STATUS OF CLAIMS
This Non-Final action is in reply to the application filed 2/28/2025.
Claims 1-27 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
Claims in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claims 14-26 includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “the control system (120) configured to” [claim 14], “the control system(120) is, prior to generating (260) the message, configured to”[claim 15], “wherein the control system is configured to” [claims 16-24] Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
IN GENERAL. —The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention.
Claims 14-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because the claim purports to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, but fails to recite a combination of elements as required by that statutory provision and thus cannot rely on the specification to provide the structure, material or acts to support the claimed function. As such, the claim recites a function that has no limits and covers every conceivable means for achieving the stated function, while the specification discloses at most only those means known to the inventor. Accordingly, the disclosure is not commensurate with the scope of the claim.
Claim limitations 14-26 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Applicant’s specification is vague and discloses no corresponding algorithm associated with a computer or microprocessor. Aristocrat, 521 F.3d at 1337-38, 86 USPQ2d at 1242. The terms “the control system configured to”, and “wherein the control system is configured to” recited in claims 14- 24 is/are a computer-implemented means-plus-function limitation(s), and the specification does not disclose an operative algorithm for the claim elements reciting “receiving unit”, obtaining unit”, “controlling unit” and “controlling step for” 830 F.3d at 1348-49, 119 USPQ2d at 1529-30. While the specification describes in general terms at page 4, line 19- page 5, line18: “the control system may be configured to include the data descriptive of the components in the generated message with the extended reality data…may be configured to receive at least one of: measurement data… configured to identify the people conveyor system from the data descripti8ve of the state of the people conveyor system…” and page 8, lines 16, 17: “the control system may be configured to be communicatively connected to a number of data storages”, which is simply a description of the outcome (function) of the claimed elements (units), not a description of the structure. Hence, the specification fails to disclose an algorithm or description as to how the respective information is actually received, obtained, and controlled 830 F.3d at 1349, 119 USPQ2d at 153. Further, mere reference to a general-purpose computer with appropriate programming without providing an explanation of the appropriate programming, or simply reciting "software" (algorithm) without providing details about the means to accomplish a specific software function, would not be an adequate disclosure of the corresponding structure to satisfy the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Aristocrat, 521 F.3d at 1334, 86 USPQ2d at 1239; Finisar, 523 F.3d at 1340-41, 86 USPQ2d at 1623. In addition, merely referencing a specialized computer (e.g., a "bank computer"), some undefined component of a computer system “program”, "logic," "code," or elements that are essentially a black box designed to perform the recited function, will not be sufficient because there must be some explanation of how the computer or the computer component performs the claimed function. Blackboard, Inc. v. Desire2Learn, Inc., 574 F.3d 1371, 1383-85, 91 USPQ2d 1481, 1491-93 (Fed. Cir. 2009); Net MoneyIN, Inc. v. VeriSign, Inc., 545 F.3d 1359, 1366-67, 88 USPQ2d 1751, 1756-57 (Fed. Cir. 2008); Ex parte Rodriguez, 92 USPQ2d 1395, 1405-06 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 2009).
Therefore, the claim(s) is/are indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. The respective dependent claims do not remedy this flaw and are therefore also rejected.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claims 1-13 are directed to a process (method); claims 14-26 are directed to a machine, claim 27 is directed to non-transitory computer readable medium. Therefore claims 1-27 fall within one of the four statutory categories.
Step 2A-Prong 1: Claim 1 recites in part, “A method for generating information descriptive of a maintenance of a people conveyor system, the method, performed by a control system, comprises: receiving data descriptive of a state of a people conveyor system), obtaining data defining a digital twin corresponding to at least part of the people conveyor system, simulating an operation of the people conveyor system) with the digital twin with the data descriptive of the state of the people conveyor system, obtaining extended reality data based on the simulation of the operation of the people conveyor system with the digital twin, generating) a message to a terminal device), the message comprising information descriptive of the maintenance of the people conveyor system in a data package comprising at least the extended reality data in relation to the state of the people conveyor system”
The underlined limitations above demonstrate independent claim 1 is directed toward the abstract idea for receiving and obtaining data of a people conveyor system, simulating and obtaining data of an operation, and generating a message comprising information descriptive of the maintenance of the people conveyor system in a computing environment. Applicant’s specification discloses a method/system for generating information descriptive of maintenance of and information related to a people conveyor system (i.e. elevators, escalators and moving walkways). The data descriptive of the state of the people conveyor system may be at least one of: measurement data obtained from the people conveyor system; a fault code obtained from the people conveyor system. The specification further discloses determining a state of a people conveyor system, such as a fault situation, and details, such as a root cause in relation to that, and based on that generate a message identifying the number of faulty operating components, etc as the information descriptive of the maintenance of the people conveyor system.
