The title of the invention
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of US Patent No. 11688182 B2 and claims 1-18 of US Patent No. 12259758 B2 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are broader version of the patented claims and all proposed claims are obvious and included in the patented claims, and any infringement over the patents would also infringe over the instant claims.
The table below demonstrates claims 1-20 from the instant application and claims 1-20 from the claims 1-14 of US Patent No. 11688182 B2 and claims 1-18 of US Patent No. 12259758 B2. The limitations recited in the US Patent that correspond to the limitations recited in the instant application have been bold for Application's convenience.
Claims of instant application
Claim of US patent 11688182 B2
Claim of US patent 12259758 B2
A display device, comprising: a first support member, having a first surface and a second surface that are arranged oppositely; a second support member, having a gap with the first support member, and having a third surface and a fourth surface that are arranged oppositely; and a flexible display module, arranged on the first surface of the first support member and the third surface of the second support member, wherein the first surface comprises a first mating surface close to the second support member, the third surface comprises a third mating surface close to the first support member, and the first mating surface and the third mating surface are arranged symmetrically to each other, a distance from at least part of the first mating surface to the flexible display module increases as a distance from the at least part of the first mating surface to the second support member decreases, and a distance from at least part of the third mating surface to the flexible display module increases as a distance from the at least part of the third mating surface to the first support member decreases, the display device is configured to be foldable so that the first surface of the first support member and the third surface of the second support member face towards each other or the second surface of the first support member and the fourth surface of the second support member face towards each other, wherein the first mating surface and the third mating surface each comprises: a bonding plane, on which the flexible display module is bonded; an inclined surface, connected with the bonding plane and having a smooth transition with the bonding plane; and a limiting plane, connected with the inclined surface and arranged in parallel with the bonding plane, wherein the inclined surface is inclined from the bonding plane to the limiting plane to a side away from the flexible display module, the inclined surface transitions to the limiting plane through at least one curved surface protruding to the flexible display module, and the inclined surface is coplanar with a tangent plane of the curved surface, wherein an inclination angle of the inclined surface is greater than or equal to 10 degrees and less than or equal to 20 degrees.
9. The display device according to claim 1, wherein the flexible display module comprises: a flexible support plate, bonded to a part of the first surface and a part of the third surface; a protective layer, arranged on a side of the flexible support plate away from the first support member and the second support member; a backsheet layer, arranged on a side of the protective layer away from the flexible support plate; a first adhesive layer, arranged on a side of the back sheet layer away from the flexible support plate; a flexible display panel, arranged on a side of the first adhesive layer away from the flexible support plate; a second adhesive layer, arranged on a side of the flexible display panel away from the flexible support plate; a polarizer, arranged on a side of the second adhesive layer away from the flexible support plate; a third adhesive layer, arranged on a side of the polarizer away from the flexible support plate; and a first cover plate, arranged on a side of the third adhesive layer away from the flexible support plate.
2. The display device according to claim 1, wherein when the display device is folded so that the first surface of the first support member and the third surface of the second support member face towards each other, the flexible display module contacts with the at least part of the first mating surface and the at least part of the third matingsurface to form a water-drop shape, and when the display device is folded so that the second surface of the first support member and the fourth surface of the second support member face towards each other, a portion, between the first surface of the first support member and the third surface of the second support member, of the flexible display module forms a "U" shape.
3. The display device according to claim 2, wherein when the display device is folded so that the first surface of the first support member and the third surface of the second support member face towards each other, the flexible display module contacts the curved surface and the limiting plane to form the water-drop shape.
4. The display device according to claim 1, wherein a width of the limiting plane is greater than or equal to 5 mm and less than or equal to 7 mm, and a sum of the width of the limiting plane and a width of the inclined surface is greater than or equal to 13 mm and less than or equal to 15 mm.
