2. This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received on February 28, 2025 for application number 19/066,570. This Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, and Claims.
3. Claims 1-13 are presented for examination.
Priority
4. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP 2024-035996, filed on March 8, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 28, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1, 2, 5-7 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OKUYAMA et al.(Machine translation of JP 2014119615 A) (hereinafter Okuyama) in view of UNO et al.(US 2024/0094604 A1)(hereinafter Uno) or Sato(US 2020/0379316 A1)(hereinafter Sato).
Regarding claim 1, Okuyama discloses a light-amount adjusting apparatus configured to adjust a light amount of a first optical system and a light amount of a second optical system [See Okuyama: at least Figs. 1-3 and par. 3-10 regarding a light intensity adjustment device comprising first and second openings for allowing light to pass through for at least two optical systems], the light-amount adjusting apparatus comprising:
a drive unit configured to drive blade members[See Okuyama: at least Figs. 1-3 and par. 6, 11, 17, 23 regarding The light intensity adjustment device 1 comprises a base plate 10, a case member 20, blade members 30 and 40, and a drive unit 50. The drive unit 50 includes an electric actuator 51 such as a motor, and a link member 52 fixed to the output shaft of the actuator 51 and rotating about the output shaft as the pivot point. The actuator 51 is a single drive source that drives both the blade members 30 and 40];
a first opening/closing unit including two blade members and configured to open and close at least a part of a first opening through which light is to pass, according to driving of the drive unit; and a second opening/closing unit including blade members as many as the blade members constituting the first opening/closing unit and configured to open and close at least a part of a second opening through which light is to pass, according to driving of the drive unit[See Okuyama: at least Figs. 1-3 and par. 6, 11, 15-17, 19-23 regarding The drive unit 50 includes an electric actuator 51 such as a motor, and a link member 52 fixed to the output shaft of the actuator 51 and rotating about the output shaft as the pivot point. The actuator 51 is a single drive source that drives both the blade members 30 and 40… the blade members 30 and 40 constitute an aperture mechanism that forms a variable aperture opening on the openings 11R and 11L…The blade member 30 has notches 31R and 31L that form diaphragm openings corresponding to the openings 11R and 11L… The blade member 40 has notches 41R and 41L that form diaphragm openings corresponding to the openings 11R and 11L… the opening and closing mechanisms of the vane members 30 and 40 will be described in detail with reference to Figures 3(A) and 3(B)…].
Okuyama does not explicitly disclose a first opening/closing unit including three or more blade members and configured to open and close at least a part of a first opening through which light is to pass, according to driving of the drive unit.
However, the configuration of three or more blade members in the first and second opening/closing units in an imaging apparatus was well known in the art at the time of the invention was filed as evident from the teaching of Uno[See Uno: at least Figs. 3-9B and par. 80-85, 115-122, 145-151 regarding by rotating the nine aperture blades 24 by rotating the drive ring 22, the opening 24b can be opened and closed and the size of the aperture opening of the aperture unit 20 can be adjusted…].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Okuyama with Uno teachings by including “a first opening/closing unit including three or more blade members and configured to open and close at least a part of a first opening through which light is to pass, according to driving of the drive unit” because this combination has the benefit of improving the light shielding unit by an alternate configuration of the number of blades in the opening/ closing or aperture unit.
Further on, when combined with Uno teachings, Okuyama teaches or suggests wherein the first opening/closing unit and the second opening/closing unit are arranged so that in a case where images obtained by imaging using the first optical system and the second optical system are superimposed and all angles between adjacent light striations generated when the light passes through apertures formed by the first opening/closing unit and the second opening/closing unit are equal angles, all the angles between adjacent light striations fall within ±5 degrees[See Okuyama: at least Figs. 1-3 and par. 2-8, 22 regarding a compound eye imaging device has been put into practical use that arranges two imaging optical systems side by side at a predetermined interval to capture stereo images of the left and right viewpoints with parallax. By separating the left-view and right-view images obtained through stereo imaging and showing them to the observer's left and right eyes respectively, it is possible to observe a three-dimensional image... In such compound-eye imaging devices, a light intensity adjustment device, such as an aperture mechanism, is required for each imaging optical system…The objective of this invention is to suppress cost increases and size increases, while also reducing the difference in light intensity between imaging optical systems…Furthermore, since the blade member 30 is common to both the openings 11R and 11L, there is no discrepancy in the light intensity adjustment operation of the openings 11R and 11L caused by the blade member 30. Similarly, since the blade member 40 is common to both the openings 11R and 11L, there is no discrepancy in the light intensity adjustment operation of the openings 11R and 11L caused by the blade member 40….(Accordingly, with the described configuration of the blade members for both openings, the light passes at equal angles through the apertures)].
