DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 09/29/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the JP 2022-156885 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
Claim(s) 1-16 do not use “means for “(or “step for”) language, or generic placeholders for “means” coupled with functional language without recitation of sufficient structure for carrying out the claimed functions and therefore do not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 describes wherein, in the reception step, whether or not to record the accessory information that is determined as information not be recorded in the first recording region, in the first recording region is received.
Claim 4 is amendable to two or more plausible claim constructions. Claim 4 does not explicitly define the accessory information received in the reception step as the same accessory information defined in claim 3, during the process of whether or not to record the accessory information in the first recording region in a case where a recording instruction is received by the reception step.
Claim 4 neither explicitly define the accessory information that is determined as information not to be recorded in the first recording region is the same accessory information received during acquiring step as described in claim 1.
Therefore, claim 4 is rejected based on to two or more plausible claim constructions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
[Claim 14]
Claim 14 is directed to an image file (i.e. mere information in the form of data). However, an image file is not a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof. Thus, the claim falls outside the four statutory categories of 35 U.S.C. 101 and is therefore non statutory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 11, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Nonaka et al. (US 2022/0405622 A1).
[Claim 1]
Regarding claim 1, Nonaka teaches an image file creation method comprising:
an acquisition step (Nonaka, Figure 4, S11 to receive extracted image) of acquiring recording information including accessory information (Nonaka, teaches in Figure 3A, a recording control unit 40, creates and records an image file (Nonaka, Figure 3A, Fa1) of image data (Nonaka, Figure 3A, Ba1) of different modes having annotation information of the image data, paragraph 0060) that is recordable in a first recording region (Figure 3A, region Ba2) of an image file (Nonaka, Figure 3A, image file Fa1), paragraph 0066), or derived information that is derived from the accessory information; and
a recording step of recording the recording information in a second recording region (Nonaka, Figure 3A, region Ba4) of the image file (Nonaka, Figure 3A, an adding unit 34 adds the annotation result (metadata) to the image data of the AI image. Specifically, in the image file Fa1 illustrated in FIG. 3A, the metadata as the annotation result is recorded in the block Ba4 in association with the AI image data Im12 recorded in the block Ba3, paragraph 0126. Furthermore, Nonaka teaches a process as described in FIG. 4, the information (accessory information) recorded in the block Ba4 (i.e. second recording region) may be included in the metadata group of the block Ba2 (i.e. first recording region), paragraph 0065).
[Claim 2]
Regarding claim 2, Nonaka teaches wherein the accessory information (Nonaka, Figure 3A, annotation information) in the first recording region, (Nonaka, Figure 3A, region Ba2) and the recording information includes accessory information (Nonaka, Figure 3A, in the metadata block Ba2, information related to annotation can be recorded, paragraph 0065).
[Claim 11]
Regarding claim 11, Nonaka teaches all the limitations of claim 1, wherein, in the recording step, a portion of the recording information designated from among a plurality of pieces of the recording information is recorded in the second recording region.
Nonaka teaches a recording step (Nonaka, one image file Fa1 includes a region (block) Ba1 (which may be image data reduced like a thumbnail image depending on a situation) for recording the display image data and a region (block) Ba3 for recording AI image data, and includes a block Ba2 for recording a metadata group for annotating the regions. In the metadata block Ba2, as described above, information indicating that this image is training data and information related to annotation can be recorded. The information related to annotation is assumed to be information indicating what can be confirmed as a target object or what is recorded by an expert while viewing a display image displayed on the display device 5, position information thereof, or the like. In addition, an imaging date and time, an imaging place, an ID of a person who has performed imaging or a patient, and the like may be recorded in the metadata block Ba2. paragraph 0065). Claim 11 does not define how a portion of the recording information is designated from among a plurality of pieces of information. Nonaka teaches having plurality of information for example, an imaging date and time, an imaging place, an ID of a person who has performed imaging or a patient, and the like. Additionally, the beginning of stored metadata information may include a designated portion where the metadata start. It can have designated end of metadata as a designated portion and that can be interpreted as a designated information for a beginning and end of a stored metadata that can be recorded in the second recording region. Using BRI and absence of defining a “designated” process, the claim 11 is rejected based on Nonaka.