1. A display device, comprising: a first support member having a first surface and a second surface that are arranged oppositely; a second support member having a gap with the first support member, and having a third surface and a fourth surface that are arranged oppositely; and a flexible display module arranged on the first surface of the first support member and the third surface of the second support member, wherein: the first surface comprises a first mating surface close to the second support member, the third surface comprises a third mating surface close to the first support member, and the first mating surface and the third mating surface are arranged symmetrically to each other; and a distance from at least part of the first mating surface to the flexible display module increases as a distance from the at least part of the first mating surface to the second support member decreases, and a distance from at least part of the third mating surface to the flexible display module increases as a distance from the at least part of the third mating surface to the first support member decreases, so that when the display device is folded inward, the flexible display module contacts with the at least part of the first mating surface and the at least part of the third mating surface to form a water-drop shape, wherein the flexible display module comprises: a flexible support plate bonded to a part of the first surface and a part of the third surface; a protective layer arranged on a side of the flexible support plate away from the first support member and the second support member; a backsheet layer arranged on a side of the protective layer away from the flexible support plate; a first adhesive layer arranged on a side of the backsheet layer away from the flexible support plate; a flexible display panel arranged on a side of the first adhesive layer away from the flexible support plate; a second adhesive layer arranged on a side of the flexible display panel away from the flexible support plate; a polarizer arranged on a side of the second adhesive layer away from the flexible support plate; a third adhesive layer arranged on a side of the polarizer away from the flexible support plate; and a first cover plate arranged on a side of the third adhesive layer away from the flexible support plate.
2. The display device according to claim 1, wherein the first mating surface and the third mating surface each comprises: a bonding plane on which the flexible display module is bonded; an inclined surface connected with the bonding plane and having a smooth transition with the bonding plane; and a limiting plane connected with the inclined surface and arranged in parallel with the bonding plane, wherein the inclined surface is inclined from the bonding plane to the limiting plane to a side away from the flexible display module, the inclined surface transitions to the limiting plane through at least one curved surface protruding to the flexible display module, and the inclined surface is coplanar with a tangent plane of the curved surface, so that when the display device is folded inward, the flexible display module contacts the curved surface and the limiting plane to form the water-drop shape.
3. The display device according to claim 2, wherein an inclination angle of the inclined surface is greater than or equal to 10 degrees and less than or equal to 20 degrees, a width of the limiting plane is greater than or equal to 5 mm and less than or equal to 7 mm, and a sum of the width of the limiting plane and a width of the inclined surface is greater than or equal to 13 mm and less than or equal to 15 mm.
1. A display device, comprising: a first support member, having a first surface and a second surface that are arranged oppositely; a second support member, having a gap with the first support member, and having a third surface and a fourth surface that are arranged oppositely; and a flexible display module, arranged on the first surface of the first support member and the third surface of the second support member, wherein the first surface comprises a first mating surface close to the second support member, the third surface comprises a third mating surface close to the first support member, and the first mating surface and the third mating surface are arranged symmetrically to each other, a distance from at least part of the first mating surface to the flexible display module increases as a distance from the at least part of the first mating surface to the second support member decreases, and a distance from at least part of the third mating surface to the flexible display module increases as a distance from the at least part of the third mating surface to the first support member decreases, the display device is configured to be foldable so that the first surface of the first support member and the third surface of the second support member face towards each other or the second surface of the first support member and the fourth surface of the second support member face towards each other, when the display device is folded so that the first surface of the first support member and the third surface of the second support member face towards each other, the flexible display module contacts with the at least part of the first mating surface and the at least part of the third mating surface to form a water-drop shape, and when the display device is folded so that the second surface of the first support member and the fourth surface of the second support member face towards each other, a portion, between the first surface of the first support member and the third surface of the second support member, of the flexible display module forms a “U” shape, wherein the flexible display module comprises: a flexible support plate, bonded to a part of the first surface and a part of the third surface; a protective layer, arranged on a side of the flexible support plate away from the first support member and the second support member; a backsheet layer, arranged on a side of the protective layer away from the flexible support plate; a first adhesive layer, arranged on a side of the backsheet layer away from the flexible support plate; a flexible display panel, arranged on a side of the first adhesive layer away from the flexible support plate; a second adhesive layer, arranged on a side of the flexible display panel away from the flexible support plate; a polarizer, arranged on a side of the second adhesive layer away from the flexible support plate; a third adhesive layer, arranged on a side of the polarizer away from the flexible support plate; and a first cover plate, arranged on a side of the third adhesive layer away from the flexible support plate.
