DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 1/2/2026 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 1, 4, 8, 10-12 and 16-17 have been amended, claims 18-20 have been newly added. Currently claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 18, the phrase “completely encases the section” should be changed to -- completely encases the end section --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shinji et al. (US 20030081423 A1, hereinafter “Shinji”, cited by the Applicant in IDS filed on 2/28/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Shinji teaches a lighting system (vehicle lamp 1, see figures 1-4) comprising:
an illuminant (light-emitting diodes 7, see fig 1) for configured to produce and emitting light along a main emission direction (x) (into the middle of bar-shaped light conductor 2);
a light guiding body (2), which is associated with the illuminant (7), wherein the light guiding body (2) has an end section (see short circular sections of 2) with a light entry surface (end of 2 facing 7), wherein light from the illuminant (7) can enter the light guiding body (2) via the light entry surface (end of 2 facing 7), wherein an outer surface (see long peripheral section of 2) of the light guiding body (2) delimiting the light guiding body (2) extends away from the light entry surface (end of 2 facing 7) along a longitudinal extension (see longitudinal extension of 2) of the light guiding body (2), wherein the light guiding body (2) has a light exit section (see long surface of 2), via which light that has entered exits the light guiding body (2); and
a holding device (light source unit 3, casing 6, cover 9, see fig 1), which is designed to hold the illuminant (7) and the light guiding body (2) relative to one another (as seen in fig 1) and seal the end section (see short circular sections of 2) and the illuminant (7), wherein the holding device (3, 6, 9) comprises a rear side (sides of 3, 6, 9 facing LED circuit board 8) and a front side (sides of 3, 6, 9 facing away from 8) facing away from the rear side (sides of 3, 6, 9 facing LED circuit board 8), wherein a first receiving section (internal section of 3, 6, 9 enclosing 8) is formed on the rear side (sides of 3, 6, 9 facing LED circuit board 8) on which the illuminant (7) is received, wherein a second receiving section (external front section of 3, 6, 9) is formed on the front side (sides of 3, 6, 9 facing away from 8) on which the light guiding body (2) is received, wherein the first receiving section (internal section of 3,6,9 enclosing 8) and the second receiving section (external front section of 3, 6, 9) are designed in such a way that light emitted by the illuminant (7) received on the first receiving section (internal section of 3, 6, 9 enclosing 8) is emitted onto the light entry surface (end of 2 facing 7) of the light guiding body (2) received on the second receiving section (external front section of 3, 6, 9);
wherein the second receiving section (external front section of 3, 6, 9) has a holding element (cover section 25, tubular bushing 31, see fig 2) with a shape corresponding to the light guiding body (2), wherein the holding element (25, 31) has a longitudinal extent (see extension of 25, 31 along the length of 2), which extends away from the front side (sides of 3, 6, 9 facing away from 8) of the holding device (3, 6, 9) and ends in an insertion opening (see opening formed by 25 and 31, better seen in fig 1) of the holding element (25, 31), wherein the longitudinal extent (see extension of 25, 31 along the length of 2) of the holding element (25, 31) is shorter than the longitudinal extension (see longitudinal extension of 2) of the light guiding body (2), wherein in order to receive the light guiding body (2) on the second receiving section (external front section of 3, 6, 9), the end section (see short circular sections of 2) is configured to be inserted into the insertion opening (see opening formed by 25 and 31, better seen in fig 1) of the holding element (25, 31) along an insertion direction oriented along the main emission direction (x), wherein the holding device (3, 6, 9) comprises a blocking means (25e) which blocks insertion of the light guiding element (2) along the insertion direction (from within 25 towards outside of 25) beyond an end position (see position of 2 with respect to 3,6, 9, as seen in fig 1), wherein, in an inserted state (as seen in fig 1), the holding element (25, 31) encases a section of the light guiding body (2) on the periphery at least in sections (peripheral section of 2, evident from figure 1), wherein a section (peripheral section of 2) of the outer surface (see long peripheral section of 2) of the light guiding body (2) encased by the holding element (25, 31) defines a holding section (see section of 2 clamped by 3, 6, 9) of the light guiding body (2) on which an inner surface (inner surface of 25, 31) of the holding element (25, 31) is opposite the outer surface (see long peripheral section of 2) of the light guiding body (2), wherein, in the inserted state (as seen in fig 1), the light exit section (see long surface of 2) is arranged on a side of the insertion opening (see opening formed by 25 and 31, better seen in fig 1) facing away from the illuminant (7), and
wherein the holding element (25, 31) is designed as a sealing element (see ¶ 61) , which tapers (see ¶ 36) along the longitudinal extent (see extension of 25, 31 along the length of 2) towards the insertion opening (see opening formed by 25 and 31, better seen in fig 1) in such a way that the inner surface (inner surface of 25, 31) of the holding element (25, 31) facing the holding section (see section of 2 clamped by 3, 6, 9) of the light guiding body (2) makes sealing contact (as seen in fig 1) with the outer surface (see long peripheral section of 2) of the holding section (see section of 2 clamped by 3, 6, 9), wherein the sealing contact (as seen in fig 1) prevents particles and/or fluids from penetrating (see ¶ 61) through the insertion opening (see opening formed by 25 and 31, better seen in fig 1) from the front side (sides of 3, 6, 9 facing away from 8) of the holding device (3, 6, 9) to the rear side (sides of 3, 6, 9 facing LED circuit board 8) of the holding device (3, 6, 9).
