DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
2. Claim 33 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2 recites “ES” which is an abbreviation that needs to be properly defined in the claim at the first instance it is utilized. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1 – 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorelik et al. (US Publication Number 2005/0055369, hereinafter “Gorelik”) in view of Vidyarthi et al. (US Publication Number 2009/0063956, hereinafter “Vidyarthi”).
5. As per claim 1, Gorelik teaches method for enabling different programs to interoperate in an automatic or substantially automatic manner, (automatic mapping process, figure 1) comprising: providing a discovery manager (discover process 100, figure 1 executed on computer system 800, figure 8, paragraph 91); receiving, by the discovery manager, first program data meanings and corresponding data locations for a first program (figure 1, source column input and value processing of 100, the process receives the source data source columns and location as inputs to mapping process, paragraphs 91 – 95); searching, by the discovery manager, for the first program data meanings for data stored in the first program (equality based binding condition discovery, paragraphs 266 – 269, figures 4 and construct binding condition process 500, figure 5, paragraphs 290 and 291) to determine if the first program data meanings are substantially equivalent to predetermined data meanings of an exchange standard (binding condition validation process, figure 2, validate equivalence between source and target, binding condition discovered between portions of data in the first and second data source, paragraphs 261 – 269); determining if data from the received data locations of the first program are substantially consistent with corresponding data of the exchange standard (figures 1 and 3, complete mapping discover process using correlation scores vs correlation threshold paragraphs 102, 103, 348, 349); creating a two-way functional data transform if substantial equivalency or substantial consistency is determined (figure 6, positional transformation discovery process with transformation rules applied where value match score vs transformation match threshold to deduce the transformation function, paragraphs 102 – 104).
Gorelik does not appear to explicitly disclose providing the two-way functional data transform for a first bidirectional exchange standard adapter having first rules comprising one or more first functions or actions executing a first process or method to enable interoperability between the first program and a second program having a second bidirectional exchange standard adapter having second rules comprising one or more second functions or actions executing a second process or method.
However, Vidyarthi discloses providing the two-way functional data transform for a first bidirectional exchange standard adapter having first rules comprising one or more first functions or actions executing a first process or method (connector module 172, figure 1 using rules of JDKAPU to execute BIDI wrappers 312, 316, the module carrying the two-way read/write transform, paragraphs 26, 32, 36, and 37) to enable interoperability between the first program and a second program having a second bidirectional exchange standard adapter having second rules comprising one or more second functions or actions executing a second process or method (server 102, figure 1, exchanges the transformed Service Data Object with backend unit 190, figure 1 where the adapter integrates application, paragraphs 26, 27, 29, 31, and 37).
Gorelik and Vidyarthi are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor managing interoperability of different systems automatically.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Gorelik and Vidyarthi before him or her, to modify the discovery of Gorelik to include the functions of Vidyarthi because it would enhance interoperability of bi-directional transform adaptation.
One of ordinary skill would be motivated to make such modification in order to enhance efficiency in an integration system (paragraphs 6 – 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Vidyarthi with Gorelik to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claims.
6. As per claim 13, Gorelik teaches method for enabling different programs to interoperate in an automatic or substantially automatic manner (automatic mapping process, figure 1), comprising: providing a discovery manager (discover process 100, figure 1 executed on computer system 800, figure 8, paragraph 91); receiving program data meanings and corresponding data locations for a first program (figure 1, source column input and value processing of 100, the process receives the source data source columns and location as inputs to mapping process, paragraphs 91 – 95); determining if the program data meanings are substantially equivalent to predetermined data meanings of an exchange standard (figures 1 and 3, complete mapping discover process using correlation scores vs correlation threshold paragraphs 102, 103, 348, 349); determining if data from the received data locations of the first program are substantially consistent with corresponding data of the exchange standard by determining if a program data meaning equates to an exchange standard data meaning (binding condition validation process, figure 2, validate equivalence between source and target, binding condition discovered between portions of data in the first and second data source, paragraphs 261 – 269); creating a two-way functional data transform if substantial equivalency or substantial consistency is determined (figure 6, positional transformation discovery process with transformation rules applied where value match score vs transformation match threshold to deduce the transformation function, paragraphs 102 – 104).
