DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kozuma et al. (hereinafter “Kozuma” US 2025 / 0037654) in view of Shoemaker (US 2014 / 0085342).
As pertaining to Claim 1, Kozuma discloses (see Fig. 25, Fig. 27, Fig. 29A, and Fig. 30) a method comprising:
detecting one or more portions (i.e., contact portions, shadow portions, and/or proximity portions) of a display device (900) that are at least partially obscured (i.e., blocked) from view, the display device (900) comprising a plurality of individually controllable emissive elements (i.e., subpixels; see (230) in Fig. 29A and Fig. 30), wherein detecting one or more portions (i.e., contact portions, shadow portions, and/or proximity portions) of the display device (900) that are at least partially obscured (i.e., blocked) from view comprises:
processing signals from a touchscreen positioned over the display device (900) to identify one or more touch points (i.e., contact, shadow, and/or proximity points; see Page 21, Para. [0346]-[0347], and [0349]);
processing signals from an image capture device (see (231) in Fig. 29A and Fig. 30) to obtain detections of one or more objects (i.e., fingers, hands, and/or touch objects; see (119) in Fig. 27, for example) of one or more viewers between the one or more viewers and the display device (900); and
combining the identified one or more touch points (i.e., contact, shadow, and/or proximity points) and the detections of the one or more objects (i.e., fingers, hands, and/or touch objects) to determine the one or more portions (i.e., contact portions, shadow portions, and/or proximity portions) of the display device (900) that are at least partially obscured from view (see Page 21 through Page 22, Para. [0346]-[0351]); and
affecting control signals (i.e., light-emission control signals) to the display device (900) to selectively reduce power (i.e., emission luminance) to at least some of the individually controllable emissive elements (i.e., subpixels; see (230) in Fig. 29A and Fig. 30) corresponding to at least one of the one or more portions (i.e., contact portions, shadow portions, and/or proximity portions) of the display device (900; again, see Page 21 through Page 22, Para. [0346]-[0351] and [0358]; and Page 23, Para. [0372]-[0373]; and Page 24, Para. [0387]-[0388]).
Kozuma discloses that an image capture device (again, see (231) in Fig. 29A and Fig. 30; and/or see (102) in Fig. 25A) can be implemented to detect a line-of-sight (i.e., a gaze) of the one or more viewers (see Page 20 through Page 21, Para. [0335]-[0340] and Page 24, Para. [0386]). However, Kozuma does not explicitly disclose a correlation between the detection of the one or more objects (i.e., fingers, hands, and/or touch objects; again, see (119) in Fig. 27, for example) and a determined line-of-sight of the one or more viewers. That is, Kozuma does not explicitly disclose that the detection of one or more portions of the display device that are at least partially obscured from view comprises processing signals to detect one or more objects that are definitively in a line-of-sight of the one or more viewers.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shoemaker discloses (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 4) a method for detecting one or more portions (see (420) in Fig. 4) of a display device (see (310) in Fig. 4) that are at least partially obscured from view (see (306) in Fig. 4), wherein the detecting of the one or more portions (again, see (420) in Fig. 4) comprises processing signals from an image capture device (i.e., see (312) in Fig. 4 and (140) in Fig. 1) to detect one or more objects (see (415) in Fig. 4) in a line-of-sight (again, see (306) in Fig. 4) of one or more viewers between the one or more viewers and the display device (310; see Page 3 through Page 4, Para. [0029], [0032]-[0033], [0035], [0038]; and Page 5 through Page 6, Para. [0055]-[0057]). It is a goal of Shoemaker to provide an improved means for detecting at least partially obscured portions of a display device by processing signals that correlate the detection of one or more objects of one or more viewers between the one or more viewers and the display device and the line-of-sight of the viewer, in order to more accurately determine the obscured portions of the display device relative to the user (see Page 1 through Page 2, Para. [0002], [0014]-[0015], and [0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kozuma with the teachings of Shoemaker, such that the detection of one or more portions of the display device that are at least partially obscured from view comprises processing signals to detect one or more objects that are definitively in a line-of-sight of the one or more viewers, as suggested by Shoemaker, in order to more accurately determine the obscured portions of the display device relative to the user.
