DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference signs mentioned in the description: “D22” and “D23”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The use of the term Counter Arrow Fan, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “scirocco fan” used throughout the specification disclosure is believed to be a misspelling of the more common term “sirocco fan”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: “scirocco fan” in the last line of the claim should read “sirocco fan”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa (JP 2022074502 A) in view of Al-Zeer (US 20170266335 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ishikawa teaches a vertical duct for a building air condition system (Figure 1 vertical duct “44” in air conditioning system “1”), the vertical duct being provided for circulating an air through spaces of a lower floor and an upper floor of a building (vertical duct provided between first floor and second floor to create a fluid-like connection between them, paragraph [0036]), a photocatalyst being sprayed onto an inner wall surface of the vertical duct (titanium dioxide is sprayed onto a wall surface, paragraph [0056]), but does not teach the vertical duct comprising a plurality of baffle plates at regular intervals on a long shaft thereof in a longitudinal direction. However, Al-Zeer teaches the vertical duct comprising a plurality of baffle plates at regular intervals on a long shaft thereof in a longitudinal direction (Figure 5A vortex feature “47” around tube deflector “42”).
Ishikawa and Al-Zeer are considered analogous to the current invention because all are in the field of photocatalytic air purifiers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the air duct taught by Ishikawa with the baffles taught by Al-Zeer because Al-Zeer teaches the deflector feature will increase the resonance time of the air inside the duct which will increase the effectiveness of the microorganism reduction (paragraph [0041]).
Regarding claim 2, Ishikawa teaches a vertical duct for a building air conditioning system (Figure 1 vertical duct “44” in air conditioning system “1”), the vertical duct being to be used for the building air conditioning system to circulate an air through spaces of a lower floor and an upper floor in a building (vertical duct provided between first floor and second floor to create a fluid-like connection between them, paragraph [0036]), the building air condition system being configured to keep a temperature and a humidity appropriately in all spaces of the building (control the air throughout the building to an appropriate temperature and humidity, paragraph [0014]), the all spaces including a living space on the lower floor (Figure 1 living/dining/kitchen (LDK) space “11”), a common space on the lower floor (Figure 1 hallway “12”), a common space on the upper floor (Figure 1 upper floor hall “21”), at least one partitioned space on the lower floor (Figure 1 water closest “13” partitioned by wall “63”), and at least one partitioned space on the upper floor (Figure 1 bedroom “23” partitioned by wall “62” or western style room “22” portioned by wall “64”), a first air conditioned being installed in the living space on the lower floor (Figure 1 air conditioner “42” in LDK “11”) and a second air conditioner being installed on one position of the common space on the upper floor (Figure 1 air conditioner “43” in upper floor hall “21”), air-path fans being installed horizontally on a wall of the at least one partitioned space on the lower floor (Figure 1 air-path fan “52” on wall “63”) and a wall of the at least one partitioned space on the upper floor, respectively (Figure 1 air-path fan “53” on wall “64”), so as to communicate the living space on the lower floor, the common space on the lower floor, and the common space on the upper floor with the at least one partitioned space on the lower floor and the at least one partitioned space on the upper floor such that a fluid can move therethrough (air-path fan is installed in each room to circulate the air widely, paragraph [0027]), an axial flow fan being provided on a vertical portion of the vertical duct (Figure 1 axial flow fan “51” in vertical duct “44”), a photocatalyst being sprayed onto an inner wall surface of the vertical duct (titanium dioxide is sprayed onto a wall surface, paragraph [0056]), the vertical duct being provided vertically between the living space on the lower floor and one position of the common space on the upper floor (Figure 1 vertical duct “44” between LDK “11” and upper floor hall “21”), so as to communicate the living space on the lower floor with the common space on the upper floor and the at least one partitioned space on the upper floor and the at least one partitioned space on the upper floor such that a fluid can move therethrough (air supplied to upper floor via vertical duct between lower living space and upper floor shared space and supplies air to upper floor shared space and other partitioned spaces, paragraph [0021]), but does not teach the vertical duct comprising a plurality of baffle plates at regular intervals on a long shaft thereof in a longitudinal direction. However, Al-Zeer teaches the vertical duct comprising a plurality of baffle plates at regular intervals on a long shaft thereof in a longitudinal direction (Figure 5A vortex feature “47” around tube deflector “42”).
Ishikawa and Al-Zeer are considered analogous to the current invention as discussed above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the air duct taught by Ishikawa with the baffles taught by Al-Zeer because Al-Zeer teaches the deflector feature will increase the resonance time of the air inside the duct which will increase the effectiveness of the microorganism reduction (paragraph [0041]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Ishikawa and Al-Zeer teaches wherein each of the baffles plates is formed to a circular shape (Figure 5A vortex feature “47” around tube deflector “42”, Al-Zeer).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Ishikawa and Al-Zeer teaches wherein each of the baffles plates is formed to a circular shape (Figure 5A vortex feature “47” around tube deflector “42”, Al-Zeer).
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa and Al-Zeer in view of Trent (US 20200122078 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Ishikawa and Al-Zeer teaches wherein a lighting for emitting a light toward the photocatalyst is provided on the inner wall surface of the vertical duct (Figure 3B UV light source “60”attached to edge of conduit “34” emits light toward photocatalyst “44”, Al-Zeer), but does not teach wherein the light is an LED light. However, Trent teaches an LED light (plurality of UV LEDS, paragraph [0008]).
Ishikawa, Al-Zeer, and Trent are considered analogous to the current invention because all are in the field of photocatalytic air purifiers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the UV light taught by Ishikawa and Al-Zeer with the UV LED taught by Trent to predictably obtain UV light through a simple substitution of parts (See MPEP 2143 I (B)).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Ishikawa and Al-Zeer teaches wherein a lighting for emitting a light toward the photocatalyst is provided on the inner wall surface of the vertical duct (Figure 3B UV light source “60”attached to edge of conduit “34” emits light toward photocatalyst “44”, Al-Zeer), but does not teach wherein the light is an LED light. However, Trent teaches an LED light (plurality of UV LEDS, paragraph [0008]).
Ishikawa, Al-Zeer, and Trent are considered analogous to the current invention as discussed above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the UV light taught by Ishikawa and Al-Zeer with the UV LED taught by Trent to predictably obtain UV light through a simple substitution of parts (See MPEP 2143 I (B)).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa and Al-Zeer in view of Hiroishi (US 20250341338 A1).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Ishikawa and Al-Zeer teaches wherein the axial flow fan is a vertical-duct fan (axial fan provided in vertical portion of the vertical duct, paragraph [0037, Ishikawa) including a HEPA filter (air treatment system comprising a filtration portion having an air filter, paragraph [0036], and filtration portion may include HEPA, paragraph [0010], Al-Zeer), but does not teach wherein the axial fan is a scirocco fan. However, Hiroishi teaches the use of sirocco fan (air blower provided with DC motor and sirocco fan, paragraph [0149]).
Ishikawa and AL-Zeer are considered analogous to the current invention as described above. Hiroishi is considered analogous to the current invention because both hare in the field of air conditioning systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the axial fan taught by Ishikawa and Al-Zeer with the sirocco fan taught by Hiroishi to predictably obtain air movement through the vertical duct through a simple substitution of parts (See MPEP 2143 I (B)).
Conclusion
/K.R.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/DONALD R SPAMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799