2. The display device according to claim 1, wherein the first mating surface and the third mating surface each comprises: a bonding plane, on which the flexible display module is bonded; an inclined surface, connected with the bonding plane and having a smooth transition with the bonding plane; and a limiting plane, connected with the inclined surface and arranged in parallel with the bonding plane, wherein the inclined surface is inclined from the bonding plane to the limiting plane to a side away from the flexible display module, the inclined surface transitions to the limiting plane through at least one curved surface protruding to the flexible display module, and the inclined surface is coplanar with a tangent plane of the curved surface, so that when the display device is folded inward, the flexible display module contacts the curved surface and the limiting plane to form the water-drop shape.
3. The display device according to claim 2, wherein an inclination angle of the inclined surface is greater than or equal to 10 degrees and less than or equal to 20 degrees, a width of the limiting plane is greater than or equal to 5 mm and less than or equal to 7 mm, and a sum of the width of the limiting plane and a width of the inclined surface is greater than or equal to 13 mm and less than or equal to 15 mm
5. The display device according to claim 1, wherein when the display device is folded so that the first surface of the first support member and the third surface of the second support member face towards each other, there is a minimum distance of about 2 mm between the first surface of the first support member and the third surface of the second support member.
6. The display device according to claim 2, wherein when the display device is folded so that the first surface of the first support member and the third surface of the second support member face towards each other, the water-drop shape formed has a radius of about 3mm.
7. The display device according to claim1, wherein when the display device is folded so that the second surface of the first support member and the fourth surface of the second support member face towards each other, there is a maximum distance of about 10 mm between the first surface of the first support member and the third surface of the second support member.
8. The display device according to claim 2, wherein when the display device is folded so that the second surface of the first support member and the fourth surface of the second support member face towards each other, the "U" shape formed has a radius of about 5mm.
4. The display device according to claim 1, wherein when the display device is folded so that the first surface of the first support member and the third surface of the second support member face towards each other, there is a minimum distance of about 2 mm between the first surface of the first support member and the third surface of the second support member.
5. The display device according to claim 1, wherein when the display device is folded so that the first surface of the first support member and the third surface of the second support member face towards each other, the water-drop shape formed has a radius of about 3 mm.
6. The display device according to claim 1, wherein when the display device is folded so that the second surface of the first support member and the fourth surface of the second support member face towards each other, there is a maximum distance of about 10 mm between the first surface of the first support member and the third surface of the second support member.
7. The display device according to claim 1, wherein when the display device is folded so that the second surface of the first support member and the fourth surface of the second support member face towards each other, the “U” shape formed has a radius of about 5 mm.
10. The display device according to claim 9, wherein a thickness of the flexible support plate is greater than or equal to 140 p1m and less than or equal to 160 pm, and an equivalent elastic modulus of the flexible support plate is greater than or equal to 8 Kpa and less than or equal to 12 Kpa.
11. The display device according to claim 10, wherein a material of the first adhesive layer is OCA optical adhesive, a thickness of the first adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 12pm and less than or equal to 18pm, and an elastic modulus of the first adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 35KPa and less than or equal to 55Kpa at a temperature of 25C, greater than or equal to 120KPa and less than or equal to 140Kpa at a temperature of -204C, and greater than or equal to 35KPa and less than or equal to 45KPa at a temperature of 60°C.
12. The display device according to claim 11, wherein a material of the second adhesive layer is the OCA optical adhesive, a thickness of the second adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 10pm and less than or equal to 20pm, and an elastic modulus of the second adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 70KPa and less than or equal to 90Kpa at a temperature of 25C, greater than or equal to 120KPa and less than or equal to 140Kpa at a temperature of -20°C, and greater than or equal to 60KPa and less than or equal to 8OKPa at a temperature of 65C.
