DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 110547909 A (Zheng et al.) in view of US 20200306105 A1 (Peri et al.) and US 20150342797 A1 (Jackels).
Regarding Claim 1, Zheng teaches a quick-drying absorption core, characterized by comprising
an absorbent core body (comprised of components 1-5, as seen in Figs. 3-4);
the absorbent core body is longitudinally extended, defining a vertical direction, and laterally extended, defining a horizontal direction;
the absorbent core body comprises an upper nonwoven fabric layer (1), a fluffy nonwoven fabric layer (1), and a lower nonwoven fabric layer (5);
an upper surface and a lower surface of the fluffy nonwoven fabric layer are provided with super absorbent polymer (SAP) (super absorbent polymer (2) being disposed on both sides of (1), as seen in Fig. 2); part of the super absorbent polymer is embedded within the pores of the fluffy nonwoven fabric layer (as taught on p. 3 and considered to necessarily occur when SAP particles are applied to a fabric);
the upper nonwoven fabric layer is adhesively laminated onto an upper surface of the fluffy nonwoven fabric layer, while the lower nonwoven fabric layer is adhesively laminated onto a lower surface of the fluffy nonwoven fabric layer (p. 5-6 describing the method of making the device wherein an adhesive is applied to the fluffy nonwoven fabric layer, said adhesive retaining the layers in a single unit through the manufacturing process);
the lateral width of the lower nonwoven fabric layer is greater by 8mm to 25mm than the lateral width of the fluffy nonwoven fabric layer as the reference teaches the lower nonwoven fabric layer having a width 20 mm greater than the fluffy nonwoven fabric layer (p. 5), said layer being considered the equivalent width of lower nonwoven fabric layer as the lower layer wraps up around the other layers (Figs. 2-3).
the lateral sides of the lower nonwoven fabric layer are folded upward and inward, adhering to the upper surface of the upper nonwoven fabric layer, and securing to the upper nonwoven fabric layer and the fluffy nonwoven fabric layer (seen in Fig. 3);
Zheng teaches the lateral sides of the lower nonwoven fabric layer are folded upward and inward, adhering to the upper surface of the upper nonwoven fabric layer, and securing to the upper nonwoven fabric layer and the fluffy nonwoven fabric layer (as previously cited), but fails to teach said bonding occurring through heat pressing or ultrasonic welding.
Zheng additionally fails to teach the density of super absorbent polymer atop the fluffy nonwoven fabric layer diminishing in a stepwise manner from the longitudinal midpoint towards two ends of the fluffy nonwoven fabric layer; and
the longitudinal ends of the upper nonwoven fabric layer is securely joined to the fluffy nonwoven fabric layer and the lower nonwoven fabric layer through heat pressing or ultrasonic welding; and
two guidance channels are pressed into the longitudinal center of the absorbent core body, running in parallel along the vertical direction;
the upper nonwoven fabric layer, the fluffy nonwoven fabric layer, and the lower nonwoven fabric layer are jointed securely at longitudinal center of the guidance channels by heat pressing or ultrasonic welding secures;
the absorbent capacity of the absorbent core body follows a stepwise increment from one longitudinal end to the other, and then similarly decreases in a stepwise manner.
Peri teaches an absorbent article where wrapping flaps (corresponding to the claimed overlap) around the core is considered well-known in the art [0120], said article comprising an absorbent core (28) wherein the density of super absorbent polymer (66) [0117] atop the fluffy nonwoven fabric layer (60) diminishing in a stepwise manner from the longitudinal midpoint towards two ends of the fluffy nonwoven fabric layer by teaching varying the distribution in the longitudinal direction; and
two guidance channels are pressed into the longitudinal center of the absorbent core body, running in parallel along the vertical direction [0122].
Peri is considered to teach the upper nonwoven fabric layer, the fluffy nonwoven fabric layer, and the lower nonwoven fabric layer are jointed securely at longitudinal center of the guidance channels by heat pressing or ultrasonic welding secures, [0115, 0122] describing bonding of layers (and thereby the intermediate layers) with well-known bonding methods.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the core construction of Zheng with the distribution of Peri to allow for customizing the absorption profile [0121], as well as the channels of Peri as a commonly known feature which is well-known in the art [0114].
Jackels teaches an absorbent core (28) (Figs. 4-5) wherein the longitudinal ends ((280’) and (282’)) of the upper nonwoven fabric layer (16) is securely joined to the fluffy nonwoven fabric layer (60) and the lower nonwoven fabric layer (17) through heat pressing or ultrasonic welding [0038, 0062, 0063].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the undisclosed bonding of Zheng in view of Peri with the bonding taught by Jackels as a simple substitution of one known sealing/bonding means for another with a reasonable expectation of forming a sealed absorbent core MPEP 2143 I.
“[T]he absorbent capacity of the absorbent core body follows a stepwise increment from one longitudinal end to the other, and then similarly decreases in a stepwise manner” is a statement of intended use that does not further limit the claimed invention. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997) [MPEP 2114]. Since the structure of the prior art teaches all structural limitations of the claim, the same is considered capable of meeting the intended use limitations.
Regarding Claim 2, Zheng fails to teach the two guidance channels are arc-shaped and symmetrically distribute along the horizontal axis of the absorbent core body.
Jackels further teaches the two guidance channels ((26a) and (26b)) are arc-shaped (Fig. 2) and symmetrically distribute along the horizontal axis of the absorbent core body.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the channels of Claim 1 with the channels taught by Jackels to improve fluid distribution [Jackels 0047].
“[A]nd symmetrically distribute along the horizontal axis of the absorbent core body” is a statement of intended use that does not further limit the claimed invention. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997) [MPEP 2114]. Since the structure of the prior art teaches all structural limitations of the claim, the same is considered capable of meeting the intended use limitations.
Conclusion
/HANS KALIHER/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/JACQUELINE F STEPHENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781