As pertaining to Claim 2, Kozuma discloses (see Fig. 25, Fig. 27, Fig. 29A, and Fig. 30) that the affected control signals (i.e., light-emission control signals) are to power off the at least some of the individually controllable emissive elements (i.e., subpixels; see (230) in Fig. 29A and Fig. 30) corresponding to the at least one of the one or more portions (i.e., contact portions, shadow portions, and/or proximity portions) of the display device (900; again, see Page 21 through Page 22, Para. [0351]).
As pertaining to Claim 3, Kozuma discloses (see Fig. 25, Fig. 27, Fig. 29A, and Fig. 30) that the affected control signals (i.e., light-emission control signals) are to reduce an image intensity corresponding to the at least one of the one or more portions (i.e., contact portions, shadow portions, and/or proximity portions) of the display device (900; again, see Page 21 through Page 22, Para. [0351]).
As pertaining to Claim 4, Kozuma discloses (see Fig. 25, Fig. 27, Fig. 29A, and Fig. 30) that the individually controllable emissive elements (i.e., subpixels; see (230) in Fig. 29A and Fig. 30) comprise light emitting diodes (LEDs; see Page 12, Para. [0209]).
As pertaining to Claim 7, Kozuma discloses (see Fig. 25, Fig. 27, Fig. 29A, and Fig. 30) that the one or more portions (i.e., contact, shadow, and/or proximity points) of the display device (900) to include portions of the display device (900) that are not viewable by each of multiple viewers (i.e., arbitrary viewers; again, see Page 21 through Page 22, Para. [0346]-[0351]).
As pertaining to Claim 8, the combined teachings of Kozuma and Shoemaker disclose (see Fig. 25, Fig. 27, Fig. 29A, and Fig. 30 of Kozuma) that the method further comprises determining one or more portions (i.e., contact, shadow, and/or proximity points) of the display device (900) that are at least partially obscured from view based on the identified one or more touch points (i.e., contact, shadow, and/or proximity points) responsive to detection of eyes (i.e., a viewer gaze; see Fig. 4 of Shoemaker) of multiple viewers (i.e., arbitrary viewers; again, see Page 21 through Page 22, Para. [0346]-[0351] of Kozuma; and see Page 3 through Page 4, Para. [0032]-[0033], [0035], [0038]; and Page 5 through Page 6, Para. [0055]-[0057] of Shoemaker).
As pertaining to Claim 9, Kozuma discloses (see Fig. 25, Fig. 27, Fig. 29A, and Fig. 30) a controller device (900), comprising:
circuitry to detect one or more portions (i.e., contact portions, shadow portions, and/or proximity portions) of a display device (900) that are at least partially obscured (i.e., blocked) from view, the display device (900) comprising a plurality of individually controllable emissive elements (i.e., subpixels; see (230) in Fig. 29A and Fig. 30), wherein the detection of one or more portions (i.e., contact portions, shadow portions, and/or proximity portions) of the display device (900) that are at least partially obscured (i.e., blocked) from view comprises circuitry to process signals from an image capture device (see (231) in Fig. 29A and Fig. 30) to obtain detections of one or more objects (i.e., fingers, hands, and/or touch objects; see (119) in Fig. 27, for example) of one or more viewers between the one or more viewers and the display device (900);
circuitry to process signals from a touchscreen positioned over the display device (900) to identify one or more touch points (i.e., contact, shadow, and/or proximity points; see Page 21, Para. [0346]-[0347], and [0349]);
circuitry to combine the identified one or more touch points (i.e., contact, shadow, and/or proximity points) and the detections of the one or more objects (i.e., fingers, hands, and/or touch objects) to determine the one or more portions (i.e., contact portions, shadow portions, and/or proximity portions) of the display device (900) that are at least partially obscured from view (see Page 21 through Page 22, Para. [0346]-[0351]); and
circuitry to affect control signals (i.e., light-emission control signals) to the display device (900) to selectively reduce power (i.e., emission luminance) to at least some of the individually controllable emissive elements (i.e., subpixels; see (230) in Fig. 29A and Fig. 30) corresponding to at least one of the one or more portions (i.e., contact portions, shadow portions, and/or proximity portions) of the display device (900; see Page 21 through Page 22, Para. [0346]-[0351] and [0358]; and Page 23, Para. [0372]-[0373]; and Page 24, Para. [0387]-[0388]).
