartments configured to receive a set of delivery items, wherein the set of storage compartments is accessible by a set of doors …” and “In another aspect, device 100 further comprises an access component 120 configured to unlock a first subset of deliverer doors of the set of doors based on a first authorization mechanism that facilitates temporary access to a subset of storage components of the set of storage components …” [0054-0055 and 0058-0060] Examiner notes that paragraph [0042] and Fig. 4 of Applicant’s specification appears to use “door” and “hatch” interchangeably. Therefore, a “hatch” is interpreted to include a “door”);
sensors positioned in said storage units, wherein said sensors are configured to detect presence of a package of said packages in said storage unit of said plurality of storage units (“In an aspect, identification component 810 can identify in connection with detection and/or light sensors, pressure sensors, etc., the compartments that are occupied and unoccupied using various generated data …” [124-0125]);
and a controller operatively connected to said plurality of storage units, said hatch, and said sensors (“… In an aspect, a digital device (also referred to as a smart mailbox, an electronic storage device, device, etc.) is disclosed that employs a memory and a processor to facilitate the storage of items in a secure and convenient manner …” and “In various additional embodiments, a computer readable storage device (e.g., mobile device, tablet, etc.) is provided that includes instructions that, in response to execution, cause the system including a processor to perform operations, including monitoring, accessing, and scheduling tasks associated with the smart mailbox device …” [0045-0046 and 0105] Examiner notes that the “processor” and “memory” taught by Kashi act as a “controller”),
wherein said controller detects proximity of a delivery device (“In yet another embodiment, drone drop compartment and/or landing platform component 410 comprises a set of detection sensors configured to detect a presence or an absence of the drone …” [0083-0084]),
wherein said delivery device is configured to carry said packages to deliver into said plurality of storage units (“… and wherein the second roof comprises a retractable ceiling door capable of retracting to facilitate receipt of a subset of delivery items of the set of delivery items dropped by the drone into an opening within the second roof of the drone drop compartment and capable of closing the retractable ceiling door to securely store the subset of delivery items within the drone drop compartment …” [0080-0084] Examiner notes that this limitation is interpreted to mean that, the delivery device is configured to delivery multiple packages, but the packages do not necessarily have to be delivered at the same time. Likewise, the delivery device can deliver one or more packages to one or more storage units in the plurality of storage units),
and wherein said controller verifies said delivery device and opens said hatch to provide access to said delivery device to place said package in said storage unit (“… Thus authorization can be granted to particular drones (e.g., based on ID tokens) with respect to particular compartments” [0083-0084]).
As to claim 13, Kashi teaches, a plurality of storage units configured to store packages (“The subject disclosure is related to systems, methods, and devices for retrieving, sending, and storing items for delivery …” and “In another embodiment, device 100 can comprise a receptacle component 110 comprising multiple storage compartments within device 100, where the compartments are organized in rows, columns, or both rows and columns …” [0045 and 0056]);
wherein said plurality of storage units is installed at a roof of a structure (“In an embodiment, the device can extend from a roof of a home to allow for a heightened delivery drop by a drone. For instance, the drone drop compartment can extend from a home like a chimney or be permanently built into the roof of a building or extend telescopically to provide a suspended in air access point for aerial package drop offs or pick-ups” [0097]);
a hatch operatively connected to said plurality of storage units, wherein said hatch is configured to provide access to a storage unit of said plurality of storage units (“… In another aspect, device 100 can comprise a receptacle component 110 comprising a set of storage compartments configured to receive a set of delivery items, wherein the set of storage compartments is accessible by a set of doors …” and “In another aspect, device 100 further comprises an access component 120 configured to unlock a first subset of deliverer doors of the set of doors based on a first authorization mechanism that facilitates temporary access to a subset of storage components of the set of storage components …” [0054-0055 and 0058-0060] Examiner notes that paragraph [0042] and Fig. 4 of Applicant’s specification appears to use “door” and “hatch” interchangeably. Therefore, a “hatch” is interpreted to include a “door”);
sensors positioned in said storage units, said sensors configured to detect presence of a package of said packages in said storage unit of said plurality of storage units (“In an aspect, identification component 810 can identify in connection with detection and/or light sensors, pressure sensors, etc., the compartments that are occupied and unoccupied using various generated data …” [124-0125]);