Representative Claim 1 is considered an abstract idea because the steps for, “generating information descriptive of a maintenance of a people conveyor system, receiving data descriptive of a state of a people conveyor system, obtaining data…corresponding to at least part of the people conveyor system, simulating an operation of the people conveyor system… with the data descriptive of the state of the people conveyor system, obtaining …data… based on the simulation of the operation of the people conveyor system, generating a message… comprising information descriptive of the maintenance of the people conveyor system … in relation to the state of the people conveyor system” pertains to concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). With the exception of “a people conveyor system”, “a control system” “digital twin”, “terminal device” a human being with a pen and paper can generate information descriptive of maintenance and corresponding to a people conveyor system, receive and obtain data descriptive of a state of a people conveyor; simulate an operation of the people conveyor system with the data descriptive of the people conveyor system, obtain data and generate a message descriptive of the maintenance of the people conveyor system in relation to the state of the people conveyor system. Further the steps pertain to managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) (receiving and obtaining data correspond to at least part of the people conveyor system, simulating an operation of the people conveyor system …obtaining based on the simulation of the operation of the people conveyor system, generating a message) follows rules or instructions hence, are directed to the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping of abstract ideas, hence, claims 1-26 recite an abstract idea--see MPEP 2106.04(II). Independent claim 14 recites substantially similar limitations as independent claim 1 and is an abstract idea based on the same rationale.
Step 2A-Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements “a people conveyor system”, “a control system” “digital twin”, “terminal device”, merely provide an abstract-idea based solution using data gathering and analysis; and merely provide instructions for organizing human interactions, and implement the abstract idea recited above utilizing the “people conveyor system”, “a control system” “digital twin”, “terminal device”, as tools to perform the abstract idea, and generally links the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. See MPEP 2106.05 (f-h). These elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea—see MPEP 2106.05(g).
Independent claim 1 fails to operate the recited “people conveyor system”, “a control system” “digital twin”, “terminal device”, (which are merely standard computer technology and hardware/software components- see applicant’s disclosure (page 8, lines 7-12: “The control system 120 may e.g. be implemented as one or more server devices, or any computing device configured to execute a method according to the invention as is described herein. In other words, the control system 120 may be communicatively connected to the people conveyor system 110, and the entities therein, either directly or indirectly over the other entities in order to get the data”; lines 17-29: “the control system 120 may be configured to be communicatively connected to a number of data storages… it is arranged that for the people conveyor system 110 a respective digital twin data 132 is stored in the data storage… the digital twin 132 shall be understood as a virtual representation of the real-world people conveyor system”; page 9, lines 3- the digital twin 132 as the simulation model of the people conveyor system 110 may be implemented as a machine-learning model trained to output data indicative of an operation of the people conveyor system 110 in response to a receipt of data, such as measurement data, derived from the people conveyor system 110 e.g. with a monitoring system comprising one or more sensors”; page 10, lines 17-24: “the control system 120 may be communicatively connected to one or more terminal devices 150, which may e.g. be terminal devices 150 used by technicians maintaining the conveyor system 110. Such devices may e.g. be mobile phones, tablet computers, laptop computers, PCs, virtual glasses, wearable devices or any other type of display devices communicatively connectable with the control system 120”) in any exceptional manner, and there is no evidence in the disclosure to suggest achieving an actual improvement in the computer functionality itself, or improvement in any specific computer technology other than utilizing ordinary computational tools to automate and perform the abstract idea for receiving and obtaining data d of a people conveyor system, simulating and obtaining data of an operation, and generating a message comprising information descriptive of the maintenance of the people conveyor system in a computing environment —see MPEP 2106.05(a). Accordingly, applicant has not shown an improvement or practical application under the guidance of MPEP section 2106.04(d) or 2106.05(a). Applicant’s limitations as recited above do nothing more than supplement the abstract using generic computer and networking components performing generic computer functions (receiving, obtaining, simulating, generating) such that it amounts to no more than mere instruction to apply the exception using a generic computer component-see MPEP 2106.05(f) and linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(h).
