Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “700” has been used to designate both “electrical control system” and “thruster system”; reference character “107” has been used to designate “motor/driver unit”, “modular thruster unit”, and “thruster unit”; reference character “104” has been used to designate both “bracket” and “ESC unit”; reference character “716” has been used to designate both “charge controller” and “battery management system”; reference character “708” has been used to designate both “charging system” and “battery”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "100" and "700" have both been used to designate “thruster system”; reference characters "700", "700b", “700c”, “700d”, and “700e” have been used to designate “electrical control system”; reference characters "801" and "804" have both been used to designate “lines”; reference characters "708" and "710" have both been used to designate “battery”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: the sentence ends like “more battery packs, and” and should be “more battery packs.”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Christensen et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0354803) in view of Rott (AU 20201042304A4).
The applied reference has a common assignee and inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
As per claim 1, Christensen teaches a thruster system (Christensen: 20) independently operable from a main propulsion system of a marine vessel (Christensen: 30) for providing improved maneuverability of the marine vessel (Christensen: para. 62; Marine vessel operator relaying on electric motors for maneuvering.), comprising:
-a main power source (Christensen: 110) of the marine vessel (Christensen: figure 11; para. 107);
-one or more thruster units (Christensen: 27) mountable at a location on a hull of the marine vessel (Christensen: figures 2-3; para. 65; Each thruster unit comprises a mounting bracket to attach to the hull.), each thruster unit comprising:
-at least one mounting bracket adapted for direct or indirect attachment to the hull (Christensen: para. 65);
-an electric motor (Christensen: 22) attached to the at least one mounting bracket (Christensen: para. 65; Electric motor mounted to the bracket.); and
-a driver (Christensen: 29) attached to and driven by the electric motor (Christensen: para. 65);
-an electrical control system (Christensen: 100) adapted to control each of the one or more thruster units (Christensen: para. 68), the electrical control system comprising electrical circuit components configured to control the electric motor of each of the one or more thruster units (Christensen: para. 68; Each thruster unit controlled by the electrical control system.), wherein the electrical control system comprises:
-one or more electronic speed control units (Christensen: 104), each electrically coupled to a respective electric motor of the one or more thruster units (Christensen: para. 103; ESC unit within the housing of the electric motor.);
-one or more battery packs (Christensen: 115), each electrically coupled to a respective electronic speed control unit (Christensen: figure 14; para. 103), wherein each battery pack outputs a higher discharge current relative to the battery pack's input charging current (Christensen: para. 127); and
-a control mechanism (Christensen: 112) electrically coupled to the electrical control system, the control mechanism providing operational commands used by the electrical control system to control the electric motor of each of the one or more thruster units (Christensen: para. 108; Control mechanism can provide operational commands used by the electrical control system to control the electric motor.).
Christensen does not explicitly teach the following, however, Rott teaches wherein each battery pack comprises one or more 24-72 volt batteries (Rott [AU 2020104230A4): para. 19).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Christensen in accordance with the teachings of Rott such that each battery pack comprises one or more 24-72 volt batteries, since it would provide the desired thruster power (Rott: para. 19).
As per claim 2, the system of claim 1 is as described. Christensen further teaches wherein the main power source is electrically coupled to the one or more battery packs to enable the main power source to provide power for charging the one or more battery packs (Christensen: para. 120; Battery pack can receive power from the main battery and serve as a power source for each ESC unit.).
As per claim 7, the system of claim 1 is as described. Christensen do not teach the following, however, Rott teaches wherein the one or more battery packs receives a charge current and outputs a discharge current at the same time (Rott: para. 19).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Christensen in accordance with the teachings of Rott such that each batter pack receives and outputs current at the same time since it would provide efficiency (Rott: para. 5).
As per claim 8, the system of claim 1 is as described. Christensen further teaches wherein a set of wires are configured to electrically couple the one or more battery packs to a main power source of the marine vessel (Christensen: para. 120), and wherein the wires have a smaller gauge than if the one or more battery packs comprised 12-volt batteries (Christensen: para. 135; Smaller diameter wire.).
As per claim 9, the system of claim 1 is as described. Christensen do not teach the following, however, Rott teaches wherein the one or more battery packs comprise a lithium-ion battery (Rott: para. 19).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Christensen in accordance with the teachings of Rott such that each battery pack comprises lithium battery, since it would provide the desired power (Rott: para. 19).
