DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 03 August 2026. Claims 1-18 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Amendments
In response to Applicant’s amendments dated 03 August 2026, Examiner maintains the previous claim objections of claim 3; withdraws the previous claim objections of claims 2, 5, and 11-12; withdraws the previous 35 USC 112(b) rejections; maintains the previous prior art rejections, except for claims 4 and 13; and maintains the previous claim objections for allowable subject matter in claims that depend on a rejected independent claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks, filed 03 August 2026, with respect to independent claims 1 and 10 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, see Remarks, pg. 9-10, that US-20130297115-A1 (“Doering”) “does not disclose the specific combination of a torque disturbance term that is calculated for an engine speed model and then used to determine a target engine speed profile…” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Doering discloses calculating “a torque disturbance term for an engine speed model, the torque disturbance term representing torque inaccuracies of the engine system and the disconnect clutch” (see Doering para. 0003-0006). For these reasons, examiner is unpersuaded and maintains the corresponding rejections.
Applicant argues, see Remarks, pg. 10-11, that Doering “does not separately estimate torque disturbances of each of three distinct components - the engine, the low voltage BSG (starter 96), and the disconnect clutch - as individual and distinct quantities.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Doering discloses estimating torque disturbances of the engine (see para. 0056-0057 and 0059), the low voltage BSG (see para. 0065-0071), and the disconnect clutch (see para. 0005). For these reasons, examiner is unpersuaded and maintains the corresponding rejections.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 03 August 2026, with respect to claims 4 and 13 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 102(a)(1) rejections of claim 4 and 13 have been withdrawn.
The remaining arguments are essentially the same as those addressed above and/or below and are unpersuasive for at least the same reasons. Therefore, examiner is unpersuaded and maintains the corresponding rejections.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 3 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 3: “the BSG” should be “the low voltage BSG”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 10-12, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US-20130297115-A1, hereinafter “Doering”.
Regarding claim 1, and analogous claim 10: Doering discloses An engine speed control system for an electrified vehicle (Doering, para. 0026: ”The present description is related to controlling a driveline of a hybrid vehicle. The hybrid vehicle may include an engine and electric machine as shown in FIGS. 1-3.”), the engine speed control system comprising:
Regarding claim 10: Doering also discloses A method of controlling a speed of an engine system of an electrified powertrain of an electrified vehicle (Doering, para. 0027: “The driveline may be operated according to the method of FIG. 4.”)…
an engine system of an electrified powertrain of the electrified vehicle, the engine system comprising an engine and a low voltage belt-driven starter-generator (BSG) (Doering, para. 0026: “The present description is related to controlling a driveline of a hybrid vehicle. The hybrid vehicle may include an engine and electric machine as shown in FIGS. 1-3. The engine may be operated with or without a driveline integrated starter/generator (e.g., an electric machine or motor that may be abbreviated DISG) during vehicle operation.”; para. 0028: “…starter 96 may selectively supply torque to crankshaft 40 via a belt [i.e., belt-driven starter-generator] or chain. Starter 96 may be described as a lower power starting device [i.e., a low voltage belt-driven starter-generator].”),
wherein the electrified powertrain further comprises an electric motor separated from the engine system by a disconnect clutch (Doering, FIG. 2: engine 10 and dual mass flywheel 232 [i.e., the engine system], driveline disconnect clutch 236 [i.e., a disconnect clutch], driveline integrated starter/generator (DISG) 240 [i.e., electric motor]; para. 0026: “The present description is related to controlling a driveline of a hybrid vehicle. The hybrid vehicle may include an engine and electric machine [i.e., an electric motor] as shown in FIGS. 1-3.”; para. 0036: “An engine output torque may be transmitted to an input side of dual mass flywheel 232. Engine speed as well as dual mass flywheel input side position and speed may be determined via engine position sensor 118. Dual mass flywheel 232 may include springs and separate masses (not shown) for dampening driveline torque disturbances. The output side of dual mass flywheel 232 [i.e., the engine system] is shown being mechanically coupled to the input side of driveline disconnect clutch 236 [i.e., a disconnect clutch]. Driveline disconnect clutch 236 may be electrically or hydraulically actuated. A position sensor 234 is positioned on the driveline disconnect clutch side of dual mass flywheel 232 to sense the output position and speed of the dual mass flywheel 232. In some examples, position sensor 234 may include a torque sensor. The downstream side of driveline disconnect clutch 236 is shown mechanically coupled to DISG [i.e., an electric motor] input shaft 237.”); and