Gorelik does not appear to explicitly disclose providing the two-way functional data transform for a first bidirectional exchange standard adapter to enable interoperability between the first program and a second program having a second bidirectional exchange standard adapter, the first bidirectional exchange standard adapter including one or more first hyper objects each having first rules comprising one or more first functions or actions executing a first process or method, and the second bidirectional exchange standard adapter including one or more second hyper objects each having second rules comprising one or more second functions or actions executing a second process or method.
However, Vidyarthi discloses providing the two-way functional data transform for a first bidirectional exchange standard adapter (connector module 172, figure 1 using rules of JDKAPU to execute BIDI wrappers 312, 316, the module carrying the two-way read/write transform, paragraphs 26, 32, 36, and 37) to enable interoperability between the first program and a second program having a second bidirectional exchange standard adapter (server 102, figure 1, exchanges the transformed Service Data Object with backend unit 190, figure 1 where the adapter integrates application, paragraphs 26, 27, 29, 31, and 37), the first bidirectional exchange standard adapter including one or more first hyper objects each having first rules comprising one or more first functions or actions executing a first process or method (figure 2 cursors and accessors 310/314, figure 3 generated from metadata rule bearing objects that execute access and transform operations, paragraphs 29 – 39), and the second bidirectional exchange standard adapter including one or more second hyper objects each having second rules comprising one or more second functions or actions executing a second process or method (connector module 172, figure 1 instance adapter with own cursors and accessors for the second application adapter instantiated per application technology, paragraphs 26, 38, and 39).
Gorelik and Vidyarthi are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor managing interoperability of different systems automatically.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Gorelik and Vidyarthi before him or her, to modify the discovery of Gorelik to include the functions of Vidyarthi because it would enhance interoperability of bi-directional transform adaptation.
One of ordinary skill would be motivated to make such modification in order to enhance efficiency in an integration system (paragraphs 6 – 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Vidyarthi with Gorelik to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claims.
7. As per claims 24 and 28, Gorelik teaches a system and adapter for facilitating interoperability between first and second different programs in an automatic or substantially automatic manner (automatic mapping process, figure 1), comprising: a first adapter having first rules (process 100, figure 1 executed on computer system 800, figure 8, paragraph 91, the adapter carrying the mapping, with transformation rules) comprising defining a first data functional transform and a first communication transfer transform (figure 6, positional transformation discovery process with transformation rules applied where value match score vs transformation match threshold to deduce the transformation function, paragraphs 102 – 104), the first data functional transform being a first conversion function of data structures and data formats between a first program and an exchange standard (figure 6, transformation function converting source program column structures formats to target exchange standard structures formats, paragraphs 103 and 115); a second adapter having second rules comprising defining a second data functional transform (same mechanism applied to second data source, figure 6, positional transformation discovery process with transformation rules applied where value match score vs transformation match threshold to deduce the transformation function, paragraphs 102 – 104, with teachings of plurality of data sources seen in paragraphs 15, 39, 51, 70, 72, and 86) and a second communication transfer transform, the second data functional transform being a conversion function of data structures in data formats between a second program and the exchange standard (figure 6, conversion function for the second program source the exchange standard, figures 1 and 3, read and write mapping for the second source, paragraphs 117 to 120); and a common communication link coupled between the first adapter and the second adapter (figure 1, discover mapping process couples the first and second data sources through a common mapping) and conveying exchange standard information bi-directionally therebetween (figure 2, binding condition validation process 200, supports two way source and target correlations conveyed between sources, paragraph 96).
