DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 5, the recitation in lines 1-2 “the value of the second predetermined angle is greater than the value of the first predetermined angle” is indefinite, because the first predetermined angle lacks antecedent basis, since claim 5 depends from claim 4, and claim 3 introduces “a first predetermined angle”. It is suggested by the examiner to change the dependency of claim 4 to depend on claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, and 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-9156311-B2 to (Ferrero et al. (“Ferrero“), and further in view of Beier US 483960-A to Beier (“Beier”).
Regarding Claim 1, Ferrero (Col 3 line 16-Col 5 line 58, Figs 1-5) discloses a radially inner annular element (3 “inner ring” arranged with 4 “two crowns of rolling bodies” having a first annular raceway, having an axially inner ”7 “spindle/hub” [i.e. spindle shaped] fitted with 8 “insert ring” that is axially blocked to 7, and having a second annular raceway disposed on inner ring, and has a flat front face, facing a same side as 9 “first axial front end” of 3, the first front end of 3 having 10 “collar” obtained by plastic deformation, upset against and protruding from insert ring”, Col 3 line 33 Col 4 lines 23-46, Annotated Fig 3 “AF3”) of a wheel hub (1: including: 3 “inner ring”, 8 “outer ring”, and 7 “spindle” with 10 collar ), the annular element comprising: an annular body (7 “spindle”) having an axis of symmetry (A) and (9 “first end”), a front toothing (5 “frontal toothing”) for transmitting torque (Col 1 lines 39-45) formed on (Fig 2-5) the first axial end and including a plurality of teeth (20 “tooth“ Fig 1, 5) arranged in a row (Fig 1) about the axis of symmetry (Fig 1) and extending radially between a first diameter (AF3) of the front toothing bounded by first, radially outer ends of the plurality of teeth and a second diameter (AF3) of the front toothing bounded by second, radially inner ends of the plurality of teeth, each one of the plurality of teeth being bounded axially by a ridge (21 Fig 5, along 13 AF3) including: a radially outer, first radial section (AF3) delimiting a first end of the tooth (AF3) and presenting in radial section a first curvilinear profile (between radially outer ends of 14 and 13, AF3), extending radially inwardly to a third diameter (AF3) of the front toothing, at which the tooth has a maximum height (H, AF3) measured in an axial direction; a radially inner, second radial section (AF3) delimiting a second end of the tooth (AF3) and presenting in radial section a second curvilinear profile (along 2nd radial section, AF3), extending radially outwardly to a fourth diameter (AF3) of the front toothing, at which the tooth has a minimum height (AF3) measured in an axial direction; and an intermediate, third radial section (13 “second conical surface”, AF3) bounded between the first and second radial sections and connecting (AF3) the first and second ends of the tooth; wherein the ridges of the plurality of teeth have a substantially straight radial profile (AF3) along the third section.
Ferrero does not disclose specific numerical values for the first, second, third and fourth diameters wherein the first section of the ridge of each one of the plurality of teeth is configured so that a ratio of the third diameter of the front toothing to the first diameter of the front toothing is greater than 0.9. However, Ferrero discloses a better torque transmission is achieved with the tooth profile having a larger contact surface without discontinuities (Ferrero: Col 1 lines 39-47, cites prior art: US 483960-A to Beier).
Beier ( Col 1 line 56-Col 2 line 8, Col 3 lines7 49-63, Col 4 lines 1 7, Fig 1a/b, 1c) discloses a wheel bearing/joint unit including a radially inner annular element (1 “hub” with 14 “collar”) and constant velocity joint (4 “joint outer part”) having mating teeth (15_1 on collar of hub and 15_2 on face spline of constant velocity joint) wherein “design adapts the diameter of teeth to the required torque capacity at which the design is independent of the bearing size” Col 1, lines 56-67, the design improves via “large-area, radially orientated teeth“ [i.e., adapts diameters along the toothing ridge, i.e. the first, second, third and fourth diameters]; Col 2 lines 1-8; it is known in the art that a design torque value can be equivalently described as a design force applied to the teeth at a “design diameter”, located at a point along the toothing ridge: i.e. between the first and fourth diameters) and having a recess (17 “broke out region” [i.e. an annular shallow recess], Col 4, lines 4-7, Fib 1c) in inner ring receiving collar; Col 1 lines 56-67, Col 2 lines 1-8, Col 3 lines 49-63, Col 4 lines 7, Figs 1a/b, 1c ). However, Beier does not disclose specific values for diameters, bearing size or torque capacity.