13. The display device according to claim 12, wherein a thickness of the first cover plate is greater than or equal to 801m and less than or equal to 90 pim.
14. The display device according to claim 13, wherein a thickness of the polarizer is greater than or equal to 40 m and less than or equal to 50pam, and an elastic modulus of the polarizer is greater than or equal to 2.7 GPa and less than or equal to 3.7 GPa.
15. The display device according to claim 14, wherein a thickness of the backsheet layer is greater than or equal to 20 pn and less than or equal to 26 m1n, and an elastic modulus of the backsheet layer is greater than or equal to 2.7 GPa and less than or equal to 3.7 Gpa.
16. The display device according to claim 15, wherein a material of the third adhesive layer is the OCA optical adhesive, a curing rate of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 65% and less than or equal to 71%, a thickness of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 45pm and less than or equal to 55m, and an elastic modulus of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 45KPa and less than or equal to 65KPa at a temperature of 25C, greater than or equal to 110KPa and less than or equal to 130Kpa at a temperature of -20°C, and greater than or equal to 30KPa and less than or equal to 40Kpa at a temperature of 60°C; or the material of the third adhesive layer is the OCA optical adhesive, the curing rate of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 65% and less than or equal to 71%, the thickness of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 90 pm and less than or equal to 110 pim, and the elastic modulus of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 45KPa and less than or equal to 65KPa at a temperature of 25C, greater than or equal to 110KPa and less than or equal to 130Kpa at a temperature of -20°C, and greater than or equal to 30KPa and less than or equal to 40Kpa at a temperature of 60°C; or the material of the third adhesive layer is the OCA optical adhesive, the curing rate of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 65% and less than or equal to 71%, the thickness of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 45p1m and less than or equal to 55p1m, and the elastic modulus of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 130KPa and less than or equal to 15OKPa at a temperature of 25C.
17. The display device according to claim 14, wherein a thickness of the backsheet layer is greater than or equal to 20 pm and less than or equal to 26 m, and an elastic modulus of the backsheet layer is greater than or equal to 8GPa and less than or equal to 10 Gpa; and a material of the third adhesive layer is the OCA optical adhesive, a curing rate of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 65% and less than or equal to 71%, a thickness of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 45pm and less than or equal to 55pm, and an elastic modulus of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 45KPa and less than or equal to 65KPa at a temperature of 254C, greater than or equal to 110KPa and less than or equal to 130Kpa at a temperature of -20*C, and greater than or equal to 30KPa and less than or equal to 40Kpa at a temperature of 60°C.
18. The display device according to claim 13, wherein a thickness of the polarizer is greater than or equal to 80pm and Less than or equal to 100 pm, and an elastic modulus of the polarizer is greater than or equal to 2.7 GPa and less than or equal to 3.7 Gpa; a thickness of the backsheet layer is greater than or equal to 20pm and less than or equal to 26pm, and an elastic modulus of the backsheet layer is greater than or equal to 2.7GPa and less than or equal to 3.7Gpa; and a material of the third adhesive layer is the OCA optical adhesive, a curing rate of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 65% and less than or equal to 71%, a thickness of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 45pm and less than or equal to 55pm, and an elastic modulus of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 4SKPa and less than or equal to 6SKPa at a temperature of 25*C, greater than or equal to 110KPa and less than or equal to 130Kpa at a temperature of -20°C, and greater than or equal to 30KPa and less than or equal to 40Kpa at a temperature of 60°C.
19. The display device according to claim 9, wherein the flexible display module further comprises: a fourth adhesive layer, arranged on a side of the first cover plate away from the flexible support plate; and a second cover plate, arranged on a side of the fourth adhesive layer away from the flexible support plate.
20. The display device according to claim 19, wherein a thickness of the second cover plate is greater than or equal to 80jam and less than or equal to 90 jam.
4. The display device according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the flexible support plate is greater than or equal to 140 μm and less than or equal to 160 μm, and an equivalent elastic modulus of the flexible support plate is greater than or equal to 8 Kpa and less than or equal to 12 Kpa.