Dependent claims 2-13 and 15-26 fail to cure the deficiencies of the above noted independent claim from which they depend and are therefore rejected under the same grounds. The dependent claims further recite the abstract idea without imposing any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Dependent claims 2-13 and 15-26, recite additional data gathering and processing steps. For example dependent claims 2 and 15 recite in part, “prior to generating (260) the message, a step of: obtaining (250) data”; claims 3 and 16 recite in part, “wherein the data descriptive of the components is included in the generated message”, claims 4 and 17 recite in part, “wherein the data descriptive of the state of the people conveyor system (110) is at least one of:”; claims 5 and 18 recite in part, wherein the people conveyor system (110) is identified from”; claims 6 and 19 recite in part, “wherein identification data of the people conveyor system (110) is used for”; claims 7 and 20 recite in part, “wherein the fault code is used together with the identification data for”; claims 8 and 21 recite in part, “wherein the fault code is used for selecting”; claims 9 and 22 recite in part, “wherein at least one component being related to the state of the people conveyor system (110) is identified by; claims 10 and 23 recite in part, “wherein information on the at least one component is included in”; claims 11 and 24 recite in part, “wherein the extended reality data (142) based on the simulation (230) of the operation of the digital twin (132) is selected on a basis of “; claims 12 and 25 recite in part, “wherein the extended reality data (142) provides visualization descriptive of”; claims 13 and 26 recite in part, “wherein the extended reality data (142) is one of:”, which are still directed toward the abstract idea identified previously and are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a computer or with computing components.
The additional elements in the dependent claims only serves to further limit the abstract idea utilizing the “people conveyor system”, “a control system” “digital twin”, “terminal device” as a tool, and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, and hence are nonetheless directed towards fundamentally the same abstract idea as their respective independent claim since they fail to impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the abstract idea fails to integrate into any practical application. Thus, under Step 2A-Prong Two the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because as discussed above, with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements “people conveyor system”, “a control system” “digital twin”, “terminal device”, amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component which does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application nor provide an inventive concept (significantly more than the abstract idea).
Accordingly, even when considered as a whole, the claims do not transform the abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention since the claim limitations do not amount to a practical application or significantly more than an abstract idea for receiving and obtaining data of a people conveyor system, simulating and obtaining data of an operation, and generating a message comprising information descriptive of the maintenance of the people conveyor system in a computing environment. Hence, claims 1-27 are directed to non-statutory subject matter and are rejected as ineligible subject matter under 35 USC 101. See 2019 PEG and MPEP 2106.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burri et al., US Patent Application Publication No US 2022/055859 A1, in view of Novacek, US Patent Application Publication No US 2021/0078834 A1.
With respect to claims 1,14 and 27,
Burri discloses,
receiving data descriptive of a state of a people conveyor system, obtaining data defining a digital twin corresponding to at least part of the people conveyor system, (Abstract: “a digital double dataset, which is digitally stored in a computer and can also be processed, exists parallel to the passenger transport system, wherein said digital double dataset comprises data concerning physical properties of the passenger transport system”; ¶5: “stored data is sometimes also referred to as digital double dataset (or digital double or digital twin for short). A sum of this data not only corresponds to an inventory of sorts prior to the start-up of the passenger transport system, but may also serve as a basis for computer simulations or computer models for determining changes in the physical properties of the passenger transport system that occur over time”; Fig 1, Fig 2, ¶58-¶60; ¶59: “an installer tasked with physically exchanging a component in a passenger transport system can be assisted in that information concerning the work steps to be carried out is transmitted to the installer. The component data of the component to be exchanged can be taken into account when this information is generated. This component data can be respectively retrieved or derived from the digital double dataset”; ¶60: “The detection of a required component exchange may take place in an automated manner, for example, based on a current analysis of the digital double and/or based on sensors signals of sensors that respectively monitor a state of the passenger transport system or the component”)
simulating an operation of the people conveyor system with the digital twin with the data descriptive of the state of the people conveyor system (¶12: “A particular advantage of this digital double dataset, which is structured by means of component dataset modules, can also be seen in that it allows a positive identification of a component detected based on the simulation results”; ¶13: “The current physical properties of the passenger transport system are determined by means of calculations, simulations and/or models based on the initial physical properties specified in the digital double dataset”; ¶61: “The output of information concerning work steps to be carried out in order to exchange a component can significantly reduce the risk of faulty installation processes. In addition, the quality of the installation can be simulated and monitored one-to-one due to the feedback of the installation data”; ¶77: “A state of the passenger transport system 1 can be monitored with the aid of the digital double dataset 21. To this end, information on changes in the physical properties Dna… Dnx of the passenger transport system 1 and its components 2 to 8, which occur over time, can be determined based on the component data 31 and installation data 32 contained in the digital double dataset 21 with the aid of computer simulations and/or computer models”)
