DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “an access portion at least one of left and right side surface portions of the exterior” should be “an access portion on at least one of left and right side surface portions of the exterior”, or similar. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 5,996,995 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a medium conveyance device having an exterior, the medium conveyance device comprising: a conveyance unit 32 configured to convey a medium in a conveyance direction from a front surface side of the exterior; a straight path (defined by rollers 32-38) through which the medium is conveyed toward a back surface of the exterior; a U-turn path branched from the straight path and through which the medium is conveyed in a reversed manner; and a discharge port through which the medium is discharged from the straight path and disposed at a back surface side of the exterior, wherein the discharge port is positioned at a front surface side relative to a position of a back surface of the exterior corresponding to a region where the U-turn path is disposed. See Fig. 1, below.
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the medium conveyance device according to claim 1, wherein with respect to a depth dimension between the front surface and the back surface in side view of the exterior corresponding to the region where the U-turn path is disposed, a depth dimension between the front surface and the discharge port in side view of the exterior corresponding to a region where the straight path is disposed is short. See Fig. 1, above.
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the medium conveyance device according to claim 1, wherein a discharge region where the medium is discharged from the discharge port is present below the U-turn path. See Fig. 1, above.
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the medium conveyance device according to claim 3, further comprising a guide unit in a discharge direction of the discharge port, wherein the medium discharged from the discharge port is guided by the guide unit and discharged downward from the discharge port. See Fig. 1, below.
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses the medium conveyance device according to claim 3, further comprising a medium reception unit 41 configured to receive a medium discharged from the discharge port, wherein the medium reception unit is formed in a size fitting in the discharge region in a direction of the straight path.
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses the medium conveyance device according to claim 8, wherein the medium reception unit includes an inclination surface (top surface of tray 41) inclined toward a side from a top portion.
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses an image reading device comprising: the medium conveyance device according to claim 1; and a reading unit 42 configured to read an image from the medium conveyed by the medium conveyance device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kitan (US 8,152,163 B2).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses everything claimed, except Kim lacks a sensor configured to detect a state of the medium in the discharge region. Kitan teaches the use of a sensor 5 configured to detect a state of the medium in the discharge region, in order to determine when the tray is full. Kitan, col. 4, lines 6-17. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to add a sensor configured to detect a state of the medium in the discharge region, to the device of Kim, as taught by Kitan, in order to determine when the tray is full.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the nearest prior art does not teach or suggest the claimed subject matter. For example, Kim does not disclose everything claimed, including “wherein the discharge region includes an access portion on at least one of left and right side surface portions of the exterior, and the discharge region is configured to be accessed from a side via the access portion”, in combination with the rest of the claimed elements.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Ogawa (US 2024/0359938 A1) discloses a conveyance device having a U-turn path.
/JEREMY R SEVERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759