5. The display device according to claim 4, wherein a material of the first adhesive layer is OCA optical adhesive, a thickness of the first adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 12 μm and less than or equal to 18 μm, and an elastic modulus of the first adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 35 KPa and less than or equal to 55 Kpa at a temperature of 25° C., greater than or equal to 120 KPa and less than or equal to 140 Kpa at a temperature of −20° C., and greater than or equal to 35 KPa and less than or equal to 45 KPa at a temperature of 60° C.
6. The display device according to claim 5, wherein a material of the second adhesive layer is the OCA optical adhesive, a thickness of the second adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 10 μm and less than or equal to 20 μm, and an elastic modulus of the second adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 70 KPa and less than or equal to 90 Kpa at a temperature of 25° C., greater than or equal to 120 KPa and less than or equal to 140 Kpa at a temperature of −20° C., and greater than or equal to 60 KPa and less than or equal to 80 KPa at a temperature of 65° C.
7. The display device according to claim 6, wherein a thickness of the first cover plate is greater than or equal to 80 μm and less than or equal to 90 μm.
8. The display device according to claim 7, wherein a thickness of the polarizer is greater than or equal to 40 μm and less than or equal to 50 μm, and an elastic modulus of the polarizer is greater than or equal to 2.7 GPa and less than or equal to 3.7 GPa.
9. The display device according to claim 8, wherein a thickness of the backsheet layer is greater than or equal to 20 μm and less than or equal to 26 μm, and an elastic modulus of the backsheet layer is greater than or equal to 2.7 GPa and less than or equal to 3.7 GPa.
10. The display device according to claim 9, wherein: a material of the third adhesive layer is the OCA optical adhesive, a curing rate of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 65% and less than or equal to 71%, a thickness of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 45 μm and less than or equal to 55 μm, and an elastic modulus of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 45 KPa and less than or equal to 65 KPa at a temperature of 25° C., greater than or equal to 110 KPa and less than or equal to 130 Kpa at a temperature of −20° C., and greater than or equal to 30 KPa and less than or equal to 40 Kpa at a temperature of 60° C.; or the material of the third adhesive layer is the OCA optical adhesive, the curing rate of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 65% and less than or equal to 71%, the thickness of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 90 μm and less than or equal to 110 μm, and the elastic modulus of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 45 KPa and less than or equal to 65 KPa at a temperature of 25° C., greater than or equal to 110 KPa and less than or equal to 130 Kpa at a temperature of −20° C., and greater than or equal to 30 KPa and less than or equal to 40 Kpa at a temperature of 60° C.; or the material of the third adhesive layer is the OCA optical adhesive, the curing rate of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 65% and less than or equal to 71%, the thickness of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 45 μm and less than or equal to 55 μm, and the elastic modulus of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 130 KPa and less than or equal to 150 KPa at a temperature of 25° C.
11. The display device according to claim 8, wherein: a thickness of the backsheet layer is greater than or equal to 20 μm and less than or equal to 26 μm, and an elastic modulus of the backsheet layer is greater than or equal to 8 GPa and less than or equal to 10 GPa; and a material of the third adhesive layer is the OCA optical adhesive, a curing rate of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 65% and less than or equal to 71%, a thickness of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 45 μm and less than or equal to 55 μm, and an elastic modulus of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 45 KPa and less than or equal to 65 KPa at a temperature of 25° C., greater than or equal to 110 KPa and less than or equal to 130 Kpa at a temperature of −20° C., and greater than or equal to 30 KPa and less than or equal to 40 Kpa at a temperature of 60° C.
12. The display device according to claim 7, wherein: a thickness of the polarizer is greater than or equal to 80 μm and less than or equal to 100 μm, and an elastic modulus of the polarizer is greater than or equal to 2.7 GPa and less than or equal to 3.7 Gpa; a thickness of the backsheet layer is greater than or equal to 20 μm and less than or equal to 26 μm, and an elastic modulus of the backsheet layer is greater than or equal to 2.7 GPa and less than or equal to 3.7 GPa; and a material of the third adhesive layer is the OCA optical adhesive, a curing rate of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 65% and less than or equal to 71%, a thickness of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 45 μm and less than or equal to 55 μm, and an elastic modulus of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 45 KPa and less than or equal to 65 KPa at a temperature of 25° C., greater than or equal to 110 KPa and less than or equal to 130 Kpa at a temperature of −20° C., and greater than or equal to 30 KPa and less than or equal to 40 Kpa at a temperature of 60° C.