Kozuma discloses that an image capture device (again, see (231) in Fig. 29A and Fig. 30; and/or see (102) in Fig. 25A) can be implemented to detect a line-of-sight (i.e., a gaze) of the one or more viewers (see Page 20 through Page 21, Para. [0335]-[0340] and Page 24, Para. [0386]). However, Kozuma does not explicitly disclose a correlation between the detection of the one or more objects (i.e., fingers, hands, and/or touch objects; again, see (119) in Fig. 27, for example) and a determined line-of-sight of the one or more viewers. That is, Kozuma does not explicitly disclose that the detection of one or more portions of the display device that are at least partially obscured from view comprises processing signals to detect one or more objects that are definitively in a line-of-sight of the one or more viewers.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shoemaker discloses (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 4) a method for detecting one or more portions (see (420) in Fig. 4) of a display device (see (310) in Fig. 4) that are at least partially obscured from view (see (306) in Fig. 4), wherein the detecting of the one or more portions (again, see (420) in Fig. 4) comprises processing signals from an image capture device (i.e., see (312) in Fig. 4 and (140) in Fig. 1) to detect one or more objects (see (415) in Fig. 4) in a line-of-sight (again, see (306) in Fig. 4) of one or more viewers between the one or more viewers and the display device (310; see Page 3 through Page 4, Para. [0029], [0032]-[0033], [0035], [0038]; and Page 5 through Page 6, Para. [0055]-[0057]). It is a goal of Shoemaker to provide an improved means for detecting at least partially obscured portions of a display device by processing signals that correlate the detection of one or more objects of one or more viewers between the one or more viewers and the display device and the line-of-sight of the viewer, in order to more accurately determine the obscured portions of the display device relative to the user (see Page 1 through Page 2, Para. [0002], [0014]-[0015], and [0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kozuma with the teachings of Shoemaker, such that the detection of one or more portions of the display device that are at least partially obscured from view comprises processing signals to detect one or more objects that are definitively in a line-of-sight of the one or more viewers, as suggested by Shoemaker, in order to more accurately determine the obscured portions of the display device relative to the user.
As pertaining to Claim 10, Kozuma discloses (see Fig. 25, Fig. 27, Fig. 29A, and Fig. 30) that at least some of the individually controllable emissive elements (i.e., subpixels; see (231) in Fig. 29A and Fig. 30) are configurable to accumulate signal energy responsive to ambient light (again, see (231) in Fig. 29A); and
the circuitry to detect one or more portions (i.e., contact portions, shadow portions, and/or proximity portions) of the display device (13, 19) that are at least partially obscured from view further comprises circuitry (see (142) in Fig. 30) to process signal energy (i.e., light) accumulated by the at least some of the individually controllable emissive elements (again, see (231) in Fig. 29A and Fig. 30; see Page 21 through Page 22, Para. [0351]; Page 23, Para. [0372]-[0373]; and Page 24, Para. [0384]; and Page 24, Para. [0387]-[0388]).
As pertaining to Claim 11, Kozuma discloses (see Fig. 25, Fig. 27, Fig. 29A, and Fig. 30) that the circuitry to detect one or more portions (i.e., contact portions, shadow portions, and/or proximity portions) of the display device (900) that are at least partially obscured (i.e., blocked) from view further comprises circuitry to process signals generated by a front-facing camera (again, see (231) in Fig. 29A and Fig. 30 and see Page 21 through Page 22, Para. [0351]; Page 23, Para. [0372]-[0373]; and Page 24, Para. [0386]-[0388] of Kozuma; also see (312) in Fig. 4 and (140) in Fig. 1 of Shoemaker along with Page 3 through Page 4, Para. [0029], [0032]-[0033], [0035], and [0038]).
As pertaining to Claim 12, Kozuma discloses (see Fig. 25, Fig. 27, Fig. 29A, and Fig. 30) that the front-facing camera (again, see (231) in Fig. 29A and Fig. 30) is formed at least in part, from one or more of the plurality of individually controllable emissive elements (231) configured as one or more light sensors (see Page 21 through Page 22, Para. [0351]; Page 23, Para. [0372]-[0373]; and Page 24, Para. [0386]-[0388]).
As pertaining to Claim 13, Kozuma discloses (see Fig. 25, Fig. 27, Fig. 29A, and Fig. 30) that the affected control signals (i.e., light-emission control signals) are further to reduce an image intensity to individually controllable emissive elements (i.e., subpixels; see (230) in Fig. 29A and Fig. 30) in the display device (13, 19) bordering the at least one of the one or more portions (i.e., contact portions, shadow portions, and/or proximity portions) of the display device (again, see Page 20 through Page 21, Para. [0344]-[0345]; and see Page 21 through Page 22, Para. [0346]-[0351]).