Regarding claim 2, Shinji teaches wherein the end section (see short circular sections of 2) of the light guiding body (2) is closer to the illuminant (7) than the holding section (see section of 2 clamped by 3, 6, 9) of the light guiding body (2).
Regarding claim 3, Shinji teaches wherein the first receiving section (internal section of 3, 6, 9 enclosing 8) and the second receiving section (external front section of 3, 6, 9) have a first material (opaque polypropylene, see ¶ 29) and the holding element (25, 31) has a second material (elastic material that includes, for example, a synthetic rubber of 31, see ¶ 41), wherein the second material (rubber) has a higher degree of elasticity than the first material (polypropylene), wherein the light guiding body (2) has a first diameter (see diameter of 2 inside 3, 6, 9) and the insertion opening (see opening formed by 25 and 31, better seen in fig 1) has a second diameter (diameter of 2 at outside 3, 6, 9) less than the first diameter (see diameter of 2 inside 3, 6, 9), wherein the difference in diameter and the degree of elasticity of the second material are selected (necessarily occurring for the light guiding body is clamped and held within 3, 6, 9) such that the end section (see short circular sections of 2) of the light guiding body (2) can be inserted into the insertion opening (see opening formed by 25 and 31, better seen in fig 1) and the insertion opening (see opening formed by 25 and 31, better seen in fig 1) expands due to the elasticity during insertion, and that after insertion, the inner surface (inner surface of 25, 31) of the holding element (25, 31) forms a sealing contact with the holding section (see section of 2 clamped by 3, 6, 9) of the light guiding body (2).
Regarding claim 4, Shinji teaches wherein a latching element (ridge 5, see fig 4) is formed on the end section (see short circular sections of 2) of the light guiding body (2), and a latching counter-element (distal end 25a, see fig 1) complementary to the latching element (5) is formed on the second receiving section (external front section of 3, 6, 9), wherein the latching element (5) and the latching counter-element (25a) are designed to form a latching connection (as seen in fig 1), wherein the latching connection engages when the light guiding body (2) reaches the end position within the holding element (25, 31), whereby movement of the light guiding body (2) out of the holding element (25, 31), along the main emission direction (x), is blocked, wherein the light entry surface (end of 2 facing 7) has a predetermined distance from the illuminant (7) in the end position (as shown in fig 1).
Regarding claim 5, Shinji teaches wherein the holding element (25, 31) interacts with the second receiving section (external front section of 3, 6, 9) in such a way that a movement of the light guiding body (2) in a plane oriented orthogonally to the longitudinal extension (see longitudinal extension of 2) of the light guiding body (2) is blocked (see fig 1).
Regarding claim 6, Shinji teaches wherein the holding element (25, 31) has a penetration section (opening of 25), wherein the holding device (3, 6, 9) has at least one penetration opening (notch portion 25d), which extends from the front side (sides of 3, 6, 9 facing away from 8) to the rear side (sides of 3, 6, 9 facing LED circuit board 8), wherein the penetration section (8a) passes through the penetration opening (8b) from the front side (sides of 3, 6, 9 facing away from 8) to the rear side (sides of 3, 6, 9 facing LED circuit board 8).