a proximity sensor (“Thus, device 400 can employ proximity sensors to detect objects, including drones, within a specified proximity of device 400 including drones …” [0084]);
a controller operatively connected to said plurality of storage units, said hatch, said sensors, and said proximity sensor (“… In an aspect, a digital device (also referred to as a smart mailbox, an electronic storage device, device, etc.) is disclosed that employs a memory and a processor to facilitate the storage of items in a secure and convenient manner …” and “In various additional embodiments, a computer readable storage device (e.g., mobile device, tablet, etc.) is provided that includes instructions that, in response to execution, cause the system including a processor to perform operations, including monitoring, accessing, and scheduling tasks associated with the smart mailbox device …” [0045-0046 and 0105] Examiner notes that the “processor” and “memory” taught by Kashi act as a “controller”),
wherein said controller detects proximity of a delivery device in proximity to said delivery system using said proximity sensor (“In yet another embodiment, drone drop compartment and/or landing platform component 410 comprises a set of detection sensors configured to detect a presence or an absence of the drone …” [0083-0084]),
wherein said delivery device is configured to carry said packages to deliver into said plurality of storage units (“… and wherein the second roof comprises a retractable ceiling door capable of retracting to facilitate receipt of a subset of delivery items of the set of delivery items dropped by the drone into an opening within the second roof of the drone drop compartment and capable of closing the retractable ceiling door to securely store the subset of delivery items within the drone drop compartment …” [0080-0084]),
and wherein said controller verifies said delivery device and opens said hatch to provide access to said delivery device to place said package in said storage unit (“… Thus authorization can be granted to particular drones (e.g., based on ID tokens) with respect to particular compartments” [0083-0084]).
As to claim 2, Kashi teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Kashi further teaches, wherein said delivery device comprises one of a drone and an electronic device operated by a delivery agent (“Turning now to FIG. 4 illustrated is a non-limiting example of device 400 in accordance with various aspects and embodiments described herein. Device 400 includes receptacle component 110, locking component 120, and access component 130. Furthermore, in an aspect, device 400 employs a landing platform 410 comprising a first roof and a second roof of a drone drop compartment 410 of the set of compartments, wherein the landing platform is configured to facilitate a landing of a drone …” [0080]).
As to claims 3 and 15, Kashi teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 13 as discussed above. Kashi further teaches, further comprises an image capturing unit configured to capture images of said delivery device and/or said package (“In another embodiment, the smart mailbox device can include a surveillance camera capable of capturing a video and/or audio feed of the surrounding environment around the device …” [0095]).
As to claim 4, Kashi teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Kashi further teaches, wherein said storage unit comprises a temperature controller to maintain temperature of said storage unit (“… Such compartment features can include a refrigeration capability (e.g., maintaining a colder temperature within the compartment), a heating capability (e.g., maintaining a higher temperature within the compartment) …” and “… In another aspect, device 200 can further comprise temperature component 210 that regulates a temperature within a first compartment of the set of storage compartments …” [0057 and 0070]).
As to claim 5, Kashi teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Kashi further teaches, wherein said plurality of storage units is installed at a wall of a structure (“… Thus, in an embodiment, device 100 can be built into the wall of a user's home where the front doors of device 100 leading to respective compartments can be accessible to users (e.g., shipping personnel from outside the user's home who require only temporary access to deliver or pick up an item) …” [0060]).
As to claim 6, Kashi teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Kashi further teaches, wherein said plurality of storage units is installed at a roof of a structure, and wherein said delivery device comprises a drone (“In an embodiment, the device can extend from a roof of a home to allow for a heightened delivery drop by a drone. For instance, the drone drop compartment can extend from a home like a chimney or be permanently built into the roof of a building or extend telescopically to provide a suspended in air access point for aerial package drop offs or pick-ups” [0097]).
As to claims 7 and 16, Kashi teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 13 as discussed above. Kashi further teaches, wherein said sensors comprise one of pressure sensors, weight sensors, and/or position sensors (“In an aspect, identification component 810 can identify in connection with detection and/or light sensors, pressure sensors, etc., the compartments that are occupied and unoccupied using various generated data …” [0124-0125]).
