DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 09/17/2026 has been entered.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosures of the prior-filed applications, Application Nos. 18/314,511 and 17/469,389, fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Claims 2-9 contain limitations (regarding the bag) not supported by the parent applications. Therefore, claims 2-9 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior application. Claims 1 and 10 are given an effective filing date of 09/08/2021 while claims 2-9 are given an effective filing date of 02/28/2025. See MPEP 211.05.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 09/17/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patent No. 12,252,861 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
The terminal disclaimer filed on 09/17/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patent No. 11,686,061 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trout (2023/0272589) in view of Turzillo (3,099,911).
With regard to claim 2, Trout discloses a method of moving a ground coupled member (abstract, “pipeline”), comprising the steps of: driving at least one casing (16) into a soil proximate to the ground coupled member (abstract); deploying a pivoting wand (22) from the casing about a pivoting axis, the pivoting wand having a plurality of cutting nozzles (26) that are coupled to a fluid conduit (20) having a longitudinal extent in the casing relative to a longitudinal axis (fig. 1), the cutting nozzles being fixed to the wand and at least one of the cutting nozzles being directed parallel to the pivoting axis of the pivoting wand (fig. 1), at least one cutting nozzle being directed perpendicular to a direction of at least one other cutting nozzle on the pivoting wand; pressurizing the fluid conduit to thereby send fluid through the cutting nozzle to soften the soil in a direction in which the wand deploys (abstract); rotating the pivoting wand (abstract); conducting the softened soil up through the casing to form a cavity in the soil at least partially beneath the ground coupled member (abstract), the cavity in the soil having a shape reflective of the movement of the pivoting wand in the rotating step; positioning a portion of a grouting system in the cavity (abstract); and lifting the ground coupled member using the grouting system (abstract).
Trout is silent regarding the positioning step includes inserting a bag into the cavity, the grouting system inserting grout into the bag in the cavity.
Turzillo discloses a ground coupled member lifting (col. 2, lines 34-42) method which includes inserting a bag (11) into the cavity (fig. 2), the grouting system inserting grout into the bag in the cavity (fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Trout to include a bag in order enhance the load bearing properties of the soil.
With regard to claim 3 Trout further discloses the driving, deploying, pressurizing, rotating and conducting steps are repeated along a length of the ground coupled member before the positioning and lifting steps are carried out (claim 3).
With regard to claim 4, Trout further discloses the positioning step includes the positioning of a plurality of grouting systems spaced along the length of the ground coupled member, before executing the lifting step (claim 4).
With regard to claim 5, Trout further discloses the lifting step is caried out with the plurality of grouting systems at the same time (claim 5).
With regard to claim 6, Trout, as modified, further discloses removing the pivoting wand from the casing (eg. Trout, figs. 5,8; Turzillo figs. 1-2); coupling a bag to a grout conduit (Turzillo; figs 2-3); inserting the bag and grout conduit (Turzillo 13) into the casing; and moving the bag to the cavity as part of the positioning step (Turzillo, figs. 2-3).
With regard to claim 7, Trout, as modified, further discloses a step of inserting grout into the bag by way of the grout conduit (Turzillo, figs. 2-3).
With regard to claim 8, Trout, as modified, further discloses a step of calculating a size of the cavity (Turzillo, col. 3, lines 15-27).
With regard to claim 9, Trout, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed and appears to suggest utilizing different sized bags (eg. Turzillo, figs. 3-18) fails to explicitly state a step of making the bag the size of the cavity plus the amount of desired soil displacement under the ground coupled member.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the size of the bag to achieve desired results based on the design conditions at hand and an artisan of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 10 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: see reasons for indication of allowable subject matter in the office action dated 06/17/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments that claim 2-9 are allowable, the examiner disagrees. Due to the different effective filing dates, claims 2-9 are not allowable for the reasons discussed above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN F FIORELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
BF
09/30/2026