generating a message to a terminal device, the message comprising information descriptive of the maintenance of the people conveyor system in a data package comprising at least the extended reality data in relation to the state of the people conveyor system (¶15: “he individuals carrying out the method generically carry along corresponding electronic apparatuses and interfaces such as mobile telephones, tablets, laptops, wire-bound or wireless transmission means and the like, by means of which data can be retrieved from and transmitted to the digital double dataset”; ¶60: “the information on the work steps to be carried out can be perceived visually, for example, in the form of an output on a display, or perceived acoustically, for example, in the form of an output by means of a loudspeaker”; ¶88: “The removal of an existing component 2 to 8 and the subsequent installation of a replacement component may be accompanied by a computer, for example, in the form of a laptop, a tablet, a mobile telephone, VR goggles or the like, which can access component data 31 of the digital double dataset 21”; ¶89: “different verification routines may be carried out. For example, a comparison of identification numbers, a confirmation by the installer or the like may be respectively required or checked. Error messages can optionally be generated”)
A control system for generating information descriptive of a maintenance of a people conveyor system, the control system configured to: “Fig 1, Fig 2, Abstract: A method and a corresponding device for exchanging a component in a passenger transport system are proposed. In this case, a digital double dataset, which is digitally stored in a computer and can also be processed, exists parallel to the passenger transport system, wherein said digital double dataset comprises data concerning physical properties of the passenger transport system. The method comprises the steps of physically exchanging the component by removing an existing component from the passenger transport system and replacing the existing component with a replacement component; and exchanging component data concerning physical properties of the component in an at least partially automated manner by replacing component data concerning physical properties of the existing component with component data concerning physical properties of the replacement component in the digital double dataset”)
A computer program comprising instructions which, when the program is executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out the steps of the method of any of the claims 1 to 13 (¶1: “The disclosure furthermore pertains to a device and a computer program product, which particularly can be used in the course of carrying out the inventive method, as well as to machine-readable medium for storing the computer program product”; ¶60: “a computer program that is configured for detecting that a component of the passenger transport system should be exchanged and for subsequently generating a suitable information output in order to suitably assist the installer carrying out the exchange”)
Burri discloses all of the above limitations, Burri does not distinctly describe the following limitation, but Novacek however as shown discloses,
obtaining extended reality data based on the simulation of the operation of the people conveyor system with the digital twin (¶18: “the data contained in the digital double data record are intended to reflect the actual properties of the components installed in the fully assembled and installed passenger transport system. The digital double can thus be viewed as a virtual image of the finished passenger transport system or the components contained therein”; ¶26: “Due to the fact that the updated digital double data record, like a virtual digital copy of the actual passenger transport system, allows conclusions to be drawn about the characterizing properties currently prevailing in the passenger transport system, information can at best be obtained solely by analyzing and/or processing the updated digital double data record which allow conclusions to be drawn about the current state of the passenger transport system and in particular conclusions about any maintenance or repair that may be necessary. Information about which spare parts and/or tools are needed for upcoming maintenance or repair can even be derived”;¶56: “The commissioning digital double data record thus represents a virtual image of the passenger transport system in its planning phase or commissioning phase, that is, before the passenger transport system is actually produced and installed”; ¶62: “Changes over time in the measurement values supplied by the sensors indicate changes in the observed characterizing properties, whereupon the data contained in the digital double data record can be modified accordingly. The digital double data record modified in this way thus represents a virtual image of the passenger transport system during its operation and taking into account, for example, wear-related changes in comparison to the characterizing properties originally measured directly after completion, and can thus be used as an updated digital double data record for continuous or repeated monitoring of the properties of the passenger transport system”) Applicant’s disclosure teaches, “The extended reality data may be one of: augmented reality data, virtual data”. Examiner interprets the virtual data (image) as taught by Novacek as teaching applicant’s “extended reality data”.