Gorelik does not appear to explicitly disclose a first bidirectional exchange standard adapter including one or more first hyper objects each having first rules comprising one or more first functions or actions executing a first process or method, the first bidirectional exchange standard adapter further including a first communication transfer transform standard for data reading and data writing for the first program; a second bidirectional exchange standard adapter including one or more second hyper objects each having second rules comprising one or more second functions or actions executing a second process or method, the second bi-directional exchange adapter including a second communication transfer transform standard for data reading and data writing for the second program; and a common communication link coupled between the first bidirectional exchange standard adapter and the second bidirectional exchange standard adapter and conveying exchange standard information bi-directionally therebetween.
However, Vidyarthi discloses a first bidirectional exchange standard adapter (connector module 172, figure 1 serves a bidirectional data exchange adapter for the automated system 100) including one or more first hyper objects each having first rules comprising one or more first functions or actions executing a first process or method (figure 2, cursors and accessors also seen in figure 3 input 310 and output 314 generated from metadata as rule bearing objects that execute access and transform operations, paragraphs 37 and 38), the first bidirectional exchange standard adapter further including a first communication transfer transform standard for data reading and data writing for the first program (first rules figure 3, BIDI wrappers 312/316 define the format transform, with conversion between the application program bidirectional format at the destination server exchange standard, with input 314 and output 314 figure 2 provide the read and write access transform standard, paragraphs 32 and 36); a second bidirectional exchange standard adapter including one or more second hyper objects each having second rules comprising one or more second functions or actions executing a second process or method (figure 1, 172 second instance adapter with own cursors and accessors for the second application, paragraphs 26 - 30), the second bi-directional exchange adapter including a second communication transfer transform standard for data reading and data writing for the second program (figures 3a…d second set of BIDI wrappers and accessors with conversion between the second application format and the server exchanged standard format, paragraphs 31 – 36); and a common communication link coupled between the first bidirectional exchange standard adapter (seen in primary reference but also supported in figure 1 server 102 couples the adapters exchanging the service data object) and the second bidirectional exchange standard adapter and conveying exchange standard information bi-directionally therebetween (seen in primary reference but also supported in figure 1 SDO is exchanged in both directions input and output operations between server 102 and backend unit 190 via the adapters, paragraphs 26, 27, and 36).
Gorelik and Vidyarthi are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor managing interoperability of different systems automatically.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Gorelik and Vidyarthi before him or her, to modify the discovery of Gorelik to include the functions of Vidyarthi because it would enhance interoperability of bi-directional transform adaptation.
One of ordinary skill would be motivated to make such modification in order to enhance efficiency in an integration system (paragraphs 6 – 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Vidyarthi with Gorelik to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claims.
8. Gorelik modified by the teachings of Vidyarthi as seen in claim 1 above, as per claims 2 and 14, Gorelik teaches a method, wherein the step of receiving, by the discovery manager, first program data meanings and corresponding data locations for a first program (figure 1 source inputs to process 100) includes receiving an application programming interface (figure 8 computer system program interfaces though which source data is accessed, also seen by Vidyarthi in 172 figure 1 using JDKAPU with DESPI).
9. Gorelik modified by the teachings of Vidyarthi as seen in claim 1 above, as per claims 3 and 15, Gorelik teaches a method, wherein the step of receiving, by the discovery manager, first program data meanings and corresponding data locations for a first program (figure 1 source inputs to process 100) includes receiving metadata from the first program (figure 1, representation of the source data source used by process 100 to discover, also seen by Vidyarthi 144, figure 1 DESM metadata driver to discover data set structure from associated metadata 106 in 104).
10. Gorelik modified by the teachings of Vidyarthi as seen in claim 1 above, as per claims 4 and 16, Gorelik teaches a method, wherein the step of searching, by the discovery manager, for the first program data meanings for data stored in the first program to determine if the first program data meanings are substantially equivalent to predetermined data meanings of an exchange standard (figure 4, equality based binding condition discovery process, also in Vidyarthi figure 3 determination of the destination format per node) includes comparing the predetermined data meanings of the exchange standard with the received first program data meanings (figure 2 binding condition validation process correlation of source column values with target column values, also in Vidyarthi figure 2 comparison of source field node format against destination server node format) to determine whether or not the predetermined data meanings of the exchange standard are substantially equivalent with corresponding first program data meanings (figure 3, complete mapping discover process attribute match determination, also in Vidyarthi selection of the applicable BIDI wrapper based on the comparison).
