DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/14/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, drawn to a method for steering a continuum robot, and Species A (Figs. 7-9) Operation method with reviewal and editing of previous path to create input signals for next navigation in the reply filed on 09/14/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “steering, during a second navigation, the continuum robot along a second path from the target location toward the location of the insertion” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al (US 20130303892 A1), herein referenced to as “Zhao”.
Claim 1
Zhao discloses: A method (see Figs. 1-10) for steering (see [0023], steering) a continuum robot 200 (see Fig. 2, [0032], robotic interventional system), the method comprising: receiving an identification of a first target location T6 (see Figs. 3A-3B, [0043] and [0048]-[0049], target surgical location); inserting the continuum robot (see [0030], move instruments which extend into an internal surgical site within the patient body); steering (see Fig. 3A, [0048], steered path of a tip of the robot), during a first navigation 300 (see Fig. 3A, [0048]-[0053]), the continuum robot the tip of 200 (see [0048]) along a first path T1, T2, T3, T4, T5, T6 (see Figs. 3A-3B, [0048]-[0053]) toward the first target location T6; storing 320 + 206 (see Figs. 2-3B, [0049]-[0050]), in a memory (see [0050], stored databases/data management system), location data position data (see Figs. 3A-3B, [0049]-[0050]) of a plurality of points T1, T2, T3, T4, T5, T6 along the first path (see Fig. 3A, the first path with all the points T1-T6); receiving a selection of at least two points (see Figs. 3A-4, [0048]-[0053], particularly [0052], sensors record set may be edited to remove records at specific times/positions) of the plurality of points T1, T2, T3, T4, T5, T6; editing location data (see [0052], edited) of the selected at least two points (see Figs. 3A-4, [0052]-[0053], removing points T2 through T4); and steering, during a second navigation (see Figs. 2-6, [0047]-[0053], minimizing backtracking, removing points T2 through T4), the continuum robot the tip of 200 along a second path T1, T5, T6 toward a second target location T6 (see [0052]-[0053]), wherein the second path T1, T5, T6 differs from the first path T1, T2, T3, T4, T5, T6 based on edit of the location data (see [0052]-[0053]) of the selected at least two points (see [0052]-[0053], the edited path includes only T1, T5, and T6, thus minimizing backtracking).
Claim 2
Zhao discloses: The method of claim 1, see 102 rejection above. Zhao further discloses: wherein the second path T1, T5, T6 (see Fig. 3A, is a shorter and more direct path than T1 through T6 which requires backtracking) is shorter in length than the first path T1, T2, T3, T4, T5, T6.
Claim 3
Zhao discloses: The method of claim 1, see 102 rejection above. Zhao further discloses: wherein the first target location T6 and the second target location T6 are within an anatomy 306 (see Fig. 3A, [0048]), and steering during each of the first navigation and the second navigation (see Figs. 2-6, [0047]-[0053], minimizing backtracking, removing points T2 through T4) is performed through the anatomy 306.
Claim 4
Zhao discloses: The method of claim 1, see 102 rejection above. Zhao further discloses: wherein a tracking sensor 220 (see Fig. 2, [0033], position and EM sensor system for determining position, orientation, speed, pose, and shape) is positioned adjacent to a distal end 218 (see Fig. 2, [0033]) of the continuum robot 200.
Claim 5
Zhao discloses: The method of claim 4, see 102 rejection above. Zhao further discloses: wherein, during the first navigation 300 (see Fig. 3A, [0048]-[0053])), the first location data position data (see Figs. 3A-3B, [0033]-[0034] and [0049]-[0050]) is obtained from the tracking sensor 220.
Claim 6
Zhao discloses: The method of claim 1, see 102 rejection above. Zhao further discloses: further comprising: displaying (see Figs. 3A-10, 0067], pathways are shown through a virtual view) the plurality of points T1, T2, T3, T4, T5, T6 as a virtual map 208 + (see Figs. 2-10, [0044] and [0054], virtual visualization system) of the first path (see Fig. 3, the first path with all the points T1-T6).
Claim 7
Zhao discloses: The method of claim 1, see 102 rejection above. Zhao further discloses: interpolating data of points located between the selected at least two points (see Figs. 3A-6, [0048]-[0053], particularly [0052], sensors record set may be edited to remove records at specific times/positions, in this case points T1 and T5 are selected, and interpolated removing T2-T4, thus shortening the path to T1 -> T5 -> T6 from T1 through T6) of the first path; and creating the second path T1 -> T5 -> T6 based on the interpolated data (see Figs. 3A-6).
Claim 8
Zhao discloses: The method of claim 1, see 102 rejection above. Zhao further discloses: wherein, for the plurality of points T1, T2, T3, T4, T5, T6 along the first path, the memory 320 + 206 (see Figs. 2-3B, [0049]-[0050], stored databases/data management system) is configured to store at least one of time stamp data (see Fig. 3B, T1-T6), bending angle data (see Fig. 3B, [0049], u1-u6), bending plane data (will not be examined due to being an optional claim limitation), and rail position data (will not be examined due to being an optional claim limitation) with the location data x1-x6/position data.
Claim 9
Zhao discloses: The method of claim 8, see 102 rejection above. Zhao further discloses: wherein the editing (see Figs. 3A-4, [0052]-[0053], removing points T2 through T4) of the first path (see Fig. 3A, the first path with all the points T1-T6) comprises editing stored time stamp data (see Figs. 3A-4, [0052]-[0053], removing points T2 through T4); for each of the at least two selected points (T2-T4 is removed, which means at least two of the selected points, T2 through T4 are each edited).