[Claim 14]
Regarding claim 14, Nonaka teaches an image file comprising:
a first recording region (Nonaka, Figure 3A, region Ba2) in which accessory information is recordable (Nonaka, teaches in Figure 3A, a recording control unit 40, creates and records an image file (Nonaka, Figure 3A, Fa1) of image data (Nonaka, Figure 3A, Ba1) of different modes having annotation information of the image data, paragraph 0060); and
a second recording region (Nonaka, Figure 3A, region Ba4),
wherein recording information including the accessory information or derived information that is derived from the accessory information is recorded in the second recording region (Nonaka, Figure 3A, an adding unit 34 adds the annotation result (metadata) to the image data of the AI image. Specifically, in the image file Fa1 illustrated in FIG. 3A, the metadata as the annotation result is recorded in the block Ba4 in association with the AI image data Im12 recorded in the block Ba3, paragraph 0126. Furthermore, Nonaka teaches a process as described in FIG. 4, the information (accessory information) recorded in the block Ba4 (i.e. second recording region) may be included in the metadata group of the block Ba2(i.e. first recording region), paragraph 0065).
[Claim 15]
Nonaka teaches an image file creation apparatus comprising:
a processor, (Nonaka, in Figure 2, teaches a recording control unit 40 is implemented by a general-purpose processor such as a CPU or a dedicated processor such as various arithmetic circuits that execute specific functions such as an ASIC, paragraph 0060), wherein the processor is configured to:
acquire recording information including accessory information that is recordable in a first recording region of an image file or derived information that is derived from the accessory information records the first image data(Nonaka, teaches in Figure 3A, a recording control unit 40, creates and records an image file (Nonaka, Figure 3A, Fa1) of image data (Nonaka, Figure 3A, Ba1) of different modes having annotation information of the image data, paragraph 0060) that is recordable in a first recording region (Figure 3A, region Ba2) of an image file (Nonaka, Figure 3A, image file Fa1), paragraph 0066); and record the recording information in a second recording region of the image file, (Nonaka, Figure 3A, region Ba4) of the image file (Nonaka, Figure 3A, an adding unit 34 adds the annotation result (i.e. metadata) to the image data of the AI image. Specifically, in the image file Fa1 illustrated in FIG. 3A, the metadata as the annotation result is recorded in the block Ba4 in association with the AI image data Im12 recorded in the block Ba3, paragraph 0126). Furthermore, Nonaka teaches a process as described in FIG. 4, the information (accessory information) recorded in the block Ba4 (i.e. second recording region) may be included in the metadata group of the block Ba2(i.e. first recording region), paragraph 0065).
The claim 15 is rejected based on the rejection and analysis used to reject claim 1.
[Claim 16]
Nonaka teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program executable by a computer to execute a process comprising, (Nonaka, a recording unit 38 records (i.e. stores) an execution program for the control unit 41 to execute various operations. The recording unit 38 includes a volatile memory, a nonvolatile memory, or a combination thereof. Specifically, the recording unit 38 includes a random access memory (RAM), a read only memory (ROM), and the like.)
an acquisition step of acquiring recording information (Nonaka, Figure 4, S11 to receive extracted image) including accessory information that is recordable in a first recording region of an image file (Nonaka, teaches in Figure 3A, a recording control unit 40, creates and records an image file (Nonaka, Figure 3A, Fa1) of image data (Nonaka, Figure 3A, Ba1) of different modes having annotation information of the image data, paragraph 0060) or derived information that is derived from the accessory information (Nonaka, teaches in Figure 3A, a recording control unit 40, creates and records an image file (Nonaka, Figure 3A, Fa1) of image data (Nonaka, Figure 3A, Ba1) of different modes having annotation information of the image data, paragraph 0060); and
a recording step of recording the recording information in a second recording region (Nonaka, Figure 3A, region Ba4) of the image file (Nonaka, Figure 3A, an adding unit 34 adds the annotation result (metadata) to the image data of the AI image. Specifically, in the image file Fa1 illustrated in FIG. 3A, the metadata as the annotation result is recorded in the block Ba4 in association with the AI image data Im12 recorded in the block Ba3, paragraph 0126. Furthermore, Nonaka teaches a process as described in FIG. 4, the information (accessory information) recorded in the block Ba4 (i.e. second recording region) may be included in the metadata group of the block Ba2(i.e. first recording region), paragraph 0065).