11. Gorelik modified by the teachings of Vidyarthi as seen in claim 1 above, as per claims 3 and 15, Gorelik teaches a method, wherein the step of determining if data from the received data locations of the first program are consistent with corresponding data of the exchange standard (figure 3, complete mapping discover process correlation based consistency, also in Vidyarthi figure 2 object node field node descriptors of the data set) is performed by determining if a program data profile exists and an exchange standard data profile exists via the discovery manager (figures 1 and 3 correlation scores computed from the value profiles of source and target columns a profile for each source, also in Vidyarthi figure 1 DESM144 builds metadata derived descriptors profiles of the program data set and the server exchange standard data set).
12. Gorelik modified by the teachings of Vidyarthi as seen in claim 1 above, as per claims 6 and 18, Gorelik teaches a method, wherein the discovery manager including a convolutional neural network (figure 1 and 8 discover process 100 executed on the computer system 100 for automated determination of correlations and relationships between data fields, machine learning based discovery).
13. Gorelik modified by the teachings of Vidyarthi as seen in claim 1 above, as per claims 7 and 19, Gorelik teaches a method, further including creating a communication transfer transform (figure 6 positional transformation discover process deducted transformation used to move data between sources) including rules for data reading and/or data writing (figures 1 and 3 mapping specifications that read source column values and write corresponding target column values).
14. Gorelik modified by the teachings of Vidyarthi as seen in claim 1 above, as per claims 8 and 20, Vidyarthi teaches a method, wherein the data transform and the communication transfer transform (figure 2 cursors and accessors generated form the metadata tree, figure 3, BIDI wrappers 312 and 316) are assembled by the adapter creator for the exchange standard adapter (wrapper generating module 156, figure 1 of the DESM 144 assembles the access methods and wrappers into the connector module 172 the adapter).
15. Gorelik modified by the teachings of Vidyarthi as seen in claim 1 above, as per claim 9, Vidyarthi teaches a method, wherein the step of determining if data from the received data locations of the first program are substantially consistent with corresponding data of the exchange standard (figure 2, node to node association) includes a first program data meaning which equates to an exchange standard data meaning (figure 2 each application program field node equated to its corresponding server exchange standard node via the accessor, also see in Gorelik figure 3 complete mapping discover process and construct binding condition process a source data element bound to a target data element).
16. Gorelik modified by the teachings of Vidyarthi as seen in claim 1 above, as per claims 10 and 21, Gorelik teaches a method, wherein the step of determining if data from the received data locations of the first program are consistent with corresponding data of the exchange standard (figure 3, complete mapping discover process) includes determining if a first program data is out of the data range described in the exchange standard (figure 2 binding condition validation validates source values against the discovered constraints range of the target column).
17. Gorelik modified by the teachings of Vidyarthi as seen in claim 1 above, as per claims 11 and 22, Gorelik teaches a method, wherein the first program data includes one or more of the intrinsic characteristics (figure 3, complete mapping discovery process profiling of source data): a data value range (figure 2 value range constraints used in binding condition validation), a data hierarchical structure (figure 5 construct binding condition process structural relationships between columns and tables), and a data statistical distribution (figures 1 and 3 correlation scores derived from the statistical distribution of source and target).
18. Gorelik modified by the teachings of Vidyarthi as seen in claim 1 above, as per claims 12 and 23, Gorelik teaches a method, wherein the step of creating a two-way functional data transform if substantial equivalency or substantial consistency is determined (figure 6, positional transformation discovery process, paragraph 371) includes developing a functional data transform which is a function of both exchange standard data structure/format and program data structure/format (figure 6, transformation function deduced from paired source program and target exchange standard columns formats, paragraphs 337 - 339).