a control system configured to, in response to a request for a mode transition of the electrified powertrain from an electric-only mode where the disconnect clutch is open to a hybrid mode where the disconnect clutch is closed (Doering, para. 0026: “The present description is related to controlling a driveline of a hybrid vehicle [i.e., a control system].”; para. 0053: “In another example, during regenerative braking, the driveline disconnect clutch may be open, the engine may be stopped, and the torque converter may be locked in order to increase the braking torque that can be absorbed in the DISG 240 [i.e., a mode transition of the electrified powertrain from an electric-only mode where the disconnect clutch is open]. After the engine is shutdown, the driveline disconnect clutch remains open until the beginning of the engine restart process. During the engine restart, the driveline disconnect clutch may be partially closed to crank the engine until the first combustion event in a cylinder [i.e., a hybrid mode where the disconnect clutch is closed]. Alternatively, the driveline disconnect clutch may be partially closed until the engine reaches a predetermined speed after combustion in a cylinder is initiated [i.e., a hybrid mode where the disconnect clutch is closed].”):
calculate a torque disturbance term for an engine speed model, the torque disturbance term representing torque inaccuracies of the engine system and the disconnect clutch (Doering, para. 0003: “However, closing the driveline disconnect clutch may cause torque disturbances [i.e., the torque disturbance term representing torque inaccuracies of the engine system and the disconnect clutch] in the driveline if the driveline disconnect clutch transfers more torque than is desired in a short period of time.”; para. 0005: “By adjusting an application force of a driveline disconnect clutch in response to a torque estimate based on engine operating conditions, it may be possible to reduce the possibility of transferring more torque than is desired over a short time interval. Consequently, the possibility of a driveline torque disturbance that is related to closing the driveline disconnect clutch may be reduced. Additionally, driveline disconnect clutch torque may be estimated [i.e., calculate a torque disturbance term for an engine speed model] without the cost of a torque sensor.”; para. 0006: “The present description may provide several advantages. Specifically, the approach may reduce driveline torque disturbances of a hybrid driveline [i.e., the torque disturbance term representing torque inaccuracies of the engine system and the disconnect clutch].”);
determine, using the engine speed model and the calculated torque disturbance term, a target engine speed profile for the engine system during the mode transition (Doering, para. 0005: “By adjusting an application force of a driveline disconnect clutch in response to a torque estimate based on engine operating conditions, it may be possible to reduce the possibility of transferring more torque than is desired over a short time interval. Consequently, the possibility of a driveline torque disturbance that is related to closing the driveline disconnect clutch may be reduced. Additionally, driveline disconnect clutch torque may be estimated [i.e., determine, using the engine speed model and the calculated torque disturbance term] without the cost of a torque sensor.”; para. 0073: “At 402, method 400 determines operating conditions. Operating conditions may include but are not limited to torque demand, engine speed, engine torque, DISG speed and torque, vehicle speed, ambient temperature and pressure, and battery state of charge [i.e., target engine speed profile for the engine system during the mode transition].”); and
control the engine system based on the target engine speed profile during the mode transition to prevent noise/vibration/harshness (NVH) caused by control windup and overshoot of the target engine speed profile (Doering, para. 0073: “At 402, method 400 determines operating conditions. Operating conditions may include but are not limited to torque demand, engine speed, engine torque, DISG speed and torque, vehicle speed, ambient temperature and pressure, and battery state of charge [i.e., control the engine system based on the target engine speed profile during the mode transition].”; para. 0062: “As described above herein with regard to the system of FIGS. 1-3, for example, torque disturbances may occur when the driveline disconnect clutch is actuated. Torque disturbances may lead to degraded drivability and NVH [i.e., to prevent noise/vibration/harshness (NVH) caused by control windup and overshoot of the target engine speed profile]. For example, torque disturbances (e.g., due to a clutch actuation error, or clutch stick-slip, or an error between the commanded and actual engine torque) at the driveline disconnect clutch output may be transferred to the transmission input and to the wheels as a function of the transmission clutch state (e.g., degree of engagement of the driveline disconnect clutch, such as based on pressure or slip ratio) and the transmission gear ratio.”; para. 0063: “The DISG may be commanded by a powertrain control module (e.g., controller 12) to operate in either a speed feedback mode or a torque mode. The controller provides the commanded speed or torque [i.e., control the engine system based on the target engine speed profile during the mode transition]. The controller or an inverter uses feedback of either the DISG speed sensor or the DISG current to produce the desired speed or torque.”).
Regarding claim 2, and analogous claim 11: Doering discloses The engine speed control system of claim 1,
wherein the control system is further configured to estimate a torque disturbance of each of the engine, the low voltage BSG, and the disconnect clutch (Doering, para. 0005: “By adjusting an application force of a driveline disconnect clutch in response to a torque estimate based on engine operating conditions, it may be possible to reduce the possibility of transferring more torque than is desired over a short time interval. Consequently, the possibility of a driveline torque disturbance that is related to closing the driveline disconnect clutch [i.e., a torque disturbance of each of the engine, the low voltage BSG, and the disconnect clutch] may be reduced. Additionally, driveline disconnect clutch torque may be estimated without the cost of a torque sensor.”).