Regarding claim 2, Okuyama and Uno teach all of the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, Okuyama teaches or suggests wherein the first opening/closing unit and the second opening/closing unit are arranged so that corresponding blade members are in the same phase[See Okuyama: at least Figs. 1-3 and par. 6, 11, 15-17, 19-23 regarding The drive unit 50 includes an electric actuator 51 such as a motor, and a link member 52 fixed to the output shaft of the actuator 51 and rotating about the output shaft as the pivot point. The actuator 51 is a single drive source that drives both the blade members 30 and 40… the blade members 30 and 40 constitute an aperture mechanism that forms a variable aperture opening on the openings 11R and 11L…The blade member 30 has notches 31R and 31L that form diaphragm openings corresponding to the openings 11R and 11L… The blade member 40 has notches 41R and 41L that form diaphragm openings corresponding to the openings 11R and 11L… the opening and closing mechanisms of the vane members 30 and 40 will be described in detail with reference to Figures 3(A) and 3(B)…].
Regarding claim 5, Okuyama and Uno teach all of the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, when combined with Uno, Okuyama teaches or suggests further comprising: a transmission member configured to transmit a drive force from a drive unit, a first drive member rotatably engaged with the first opening; and a second drive member rotatably engaged with the second opening, wherein the first drive member includes a first transmitter configured to receive the drive force via the transmission member and rotate according to the driving of the drive unit, wherein the second drive member includes a second transmitter configured to receive the drive force via the transmission member and rotate according to the driving of the drive unit, wherein the blade members constituting the first opening/closing unit are evenly arranged radially around a center of a rotation axis of the first drive member, and wherein the blade members constituting the second opening/closing unit are evenly arranged radially around a center of a rotation axis of the second drive member[See Okuyama: at least Figs. 1-3 and par. 11, 17-18, 20-21 regarding The drive unit 50 includes an electric actuator 51 such as a motor, and a link member 52 fixed to the output shaft of the actuator 51 and rotating about the output shaft as the pivot point. The actuator 51 is a single drive source that drives both the blade members 30 and 40. The actuator 51 is supported within a cylindrical case member 53, and the drive unit 50 is fixed to the upper front surface of the base plate 10 via a mounting member 60. The mounting member 60 has a cylindrical portion in the central part of a plate-shaped member, and the case member 53 is inserted into this cylindrical portion. The link member 52 is a single link member that transmits the driving force of the actuator 51 to the vane members 30 and 40. It is a U-shaped arm member formed symmetrically with respect to its pivot center, and has engaging portions 52a and 52b at both ends. Furthermore, both the engagement hole 32 of the blade member 30 and the engagement hole 42 of the blade member 40 are elongated holes extending in the left-right direction, with the engagement portion 52a of the link member 52 inserted through the engagement hole 32 and the engagement portion 52b of the link member 52 inserted through the engagement hole 42. As shown in Figure 3(B), when the link member 52 rotates due to the drive of the actuator 51, the engaging portions 52a and 52b pivot in opposite directions in the direction of arrow d1. As a result, the wing members 30 and 40 move in opposite directions to each other in the direction indicated by arrow d2 in Figure 3(A). In this way, the vane members 30 and 40 simultaneously open and close the openings 11R and 11L, and in this embodiment, a variable aperture is formed…].
Regarding claim 6, Okuyama and Uno teach all of the limitations of claim 5, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, when combined with Uno, Okuyama teaches or suggests wherein a gap that allows the blade members to rotate is formed on an opposite side of the first drive member and the second drive member with respect to the blade members[See Okuyama: at least Figs. 1-3 and par. 11, 17-18, 20-21 regarding The drive unit 50 includes an electric actuator 51 such as a motor, and a link member 52 fixed to the output shaft of the actuator 51 and rotating about the output shaft as the pivot point…The link member 52 is a single link member that transmits the driving force of the actuator 51 to the vane members 30 and 40. It is a U-shaped arm member formed symmetrically with respect to its pivot center, and has engaging portions 52a and 52b at both ends. Furthermore, both the engagement hole 32 of the blade member 30 and the engagement hole 42 of the blade member 40 are elongated holes extending in the left-right direction, with the engagement portion 52a of the link member 52 inserted through the engagement hole 32 and the engagement portion 52b of the link member 52 inserted through the engagement hole 42. As shown in Figure 3(B), when the link member 52 rotates due to the drive of the actuator 51, the engaging portions 52a and 52b pivot in opposite directions in the direction of arrow d1. As a result, the wing members 30 and 40 move in opposite directions to each other in the direction indicated by arrow d2 in Figure 3(A). In this way, the vane members 30 and 40 simultaneously open and close the openings 11R and 11L, and in this embodiment, a variable aperture is formed…].
