DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-12 of U.S. Application No. 19066475 filed on 02/28/2025 are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/28/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The limitation in the last line of claim 1, “…wherein a ferrite magnet is arranged on the exposed surface of the rotor.” is repeated and should be deleted.
The limitation in the last line of claim 2 in lines 4-5, “…and and...” is repeated and should be deleted.
In claim 7, the limitations, “…brass that is electrically conducted,…” should read, “…brass that is electrically conductive,…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 recites, “…a bearing housing extending from an inner circumferential portion of the motor housing and formed to support a bearing at a central portion thereof; at least one bearing installed inside the bearing housing;…:
It is not clear if the underlined above refers to the same bearing or a different bearing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2012/0183421; Hereinafter, “Kim”).
Regarding claim 1: Kim discloses a disk drive device (the motor in fig. 1-3; the Examiner interpret the word “disk” as a shape that has its axial length, less than its radial length, which is seen in fig. 3) for a friction generator (intended use limitations that has no patentable weight), the disk derive device comprising:
a motor housing (29, 31-32) having an annular trench-type concave groove (the space between 31 and 32) at a lower side thereof; a motor cover (31) coupled to a lower portion of the motor housing to configure the inside of the trench-type concave groove to a sealing state (by lower case 31; para [0088] lines 1-6);
a stator (26) arranged in the sealed trench-type concave groove (between 31 and 32) to generate a rotating magnetic field (as any motor stator) to rotate a rotor (25) ; and the rotor (25) rotatably arranged to have an air gap (the radial gap between 25 and 26) inside the stator (26) and having a sealing structure (fig. 3) by a rotor support body (26a ) except for the exposed surface (of magnets 22a) facing the stator (26),
wherein a ferrite magnet (22a; para [0130]) is arranged on the exposed surface of the rotor (fig. 3),
wherein a ferrite magnet is arranged on the exposed surface of the rotor (repeated limitation).
Regarding claim 2/1: Kim discloses the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses a bearing housing (29f) extending from an inner circumferential portion of the motor housing (29) and formed to support a bearing (35b) at a central portion thereof; at least one bearing (35b) installed inside the bearing housing (29f); and and (repeated word) a hollow shaft accommodating portion (the shaft accommodation portion is hollow as it receives the shaft) extending from the rotor support (21) to the central portion (the central portion of the housing portion 29) and rotatably supported by the bearing (35b) to accommodate the rotary shaft (27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Schmider et al. (US 5176509; Hereinafter, “Schmider”).
Regarding claim 6/2/1: Kim discloses the limitations of claim 1 but does not specifically disclose that the bearing comprises a waterproof ball bearing or a plastic bearing.
Schmider discloses bearing (12) comprises a waterproof ball bearing or a plastic bearing (claim 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have formed the bearing of Kim to comprise a waterproof ball bearing or a plastic bearing as disclosed by Schmider, since plastic bearings are known for being lower in cost, requires no maintenance, and high on rust and chemical resistance.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Jang et al. (US 2013/0009513; Hereinafter, “Jang”).
Regarding claim 11/1: Kim discloses the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses the stator (26) comprises: a stator core (23) including a plurality of teeth each having a T-shaped front end portion (para [0036] and fig. 7-8) extending in an axial direction and a back yoke (23b) interconnected to the plurality of teeth (23a) to form a magnetic circuit; upper and lower insulators (top and bottom insulators 23c; para [0096]) surrounding a coil winding region (the neck between 23a and 23b; fig. 8) of each of the plurality of teeth (23a) by half in upper and lower portions thereof; and a coil (24) wound around an outer circumferential surface (covering the neck between 23a, and 23b) of each of the upper and lower insulators (23c),
Kim does not specifically show that each of the upper and lower insulators comprises: an annular base frame having a predetermined width; and a plurality of teeth accommodating portions protruding from the base frame and receiving the winding regions of the teeth from the upper portion and the lower portion by half.
Jang teaches forming each of the upper and lower insulators (150; fig. 1) to comprises: an annular base frame (corresponding to core base 5) having a predetermined width (fig. 1); and a plurality of teeth accommodating portions (152) protruding from the base frame and receiving the winding regions (coil 200; fig. 2) of the teeth from the upper portion and the lower portion by half (fig. 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have formed the insulators of Kim’s motor where each of the upper and lower insulators comprises: an annular base frame having a predetermined width; and a plurality of teeth accommodating portions protruding from the base frame and receiving the winding regions of the teeth from the upper portion and the lower portion by half as taught by Jang to reduce the number of parts, thus to ease the manufacturing and installation of the motor.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Schmider et al. (US 4755699; Hereinafter, “Schmider ‘99”).
Regarding claim 12/11/1: Kim, in view of Jang discloses the limitations of claim 11 and Kim further discloses a printed circuit board (36) which is adjacent to the stator (26).
Kim in view of Jang does not disclose a Hall sensor mounted close to a portion where a magnet of the rotor is located, and end lines of the U, V, and W three-phase coils of the stator which are commonly connected to form a Y-connection neutral point (COM).
Schmider ‘99 discloses a Hall sensor (13) mounted close to a portion (outer edge 12) where a magnet of the rotor (9) is located, and end lines of the U, V, and W three-phase coils (941-943; fig. 9) of the stator which are commonly connected to form a Y-connection neutral point (950)(col. 5, lines 50-55).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have formed the stator of Kim in view of Jang where a Hall sensor mounted close to a portion where a magnet of the rotor is located, and end lines of the U, V, and W three-phase coils of the stator which are commonly connected to form a Y-connection neutral point (COM) as taught by Schmider ‘99 to be able to detect the position of the rotor to increase the precision of the motor control.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 7-10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AHMED ELNAKIB/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2834