Burri discloses a method/system for exchanging a component in a passenger transport system. Burri further teaches a digital double dataset, wherein said digital double dataset comprises data concerning physical properties of the passenger transport system. The method comprises the steps of physically exchanging the component by removing an existing component from the passenger transport system and replacing the existing component with a replacement component; and exchanging component data concerning physical properties of the component in an at least partially automated manner by replacing component data concerning physical properties of the existing component with component data concerning physical properties of the replacement component in the digital double dataset. Novacek teaches a method/system for monitoring a state of passenger transport system, such as an escalator using an updated digital doble data record that reflects characterizing properties of components properties of components of the passenger transport system in an actual configuration of the passenger transport system in a machine-processable manner after the assembly and installation thereof in a building. The updated digital double data record can be obtained, for example, by accurately surveying the passenger transport system and using signal values from sensors housed in the passenger transport system, and allows conclusions as to the present or future state of the passenger transport system, based on which maintenance measures can be planned efficiently and adequately. Novacek further discloses that a virtual image of the passenger transport system can be represented before it is actually produced and installed whereby the digital double data record can be modified and continuously monitoring taking into account wear-related changes in comparison to properties originally measured.
Burri and Novacek are directed to the same endeavor since they are related to monitoring properties of a passenger transport system (i.e. elevator) in a computing environment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s invention to combine the method/system for monitoring, exchanging a component(s) of a passenger transport system of Burri with the techniques for representing a virtual image of the passenger transport system as taught by Novacek since it allows for conclusions to be drawn about the current state of the passenger transport system, about any maintenance or repair that may be necessary, modifying and observing characterizing properties prior to the passenger transport system being actually produced and installed (i.e. planning or commissioning phase) (¶18, ¶26, ¶56, ¶60-¶65).
With respect to claims 2 and 15,
Burri and Novacek disclose all of the above limitations, Burri further discloses,
prior to generating the message, a step of: obtaining data descriptive of components based on the simulation of the operation of the people conveyor system with the digital twin (¶13: “The current physical properties of the passenger transport system are determined by means of calculations, simulations and/or models based on the initial physical properties specified in the digital double dataset”; ¶33: “the component data of a component may describe when the respective component was installed or put into operation such that this information can be taken into account in calculations, simulations and/or models. For example, time-related aging behavior such as increasing embrittlement of polymeric materials over time can be incorporated into the simulations and continuously changed in the corresponding component data such that the damping behavior of the existing component significantly differs from the replacement component”
With respect to claims 3 and 16,
Burri and Novacek disclose all of the above limitations, Burri further discloses,
wherein the data descriptive of the components is included in the generated message with the extended reality data (¶5: “stored data is sometimes also referred to as digital double dataset (or digital double or digital twin for short). A sum of this data not only corresponds to an inventory of sorts prior to the start-up of the passenger transport system, but may also serve as a basis for computer simulations or computer models for determining changes in the physical properties of the passenger transport system that occur over time. This data has such a high quality that the entire physical passenger transport system can also be displayed on a computer screen in the form of a virtual three-dimensional representation, which furthermore can be dynamically animated. In this way, the state of the passenger transport system can be monitored based on data processing of the digital double dataset only or used for at least assisting in on-site monitoring”; ¶60: “the information on the work steps to be carried out can be perceived visually, for example, in the form of an output on a display, or perceived acoustically, for example, in the form of an output by means of a loudspeaker”; Fig 2, ¶76: “these component dataset modules 22, 23, 24 concern datasets, by means of which a virtual three-dimensional image of the passenger transport system 1 according to FIG. 1 can be displayed, for example, on the screen of the computer 20, these component dataset modules 22, 23, 24 in fact have the same shape as their physical equivalents, but are illustrated with broken lines. For example, the component data 31 may contain information on a geometry, materials used and/or other physical properties”; ¶81: “Installation data such as tightening torques of screws or other fastening means 9 can also be incorporated in this case. To this end, it would be possible, for example, to use a tool 10 that is equipped with a sensor 11. Measurement data regarding forces and torques applied during the installation, which is acquired by the sensor 11, can be evaluated in an evaluation unit 12 in the tool 10 and then transmitted, for example, in a wireless manner, to the computer 20 that stores and processes the digital double dataset 21. The thusly transmitted installation data 32 can be associated, for example, with a virtual model of the fastening means 9 or specifically the screw in the digital double dataset 21”)