Regarding claim 7, Okuyama and Uno teach all of the limitations of claim 5, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, when combined with Uno, Okuyama teaches or suggests wherein the first drive member and the second drive member have the same structure, and wherein an area of the first transmitter that is used for rotation of the first drive member is different from an area of the second transmitter that is used for rotation of the second drive member[See Okuyama: at least Figs. 1-3 and par. 11, 17-18, 20-21 regarding The drive unit 50 includes an electric actuator 51 such as a motor, and a link member 52 fixed to the output shaft of the actuator 51 and rotating about the output shaft as the pivot point. The actuator 51 is a single drive source that drives both the blade members 30 and 40. The actuator 51 is supported within a cylindrical case member 53, and the drive unit 50 is fixed to the upper front surface of the base plate 10 via a mounting member 60. The mounting member 60 has a cylindrical portion in the central part of a plate-shaped member, and the case member 53 is inserted into this cylindrical portion. The link member 52 is a single link member that transmits the driving force of the actuator 51 to the vane members 30 and 40. It is a U-shaped arm member formed symmetrically with respect to its pivot center, and has engaging portions 52a and 52b at both ends. Furthermore, both the engagement hole 32 of the blade member 30 and the engagement hole 42 of the blade member 40 are elongated holes extending in the left-right direction, with the engagement portion 52a of the link member 52 inserted through the engagement hole 32 and the engagement portion 52b of the link member 52 inserted through the engagement hole 42. As shown in Figure 3(B), when the link member 52 rotates due to the drive of the actuator 51, the engaging portions 52a and 52b pivot in opposite directions in the direction of arrow d1. As a result, the wing members 30 and 40 move in opposite directions to each other in the direction indicated by arrow d2 in Figure 3(A). In this way, the vane members 30 and 40 simultaneously open and close the openings 11R and 11L, and in this embodiment, a variable aperture is formed…].
Regarding claim 9, Okuyama and Uno teach all of the limitations of claim 5, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, when combined, Okuyama and Uno teach or suggest further comprising: a base member holding the drive unit and having the first opening and the second opening; and a press member fixed to the base member [See Okuyama: at least Figs. 1-3 and par. 11-12 regarding The base plate 10 is positioned on the front side, and the case member 20 is positioned on the rear side, forming a flat, hollow body, and inside it is a blade chamber that houses the blade members 30 and 40… The base plate 10 is a thin, box-shaped structure with an open back and is equipped with openings 11R and 11L that allow light to pass through.], wherein the first opening is disposed with a center on an optical axis of the first optical system, wherein the second opening is disposed with a center on an optical axis of the second optical system[See Okuyama: at least Figs. 1-3 and par. 3-10 regarding a light intensity adjustment device comprising first and second openings for allowing light to pass through for at least two optical systems…(Each opening being disposed with a center with reference to each optical system)], wherein each of the blade members includes a first engagement portion that serves as a rotation center and a second engagement portion for rotating the blade members, wherein the first engagement portion is engaged with a hole portion formed in one of a pair of the first drive member and the second drive member, and the press member[See Okuyama: at least Figs. 1-3 and par. 15-16, 19, 20 regarding the blade member 30 is provided with an engagement hole 32 and guide holes 33 and 34… The blade member 40 also includes an engagement hole 42 and guide holes 43 and 44…The guide holes 33 and 34 of the blade member 30 and the guide holes 43 and 44 of the blade member 40 are both elongated holes extending in the vertical direction (direction of arrow d2), with the engaging portion 12 inserted through the guide holes 33 and 43, and the engaging portion 13 inserted through the guide holes 34 and 44…], and wherein the second engagement portion is engaged with a cam shape formed in another of the pair of the first drive member and the second drive member, and the press member[See Uno: at least Figs. 3-9B and par. 92- 101, 105, 110-114, 137 regarding when the opening 24b is at its smallest size, the amount of protrusion of cam grooves 24d outward in the radial direction of a circle centered on the optical axis X reaches its maximum, and the amount of protrusion outward in the radial direction of the outer shape of the aperture blades 24, which are substantially parallel to the cam grooves 24d, also reaches its maximum…The rotation shafts 21e are provided as the rotation shafts of the aperture blades 24, and as shown in FIG. 4A, nine of the rotation shafts 21e are provided on the outer peripheral side of the main body portion 21a with respect to the optical axis X and on the outer peripheral side of the cam pins 22d of the drive ring 22 with respect to the optical axis X, and at approximately equal intervals in the circumferential direction around the optical axis X…].