As per claim 10, the system of claim 1 is as described. Christensen further teaches wherein the thruster system comprises a plurality of thruster units, each independently mountable at a location on a hull of the marine vessel apart from other thruster units mounted to the hull (Christensen: para. 15).
As per claim 11, the system of claim 10 is as described. Christensen further teaches wherein a first thruster unit is mounted at a stern of the hull on a port side of the marine vessel to provide directional thrust at the port side of the stern (Christensen: para. 93; First thruster mounted aft of the hull on a port side to allow directional thrust to the hull.), a second thruster unit is mounted at the stern of the hull on a starboard side of the marine vessel to provide directional thrust at the starboard side of the stern (Christensen: para. 93; Second thruster mounted on a starboard side to provide directional thrust to the starboard side.), and optionally one or more additional thruster units are mounted towards a fore portion of the hull relative to mounting locations of the first and second thruster units (Christensen: para. 94; Third thruster mounted towards a fore portion.).
Claims 3-5 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Christensen et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0354803) in view of Rott (AU 20201042304A4) and further in view of Grabbel et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/022351).
The applied reference has a common assignee and inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
As per claim 3, the system of claim 1 is as described. Christensen and Rott do not teach the following, however, Grabbel teaches wherein the electrical control system comprises: a DC/DC charger (Grabbel: 162) electrically coupled the one or more battery packs (Grabbel: 164), wherein the DC/DC charger is further coupled to the main power source (Grabbel: 150), wherein DC/DC charger converts an input charging current from the main power source to an output charging current, and wherein the output charging current is used to charge the one or more battery packs (Grabbel: para. 20-21; The storage unit 164 with the aid of energy converter 162 can be charged with energy after converting.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Christensen in view of Rott in accordance with the teachings of Grabbel since it would minimize losses (Grabbel: para. 18; low loss storage).
As per claim 4, the system of claim 3 is as described. Christensen teaches the electrical control system further comprising a battery management system electrically coupled to each of the one or more battery packs and configured to limit current from the DC/DC charger in order to trickle charge the one or more battery packs (Christensen: para. 127; Limiting current drawn from the main battery.).
As per claim 5, the system of claim 4 is as described. Christensen teaches wherein the battery management system is configured to charge the battery pack at a time-dependent charge current and charge voltage calculated based on the chemistry of the battery pack, resulting in the battery pack becoming fully charged without overcharging and damaging the battery pack (Christensen: para. 127-128).
As per claim 12, Christensen teaches a thruster system independently operable from a main propulsion system of a marine vessel for providing improved maneuverability of the marine vessel, comprising:
-a main power source of the marine vessel (Christensen: para. 107);
-one or more thruster units (Christensen: 27) mountable at a location on a hull of the marine vessel (Christensen: para. 64), each thruster unit comprising:
-at least one mounting bracket (Christensen: 24) adapted for direct or indirect attachment to the hull (Christensen: para. 65; Mounting bracket adapted for attachment to the hull.);
-an electric motor attached to the at least one mounting bracket (Christensen: para. 65);
-a driver (Christensen: 29) attached to and driven by the electric motor (Christensen: para. 65);
-an electrical control system (Christensen: 100) adapted to control each of the one or more thruster units, the electrical control system comprising electrical circuit components configured to control the electric motor of each of the one or more thruster units (Christensen: para. 68; para. 103), wherein the electrical control system comprises:
-one or more electronic speed control units (Christensen: 104), each electrically coupled to a respective electric motor of the one or more thruster units (Christensen: para. 103);
-one or more battery packs (Christensen: 115), each electrically coupled to a respective electronic speed control unit (Christensen: figure 14; para. 103), and
-a control mechanism electrically coupled to the electrical control system, the control mechanism providing operational commands used by the electrical control system to control the electric motor of each of the one or more thruster units (Christensen: para. 108; Control mechanism can provide operational commands used by the electrical control system to control the electric motor.).