13. The display device according to claim 1, wherein the flexible display module further comprises: a fourth adhesive layer arranged on a side of the first cover plate away from the flexible support plate; and a second cover plate arranged on a side of the fourth adhesive layer away from the flexible support plate.
14. The display device according to claim 13, wherein a thickness of the second cover plate is greater than or equal to 80 μm and less than or equal to 90 μm.
8. The display device according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the flexible support plate is greater than or equal to 140 μm and less than or equal to 160 μm, and an equivalent elastic modulus of the flexible support plate is greater than or equal to 8 Kpa and less than or equal to 12 Kpa.
9. The display device according to claim 8, wherein a material of the first adhesive layer is OCA optical adhesive, a thickness of the first adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 12 μm and less than or equal to 18 μm, and an elastic modulus of the first adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 35 KPa and less than or equal to 55 Kpa at a temperature of 25° C., greater than or equal to 120 KPa and less than or equal to 140 Kpa at a temperature of −20° C., and greater than or equal to 35 KPa and less than or equal to 45 KPa at a temperature of 60° C.
10. The display device according to claim 9, wherein a material of the second adhesive layer is the OCA optical adhesive, a thickness of the second adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 10 μm and less than or equal to 20 μm, and an elastic modulus of the second adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 70 KPa and less than or equal to 90 Kpa at a temperature of 25° C., greater than or equal to 120 KPa and less than or equal to 140 Kpa at a temperature of −20° C., and greater than or equal to 60 KPa and less than or equal to 80 KPa at a temperature of 65° C.
11. The display device according to claim 10, wherein a thickness of the first cover plate is greater than or equal to 80 μm and less than or equal to 90 μm.
12. The display device according to claim 11, wherein a thickness of the polarizer is greater than or equal to 40 μm and less than or equal to 50 μm, and an elastic modulus of the polarizer is greater than or equal to 2.7 GPa and less than or equal to 3.7 GPa.
13. The display device according to claim 12, wherein a thickness of the backsheet layer is greater than or equal to 20 μm and less than or equal to 26 μm, and an elastic modulus of the backsheet layer is greater than or equal to 2.7 GPa and less than or equal to 3.7 Gpa.
14. The display device according to claim 13, wherein a material of the third adhesive layer is the OCA optical adhesive, a curing rate of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 65% and less than or equal to 71%, a thickness of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 45 μm and less than or equal to 55 μm, and an elastic modulus of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 45 KPa and less than or equal to 65 KPa at a temperature of 25° C., greater than or equal to 110 KPa and less than or equal to 130 Kpa at a temperature of −20° C., and greater than or equal to 30 KPa and less than or equal to 40 Kpa at a temperature of 60° C.; or the material of the third adhesive layer is the OCA optical adhesive, the curing rate of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 65% and less than or equal to 71%, the thickness of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 90 μm and less than or equal to 110 μm, and the elastic modulus of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 45 KPa and less than or equal to 65 KPa at a temperature of 25° C., greater than or equal to 110 KPa and less than or equal to 130 Kpa at a temperature of −20° C., and greater than or equal to 30 KPa and less than or equal to 40 Kpa at a temperature of 60° C.; or the material of the third adhesive layer is the OCA optical adhesive, the curing rate of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 65% and less than or equal to 71%, the thickness of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 45 μm and less than or equal to 55 μm, and the elastic modulus of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 130 KPa and less than or equal to 150 KPa at a temperature of 25° C.