Regarding claim 10, Okuyama and Uno teach all of the limitations of claim 9, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, when combined, Okuyama and Uno teach or suggest wherein the light amount of the first optical system is adjusted by adjusting a relative phase between the press member and the first drive member, and by rotating the blade members constituting the first opening/closing unit, and wherein the light amount of the second optical system is adjusted by adjusting a relative phase between the press member and the second driving member, and by rotating the blade members constituting the second opening/closing unit[See Okuyama: at least Figs. 1-3 and par. 15-20 regarding The drive unit 50 includes an electric actuator 51 such as a motor, and a link member 52 fixed to the output shaft of the actuator 51 and rotating about the output shaft as the pivot point.. The actuator 51 is a single drive source that drives both the blade members 30 and 40. The actuator 51 is supported within a cylindrical case member 53, and the drive unit 50 is fixed to the upper front surface of the base plate 10 via a mounting member 60. The mounting member 60 has a cylindrical portion in the central part of a plate-shaped member, and the case member 53 is inserted into this cylindrical portion. The link member 52 is a single link member that transmits the driving force of the actuator 51 to the vane members 30 and 40. It is a U-shaped arm member formed symmetrically with respect to its pivot center, and has engaging portions 52a and 52b at both ends…See Uno: at least Figs. 14A-20B and par. 189-203 regarding When the drive ring 22 is at the end (mechanical end) at either side (open aperture side and minimum aperture side) of its rotational range, the drive ring 22 can be kept coupled to the base plate 21. That is, in a state in which the drive ring 22 has rotated to the end on the side where the aperture opening is open, as shown in FIG. 20A, the phases (positions in the circumferential direction) of the latching portions 21g on the base plate 21 side and the latched portions 22g of the drive ring 22 are offset, and the base plate 21 and the drive ring 22 are maintained in their coupled state…]
Regarding claim 11, Okuyama and Uno teach all of the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, when combined, Okuyama and Uno teach or suggest further comprising: a base member holding the drive unit and having the first opening and the second opening[See Okuyama: at least Figs. 1-3 and par. 11-12 regarding The base plate 10 is positioned on the front side, and the case member 20 is positioned on the rear side, forming a flat, hollow body, and inside it is a blade chamber that houses the blade members 30 and 40… The base plate 10 is a thin, box-shaped structure with an open back and is equipped with openings 11R and 11L that allow light to pass through.],, wherein the first opening is disposed with a center on an optical axis of the first optical system, and wherein the second opening is disposed with a center on an optical axis of the second optical system[See Okuyama: at least Figs. 1-3 and par. 3-10 regarding a light intensity adjustment device comprising first and second openings for allowing light to pass through for at least two optical systems…(Each opening being disposed with a center with reference to each optical system)].