wherein the control system is configured to include the data descriptive of the components in the generated message with the extended reality data (¶5: “stored data is sometimes also referred to as digital double dataset (or digital double or digital twin for short). A sum of this data not only corresponds to an inventory of sorts prior to the start-up of the passenger transport system, but may also serve as a basis for computer simulations or computer models for determining changes in the physical properties of the passenger transport system that occur over time. This data has such a high quality that the entire physical passenger transport system can also be displayed on a computer screen in the form of a virtual three-dimensional representation, which furthermore can be dynamically animated. In this way, the state of the passenger transport system can be monitored based on data processing of the digital double dataset only or used for at least assisting in on-site monitoring”; ¶60: “the information on the work steps to be carried out can be perceived visually, for example, in the form of an output on a display, or perceived acoustically, for example, in the form of an output by means of a loudspeaker”; Fig 2, ¶76: “these component dataset modules 22, 23, 24 concern datasets, by means of which a virtual three-dimensional image of the passenger transport system 1 according to FIG. 1 can be displayed, for example, on the screen of the computer 20, these component dataset modules 22, 23, 24 in fact have the same shape as their physical equivalents, but are illustrated with broken lines. For example, the component data 31 may contain information on a geometry, materials used and/or other physical properties”; ¶81: “Installation data such as tightening torques of screws or other fastening means 9 can also be incorporated in this case. To this end, it would be possible, for example, to use a tool 10 that is equipped with a sensor 11. Measurement data regarding forces and torques applied during the installation, which is acquired by the sensor 11, can be evaluated in an evaluation unit 12 in the tool 10 and then transmitted, for example, in a wireless manner, to the computer 20 that stores and processes the digital double dataset 21. The thusly transmitted installation data 32 can be associated, for example, with a virtual model of the fastening means 9 or specifically the screw in the digital double dataset 21”)
With respect to claims 4 and 17,
Burri and Novacek disclose all of the above limitations, Burri further discloses,
wherein the data descriptive of the state of the people conveyor system is at least one of: measurement data obtained from the people conveyor system; a fault code obtained from the people conveyor system (¶37: “The digital double dataset consists of a plurality of independent component dataset modules. Each component installed in the respective passenger transport system preferably is provided with its own component dataset module that describes the physical properties of this particular component in the passenger transport system. In this context, this specifically means that at least a few of the physical properties were determined directly on the physical component, for example, by measuring geometric data, and incorporated into the associated component dataset module”; ¶64: “the installer can measure current physical properties of components or prompt correspondingly provided sensors to carry out such measurements. The thusly obtained actual data therefore represents actual, current physical properties of the components and can replace associated data in the digital double dataset, which describes the previously prevailing physical properties of these components. In this way, the digital double dataset can be updated and its reliability therefore can be improved to the effect that information on a current state of the passenger transport system derived from the digital double dataset has a higher probability of being correct”)
wherein the control system is configured to receive at least one of: measurement data obtained from the people conveyor system); a fault code obtained from the people conveyor system, as the data descriptive of the state of the people conveyor system (¶37: “The digital double dataset consists of a plurality of independent component dataset modules. Each component installed in the respective passenger transport system preferably is provided with its own component dataset module that describes the physical properties of this particular component in the passenger transport system. In this context, this specifically means that at least a few of the physical properties were determined directly on the physical component, for example, by measuring geometric data, and incorporated into the associated component dataset module”; ¶64: “the installer can measure current physical properties of components or prompt correspondingly provided sensors to carry out such measurements. The thusly obtained actual data therefore represents actual, current physical properties of the components and can replace associated data in the digital double dataset, which describes the previously prevailing physical properties of these components. In this way, the digital double dataset can be updated and its reliability therefore can be improved to the effect that information on a current state of the passenger transport system derived from the digital double dataset has a higher probability of being correct”)
With respect to claims 5 and 18,
Burri and Novacek disclose all of the above limitations, Burri further discloses,
wherein the people conveyor system is identified from the data descriptive of the state of the people conveyor system (¶5: “The state of the passenger transport system can be monitored based on data processing of the digital double dataset only or used for at least assisting in on-site monitoring”; Fig 1, ¶77: “A state of the passenger transport system 1 can be monitored with the aid of the digital double dataset 21. To this end, information on changes in the physical properties Dna,… Dnx of the passenger transport system 1 and its components 2 to 8, which occur over time, can be determined based on the component data 31 and installation data 32 contained in the digital double dataset 21 with the aid of computer simulations and/or computer models”; ¶80: “It is preferably possible to operate with different versions (releases) of the digital double dataset 21, wherein the last state of the “old version” can be frozen and a “new version” can be generated from the “old version” by replacing the respective component dataset module 22, 23, 24 of the exchanged component 2 to 8”)