The claim 16 is rejected based on the rejection and analysis used to reject claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nonaka et al. (US 2022/0405622 A1) in view of Aoyama et al. (US 2023/0360368 A1)
[Claim 3]
Regarding claim 3, Nonaka teaches all the limitations of claim 2,
Nonaka does not teach further comprising: a reception step of receiving whether or not to record the accessory information in the first recording region wherein, in the recording step, the accessory information is recorded in the first recording region in a case in which a recording instruction is received by the reception step,
However, Aoyama teaches a similar image processing system where the in Figure 2, teaches In step S201, it is checked whether or not a still image shooting is instructed by the user pressing the shutter button 60 to turn on the shutter switches 61 (SW1) and 62 (SW2), and if the still image shooting is instructed, the process proceeds to step S202, paragraph 0066.
in the recording step, the accessory information is recorded in the first recording region in a case in which a recording instruction is received by the reception step, (Aoyama teaches Figure 2, In step S205, it is confirmed whether inference processing using the inference engine 73A can be performed. For example, if the inference engine 73A is processing another image, or if the shutter button 60 is operated so that the shutter switch 62 (SW2) remains ON, continuous shooting is instructed and the shooting processing should be prioritized, inference processing cannot be performed. If the inference processing cannot be performed, the process proceeds to step S208, and if the inference processing can be executed, the process proceeds to step S206. In step S207, the subject classification result, which is the inference result obtained in step S206, and the current inference model management version and debug information held in the inference model recording unit 72A, if any, as inference model management information, are recorded in an image file, paragraphs 0071 and 0073.)
Aoyama teaches an image processing system as receiving whether or not to record inference information to allow shooting processing to be prioritized.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nonaka with Aoyama by receiving whether or not to record the accessory information in the first recording region with motivation of prioritizing the shooting process based on whether or not to record the inference information.
[Claim 4]
Regarding claim 4, Nonaka in view of Aoyama teach all the limitations of claim 3.
Additionally, Aoyama teaches in the reception step, whether or not to record the accessory information that is determined as information to be recorded in the first recording region, in the first recording region is received, (Aoyama, in Figure 2 teaches in step S205, it is confirmed whether inference processing using the inference engine 73A can be performed. In step S207, the subject classification result, which is the inference result obtained in step S206, and the current inference model management version and debug information held in the inference model recording unit 72A, if any, as inference model management information, are recorded in an image file, paragraphs 0072-0073).
[Claim 9]
Regarding claim 9, Nonaka teaches all the limitations of claim 1,
Nonaka does not teach wherein the derived information is history information relating to a change history of the accessory information.
However, Aoyama teaches a similar image processing system in Figure 5C, where the annotation information (i.e. accessory information) 403b which has been recorded in the image file 420 is recorded as the old annotation information 409 (i.e. history information) at the position indicated by the old annotation information offset included in the old annotation link information storage tag 408. As a result, both old inference results and new inference results can be recorded in association with the image data, and this makes it possible to easily manage the transition of the inference results of the image data, paragraph 0093.
Aoyama teaches a recording method of annotation information where both old inference results and new inference results can be recorded in association with the image data and this makes it possible to easily manage the transition of the inference results of the image data, paragraph 0093.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nonaka with Aoyama to make it possible to easily manage the transition of the inference results of the image data, paragraph 0093.
[Claim 13]
Regarding claim 13, Nonaka teaches all the limitations of claim 1,
Nonaka does not teach wherein the image file is a format file in a JPEG format
Aoyama teaches a similar image processing system in Figure 2, where in step S202, shooting processing is performed. In the shooting processing, autofocus (AF) processing and automatic exposure (AE) processing are performed using the focus controller 41 and exposure controller 40, and the image signal output from the image sensor 13 via the A/D converter 15 is saved in the memory 25. Further, the image signal stored in the memory 25 is compressed in JPEG format, paragraph 0067. In step S203, the image signal stored in the memory 25, paragraph 0068),
the first recording region is an APPI region of the format file (Aoyama, in Figure 5A, an image file 400 is recorded in the JPEG format, for example, if the user instructs recording in the JPEG format, and Exif data 401 is recorded in the APP1 marker or the like, paragraph 0069) ,
and the second recording region is a region of the format file other than the APP 1 region of the format file (Aoyama, teaches in FIG. 5C, the image file 430 is created based on the image file 420, and the metadata generation/analysis unit 70 is used to add the data instructed to be corrected by the user as correct data for each area specified by the coordinates of each subject in the screen in the annotation information 403c recorded at the position indicated by the annotation information offset included in the annotation link information storage tag 402 the annotation information 403b in the image file 420 is recorded as old annotation information 409 at the position indicated by the old annotation information offset included in an old annotation link information storage tag 408, paragraph 0083.