As pertaining to Claim 14, Kozuma discloses (see Fig. 25, Fig. 27, Fig. 29A, and Fig. 30) circuitry to process the signals generated from the front-facing camera (again, see (231) in Fig. 29A and Fig. 30) to track eye movement of a viewer (see Page 4, Para. [0103] and Page 24, Para. [0386]); and
circuitry to affect a resolution in at least one portion of the display device (13, 19) based, at least in part, on the tracked eye movement of the viewer (see Page 5, Para. [0112] and Page 19, Para. [0321]).
As pertaining to Claim 16, Kozuma discloses (see Fig. 25, Fig. 27, Fig. 29A, and Fig. 30) that the control signals (i.e., light-emission control signals) are transmitted to the display device (13, 19) via a physical communication channel (i.e., see wiring connected to (31) in Fig. 28A, for example, which is inherent, but not shown, in Fig. 30) coupled between a display controller (see (31); and see Page 22, Para. [0360]) and the plurality of individually controllable emissive elements (i.e., subpixels; see (230, 231) in Fig. 29A and Fig. 30); and
further comprising circuitry to reallocate bandwidth (i.e., frequency) in the physical communication channel (i.e., wiring) based, at least in part, on the detected one or more portions (i.e., contact portions, shadow portions, and/or proximity portions; see Page 17, Para. [0284]; Page 21, Para. [0344] and [0350]).
As pertaining to Claim 17, Kozuma discloses (see Fig. 25, Fig. 27, Fig. 29A, and Fig. 30) that the control signals (i.e., light-emission control signals) are based, at least in part, on one or more images rendered at a graphics processing unit (GPU) or video processing unit (VPU), and further comprising circuitry to affect operation of the GPU or VPU based, at least in part, on at least one of the detected one or more portions (i.e., contact portions, shadow portions, and/or proximity portions; see Page 5, Para. [0107]; Page 9, Para. [0161]; and Page 18, Para. [0308]; and see Page 21 through Page 22, Para. [0351]).
As pertaining to Claim 18, Kozuma discloses (see Fig. 25, Fig. 27, Fig. 29A, and Fig. 30) that the control signals (i.e., light-emission control signals) are based, at least in part, on image signal intensity values stored in an image frame buffer (i.e., see (443) in Fig. 19) and fetched by a composition controller and/or display controller (i.e., see (467) in Fig. 19), and further comprising circuitry to inhibit fetching, by the composition controller and/or display controller (again, see (467) in Fig. 19, for example), of at least some of the image signal intensity values stored in the image frame buffer (i.e., see (443) in Fig. 19) corresponding to at least one of the detected one or more portions (i.e., contact portions, shadow portions, and/or proximity portions; see Page 17, Para. [0290]-[0292] and Page 18, Para. [0300]-[0301]; and see Page 21 through Page 22, Para. [0351]).
As pertaining to Claim 19, Kozuma discloses (see Fig. 25, Fig. 27, Fig. 29A, and Fig. 30) circuitry to reduce a quantity of image signal intensity values to be retrieved from an image frame buffer (i.e., see (443) in Fig. 19), the image signal intensity values corresponding to at least one of the one or more portions (i.e., contact portions, shadow portions, and/or proximity portions) of the display device (13, 19) that are at least partially obscured from view (see Page 17, Para. [0290]-[0292] and Page 18, Para. [0300]-[0301]; and see Page 21 through Page 22, Para. [0351]).