15. The display device according to claim 12, wherein a thickness of the backsheet layer is greater than or equal to 20 μm and less than or equal to 26 μm, and an elastic modulus of the backsheet layer is greater than or equal to 8 GPa and less than or equal to 10 Gpa; and a material of the third adhesive layer is the OCA optical adhesive, a curing rate of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 65% and less than or equal to 71%, a thickness of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 45 μm and less than or equal to 55 μm, and an elastic modulus of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 45 KPa and less than or equal to 65 KPa at a temperature of 25° C., greater than or equal to 110 KPa and less than or equal to 130 Kpa at a temperature of −20° C., and greater than or equal to 30 KPa and less than or equal to 40 Kpa at a temperature of 60° C.
16. The display device according to claim 11, wherein a thickness of the polarizer is greater than or equal to 80 μm and less than or equal to 100 μm, and an elastic modulus of the polarizer is greater than or equal to 2.7 GPa and less than or equal to 3.7 Gpa; a thickness of the backsheet layer is greater than or equal to 20 μm and less than or equal to 26 μm, and an elastic modulus of the backsheet layer is greater than or equal to 2.7 GPa and less than or equal to 3.7 Gpa; and a material of the third adhesive layer is the OCA optical adhesive, a curing rate of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 65% and less than or equal to 71%, a thickness of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 45 μm and less than or equal to 55 μm, and an elastic modulus of the third adhesive layer is greater than or equal to 45 KPa and less than or equal to 65 KPa at a temperature of 25° C., greater than or equal to 110 KPa and less than or equal to 130 Kpa at a temperature of −20° C., and greater than or equal to 30 KPa and less than or equal to 40 Kpa at a temperature of 60° C.
17. The display device according to claim 1, wherein the flexible display module further comprises: a fourth adhesive layer, arranged on a side of the first cover plate away from the flexible support plate; and a second cover plate, arranged on a side of the fourth adhesive layer away from the flexible support plate.
18. The display device according to claim 17, wherein a thickness of the second cover plate is greater than or equal to 80 μm and less than or equal to 90 μm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US Patent No. 11474570 B2 and Lee hereinafter) in view of Feng et al (US 2021/0407339 A1 and Feng hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses (figs. 1-4) a display device, comprising: a first support member (110a) having a first surface and a second surface that are arranged oppositely; a second support member (110b) having a gap with the first support member, and having a third surface and a fourth surface that are arranged oppositely; and a flexible display module arranged on the first surface of the first support member and the third surface of the second support member, wherein: the first surface comprises a first mating surface close to the second support member, the third surface comprises a third mating surface close to the first support member, and the first mating surface and the third mating surface are arranged symmetrically to each other (fig.1);
and a distance from at least part of the first mating surface to the flexible display module increases as a distance from the at least part of the first mating surface to the second support member decreases, and a distance from at least part of the third mating surface to the flexible display module increases as a distance from the at least part of the third mating surface to the first support member decreases; wherein the first mating surface and the third mating surface each comprises: a bonding plane (BP) on which the flexible display module is bonded; an inclined surface (IS) connected with the bonding plane and having a smooth transition with the bonding plane; and a limiting plane (LP)
connected with the inclined surface and arranged in parallel with the bonding plane, wherein the inclined surface is inclined from the bonding plane to the limiting plane to a side away from the flexible display module.
Lee fails to disclose wherein an inclination angle of the inclined surface is greater than or equal to 10 degrees and less than or equal to 20 degrees. However, Feng teaches (figs. 1-11) wherein an inclination angle of the inclined surface is greater than or equal to 10 degrees and less than or equal to 20 degrees ([0123]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings (an inclination angle of the inclined surface is greater than or equal to 10 degrees and less than or equal to 170 degrees) of Feng with Lee to minimize the risk of breaking the display device (Feng, [0006])
MPEP §2144.05-I states a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties."). In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%).
Referring to MPEP § 2144.05, “…the applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results over the prior art range.” (See also MPEP § 716.02 for a discussion of criticality and unexpected results.)