Christensen does not explicitly teach the following, however, Rott teaches wherein each battery pack comprises one or more 24-72 volt batteries (Rott [AU 2020104230A4): para. 19).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Christensen in accordance with the teachings of Rott such that each batter pack comprises one or more 24-72 volt batteries, since it would provide the desired thruster power (Rott: para. 19).
Christensen and Rott do not teach the following, however, Grabbel teaches a DC/DC charger (Grabbel: 162) electrically coupled the one or more battery packs (Grabbel: 164), wherein the DC/DC charger is further coupled to the main power source (Grabbel: 150), wherein the DC/DC charger converts an input charging current from the main power source to an output charging current, and wherein the output charging current is used to charge the one or more battery packs (Grabbel [2023/0322351): para. 20-21; The storage unit 164 with the aid of energy converter 162 can be charged with energy after converting.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Christensen in view of Rott in accordance with the teachings of Grabbel since it would minimize losses (Grabbel: para. 18; low loss storage).
As per claim 13, the system of claim 12 is as described. Christensen teaches the electrical control system further comprising a battery management system electrically coupled to each of the one or more battery packs and configured to limit the input charging current from the DC/DC charger in order to trickle charge the one or more battery packs (Christensen: para. 127; para. 130-135; Limiting current drawn from the main battery.).
As per claim 14, the system of claim 13 is as described. Christensen teaches wherein the battery management system is configured to charge the battery pack at a time-dependent charge current and charge voltage calculated based on the chemistry of the battery pack, resulting in the battery pack becoming fully charged without overcharging and damaging the battery pack (Christensen: para. 127-128; Battery packs becoming fully charged without overcharging).
As per claim 15, the system of claim 13 is as described. Christensen teaches wherein the battery management system disables power flow from the one or more modular battery packs to the one or more electronic speed control units if the electrical control system is too hot, too cold, or experiences a short circuit (Christensen: para. 127-128).
As per claim 16, the system of claim 12 is as described. Christensen teaches wherein each of the one or more battery packs outputs a higher discharge current relative to the input charging current from the main power source (Christensen: para. 135; Smaller diameter wire.).
As per claim 17, the system of claim 12 is as described. Christensen teaches the electrical control system further comprising an on/off relay electrically coupled to the main power source to enable or disable power flow from the central charging system to the one or more battery packs (Christensen: para. 107; On/off relay coupled to the main battery, thereby enabling and disabling the power flow.).
As per claim 18, the system of claim 17 is as described. Christensen teaches wherein the on/off relay enables power flow from the main power source to the DC/DC charger if the voltage is between 11 volts and 16 volts (Christensen: para. 110; On/off relay coupled to each DC/DC converters and regulate the power from the main battery.).
As per claim 19, the system of claim 12 is as described. Christensen teaches wherein the thruster system comprises a plurality of thruster units, each independently mountable at a location on a hull of the marine vessel apart from other thruster units mounted to the hull (Christensen: para. 15).
As per claim 20, the system of claim 19 is as described. Christensen teaches wherein a first thruster unit is mounted at a stern of the hull on a port side of the marine vessel to provide directional thrust at the port side of the stern (Christensen: para. 93; First thruster mounted aft of the hull on a port side to allow directional thrust to the hull.), a second thruster unit is mounted at the stern of the hull on a starboard side of the marine vessel to provide directional thrust at the starboard side of the stern Christensen: para. 93; Second thruster mounted on a starboard side to provide directional thrust to the starboard side.), and optionally a third thruster unit is mounted towards a fore portion of the hull relative to mounting locations of the first and second thruster units (Christensen: para. 94; Third thruster mounted towards a fore portion.).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Christensen et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0354803) in view of Rott (AU 20201042304A4) and further in view of Grabbel et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/022351) and Kamichi et al. (WO 2011016135A1).
The applied reference has a common assignee and inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
As per claim 6, the system of claim 3 is as described. Christensen, Rott, and Grabbel do not teach the following, however, Kamichi teaches wherein the DC/DC charger comprises isolated grounds (Kamichi: pg. 4).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Christensen in view of Rott and Grabbel in accordance with the teachings of Kamichi since it would limits the amount of current going through and reduces surges (Kamichi: pg. 4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ikegaya – U.S. Patent No. 12,570,382 – Teaches a marine propulsion system to drive an auxiliary thruster.
/SHEETAL R PAULSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615