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the annular element and the wheel bearing/joint unit wherein design adapts diameters of teeth of the collar to a required torque capacity, and having a recess in inner ring receiving collar, in a single combined apparatus.
The specific dimensions for the first, second, third and fourth diameters of the teeth of the radially inner annular element, or ratios thereof of are not an inventive concept, but rather a design choice made from many possible dimensional choices, made as a part of routine design optimization giving proper consideration of use, design loads including design torque and, material and manufacturing requirements.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the radially inner annular element of Ferrero and the teaching of
and the teaching of the wheel bearing/joint unit wherein design adapts diameters of teeth of teeth of the collar to a required torque capacity, and having a recess in inner ring receiving collar, of Beier, and to have selected specific values for the first, second, third and fourth diameters of the teeth of the radially inner annular element (of Ferrero), as part of routine design optimization for a specific required torque capacity (like Beier), and to have modified the diameters of the toothing of Ferrero such that a ratio of the third diameter of the front toothing to the first diameter of the front toothing is greater than 0.9, and such that a ratio of the second diameter to the design diameter is less than 0.65, and such that a ratio of the fourth diameter to the design diameter is less than 0.7 with the motivation to ensure the toothing of the radially inner annular element of the wheel hub (of Ferrero) were designed to meet the design torque requirements described above, and to have modified the inner ring (of Ferrero) that it includes a recess in which the collar is received via press fit, to be partially housed in flat front face of the inner ring and projecting axially therefrom to cantilever outside the recess (like Beier) with the motivation to better retain the collar (Beier Col 4, lines 4-7), having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Ferrero and Beier discloses the annular element according to claim 1, wherein in a plane (through centerline of tooth 20, Ferrero Fig 5) perpendicular and transverse to the axis of symmetry, the third section of each ridge (21) of each one of the plurality of teeth is shaped as a circular arc (R1 to R2, Fig 5) connecting a pair of substantially flat opposite flanks (inclined sides extending from 22 to 21, Fig 5) of each tooth, arranged obliquely so as to converge radially with each other outward and toward the ridge (Col 5 lines 15-57, Fig 5).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Ferrero and Beier discloses the annular element according to claim 1, wherein the front toothing has a design diameter between the first diameter and the fourth diameter (as described in paragraph 11 of this document) and a ratio of the second diameter to the design diameter is less than 0.65 (as described in paragraph 9 of this document).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Ferrero and Beier discloses the annular element according to claim 6, wherein a ratio of the fourth diameter to the design diameter is less than 0.7 (as described in paragraph 9 of this document)..