Regarding claim 3, and analogous claim 12: Doering discloses The engine speed control system of claim 2,
wherein the control system is configured to calculate the torque disturbance term (
T
d
i
s
t
u
r
b
a
n
c
e
) as follows:
T
d
i
s
t
u
r
b
a
n
c
e
=
-
T
a
,
d
i
s
t
u
r
b
a
n
c
e
-
T
e
n
g
,
d
i
s
t
u
r
b
a
n
c
e
+
T
c
l
u
t
c
h
,
d
i
s
t
u
r
b
a
n
c
e
(1), where
T
a
,
d
i
s
t
u
r
b
a
n
c
e
,
T
e
n
g
,
d
i
s
t
u
r
b
a
n
c
e
, and
T
c
l
u
t
c
h
,
d
i
s
t
u
r
b
a
n
c
e
represent the estimated torque disturbance of each of the BSG, the engine, and the disconnect clutch, respectively (Doering, para. 0006: “The present description may provide several advantages. Specifically, the approach may reduce driveline torque disturbances of a hybrid driveline [i.e.,
T
d
i
s
t
u
r
b
a
n
c
e
].”; para. 0623: “The engine torque disturbances may be rejected in response to a change in driveline speed at the DISG. Since the DISG is in speed control mode and following a desired speed, DISG torque may be increased when the engine consumes driveline torque and decelerates the driveline. Additionally, if the engine accelerates and delivers torque to the driveline after starting, DISG torque may be decreased so that the net torque supplied to the driveline via the DISG and engine [i.e., DISG torque disturbance and engine torque disturbance can be combined and can be singularly represented as DISG torque disturbance;
-
T
a
,
d
i
s
t
u
r
b
a
n
c
e
-
T
e
n
g
,
d
i
s
t
u
r
b
a
n
c
e
] remains substantially constant (e.g., ±30 Nm). In this way, the driveline speed may be controlled in a closed loop fashion via adjusting DISG torque.”; para. 0065: “The torque signal from the torque sensor can then be used to operate the DISG in a closed loop torque feedback mode to cancel torque disturbances that appear at the driveline disconnect clutch output [i.e., DISG torque disturbances,
-
T
a
,
d
i
s
t
u
r
b
a
n
c
e
-
T
e
n
g
,
d
i
s
t
u
r
b
a
n
c
e
, cancel out torque disturbances from the disconnect clutch,
+
T
c
l
u
t
c
h
,
d
i
s
t
u
r
b
a
n
c
e
] (DISG input).”; para. 0070: “A change in the driveline disconnect clutch output torque may create a torque spike at the DISG input which may be transferred to the transmission input and/or wheels. Therefore, the DISG can be operated as a torque disturbance rejection device to reduce the engine restart torque increase. The torque at the DISG output is the sum of the DISG output torque and the driveline disconnect clutch output torque [i.e., the estimated torque disturbance of each of the BSG, the engine, and the disconnect clutch].”).
Regarding claim 8, and analogous claim 17: Doering discloses The engine speed control system of claim 1,
wherein a first side of the electric motor is connected to an axle of the electrified vehicle via a torque converter and a gearbox and a second side of the electric motor is connected to the disconnect clutch (Doering, FIG. 2: driveline disconnect clutch 236 [i.e., a second side of the electric motor is connected to the disconnect clutch], driveline integrated starter/generator 240 [i.e., the electric motor], torque converter 206 [i.e., via a torque converter], automatic transmission 208 [i.e., and a gearbox], wheels 216 [i.e., a first side of the electric motor is connected to an axle of the electrified vehicle]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doering, as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of US-20190296677-A1, hereinafter “Oka”.