Regarding claim 7, Shinji teaches wherein the illuminant (7) has an illuminant carrier (8), on which at least one light source of the illuminant (7) is arranged,
wherein another sealing element (9) is formed on the rear side (sides of 3, 6, 9 facing LED circuit board 8) of the holding device (3, 6, 9), which is designed to form a sealing contact between the first receiving section (internal section of 3, 6, 9 enclosing 8) and the illuminant carrier (8).
Regarding claim 8, Shinji teaches wherein the holding element (25, 31), the penetration section (8a) and the other sealing element (9) formed on the rear side (sides of 3, 6, 9 facing LED circuit board 8) of the holding device (3, 6, 9) are formed integrally, wherein the blocking means (25e) is formed on the illuminant carrier (8).
Regarding claim 9, Shinji teaches wherein the holding element (25, 31) comprises an elastic sleeve (31) encasing the end section (see short circular sections of 2) and the holding section (see section of 2 clamped by 3, 6, 9) of the light guiding body (2).
Regarding claim 10, Shinji teaches wherein the holding device (3, 6, 9) has a first material (polycarbonate, see ¶ 23), and the holding element (25, 31) has a second material (rubber, see ¶ 41) different from the first material, wherein the second material (rubber) is more elastic than the first material (polycarbonate), wherein the holding element (25, 31) passes through the holding device (3, 6, 9), wherein the holding element (25, 31) and the holding device (3, 6, 9) form a 2-component part (evident from figure 2).
Regarding claim 11, Shinji teaches wherein the light guiding body (2) comprises a transparent light guide (transparent synthetic resin, see ¶ 18), wherein at least some light propagates within the light guiding body (2) by means of total reflection (repeating internal reflections, see ¶ 55) on an inner side of the outer surface (see long peripheral section of 2) through the light guiding body (2) along its longitudinal extent (see longitudinal extension of 2).
Regarding claim 12, Shinji teaches a lighting system (1) comprising:
an illuminant (7) for producing and emitting light along a main emission direction (x) (into the middle of 2);
a light guiding body (2), which is associated with the illuminant (7), wherein the light guiding body (2) has an end section (see short circular sections of 2) with a light entry surface (end of 2 facing 7), wherein light from the illuminant (7) can enter the light guiding body (2) via the light entry surface (end of 2 facing 7), wherein an outer surface (see long peripheral section of 2) of the light guiding body (2) delimiting the light guiding body (2) extends away from the light entry surface (end of 2 facing 7) along a longitudinal extension (see longitudinal extension of 2) of the light guiding body (2), wherein an outer surface (see long peripheral section of 2) of the light guiding body (2) has a light exit section (see long surface of 2), via which light that has entered exits the light guiding body (2); and
a holding device (3, 6, 9), which is designed to hold the illuminant (7) and the light guiding body (2) relative to one another and seal the end section (see short circular sections of 2) and the illuminant (7), wherein the holding device (3, 6, 9) comprises a rear side (sides of 3, 6, 9 facing LED circuit board 8) and a front side (sides of 3, 6, 9 facing away from 8) facing away from the rear side (sides of 3, 6, 9 facing LED circuit board 8), wherein a first receiving section (internal section of 3,6,9 enclosing 8) is formed on the rear side (sides of 3, 6, 9 facing LED circuit board 8) on which the illuminant (7) is received, wherein a second receiving section (external front section of 3, 6, 9) is formed on the front side (sides of 3, 6, 9 facing away from 8) on which the light guiding body (2) is received, wherein the first receiving section (internal section of 3,6,9 enclosing 8) and the second receiving section (external front section of 3, 6, 9) are designed in such a way that light emitted by the illuminant (7) received on the first receiving section (internal section of 3,6,9 enclosing 8) is emitted onto the light entry surface (end of 2 facing 7) of the light guiding body (2) received on the second receiving section (external front section of 3, 6, 9),