As pertaining to Claim 20, Kozuma discloses (see Fig. 25, Fig. 27, Fig. 29A, and Fig. 30) a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-readable code for fabrication on an apparatus (900), comprising:
circuitry to detect one or more portions (i.e., contact portions, shadow portions, and/or proximity portions) of a display device (900) that are at least partially obscured (i.e., blocked) from view, the display device (900) comprising a plurality of individually controllable emissive elements (i.e., subpixels; see (230) in Fig. 29A and Fig. 30), wherein the detected one or more portions (i.e., contact portions, shadow portions, and/or proximity portions) of the display device (900) that are at least partially obscured (i.e., blocked) from view comprises circuitry to process signals from an image capture device (see (231) in Fig. 29A and Fig. 30) to obtain detections of one or more objects (i.e., fingers, hands, and/or touch objects; see (119) in Fig. 27, for example) of one or more viewers between the one or more viewers and the display device (900);
circuitry to process signals from a touchscreen positioned over the display device (900) to identify one or more touch points (i.e., contact, shadow, and/or proximity points; see Page 21, Para. [0346]-[0347], and [0349]);
circuitry to combine the identified one or more touch points (i.e., contact, shadow, and/or proximity points) and the detections of the one or more objects (i.e., fingers, hands, and/or touch objects) to determine the one or more portions (i.e., contact portions, shadow portions, and/or proximity portions) of the display device (900) that are at least partially obscured from view (see Page 21 through Page 22, Para. [0346]-[0351]); and
circuitry to affect control signals (i.e., light-emission control signals) to the display device (900) to selectively reduce power (i.e., emission luminance) to at least some of the individually controllable emissive elements (i.e., subpixels; see (230) in Fig. 29A and Fig. 30) corresponding to at least one of the one or more portions (i.e., contact portions, shadow portions, and/or proximity portions) of the display device (900; see Page 21 through Page 22, Para. [0346]-[0351] and [0358]; and Page 23, Para. [0372]-[0373]; and Page 24, Para. [0387]-[0388]).
Kozuma discloses that an image capture device (again, see (231) in Fig. 29A and Fig. 30; and/or see (102) in Fig. 25A) can be implemented to detect a line-of-sight (i.e., a gaze) of the one or more viewers (see Page 20 through Page 21, Para. [0335]-[0340] and Page 24, Para. [0386]). However, Kozuma does not explicitly disclose a correlation between the detection of the one or more objects (i.e., fingers, hands, and/or touch objects; again, see (119) in Fig. 27, for example) and a determined line-of-sight of the one or more viewers. That is, Kozuma does not explicitly disclose that the detection of one or more portions of the display device that are at least partially obscured from view comprises processing signals to detect one or more objects that are definitively in a line-of-sight of the one or more viewers.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shoemaker discloses (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 4) a method for detecting one or more portions (see (420) in Fig. 4) of a display device (see (310) in Fig. 4) that are at least partially obscured from view (see (306) in Fig. 4), wherein the detecting of the one or more portions (again, see (420) in Fig. 4) comprises processing signals from an image capture device (i.e., see (312) in Fig. 4 and (140) in Fig. 1) to detect one or more objects (see (415) in Fig. 4) in a line-of-sight (again, see (306) in Fig. 4) of one or more viewers between the one or more viewers and the display device (310; see Page 3 through Page 4, Para. [0029], [0032]-[0033], [0035], [0038]; and Page 5 through Page 6, Para. [0055]-[0057]). It is a goal of Shoemaker to provide an improved means for detecting at least partially obscured portions of a display device by processing signals that correlate the detection of one or more objects of one or more viewers between the one or more viewers and the display device and the line-of-sight of the viewer, in order to more accurately determine the obscured portions of the display device relative to the user (see Page 1 through Page 2, Para. [0002], [0014]-[0015], and [0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kozuma with the teachings of Shoemaker, such that the detection of one or more portions of the display device that are at least partially obscured from view comprises processing signals to detect one or more objects that are definitively in a line-of-sight of the one or more viewers, as suggested by Shoemaker, in order to more accurately determine the obscured portions of the display device relative to the user.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant has argued that none of the references relied upon by the examiner in the prior Office Action, particularly Kozuma and Shoemaker, teach or fairly suggest “combining one or more touch points from processing signals from a touchscreen and detections of one or more objects in a line-of-sight of one or more viewers from an image capture device to determine one or more portions of a display device that are at least partially obscured from view” as newly recited in independent Claims 1, 9, and 20 (see Remarks at Page 11). Specifically, the applicant appears to assert that while the teachings of Kozuma provide for “touch detection and shadow detection,” the disclosed “occlusion determination” relates to “a system that might use a touch panel to find a contact point, or it might use a light-receiving element to find a shadow,” but does not relate to a system that provides this “combined” functionality (see Remarks at Pages 12 and 13). The applicant has further