Regarding claim 9, and analogous claim 18: Doering discloses The engine speed control system of claim 1, but does not appear to explicitly disclose the following:
wherein the low voltage BSG is a 12 volt powered BSG.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Oka teaches:
wherein the low voltage BSG is a 12 volt powered BSG (Oka, para. 0074: “Fourthly, an electric motor driving system of the so-called dual power supply-dual inverter system is applied to a pure electric car, such as an electric motor car, a fuel-cell car, etc., an electrically rich hybrid power train, such as a plug-in hybrid (PHV), a range extender, etc., and a light electric vehicle, such as an integrated starter generator (ISG) generating about 12 volt [i.e., low voltage BSG is a 12 volt powered BSG] to about 48 volt, etc.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success to modify the invention disclosed by Doering, with the concept of a low-voltage belt-driven starter-generator based on a 12V power source, taught by Oka, in order to reduce hybrid vehicle cost, since a 12V power source is already industry-standard in internal combustion engine vehicles and hybrid vehicles.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 4-7 and 13-16 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 4-5 and 13-14 may be found allowable after the above objections and rejections are remedied. As claims 6-7 and claims 15-16 depend on claims 4 and 13, respectively, they may similarly be found allowable after the above objections and rejections of claims 4 and 13 are remedied.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The combination of claim limitations:
“…calculate acceleration limits for the engine system based on the torque disturbance term, a predicted maximum engine torque, an estimated disconnect clutch torque, a BSG-to-engine ratio, dynamic and inertia values for the low voltage BSG and the engine, and engine speed…wherein the control system is further configured to calculate the acceleration limits (
d
N
i
,
m
i
n
p
r
o
f
i
l
e
/
d
t
and
d
N
i
,
m
a
x
p
r
o
f
i
l
e
/
d
t
) and as follows:
d
N
i
,
m
i
n
,
m
a
x
p
r
o
f
i
l
e
d
t
=
1
P
1
r
a
t
i
o
2
*
I
a
+
I
i
P
1
r
a
t
i
o
*
T
a
M
i
n
,
M
a
x
+
T
i
P
r
e
d
,
M
i
n
,
M
a
x
-
T
C
M
i
n
,
M
a
x
-
T
d
i
s
t
u
r
b
a
n
c
e
-
P
1
r
a
t
i
o
2
*
B
a
*
B
i
*
N
i
(2), where
T
i
P
r
e
d
is a predicted maximum engine torque,
T
c
l
u
t
c
h
is an estimated disconnect clutch torque,
P
1
r
a
t
i
o
represents a BSG-to-engine ratio, and
B
and
I
represent dynamic or inertia values for the engine and the BSG”
of dependent claims 4-5 and 13-14 are rendered novel and non-obvious over the prior art of record. Specifically, the prior art of record neither discloses nor teaches defining acceleration limits, based on a calculated torque disturbance term, representing torque inaccuracies of an engine system and a disconnect clutch in an electrified vehicle system with a low-voltage belt-driven starter-generator. Therefore, defining acceleration limits in this way for an electrified vehicle is novel.
The closest prior art is US-20130297115-A1 (“Doering”), which discloses an engine speed control system for an electrified vehicle an electrified powertrain with an engine, a low voltage belt-driven starter-generator (BSG), an electric motor and a disconnect clutch, and a control system that can transition the electrified powertrain from an electric-only mode where the disconnect clutch is open to a hybrid mode where the disconnect clutch is close. Additionally, Doering discloses a control system that calculates a torque disturbance term for an engine speed model, determines a target engine speed profile based on the engine speed model and the calculated torque disturbance term, and controls an engine system based on the target engine speed profile during mode transition to prevent noise/vibration/harshness (NVH) (see Doering, FIG. 2 and paragraphs: 0003-0006, 0026-0028, 0036, 0053, 0062-0063, and 0073). While Doering discloses calculating a torque disturbance term, representing torque inaccuracies of an engine system and a disconnect clutch, it does not disclose or suggest calculating acceleration limits based on the torque disturbance term, predicted maximum engine torque, an estimated disconnect clutch torque, a BSG-to-engine ratio, and inertia values for the engine and the BSG.
The closest prior art also includes US-20190296677-A1 (“Oka”), which teaches an electrified vehicle with a low voltage belt-driven starter-generator powered by a 12V power source (see Oka, para. 0074). Oka does not disclose calculating acceleration limits based on a torque disturbance term, a predicted maximum engine torque, an estimated disconnect clutch torque, a BSG-to-engine ratio, and inertia values for an engine and a BSG.
While Doering and Oka teach an engine speed control system that calculates a torque disturbance term for an engine speed model, determines a target engine speed profile based on the engine speed model and the calculated torque disturbance term, and controls an engine system based on the target engine speed profile during mode transition to prevent noise/vibration/harshness, neither teaches calculating acceleration limits based on the torque disturbance term, predicted maximum engine torque, an estimated disconnect clutch torque, a BSG-to-engine ratio, and inertia values for the engine and the BSG, nor would the combination of Doering and Oka teach this feature.
No other prior art has been found to remedy the deficiencies of Doering in view of Oka. Therefore claims 4-5 and 13-14 may be found allowable after the above rejections and objections of claims 4-5 and 13-14 are remedied. As claims 6-7 and claims 15-16 depend on claims 4 and 13, respectively, they may similarly be found allowable after the above objections and rejections of claims 4 and 13 are remedied.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Leah N Miller/Examiner, Art Unit 3663 /ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663