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Ferrero and Beier discloses the annular element according to claim 6, wherein a value of the design diameter (described in paragraph 11 of this document) depends on a range of an amount of torque to be transmitted by the toothing and is substantially equal to a difference between the first diameter and a length of the third section of the ridge of each one of the plurality of teeth measured parallel to the straight profile of the third section of the ridge of each one of the plurality of teeth ( the range of torques described is an equivalent statement to a total design torque, applied to the toothing, a moment arm or design diameter located between the first diameter at a point along the third section, and equivalently disclosed as described in paragraph 9 of this document).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Ferrero and Beier discloses the annular element according to claim 1, wherein the annular element is part of an inner ring of a rolling bearing including a first annular raceway for rolling elements, an insert ring providing a second annular raceway for rolling elements being disposed on the inner ring, a first front end of the annular element including an annular collar upset against the insert ring so to lock the insert ring on the annular element and provided with the front toothing, the front toothing being formed by plastic deformation of the annular collar, a first end of the insert ring facing a same side as a first end of the annular element, the first end of the insert ring including a flat front face and an annular shallow recess is provided radially inwardly of the flat front face of the insert ring, the annular collar being partially housed radially within the annular shallow recess and projecting axially cantilevering outside of the annular shallow recess (italicized limits disclosed in paragraph 9 of this document).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Ferrero and Beier discloses a driven wheel hub connectable with a vehicle transmission to transmit from a constant velocity joint (hub connected to vehicle wheel described in a 11 of this document, and Ferrero, Col 1 lines 3-45) having a side face spline, the wheel hub comprising: a rolling bearing including an outer ring having a radially outer first flange (Ferrero 2 having outer flange, Col 3 17-19, Fig 2), a plurality of rolling elements, and an inner ring carried by or comprising an annular element according to claim 1 and an insert ring mounted on the annular element; wherein the annular element is spindle-shaped and has a second flange (Ferrero 6 “flange”, Col 3 lines 23-24, Fig 2) at a second front end (Ferrero left Fig 2) opposite the first front end, the second flange being configured to receive a vehicle wheel (Ferrero, Col 3 lines 23-24, Fig 2), the first front end including an annular collar providing the front toothing configured to couple with the side face spline of the constant velocity joint (italicized limits as described in paragraph 9 of this document).
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferrero and further in view of Beier, according to claim 1, above , and further in view of US-20170043617-A1 to Song (“Song”).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Ferrero and Beier discloses the annular element according to claim 1, Ferrero further discloses wherein the ridge (21 along 13 “second conical surface” Annotated Fig 1 “AF1”, 4, 5) of each one of the plurality of teeth is arranged to form a predetermined first angle (’first angel’ shown in “AF1”, between 13 “second conical surface” along 21 ridge and ‘B’, Col 5 lines 15-26, Fig 5) with a plane perpendicular and transverse to the axis of symmetry (labeled ‘B’ in AF1) and passing through a midpoint of the profile of the second radial section of the ridge (Figs AF1), but does not disclose the first angle having a value between four degrees and ten degrees.
Song discloses an annular element (118 “face spline”) of a wheel hub (110) wherein the ridge (118a “tooth”, I “ridge”, “top land” Para 24, 28, 92 98 Fig 3, 4) of each one of the plurality of teeth (118a) is arranged to form a predetermined first angle (C “tooth angle” of top land is between 0.5 and 5 degrees, Para 95, Fig 5 left side), with a plane (shown as radial centerline “called vertical axis”, Fig 5, Para 24, 95) perpendicular and transverse to the axis (apparent from comparison of Figs 2, 5) of symmetry and passing through a midpoint (Fig 5, Para 95) of the profile (land or ridge I) of the second radial section (Fig 5) of the ridge the first angle having a value between four degrees and ten degrees (range 0.5 to 5 degrees being included in range of 4 to 10 degrees, ).