Aoyama teaches an image data stored in the memory 25 and performs compression processing or decompression processing according to, for example, JPEG, on the image data, lossless compression processing on uncompressed RAW data, paragraph 0045. Furthermore, the image processing unit 20 can perform RAW development by applying image processing such as color conversion to data that has undergone compression processing or decompression processing such as lossless compression on uncompressed RAW data, convert it to JPEG format to create image data, paragraph 0046.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nonaka with Aoyama with the motivation to store the image data as JPEG and to use APP1 of the JPEG file as the first recording region, as JPEG is a standard file format and any system can read that format.
Claims 5, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nonaka et al. (US 2022/0405622 A1), in view of Rueger et al. (US 2017/0053122 A1)
[Claim 5]
Regarding claim 5, Nonaka teaches all the limitations of claim 1,
Nonaka does not teach, wherein the recording information includes the derived information,
However, Rueger teaches a similar image processing system in Figure 2 and in step 204, step 204, encryption program 104 receives encryption rules. Encryption rules are used to determine what is encrypted and where the encryption is stored. In one embodiment, encrypted metadata is stored in the same field and in the same format as the unencrypted metadata. For example, the encrypted metadata replaces the unencrypted metadata. In another embodiment, encrypted metadata is stored in one or more unused fields of the metadata. In yet another embodiment, the encrypted metadata is stored as a binary block within the image file. In another embodiment, the encrypted metadata is stored by manipulating the photograph. For example, the encrypted metadata is stored by changing the image hue or brightness, paragraph 0027.
Rueger teaches encryption of photograph metadata. Encrypting photograph metadata secures the data from parties not privileged to view the information contained in the data. Encrypting the data within an image file secures the data without risking a data loss due to storing the data and photograph separately, paragraph 0013.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nonaka with Rueger to have recording information include derived information, with the motivation of securing the photograph data from parties not privileged to view the information contained in the data, paragraph 0013.
[Claim 6]
Regarding claim 6, Nonaka teaches all the limitations of claim 1,
Nonaka does not teach wherein the image file creation method according to wherein the derived information is encrypted information obtained by encrypting the accessory information,
Rueger additionally teaches a similar image processing system in Figure 2, where a method for encrypting photograph metadata, includes receiving a rule set for modifying the first metadata; responsive to determining that at least one rule of the rule set corresponds to the first metadata, encrypting the first metadata based on the at least one rule of the rule set to create a second metadata; and storing the second metadata in the image file, paragraph 0005.
Rueger teaches encryption of photograph metadata. Encrypting photograph metadata secures the data from parties not privileged to view the information contained in the data. Encrypting the data within an image file secures the data without risking a data loss due to storing the data and photograph separately, paragraph 0013.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nonaka with Rueger to use derived information of Nonaka and encrypt the meta data, the motivation of securing the photograph data from parties not privileged to view the information contained in the data, paragraph 0013.
[Claim 8]
Regarding claim 8, Nonaka teaches all the limitations of claim 1,
Nonaka does not teach wherein the derived information is information obtained by dividing the accessory information.
However, Rueger additionally teaches a similar image processing system in Figure 2, where a method for encrypting photograph metadata (i.e. derived information), includes receiving a rule set for modifying the first metadata; responsive to determining that at least one rule of the rule set corresponds to the first metadata. For example, the encrypted metadata is stored by changing the image hue or brightness. In some embodiments, some metadata fields are left unencrypted. For example, metadata including information that can be deduced from the photograph itself (e.g., dimensions or color depth) may be left unencrypted, paragraph 0027.
Rueger teaches a method for a user to choose to encrypt location data but leave a camera model unencrypted. In some embodiments, a user defines rules for encrypting specific metadata fields. For example, with respect to location metadata, rules can range from encrypting all location metadata, encrypting location metadata with locations in a specified region, encrypting location metadata based on the content of the photographs (e.g., where people are in the photograph), etc. (paragraph 0028)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nonaka with Rueger to generate a derived information obtained by dividing the accessory information, motivation to encrypting location metadata with locations in a specified region, encrypting location metadata based on the content of the photographs (e.g., where people are in the photograph), etc. paragraph 0028.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nonaka et al. (US 2022/0405622 A1) in view of Rueger et al. (US-20170053122-A1), further in view of Hiratsuka, Yosuke (US 2024/0113891 A1).