wherein the second receiving section (external front section of 3, 6, 9) has a holding element (25, 31) with a shape corresponding to the end section (see short circular sections of 2) of the light guiding body (2), wherein the holding element (25, 31) has a longitudinal extent (see extension of 25, 31 along the length of 2), which extends away from the front side (sides of 3, 6, 9 facing away from 8) of the holding device (3, 6, 9) and ends in an insertion opening (see opening formed by 25 and 31, better seen in fig 1) of the holding element (25, 31), wherein the longitudinal extent (see extension of 25, 31 along the length of 2) of the holding element (25, 31) is shorter than the longitudinal extension (see longitudinal extension of 2) of the light guiding body (2), wherein in order to receive the light guiding body (2) on the second receiving section (external front section of 3, 6, 9), the end section (see short circular sections of 2) is configured to be inserted into the insertion opening (see opening formed by 25 and 31, better seen in fig 1) of the holding element (25, 31) along an insertion direction oriented along the main emission direction (x), wherein the holding device (3, 6, 9) comprises a blocking means (25e) which blocks insertion of the light guiding element (2) along the insertion direction (from within 25 towards outside of 25) beyond an end position (see position of 2 with respect to 3,6, 9, as seen in fig 1), wherein, in an inserted state, the holding element (25, 31) encases a section of the light guiding body (2) on the periphery at least in sections (peripheral section of 2, evident from figure 1), wherein a section (peripheral section of 2) of the outer surface (see long peripheral section of 2) of the light guiding body (2) encased by the holding element (25, 31) defines a holding section (see section of 2 clamped by 3, 6, 9) of the light guiding body (2) on which an inner surface (inner surface of 25, 31) of the holding element (25, 31) is opposite the outer surface (see long peripheral section of 2) of the light guiding body (2), wherein, in the inserted state (as seen in fig 1), the light exit section (see long surface of 2) is arranged on a side of the insertion opening (see opening formed by 25 and 31, better seen in fig 1) facing away from the illuminant (7), and
wherein the holding device (3, 6, 9) has a sealing sleeve (25), which has a shape corresponding to the light guiding body (2) and the holding element (25, 31), wherein the sealing sleeve (25) encases the holding element (25, 31) and the light guiding body (2) protruding therefrom in a form-fitting manner on the periphery (as seen in fig 1), wherein the holding section (see section of 2 clamped by 3, 6, 9) and the insertion opening (see opening formed by 25 and 31, better seen in fig 1) are sealed by the encasement (as seen in fig 1).
Regarding claim 14, Shinji teaches a motor vehicle or vehicle light (vehicle lamp, see abstract) for a motor vehicle (as vehicle lamps are used in vehicles), comprising the lighting system (1) according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Shinji teaches a motor vehicle or vehicle light (vehicle lamp, see abstract) for a motor vehicle (as vehicle lamps are used in vehicles), comprising the lighting system (1) according to claim 12.
Regarding claim 16, Shinji teaches vehicle component (vehicle lamp, see abstract) for a motor vehicle (as vehicle lamps are components of a vehicle), the vehicle component comprising:
a lighting system (1) according to claim 1; and
a body element (foot step of a motor vehicle, see ¶ 16), in particular a radiator grill, or is designed as such,
wherein the holding device (3, 6, 9) is designed for attachment to the vehicle component (foot step) and the illuminant (7) with the light guiding body (2) are designed to illuminate (see ¶ 16) the vehicle component (foot step).
Regarding claim 17, Shinji teaches vehicle component (vehicle lamp, see abstract) for a motor vehicle (as vehicle lamps are components of a vehicle), the vehicle component comprising:
a lighting system (1) according to claim 1; and
a vehicle body element (foot step of a motor vehicle, see ¶ 16),
wherein the holding device (3, 6, 9) of the lighting system (1) is designed for attachment to the vehicle body element (foot step) and the illuminant (7) with the light guiding body (2) are designed to illuminate (see ¶ 16) the vehicle body element (foot step).
Regarding claim 18, Shinji teaches wherein: the shape (see shape of 25, 31) corresponds to the end section (see short circular sections of 2) of the light guiding body (2); the holding element (25, 31) completely encases the section (see short circular sections of 2) of the light guiding body (2) on the periphery in the inserted state (as seen in fig 4); or the light exit section is arranged outside of the holding element on the side of the insertion opening facing away from the illuminant in the inserted state.
Regarding claim 19, Shinji teaches wherein the latching element (5) comprises a latching lug (as 5 protrudes from 2 forming a lug) or a latching recess.