wherein the control system is configured to identify the people conveyor system from the data descriptive of the state of the people conveyor system (¶5: “he state of the passenger transport system can be monitored based on data processing of the digital double dataset only or used for at least assisting in on-site monitoring”; Fig 1, ¶77: “A state of the passenger transport system 1 can be monitored with the aid of the digital double dataset 21. To this end, information on changes in the physical properties Dna,… Dnx of the passenger transport system 1 and its components 2 to 8, which occur over time, can be determined based on the component data 31 and installation data 32 contained in the digital double dataset 21 with the aid of computer simulations and/or computer models”; ¶80: “It is preferably possible to operate with different versions (releases) of the digital double dataset 21, wherein the last state of the “old version” can be frozen and a “new version” can be generated from the “old version” by replacing the respective component dataset module 22, 23, 24 of the exchanged component 2 to 8”)
With respect to claims 6 and 19,
Burri and Novacek disclose all of the above limitations, Burri further discloses,
wherein identification data of the people conveyor system is used for obtaining the data defining the digital twin of the people conveyor system (¶2: “A passenger transport system consists of a plurality of components. Each of the components has characteristic physical properties. In this case, the components interact with one another and/or adjacent components may be fastened on one another. The physical properties of all components, as well as the manner in which these components interact, generally define the physical properties of the entire passenger transport system”; ¶5: “the physical properties of a passenger transport system are recorded as detailed as possible in an initial stage, e.g., directly after the complete installation of the passenger transport system in a building, and stored in a computer. The thusly stored data is sometimes also referred to as digital double dataset (or digital double or digital twin for short). A sum of this data not only corresponds to an inventory of sorts prior to the start-up of the passenger transport system, but may also serve as a basis for computer simulations or computer models for determining changes in the physical properties of the passenger transport system that occur over time”; ¶57: “Each component or each type of component may have a unique identification (ID). For example, this identification may be arranged directly on the component or delivered together with the component. The identification may be provided on the component, for example, in the form of a numerical code or barcode… The associated component data can then be determined in the data storage unit based on this identification and ultimately transmitted to the computer, in which the digital double dataset is respectively stored and processed”; ¶85: “It would alternatively be conceivable that an identification 15 in the form of a serial number or a machine-readable code is provided on or with the replacement component and a data file containing component data with information regarding the physical properties)
wherein the control system is configured to use identification data of the people conveyor system for obtaining the data defining the digital twin of the people conveyor system (¶2: “A passenger transport system consists of a plurality of components. Each of the components has characteristic physical properties. In this case, the components interact with one another and/or adjacent components may be fastened on one another. The physical properties of all components, as well as the manner in which these components interact, generally define the physical properties of the entire passenger transport system”; ¶5: “the physical properties of a passenger transport system are recorded as detailed as possible in an initial stage, e.g., directly after the complete installation of the passenger transport system in a building, and stored in a computer. The thusly stored data is sometimes also referred to as digital double dataset (or digital double or digital twin for short). A sum of this data not only corresponds to an inventory of sorts prior to the start-up of the passenger transport system, but may also serve as a basis for computer simulations or computer models for determining changes in the physical properties of the passenger transport system that occur over time”; ¶57: “Each component or each type of component may have a unique identification (ID). For example, this identification may be arranged directly on the component or delivered together with the component. The identification may be provided on the component, for example, in the form of a numerical code or barcode… The associated component data can then be determined in the data storage unit based on this identification and ultimately transmitted to the computer, in which the digital double dataset is respectively stored and processed”; ¶85: “t would alternatively be conceivable that an identification 15 in the form of a serial number or a machine-readable code is provided on or with the replacement component and a data file containing component data with information regarding the physical properties”)
With respect to claims 7 and 20,
Burri and Novacek disclose all of the above limitations, Burri further discloses,
wherein the fault code is used together with the identification data for obtaining data defining the digital twin corresponding to the at least part of the people conveyor system (¶88: “The removal of an existing component 2 to 8 and the subsequent installation of a replacement component may be accompanied by a computer, for example, in the form of a laptop, a tablet, a mobile telephone, VR goggles or the like, which can access component data 31 of the digital double dataset 21. In this case, it would be possible to provide an installation program that specifies installation steps by accessing involved component dataset modules 22, 23, 24 in the digital double dataset 21”; ¶89: “a comparison of identification numbers, a confirmation by the installer or the like may be respectively required or checked. Error messages can optionally be generated”)
