DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 3-4 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 14 May 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The language in lines 2-3 is indefinite by stating “selected from the group trapezoidal groove, U-shaped groove, and tapered hole in the transverse direction.” It is believed that applicant is intending to present a Markush group which should state “selected from the group consisting of a, b and c.”
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the group trapezoidal groove" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahieu et al. (US 2021/0102665) (Mahieu) in view of Parker (US 2024/0027026) and Peise et al. (US 5248316) (Peise).
Mahieu discloses several embodiments and these embodiments will be combined.
Mahieu discloses a pressure cylinder (pressure vessel) made of thin-walled metal vessel (metal liner 2 as stated in last line of paragraph [45]) with a composite shell 3 and a neck (boss connector 6) with an external and/or internal thread (see internal thread shown in Fig. 6a-d and stated in paragraph [53], line 2), wherein the neck 6 is attached to the thin-walled vessel 2 with a hermetic seal and containing a flange {any embodiment that discloses a tapered groove (tapered grooves on the flange of the boss in Fig. 4, 5, 6c, 6d, 10a and 10b)] which is fitted circumferentially with a pair of tapered grooves (the tapered grooves are any grooves formed by and adjacent to a rib element 9 which has been sharpened to a sharp edge, see Fig. 4, 5, 6c, 6d, 10a and 10b) on its outer surface whose adjacent sides meet on an annular ridge (the rib element which has been sharpened to a sharp edge). Mahieu, in the embodiments of Fig. 4, 5, 6c, 6d, 10a and 10b, fails to disclose (1) stainless steel metal, (2) attaching the neck to the remainder of the vessel with specifically a circular welded seam and (3) locking teeth.
Parker teaches stainless steel metal materials in paragraph [40], line 2. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the material to be stainless steel to prevent corrosion.
Peise teaches dome 4 with welded-on neck 5, see Fig. 1 and column 2, line 8. The welded joint is circular or circumferentially extending. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the vessel to neck connection to be a circular welded seam to provide a strong seam which withstands stress without leaks.
Mahieu, in the embodiment of Fig. 7, teaches an annular ridge 9 on which there are locking teeth (locking teeth projecting radially outwardly and between the peripheral indentations 41) in the direction of the longitudinal axis of the neck and composite fibers are placed in inter-tooth spaces (“some fibers will fill in the indentations and act as stops against rotational movement of the boss connector” as stated in paragraph [71], lines 4-9). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to add the locking teeth to prevent rotation between the composite layer 3 and the neck 6.
Re claim 2, the inter-tooth spaces have a trapezoidal groove shape as shown in Fig. 7.
Conclusion
sjc/STEPHEN J CASTELLANO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733