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the annular element and the annular element a wheel hub wherein the ridge of each one of the plurality of teeth is arranged to form a predetermined first angle with a plane perpendicular and transverse to the axis of symmetry and passing through a midpoint of the profile of the second radial section of the ridge, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the radially inner annular element of the combination of Ferrero and Beier and the teaching of the annular element having the ridge of each one of the plurality of teeth arranged to form a predetermined first angle with a plane perpendicular and transverse to the axis of symmetry and passing through a midpoint of the profile of the second radial section of the ridge, wherein the first angle having a value between four degrees and ten degrees of Song, to modify the ridge of the first angle of the teeth (of the combination of Ferrero and Beier) such that the predetermined first angle with a plane perpendicular and transverse to the axis of symmetry each passing through a midpoint of the profile of the second radial section of the ridge, has a value between four degrees and ten degrees (like Song) with the with the motivation to improve smoother toothed connection that prevents noise and frictional losses (Song Para 3, 14, 15), having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Ferrero, Beier and Song discloses the annular element according to the front toothing includes a plurality of radial, channel-shaped depressions (at 22 “base“, Col 5 lines 15-26, Fig “AF1”, 4, 5), each one of the plurality of teeth being flanked by two of the plurality of depressions so as to separate each one of the plurality of teeth from each adjacent one of the plurality of teeth (apparent from Fig AF1, 3, 4, 5), each one of the plurality of depressions being arranged so as to form a second predetermined angle (‘second angle’ shown “AF1”, between 22 base and ‘B’, Col 5 lines 15-26, Fig 4, 5) with a plane (‘B’ shown “AF1”) perpendicular and transverse to the axis of symmetry and passing through a midpoint (AF1) of the profile of the second radial section of the ridge of each one of the plurality of teeth, but does not disclose the second predetermined angle having a value of between four degrees and ten degrees (for strikeout font see paragraph 8 of this document).
Song discloses an annular element (118 “face spline”) of a wheel hub (110) includes a plurality of radial, channel-shaped depressions (118b “tooth grooves” J “trough”, Para 93, 98, Fig 3, 4), each one of the plurality of teeth (118a) being flanked by two of the plurality of depressions (118b/J) so as to separate each one of the plurality of teeth from each adjacent one of the plurality of teeth (apparent from Fig 1, 5), each one of the plurality of depressions being arranged so as to form a predetermined second angle (C “tooth angle” of bottom land is between 0.5 and 5 degrees, by geometry Para 96, Fig 5 left side) with a plane (shown as radial centerline “called vertical axis”, Fig 5, Para 24, 96) perpendicular and transverse to the axis (apparent from comparison of Figs 2, 5) of symmetry and passing through a midpoint (Fig 5, Para 95) of the profile (land or ridge I) of the second radial section (Fig 5) of the ridge the second angle having a value between four degrees and ten degrees (range 0.5 to 5 degrees being included in range of 4 to 10 degrees).
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the annular element and the teaching of the annular element a wheel hub wherein the ridge of each one of the plurality of teeth is arranged to form a predetermined first angle with a plane perpendicular and transverse to the axis of symmetry and passing through a midpoint of the profile of the second radial section of the ridge, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the radially inner annular element of the combination of Ferrero and Beier and the teaching of annular element according to claim 1, wherein the front toothing includes a plurality of radial, channel-shaped depressions, each one of the plurality of teeth being flanked by two of the plurality of depressions so as to separate each one of the plurality of teeth from each adjacent one of the plurality of teeth, each one of the plurality of depressions being arranged so as to form a second predetermined angle with a plane perpendicular and transverse to the axis of symmetry and passing through a midpoint of the profile of the second radial section of the ridge of each one of the plurality of teeth, the second predetermined angle having a value of between four degrees and ten degrees of Song, to modify the second angle of the teeth (of the combination of Ferrero and Beier) such that the predetermined second angle with a plane perpendicular and transverse to the axis of symmetry each passing through a midpoint of the profile of the second radial section of the ridge, has a value between four degrees and ten degrees (like Song) with the with the motivation to improve smoother toothed connection that prevents noise and frictional losses (Song Para 3, 14, 15), having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Ferrero, Beier and Song discloses the annular element according to claim 4, Ferrero further discloses wherein the value of the second predetermined angle is greater than (AF1) the value of the first predetermined angle (angles as described in paragraphs 17 and 18 of this document).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon (see references listed on PTO-982), is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure each reference discloses one or more of: a wheel bearing/CV joint having toothings/face splines designed for torque transmission therein between, toothing ridge having angles between sides and ridge and between sides and base/depression.
Conclusion
/EVA L COMINO/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615