Claim 10
Zhao discloses: The method of claim 8, see 102 rejection above. Zhao further discloses: wherein the memory 320 + 206 (see Figs. 2-3B, [0049]-[0050], stored databases/data management system) is configured to store time stamp data T1-T6 (see Fig. 3B) for the plurality of points the points of T1-T6 (see Fig. 3A) along the first path (see Fig. 3A, the first path with all the points T1-T6) with the location data positional data x1-x6 (see Fig. 3B), the method further comprising: determining (see [0053], when the device does not move or moves very slowly), based on the stored time stamp data (see [0053]-[0054]), locations where the continuum robot 200 is stationary, and at least one of deleting and/or not storing cumulative location data (see [0053], eliminate a repeat sensor record from the subset if the tip of the instrument is stopped for an extended period of time) where the continuum robot 200 is determined to be stationary.
Claim 11
Zhao discloses: The method of claim 10, see 102 rejection above. Zhao further discloses: wherein the memory 320 + 206 (see Figs. 2-3B, [0049]-[0050], stored databases/data management system) is configured to store at least one of bending angle information (see Fig. 3B, [0049], u1-u6) and bending plane information (will not be examined due to being an optional claim limitation) for each point T1-T6 the plurality of points (see Fig. 3B), the method further comprising: creating the second path T1, T5, T6 by editing (see Figs. 3A-6, [0052-[0054]) the stored at least one of the bending angle information (see Figs. 3A-4, [0052]-[0053], removing points T2 through T4, which also removes u2-u4) and/or the bending plane information (will not be examined due to being an optional claim limitation) for each point of the selected at least two points of the first path (see Fig. 3A, the first path with all the points T1-T6).
Claim 12
Zhao discloses: A method (see Figs. 1-10) for steering (see [0023], steering) a continuum robot 200 (see Fig. 2, [0032], robotic interventional system) through an anatomy (see [0030], move instruments which extend into an internal surgical site within the patient body), the method comprising: inserting (see [0030], move instruments which extend into an internal surgical site within the patient body) the continuum robot 200 into the anatomy; steering (see Fig. 3A, [0048], steered path of a tip of the robot), during a first navigation 300 (see Fig. 3A, [0048]-[0053]), the continuum robot along a first path T1, T2, T3, T4, T5, T6 (see Figs. 3A-3B, [0048]-[0053]) toward a target location T6; at least partially withdrawing (see [0048], tip has reversed directions and is being withdrawn) the continuum robot 200 from the anatomy (see Fig. 3A, [0048], withdrawn from the branch 306); creating a second path T1, T5, T6 (see Figs. 2-6, [0047]-[0053], minimizing backtracking, removing points T2 through T4) using information of the first path T1, T2, T3, T4, T5, T6; advancing the continuum robot 200 into the anatomy; and steering, during a second navigation (see Figs. 2-6, [0047]-[0053], minimizing backtracking, removing points T2 through T4), the continuum robot 200 along the second path T1, T5, T6 toward the target location T6, wherein the second path T1, T5, T6 differs from the first path T1, T2, T3, T4, T5, T6 based on at least one edit (see [0052]-[0053], the edited path includes only T1, T5, and T6, thus minimizing backtracking) of at least two points of the first path T1, T2, T3, T4, T5, T6.
Claim 13
Zhao discloses: A method (see Figs. 1-10) for steering (see [0023], steering) a continuum robot 200 (see Fig. 2, [0032], robotic interventional system), the method comprising: inserting the continuum robot (see [0030], move instruments which extend into an internal surgical site within the patient body); steering(see Fig. 3A, [0048], steered path of a tip of the robot), during a first navigation 300 (see Fig. 3A, [0048]-[0053]), the continuum robot the tip of 200 (see [0048]) along a first path T1, T2, T3, T4, T5, T6 (see Figs. 3A-3B, [0048]-[0053]) toward a target location T6; storing 320 + 206 (see Figs. 2-3B, [0049]-[0050]), in a memory (see [0050], stored databases/data management system), location data position data (see Figs. 3A-3B, [0049]-[0050]) of a plurality of points T1, T2, T3, T4, T5, T6 along the first path (see Fig. 3A, the first path with all the points T1-T6); displaying (see Figs. 3A-10, [0067], pathways are shown through a virtual view), to a user (see [0067], to a clinician), the plurality of points T1, T2, T3, T4, T5, T6 along the first path (see Fig. 3A, the first path with all the points T1-T6); receiving a selection of at least two points (see Figs. 3A-4, [0048]-[0053], particularly [0052], sensors record set may be edited to remove records at specific times/positions) among the displayed plurality of points T1, T2, T3, T4, T5, T6; editing location data x1-x6 (see [0052], edited by removal of points T2-T4) of the selected at least two points (see Figs. 3A-4, [0052]-[0053], removing points T2 through T4); and steering, during a second navigation (see Figs. 2-6, [0047]-[0053], minimizing backtracking, removing points T2 through T4), the continuum robot the tip of 200 along a second path T1, T5, T6 from the target location T6 toward the location of the insertion T1 (during removal, the robot travels from T6 to T1), wherein the second path T1, T5, T6 differs from the first path T1, T2, T3, T4, T5, T6 based on edit of the location data (see [0052]-[0053]) of the selected at least two points (see [0052]-[0053], the edited path includes only T1, T5, and T6, thus minimizing backtracking).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lin et al (US 20230202040 A1) teaches a method of controlling a continuum robot using sensor data
RAIHAN R. KHANDKER
Examiner
Art Unit 3771
/RAIHAN R KHANDKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3771