DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-11 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8, directed to a compound and a composition, and the species:
in the reply filed on 08/07/2026 is acknowledged. The election was made without traverse.
The elected species is found free of prior art and the search is extended to other species.
The requirement is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 9-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be amended in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(b) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. Any amendment of inventorship must be accompanied by a request under 37 CFR 1.48(b) and by the fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claims 1-8 are under current examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20240162487 A1).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
Lee teaches a compound and a composition comprising the same for its use as an electrolyte or for making a thin film:
,when in the cited prior art Y =halogen, alkyl, alkenyl, alkynyl, R1 =halogen; n=0-4, the cited prior art genus encompasses genus of the instant claims (entire application, especially paragraphs 0015-0022, 0060-0062, 0076-0078, 0085, 0092-0098, 0192, 0195, 0204).
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
Lee teaches a compound and a composition comprising the same for its use as an electrolyte or for making a thin film but fails to teach example of species encompassed by the genus of the instant claims.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art
With regards to the above difference, Although Lee fails to teach example of species encompassed by the genus of the instant claims, Lee teaches a compound genus, which encompasses compound genus of the instant claims and further teaches its use as an electrolyte or for making a thin film. Thus, based on the guidance provided by the cited prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success that a compound may be selected from the genus taught by the cited prior art for its use in making thin film. Thus, the cited prior art meets limitation of the instant claims.
Based on the above established facts, it appears that teachings of above cited prior art read applicants’ compound and composition.
Therefore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled person in the art could have modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness
To establish a prima facie case of obviousness, three basic criteria must be met: (1) the prior art reference must teach or suggest all the claim limitations; (2) there must be some suggestion or motivation, either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the reference or to combine reference teachings; and (3) there must be a reasonable expectation of success; and (MPEP § 2143).
In this case, Lee teaches a compound and a composition comprising the same for its use as an electrolyte or for making a thin film.
In KSR International Vo. V. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d (U.S. 2007), the Supreme Court particularly emphasized “the need for caution in granting a patent based on a combination of elements found in the prior art,” (Id. At 1395) and discussed circumstances in which a patent might be determined to be obvious. Importantly, the Supreme Court reaffirmed principles based on its precedent that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” (Id. At 1395). See MPEP 2143 - Examples of Basic Requirements of a Prima Facie Case of Obviousness [R-9].
In this case at least prong (E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success would apply.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103.”KSR, 550 U.S. at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. If any of these findings cannot be made, then this rationale cannot be used to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Further, there is a reasonable expectation of success that a compound may be selected from the genus taught by the cited prior art for its use in making thin film and can be made by teachings of the above cited prior art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by taking the advantage of the teaching of the above cited references and to make the instantly claimed compound with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject matter
Claim 7 presents allowable subject matter over the cited prior art.
Objection
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PANCHAM BAKSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623