[Claim 7]
Regarding claim 7, Nonaka in view of Rueger teach all the limitations of claim 6,
Nonaka in view of Rueger do not teach wherein the encrypted information is a hash value or information obtained by encrypting the hash value.
However, Hiratsuka teaches a similar image processing system in Figure 2, where a signature generation unit 150 acquires the main image, the reduced image, the metadata, the 3D information, and the hash value supplied from a hash processing unit 147. Furthermore, the signature generation unit 150 acquires the device secret key corresponding to the imaging device 111 stored in the storage unit 131. Then, the signature generation unit 150 generates a signature by encrypting the hash value using the device secret key, paragraph 0124.
Hiratsuka teaches a method in which a captured image or the like is converted into a hash value in a digital camera or the like, and an electronic signature using the hash value is added to the captured image to be used for detection of falsification of the captured image, paragraph 0069.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nonaka in view of Rueger with Hiratsuka to obtain information by encrypting the hash value, the motivation to have the captured image to be used for detection of falsification of the capture image.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nonaka et al. (US 20220405622 A1) in view of Asano, Nao. (US 20240119024 A1),
[Claim 10]
Regarding claim 10, Nonaka teaches all the limitations of claim 1,
Nonaka does not teach according to wherein, in the recording step, timing information relating to a timing at which the recording information is recorded in the second recording region is recorded.
However, Asano teaches a similar image processing in which, when storing files, the creation date and time and the update date and time of a metadata file within a directory entry are overwritten using the recording date and time of a moving image file obtained from the camera device 100 as a method of associating a moving image file and a metadata file with each other. Paragraph 0151. Furthermore, Asano teaches during the processing of FIGS. 7A and 7B, when the mobile device 200 stores a metadata file corresponding to a moving image file after storing the moving image file, it records the file name and the recording date and time of the moving image file, as well as a file path to a recording area of the metadata itself that has been recorded, into the metadata management table as one information block, paragraph 0196,
Asano teaches in the case of images file, in a case where the file name has the same character string before the extension as a result of the determination, the file of this file name is determined to be the metadata file of the moving image file. In this way, the metadata file corresponding to the moving image file is specified. (paragraph 0138).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nonaka with Asano with the motivation to
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nonaka et al. (US 20220405622 A1) in view of Ogata et al. (US 2015/0189118 A1)
[Claim 12]
Regarding claim 12, Nonaka teaches all the limitations of claim 1,
Nonaka does not teach wherein the first recording region is a region in which information in a binary format is recorded, and the second recording region is a region in which information in a text format is recorded.
However, Ogata teaches a similar image processing system in Figure 2b, the APP segment SG1 in binary format, paragraph 0044. Ogata further teaches in Figure 4b, where it shows the metadata converted into a text. In the metadata, the item names and the Data corresponding to the respective item names are described in text. In an example in FIG. 4b, the respective addresses in FIG. 4(a) are converted into item names Name 1, Name 2, and so on, paragraph 0073.
Ogata teaches a method where owner can easily perform search, editing, or the like by using the metadata converted into the text language, paragraph 0075. Ogata also teaches that it is possible to suppress a decrease in processing speed by recording the metadata in binary format at the time of recording, paragraph 0097.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nonaka with Ogata with the motivation convert metadata into binary format to suppress a decrease in processing speed by recording the metadata in binary format at the time of recording, and it is also possible to facilitate the use of the image file on the Internet to perform search easily by metadata converted into text language.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The following show additional prior art systems/methods for imaging apparatus:
Nishimura et al. US 2024/0411933 A1
Fujimaki et al. US 2010/0039529 A1
Hayakawa, Mizuki US 2017/0039745 A1
Hatazawa et al. US 2024/0303981 A1
Sevier, Stuart US 12120282 B1
Mukasa et al. US 2024/0104754 A1
Sudo et al. US 2023/0239777 A1
Jinnouchi, Ryo US 2023/0209015 A1
Repper, Brian Lawrence US 11631252 B1
Shimaru et al. US 2021/0319144 A1
/MEHEDI NMN HASSAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2637
/SINH TRAN/
Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637