Regarding claim 20, Shinji teaches wherein the first material (polycarbonate, see ¶ 23) comprises a thermoplastic or thermoset polymer (as polycarbonate is a known thermoplastic element), and wherein the second material (rubber) comprises an elastomer (as rubber is a known elastomer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinji in view of Goto et al. (US 20150241626 A1, hereinafter “Goto”, cited by the Applicant in IDS filed on 2/28/2025).
Regarding claim 15, Shinji does not explicitly teach wherein the sealing sleeve (25) is designed as a substantially cylindrical shaped tube (as seen in fig 2).
Shinji does not explicitly teach wherein the substantially cylindrical shaped tube is the substantially cylindrical shrink tube.
Goto teaches a lighting system (light assembly 100, see fig 4) having an illuminant (light source 202) emitting light into a light guiding body (light pipe 222), the light guide body (222) is enclosed by a sealing sleeve (conforming seal 310, see fig 4).
wherein the substantially cylindrical shaped tube (310) is the substantially cylindrical shrink tube (see ¶ 40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the shrinking characteristics of the cylindrical tube of Goto into the teachings of Shinji, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to further improve the sealing function of the device, and thus better protect the components within.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 13, although Shinji teaches the lighting system, as described in claim 13 above, the prior art the prior art of the record fails to teach wherein the sealing sleeve is designed as a substantially cylindrical shrink tube.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 1/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in page 10 that Shinji does not teach the holding element. Stating that In Shinji, the light guide is retained by a rigid cover section (element 25) that includes stepped portions and engagement grooves for positioning the light guide, but this cover section is not disclosed to form a seal, nor does it taper to create sealing contact with the light guide. And, Shinji relies on a separate tubular bushing (31) formed of an elastic material to provide sealing between the light guide and the housing. Therefore, Shinji separates the holding function and the sealing function into two distinct components made of different materials, in contrast, claim 1 explicitly requires that the same holding element is "designed as a sealing element" and tapers along its longitudinal extent to form sealing contact with the holding section of the light guiding body.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Claim 1, and similarly claim 12, does not require the holding element should be one single element, component or body, or even the structure and function of the holding element must be provided by the same single body. Shinji holding element (25, 31) is certainly not a single body; however, it does not have to be. Shinji’s holding element only needs to provide the structure and function required.
The Applicant’s arguments in this regard are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in page 11, the Office interpretation of Shinji's cover section (25) and tubular bushing (31) together as corresponding to the claimed holding element is inconsistent with Shinji's disclosure. Stating that Shinji does not describe or suggest a single, integral element that both holds the light guide and provides sealing by tapering toward an insertion opening. Nor does Shinji disclose a sealing element that tapers along its longitudinal extent toward the front side of the device, as required by claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Shinji does not need to provide the required structure and function with a single element, because claim 1 does not recite the holding element is a single integral element as stated in the remarks above.
The Applicant’s arguments in this regard are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in page 11, Shinji fails to disclose encasement by a single holding element. Stating that "in the inserted state, the holding element (6) encases a section of the light guiding body (2) on the periphery," and that "that section of the outer surface (5b) of the light guiding body (2) encased by the holding element (6) defines a holding section (2b)."
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As discussed above, nowhere in the claim it is required the holding element is a single element.
The Applicant’s arguments in this regard are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in page 12, that claim 1 requires that "in the inserted state, the light exit section (5c) is arranged on a side of the insertion opening (6a) facing away from the illuminant (4).", and Shinji's structure places the sealing bushing rearward of the holding features and does not describe the claimed arrangement relative to an insertion opening defined by a tapering holding element. And that Shinji does not disclose this spatial relationship as a consequence of a tapered holding-and-sealing element.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Claim 1 and similarly claim 12, requires “a light exit section” however, the section in the light exit section has not been defined in terms of any known magnitude, such as dimensions, area or volume or even shape with respect to the light guiding body or even other elements in the claim. Therefore, the section in the light exit section has been broadly interpreted to mean any part, segment, portion or section of the light guiding body that allows the exit of light. According to fig 4, there is a light exit section of Shinji that is arranged on a side of the insertion opening as required by the claim. The light exit section in combination with a broadly claimed holding element, It is believed, Shinji continues to teach the claimed invention.
The Applicant’s arguments in this regard are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in page 12 that all dependent claims should be allowed due to their dependence from claim 1 or 12.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees for the reasons stated above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAR ROJAS CADIMA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875