As to claim 9, Kashi teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above. Kashi further teaches, further comprises a proximity sensor configured to detect the presence of said drone in proximity to said delivery system (“Thus, device 400 can employ proximity sensors to detect objects, including drones, within a specified proximity of device 400 including drones …” [0084]).
As to claim 10, Kashi teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Kashi further teaches, wherein said controller verifies said delivery device using one of biometric information, a quick response (QR) code, a one-time passcode (OTP), and a unique identification number of said delivery device (“… In yet another aspect, locking component 120 can employ a biometric door lock mechanism capable of identifying a unique characteristic of a person authorized to access the compartment …” and “… Thus authorization can be granted to particular drones (e.g., based on ID tokens) with respect to particular compartments” and “… Permission component 620 can receive an access code input into the device (e.g., using an interface component 140 or a user device 150) and verify the validity of the code as well as authenticate the user or user device sending the code …” [0063-0064 and 0084 and 0111-0113]).
As to claim 11, Kashi teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Kashi further teaches, wherein said controller notifies a user upon delivery of said package in said storage unit (“… Also, a video and/or audio notification can be sent to notify the user that there is video footage and an audio recording of the drop off of the package. These and other such notifications can be associated with the smart mailbox device to help notify a user of various activities occurring in real time as pertains to the smart mailbox device” and “… storing the package and closing the door, notify the user or customer that a package has arrived …” [0137-0139 and 0141]).
As to claim 12, Kashi teaches all of the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above. Kashi further teaches, wherein said controller authenticates said user to provide access to said user to retrieve said package from said storage unit (“… Each compartment may have several unique authorization credentials associated with various different users authorized to access respective compartment …” and “In a non-limiting example embodiment, the notification mechanism can occur as per the following: a text or e-mail message is sent to a smart mailbox owner that a package has arrived, the message includes a link to a QR code and passcode, the customer scans the code on a camera (or enters a passcode if scan is not possible), the locker opens to retrieve the package …” [0066-0068 and 0142]).
As to claim 14, Kashi teaches all of the limitations of claim 13 as discussed above. Kashi further teaches, wherein said delivery device comprises a drone (“… Furthermore, in an aspect, device 400 employs a landing platform 410 comprising a first roof and a second roof of a drone drop compartment 410 of the set of compartments, wherein the landing platform is configured to facilitate a landing of a drone (e.g., a drone, an unmanned aerial vehicle, an unmanned aerial system, a flying load bearing helicopter, a flying vehicle, etc.) …” [0080-0084]).
As to claim 18, Kashi teaches all of the limitations of claim 13 as discussed above. Kashi further teaches, wherein said controller notifies a user upon delivery of said package in said storage unit (“… Also, a video and/or audio notification can be sent to notify the user that there is video footage and an audio recording of the drop off of the package. These and other such notifications can be associated with the smart mailbox device to help notify a user of various activities occurring in real time as pertains to the smart mailbox device” and “… storing the package and closing the door, notify the user or customer that a package has arrived …” [0137-0139 and 0141]),
and wherein said controller authenticates said user to provide access to said user to retrieve said package from said storage unit (“… Each compartment may have several unique authorization credentials associated with various different users authorized to access respective compartment …” and “In a non-limiting example embodiment, the notification mechanism can occur as per the following: a text or e-mail message is sent to a smart mailbox owner that a package has arrived, the message includes a link to a QR code and passcode, the customer scans the code on a camera (or enters a passcode if scan is not possible), the locker opens to retrieve the package …” [0066-0068 and 0142]).
As to claim 20, Kashi teaches all of the limitations of claim 19 as discussed above. Kashi further teaches, notifying a user upon delivery of said package in said storage unit (“… Also, a video and/or audio notification can be sent to notify the user that there is video footage and an audio recording of the drop off of the package. These and other such notifications can be associated with the smart mailbox device to help notify a user of various activities occurring in real time as pertains to the smart mailbox device” and “… storing the package and closing the door, notify the user or customer that a package has arrived …” [0137-0139 and 0141]),
and authenticating said user for providing access to said user for retrieving said package from said storage unit (“… Each compartment may have several unique authorization credentials associated with various different users authorized to access respective compartment …” and “In a non-limiting example embodiment, the notification mechanism can occur as per the following: a text or e-mail message is sent to a smart mailbox owner that a package has arrived, the message includes a link to a QR code and passcode, the customer scans the code on a camera (or enters a passcode if scan is not possible), the locker opens to retrieve the package …” [0066-0068 and 0142]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0300187 to Kashi et al. (Kashi) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0266819 to McHale et al. (McHale) and in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0247474 to Matsuyama (Matsuyama).