Regarding claim 12, Okuyama teaches a lens apparatus[See Okuyama: at least Figs. 1-3 and par. 1, 7 regarding a lens barrel and imaging device equipped with this light intensity adjustment device are provided] comprising:
a first optical system; a second optical system; and a light-amount adjusting apparatus configured to adjust a light amount of the first optical system and a light amount of the second optical system [See Okuyama: at least Figs. 1-3 and par. 3-10 regarding a light intensity adjustment device comprising first and second openings for allowing light to pass through for at least two optical systems],
wherein the light amount adjusting apparatus includes: a drive unit configured to drive blade members [See Okuyama: at least Figs. 1-3 and par. 6, 11, 17, 23 regarding The light intensity adjustment device 1 comprises a base plate 10, a case member 20, blade members 30 and 40, and a drive unit 50. The drive unit 50 includes an electric actuator 51 such as a motor, and a link member 52 fixed to the output shaft of the actuator 51 and rotating about the output shaft as the pivot point. The actuator 51 is a single drive source that drives both the blade members 30 and 40];
a first opening/closing unit including two blade members and configured to open and close at least a part of a first opening through which light is to pass, according to driving of the drive unit; and a second opening/closing unit including blade members as many as the blade members constituting the first opening/closing unit and configured to open and close at least a part of a second opening through which light is to pass, according to driving of the drive unit[See Okuyama: at least Figs. 1-3 and par. 6, 11, 15-17, 19-23 regarding The drive unit 50 includes an electric actuator 51 such as a motor, and a link member 52 fixed to the output shaft of the actuator 51 and rotating about the output shaft as the pivot point. The actuator 51 is a single drive source that drives both the blade members 30 and 40… the blade members 30 and 40 constitute an aperture mechanism that forms a variable aperture opening on the openings 11R and 11L…The blade member 30 has notches 31R and 31L that form diaphragm openings corresponding to the openings 11R and 11L… The blade member 40 has notches 41R and 41L that form diaphragm openings corresponding to the openings 11R and 11L… the opening and closing mechanisms of the vane members 30 and 40 will be described in detail with reference to Figures 3(A) and 3(B)…].
Okuyama does not explicitly disclose a first opening/closing unit including three or more blade members and configured to open and close at least a part of a first opening through which light is to pass, according to driving of the drive unit.
However, the configuration of three or more blade members in the first and second opening/closing units in an imaging apparatus was well known in the art at the time of the invention was filed as evident from the teaching of Uno[See Uno: at least Figs. 3-9B and par. 80-85, 115-122, 145-151 regarding by rotating the nine aperture blades 24 by rotating the drive ring 22, the opening 24b can be opened and closed and the size of the aperture opening of the aperture unit 20 can be adjusted…].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Okuyama with Uno teachings by including “a first opening/closing unit including three or more blade members and configured to open and close at least a part of a first opening through which light is to pass, according to driving of the drive unit” because this combination has the benefit of improving the light shielding unit by an alternate configuration of the number of blades in the opening/ closing or aperture unit.
Further on, when combined with Uno teachings, Okuyama teaches or suggests wherein the first opening/closing unit and the second opening/closing unit are arranged so that in a case where images obtained by imaging using the first optical system and the second optical system are superimposed and all angles between adjacent light striations generated when the light passes through apertures formed by the first opening/closing unit and the second opening/closing unit are equal angles, all the angles between adjacent light striations fall within ±5 degrees [See Okuyama: at least Figs. 1-3 and par. 2-8, 22 regarding a compound eye imaging device has been put into practical use that arranges two imaging optical systems side by side at a predetermined interval to capture stereo images of the left and right viewpoints with parallax. By separating the left-view and right-view images obtained through stereo imaging and showing them to the observer's left and right eyes respectively, it is possible to observe a three-dimensional image... In such compound-eye imaging devices, a light intensity adjustment device, such as an aperture mechanism, is required for each imaging optical system…The objective of this invention is to suppress cost increases and size increases, while also reducing the difference in light intensity between imaging optical systems…Furthermore, since the blade member 30 is common to both the openings 11R and 11L, there is no discrepancy in the light intensity adjustment operation of the openings 11R and 11L caused by the blade member 30. Similarly, since the blade member 40 is common to both the openings 11R and 11L, there is no discrepancy in the light intensity adjustment operation of the openings 11R and 11L caused by the blade member 40….(Accordingly, with the described configuration of the blade members for both openings, the light passes at equal angles through the apertures)].