Regarding Claims 4-5 and 7, Lee/Feng discloses the display device according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein a width of the limiting plane is greater than or equal to 5 mm and less than or equal to 7 mm, and a sum of the width of the limiting plane and a width of the inclined surface is greater than or equal to 13 mm and less than or equal to 15 mm, wherein when the display device is folded so that the first surface of the first support member and the third surface of the second support member face towards each other, there is a minimum distance of about 2 mm between the first surface of the first support member and the third surface of the second support member; wherein when the display device is folded so that the second surface of the first support member and the fourth surface of the second support member face towards each other, there is a maximum distance of about 10 mm between the first surface of the first support member and the third surface of the second support member. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the values as stated in the claims (4-5 and 7) to maintain a limit curvature radius (Lee, Col 4, lines 60-65)
MPEP §2144.05-II (A) states "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.).
Furthermore, MPEP §2144.05-II (B) describes that it is considered to be prima facie obvious when there is a motivation to optimize result-effective variables, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result.
Claims 2, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al in view of Feng et al and further in view of Park et al (US Patent No. 10705565 B2 and Park hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 2, Lee/Feng discloses the display device according to claim 1, Lee further teaches wherein when the display device is folded so that the first surface of the first support member and the third surface of the second support member face towards each other, the flexible display module contacts with the at least part of the first mating surface and the at least part of the third mating surface to form a water-drop shape (see annotated fig. above).
Lee/Feng does not explicitly disclose when the display device is folded so that the second surface of the first support member and the fourth surface of the second support member face towards each other, a portion, between the first surface of the first support member and the third surface of the second support member, of the flexible display module forms a "U" shape. However, Park teaches when the display device is folded so that the second surface of the first support member and the fourth surface of the second support member face towards each other, a portion, between the first surface of the first support member and the third surface of the second support member, of the flexible display module forms a "U" shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the display device is folded so that the second surface of the first support member and the fourth surface of the second support member face towards each other, a portion, between the first surface of the first support member and the third surface of the second support member, of the flexible display module forms a “U” shape of Park to device of Lee/Feng in order to minimize a stress during the in-folding and the out-folding of the flexible display panel (Park, Col 8, lines 20-25)
Regarding Claims 6 and 8, Lee/Feng/Park discloses the display device according to claim 2. Lee further teaches wherein when the display device is folded so that the first surface of the first support member and the third surface of the second support member face towards each other, but fails to disclose the water-drop shape formed has a radius of about 3mm and 5mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the radius to minimize a stress during the in-folding and the out-folding of the flexible display panel (Park, Col 8, lines 20-25)
MPEP §2144.05-II (A) states "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.).
Furthermore, MPEP §2144.05-II (B) describes that it is considered to be prima facie obvious when there is a motivation to optimize result-effective variables, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art fails to disclose, “wherein the flexible display module comprises: a flexible support plate, bonded to a part of the first surface and a part of the third surface; a protective layer, arranged on a side of the flexible support plate away from the first support member and the second support member; a back sheet layer, arranged on a side of the protective layer away from the flexible support plate; a first adhesive layer, arranged on a side of the back sheet layer away from the flexible support plate; a flexible display panel, arranged on a side of the first adhesive layer away from the flexible support plate; a second adhesive layer, arranged on a side of the flexible display panel away from the flexible support plate; a polarizer, arranged on a side of the second adhesive layer away from the flexible support plate; a third adhesive layer, arranged on a side of the polarizer away from the flexible support plate; and a first cover plate, arranged on a side of the third adhesive layer away from the flexible support plate.”
Claims 10-20 are objected being depend on claim 9.
However, the prior art (Lee in view of Feng in view of Park), when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claim language in claim 9 as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Some of the close prior arts of record fails to disclose the claimed limitation of claim 9 are Wang et al (US 2023/0135080 A1), Myeong et al (11609606 B2) and Paek et al. (US 11538895 B2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
OH et al (US 20220392816 A1) the display device 1000 may include a display panel 100, upper and lower layers (figs. 1-3).
Yang et al (US 11515502 B2) the display device DD may include a display panel DM, upper and lower layers (fig.11).
Soh et al (US 11493954 B2) the flexible display module 100 is folded, the flexible display module 100 face each other (fig.3).
/ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841