asserted that the teachings of Shoemaker actually teach away from “relying on touchscreen data for occlusion detection” (see Remarks at Pages 13 and 14). The applicant has further asserted that the teachings of Kozuma and Shoemaker do not provide for the “portions of the display device that are viewable by each of multiple viewers,” as claimed in Claim 7 (see Remarks at Page 14); the “detection of eyes of multiple viewers,” as claimed in Claim 8 (see Remarks at Pages 14 and 15); or the “circuitry to reallocate bandwidth,” as claimed in Claim 16 (see Remarks at Pages 15 and 16). The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Firstly, the examiner respectfully points out that the claimed functions and/or circuitry for “combining the identified one or more touch points and the detections of the one or more objects to determine the one or more portions… that are at least partially obscured from view” are not defined in Claims 1, 9, and 20. As such, respectfully, any argument relating to an unclaimed method and/or circuit for distinguishing the claimed “combining” from the teachings of Kozuma and Shoemaker is moot. In this regard, Kozuma explicitly provides for the processing of signals from a touchscreen positioned over the display device (900) to identify one or more touch points, namely contact, shadow, and/or proximity points (see Page 21, Para. [0346]-[0347], and [0349]). Kozuma explicitly states that the “touch sensor or the touch panel can detect the position of the display portion… that is contacted by the finger… or the like…” (see Page 21, Para. [0347]), and that a determination is made as to “one or more portions of the display device that are at least partially obscured from view” on the basis of “the contact point T” (see Page 21, Para. [0350]). Kozuma further explicitly provides for the processing of signals from an image capture device (see (231) in Fig. 29A and Fig. 30) to obtain detections of one or more objects, namely fingers, hands, and/or touch objects (see (119) in Fig. 27, for example), of one or more viewers between the one or more viewers and the display device, and that a determination is made as to “one or more portions of the display device that are at least partially obscured from view” wherein “the user’s view is blocked by… a shadow of the finger… or the like…” (see Page 21 through Page 22, Para. [0351]). Kozuma does not limit the determination of the “one or more portions of the display device that are at least partially obscured from view” to either a contact point or a shadow; rather, Kozuma explicitly discloses that the determination of the “one or more portions of the display device that are at least partially obscured from view” is based on the identified one or more touch points, the detected one or more objects, or the combination of the identified one or more touch points and the detected one or more objects. Furthermore, there is nothing in the teachings of Shoemaker that would teach away from the subject matter of Kozuma. The examiner respectfully maintains that one of ordinary skill in the art would have combined the teachings of Kozuma with the teachings of Shoemaker, as noted in the above rejections, such that the detection of one or more portions of the display device that are at least partially obscured from view comprises processing signals to detect one or more objects that are definitively in a line-of-sight of the one or more viewers, in order to more accurately determine the obscured portions of the display device relative to the user, as suggested by Shoemaker.
With regard to Claim 7, the examiner respectfully maintains that Kozuma provides for one or more portions, namely contact, shadow, and/or proximity points, of the display device to include portions that are not viewable by each of multiple arbitrary viewers (see above rejection). There is no function or circuitry recited in the claims that would distinguish the claimed “multiple viewers” from arbitrary viewers. With regard, to Claim 8, the examiner respectfully maintains that the combined teachings of Kozuma and Shoemaker provide for determining one or more portions, again as contact, shadow, and/or proximity points, of the display device that are at least partially obscured from view based on the identified one or more touch points… responsive to detection of eyes or a viewer gaze, as shown in Figure 4 of Shoemaker, of multiple arbitrary viewers at any arbitrary time point (see above rejections). Again, there is no function or circuitry recited in the claims that would distinguish the claimed “multiple viewers” from arbitrary viewers. With regard to Claim 16, the examiner respectfully maintains that Kozuma provides for control signals, namely light-emission control signals, that are transmitted to the display device via a physical communication channel or wiring inherent in Figure 30, and that bandwidth or frequency in the in the physical communication channel or wiring is reallocated based, at least in part, on the detected one or more contact portions, shadow portions, and/or proximity portions (again, see above rejections). Again, there is no function or circuitry recited in the claims that would distinguish the claimed “reallocation” from the “reallocation” described by Kozuma.
Therefore, the rejection of Claims 1-4, 7-14, and 16-20 is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lynch et al. (US 2013 / 0194199), corresponding to Lynch et al. (US 9,064,451), discloses (see Fig. 10) a method for detecting portions of a display device that are obscured from view and reducing power to emissive elements that correspond to those portions (see Page 8, Para. [0076]).
Shoemaker (US 9,317,746) corresponds to Shoemaker (US 2014 / 0085342) cited above.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON M MANDEVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623