Regarding claim 13, Okuyama teaches an image pickup apparatus[See Okuyama: at least Figs. 1-3 and par. 1, 7 regarding a lens barrel and imaging device equipped with this light intensity adjustment device are provided] comprising:
a light-amount adjusting apparatus configured to adjust a light amount of a first optical system and a light amount of a second optical system[See Okuyama: at least Figs. 1-3 and par. 3-10 regarding a light intensity adjustment device comprising first and second openings for allowing light to pass through for at least two optical systems]; and
an image sensor configured to photoelectrically convert an optical image formed by at least one of the first optical system and the second optical system [See Okuyama: at least Figs. 1-3 and par. 2-10 regarding a compound eye imaging device has been put into practical use that arranges two imaging optical systems side by side at a predetermined interval to capture stereo images of the left and right viewpoints with parallax. By separating the left-view and right-view images obtained through stereo imaging and showing them to the observer's left and right eyes respectively, it is possible to observe a three-dimensional image…a light intensity adjustment device comprising first and second openings for allowing light to pass through for at least two optical systems. The light intensity adjustment device 1 can be used, for example, as a light intensity adjustment device for an imaging device such as a digital camera,
wherein the light-amount adjusting apparatus includes: a drive unit configured to drive blade members [See Okuyama: at least Figs. 1-3 and par. 6, 11, 17, 23 regarding The light intensity adjustment device 1 comprises a base plate 10, a case member 20, blade members 30 and 40, and a drive unit 50. The drive unit 50 includes an electric actuator 51 such as a motor, and a link member 52 fixed to the output shaft of the actuator 51 and rotating about the output shaft as the pivot point. The actuator 51 is a single drive source that drives both the blade members 30 and 40];
a first opening/closing unit including two blade members and configured to open and close at least a part of a first opening through which light is to pass, according to driving of the drive unit; and a second opening/closing unit including blade members as many as the blade members constituting the first opening/closing unit and configured to open and close at least a part of a second opening through which light is to pass, according to driving of the drive unit[See Okuyama: at least Figs. 1-3 and par. 6, 11, 15-17, 19-23 regarding The drive unit 50 includes an electric actuator 51 such as a motor, and a link member 52 fixed to the output shaft of the actuator 51 and rotating about the output shaft as the pivot point. The actuator 51 is a single drive source that drives both the blade members 30 and 40… the blade members 30 and 40 constitute an aperture mechanism that forms a variable aperture opening on the openings 11R and 11L…The blade member 30 has notches 31R and 31L that form diaphragm openings corresponding to the openings 11R and 11L… The blade member 40 has notches 41R and 41L that form diaphragm openings corresponding to the openings 11R and 11L… the opening and closing mechanisms of the vane members 30 and 40 will be described in detail with reference to Figures 3(A) and 3(B)…].
Okuyama does not explicitly disclose a first opening/closing unit including three or more blade members and configured to open and close at least a part of a first opening through which light is to pass, according to driving of the drive unit.
However, the configuration of three or more blade members in the first and second opening/closing units in an imaging apparatus was well known in the art at the time of the invention was filed as evident from the teaching of Uno[See Uno: at least Figs. 3-9B and par. 80-85, 115-122, 145-151 regarding by rotating the nine aperture blades 24 by rotating the drive ring 22, the opening 24b can be opened and closed and the size of the aperture opening of the aperture unit 20 can be adjusted…].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Okuyama with Uno teachings by including “a first opening/closing unit including three or more blade members and configured to open and close at least a part of a first opening through which light is to pass, according to driving of the drive unit” because this combination has the benefit of improving the light shielding unit by an alternate configuration of the number of blades in the opening/ closing or aperture unit.
Further on, when combined with Uno teachings, Okuyama teaches or suggests wherein the first opening/closing unit and the second opening/closing unit are arranged so that in a case where images obtained by imaging using the first optical system and the second optical system are superimposed and all angles between adjacent light striations generated when the light passes through apertures formed by the first opening/closing unit and the second opening/closing unit are equal angles, all the angles between adjacent light striations fall within ±5 degrees [See Okuyama: at least Figs. 1-3 and par. 2-8, 22 regarding a compound eye imaging device has been put into practical use that arranges two imaging optical systems side by side at a predetermined interval to capture stereo images of the left and right viewpoints with parallax. By separating the left-view and right-view images obtained through stereo imaging and showing them to the observer's left and right eyes respectively, it is possible to observe a three-dimensional image... In such compound-eye imaging devices, a light intensity adjustment device, such as an aperture mechanism, is required for each imaging optical system…The objective of this invention is to suppress cost increases and size increases, while also reducing the difference in light intensity between imaging optical systems…Furthermore, since the blade member 30 is common to both the openings 11R and 11L, there is no discrepancy in the light intensity adjustment operation of the openings 11R and 11L caused by the blade member 30. Similarly, since the blade member 40 is common to both the openings 11R and 11L, there is no discrepancy in the light intensity adjustment operation of the openings 11R and 11L caused by the blade member 40….(Accordingly, with the described configuration of the blade members for both openings, the light passes at equal angles through the apertures)].
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 3, 4 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Ana Picon-Feliciano/Examiner, Art Unit 2482
/CHRISTOPHER S KELLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2482