As to claim 8, Kashi teaches all of the limitations of claim 6 as discussed above. Kashi does not teach, wherein said hatch comprises a charging panel to charge a battery of said drone. However, McHale teaches, wherein said hatch comprises a charging panel to charge a battery (“… Door 102 may also include one or more solar panels that provide charge to a battery. The solar panels may be on the exterior of the storage unit and may be arranged parallel to the storage unit doors or may be mobile so as to tilt with the movement of the sun …” [0024]),
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to include, wherein said hatch comprises a charging panel to charge a battery of said drone, as taught by McHale with the secure delivery system of Kashi. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of McHale that doing so would allow charging of a battery while expending minimal energy [0022].
While McHale teaches charging a battery, McHale does not teach charging a battery of said drone. However, Matsuyama teaches, charging a battery of said drone (“The charging power supply unit 21 supplies power so that the small-sized flying object can be charged at a landing pad 25 located in front of the automatic opening/closing door 10 …” and “The charge receiving portion 37 is used for receiving power for charging from the charging power supply unit 21 after the flying object is landed on the landing pad 25 …” [0059-0064 and 0069] Examiner notes that the “small-sized flying object” of Matsuyama is a drone [0049]). Since each individual element and its function are shown in the art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself—that is in the substitution of the charging of a battery of said drone of Matsuyama for the charging of a battery of McHale. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious. One having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention would be motivated to do so for the benefit of enabling drone delivery of packages.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0165395 to Ieradi (Ieradi) teaches, an apparatus and system for receiving parcels from a drone is provided. The apparatus comprises: one or more storage compartments having a housing defining an aperture for receiving a drone and a parcel.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0174099 to Winkle et al. (Winkle) teaches, apparatuses and methods are provided herein useful for receiving and storing delivered items. In some embodiments, a secured delivery locker is described herein that can communicate with delivery vehicles and/or users. In several embodiments, an autonomous delivery vehicle can communicate with a secured delivery locker to authenticate itself. The secured delivery locker can then grant access to the delivery vehicle, such as by opening a door to an interior thereof, so that the delivery vehicle can deposit a package therein.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0125435 to Tagliaferri (Tagliaferri) teaches, a drone delivery locker that includes a locker cabinet, a drone delivery access door on the locker cabinet, and a controller that opens the drone delivery access door upon receiving a transmission from a drone that includes a secure access code.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0231393 to Mercado (Mercado) teaches, a storage locker for drone delivery provides for weathertight doors that open automatically on sensing the approach of a drone and close to cover the package once deposited by the drone.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0074399 to Scholl et al. (Scholl) teaches, a secure delivery system for securely delivering an article between a sender and a recipient. The secure delivery system includes a repository comprising a housing presenting an interior space and configured to securely hold articles. The system additionally includes a hatch integrated with the repository and configured to provide selective access to the interior space of the repository.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0151418 to Ruben (Ruben) teaches, a package delivery system wherein packages are distributed through a distribution center's deliverymen. On approaching the building's receptacle, the signal from the deliveryman’s badge allows the receptacle's locking mechanism to be functional; thereby allowing only authorized deliverymen to gain access to the interior of the receptacle.
U.S. Patent No. 11,666,168 to Christopher (Christopher) teaches, a food delivery receptacle assembly for protecting food deliveries includes a box in which a set of openings is positioned. A food container can be inserted into the box through a respective opening. Each of a set of panels is hingedly engaged to the box and is positioned to selectively close a respective opening. The locks can be deactivated to permit authorized access to the food container, thus allowing access to the box by a delivery agent and a user.
U.S. Patent No. 11,615,667 to Gokcebay et al. (Gokcebay) teaches, modular system of locker banks for receipt and delivery of packages is described. The system may include associate modules each having one or more lockers and a control board in communication with each of the lockers in the module.
/S.S.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3628
/SHANNON S CAMPBELL/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3628