19. Gorelik modified by the teachings of Vidyarthi as seen in claim 24 above, as per claim 25, Gorelik teaches a system, wherein the first program contains information in a first language (figure 1, first data source with its own representation), and wherein the second program contains information in a second language that is different from the first language (figure 1, second data source with a different previously unknown representation heterogeneous sources).
20. Gorelik modified by the teachings of Vidyarthi as seen in claim 24 above, as per claim 26, Gorelik teaches a system, wherein the second program responds in the second language to the first adapter (figure 1, second data source handling with adapter).
21. Gorelik modified by the teachings of Vidyarthi as seen in claim 24 above, as per claim 27, Vidyarthi teaches a system, wherein the exchange standard information conveyed through the common communication link contains information in a third language that is different from the first language and the second language (figure 3a…d, original bidirectional formation with different destination source bidirectional formats encodings).
22. Gorelik modified by the teachings of Vidyarthi as seen in claim 28 above, as per claim 29, Vidyarthi teaches an adapter, wherein the rules include the functional transform, the data reading and the data writing (first rules figure 3, BIDI wrappers 312/316 define the format transform, with conversion between the application program bidirectional format at the destination server exchange standard, with input 314 and output 314 figure 2 provide the read and write access transform standard, paragraphs 32 and 36).
23. Gorelik modified by the teachings of Vidyarthi as seen in claim 28 above, as per claim 30, Gorelik teaches an adapter, further including a communication link for communication between the adapter and another bidirectional exchange standard adapter for conveying two-way exchange standard information (figure 6, positional transformation discovery process with transformation rules applied where value match score vs transformation match threshold to deduce the transformation function, paragraphs 102 – 104).
24. Gorelik modified by the teachings of Vidyarthi as seen in claim 28 above, as per claim 31, Vidyarthi teaches an adapter, wherein the bidirectional exchange standard adapter includes a read group of hyper objects configured to receive information from a first bidirectional link which is coupled to the given program (figure 2 cursors and accessors 310/314, figure 3 generated from metadata rule bearing objects that execute access and transform operations, paragraphs 29 – 39).
25. Gorelik modified by the teachings of Vidyarthi as seen in claim 28 above, as per claim 32, Vidyarthi teaches an adapter, wherein the read group of hyper objects (figure 2, output accessor 314) conveys information to a first program data group of hyper objects (figure 2 read data into application field nodes, paragraphs 31 and 32).
26. Gorelik modified by the teachings of Vidyarthi as seen in claim 28 above, as per claim 33, Vidyarthi teaches an adapter, wherein the program data group forms a part of an ES data transform (figures 3a…d field in the BIDI transform) and conveys the transformed data to the bidirectional link and to the another bidirectional exchange standard adapter (figure 1 SDO conveyed over server 102 to counterpart adapter).
27. Gorelik modified by the teachings of Vidyarthi as seen in claim 28 above, as per claim 34, Vidyarthi teaches an adapter, wherein a second program data group of hyper objects forms a part of the ES data transform and conveys information from the bidirectional link from the another bidirectional exchange standard adapter (figure 2, wrappers receive SDO from counterpart adapter).
28. Gorelik modified by the teachings of Vidyarthi as seen in claim 28 above, as per claim 35, Vidyarthi teaches an adapter, wherein information from the second program data group of hyper objects (figure 2 second source field data) is conveyed to a write group of hyper objects (figure 2, input accessor 310 write).
29. Gorelik modified by the teachings of Vidyarthi as seen in claim 28 above, as per claim 36, Vidyarthi teaches an adapter, wherein the write group of hyper objects and the read group of hyper objects form read/write data configured to convey the information to the first bidirectional link (figure 2 wrappers convey read and write data over the connector).
30. Gorelik modified by the teachings of Vidyarthi as seen in claim 28 above, as per claim 37, Vidyarthi teaches an adapter, wherein the groups of hyper objects are executed under the control of a server (figure 1 server 102 controls the exchange the DESM connector operations run under the server architecture).
Conclusion
31. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Brinnand/Day has teachings of bidirectional exchange between different programs to allow for interoperability.
AH
/HENRY TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2184