wherein the control system is configured to use the fault code together with the identification data for obtaining data defining the digital twin corresponding to the at least part of the people conveyor system (¶88: “The removal of an existing component 2 to 8 and the subsequent installation of a replacement component may be accompanied by a computer, for example, in the form of a laptop, a tablet, a mobile telephone, VR goggles or the like, which can access component data 31 of the digital double dataset 21. In this case, it would be possible to provide an installation program that specifies installation steps by accessing involved component dataset modules 22, 23, 24 in the digital double dataset 21”; ¶89: “a comparison of identification numbers, a confirmation by the installer or the like may be respectively required or checked. Error messages can optionally be generated”)
With respect to claims 8 and 21,
Burri and Novacek disclose all of the above limitations, Burri further discloses,
wherein the fault code is used for selecting the digital twin defining a sub-entity of the people conveyor system (¶88: “The removal of an existing component 2 to 8 and the subsequent installation of a replacement component may be accompanied by a computer, for example, in the form of a laptop, a tablet, a mobile telephone, VR goggles or the like, which can access component data 31 of the digital double dataset 21. In this case, it would be possible to provide an installation program that specifies installation steps by accessing involved component dataset modules 22, 23, 24 in the digital double dataset 21”; ¶89: “a comparison of identification numbers, a confirmation by the installer or the like may be respectively required or checked. Error messages can optionally be generated”)
wherein the control system is configured to use the fault code for selecting the digital twin defining a sub-entity of the people conveyor system (¶88: “The removal of an existing component 2 to 8 and the subsequent installation of a replacement component may be accompanied by a computer, for example, in the form of a laptop, a tablet, a mobile telephone, VR goggles or the like, which can access component data 31 of the digital double dataset 21. In this case, it would be possible to provide an installation program that specifies installation steps by accessing involved component dataset modules 22, 23, 24 in the digital double dataset 21”; ¶89: “a comparison of identification numbers, a confirmation by the installer or the like may be respectively required or checked. Error messages can optionally be generated”)
With respect to claims 9 and 22,
Burri and Novacek disclose all of the above limitations, Burri further discloses,
wherein at least one component being related to the state of the people conveyor system is identified by simulating an operation of the digital twin with the data descriptive of the state of the people conveyor system (¶12: “A particular advantage of this digital double dataset, which is structured by means of component dataset modules, can also be seen in that it allows a positive identification of a component detected based on the simulation results… the failing component can be directly identified and output”; ¶13: “The current physical properties of the passenger transport system are determined by means of calculations, simulations and/or models based on the initial physical properties specified in the digital double dataset”; ¶77: “A state of the passenger transport system 1 can be monitored with the aid of the digital double dataset 21. To this end, information on changes in the physical properties Dna… Dnx of the passenger transport system 1 and its components 2 to 8, which occur over time, can be determined based on the component data 31 and installation data 32 contained in the digital double dataset 21 with the aid of computer simulations and/or computer models”)
wherein the control system is configured to identify at least one component being related to the state of the people conveyor system by simulating an operation of the digital twin with the data descriptive of the state of the people conveyor system (¶12: “A particular advantage of this digital double dataset, which is structured by means of component dataset modules, can also be seen in that it allows a positive identification of a component detected based on the simulation results… the failing component can be directly identified and output”; ¶13: “The current physical properties of the passenger transport system are determined by means of calculations, simulations and/or models based on the initial physical properties specified in the digital double dataset”; ¶77: “A state of the passenger transport system 1 can be monitored with the aid of the digital double dataset 21. To this end, information on changes in the physical properties Dna… Dnx of the passenger transport system 1 and its components 2 to 8, which occur over time, can be determined based on the component data 31 and installation data 32 contained in the digital double dataset 21 with the aid of computer simulations and/or computer models”)
With respect to claims 10 and 23,
Burri and Novacek disclose all of the above limitations, Burri further discloses,
wherein the control system is configured to include information on the at least one component in the data descriptive of components in relation to the state of the people conveyor system (¶12: “A particular advantage of this digital double dataset, which is structured by means of component dataset modules, can also be seen in that it allows a positive identification of a component detected based on the simulation results… the failing component can be directly identified and output”; ¶77: “A state of the passenger transport system 1 can be monitored with the aid of the digital double dataset 21. To this end, information on changes in the physical properties Dna… Dnx of the passenger transport system 1 and its components 2 to 8, which occur over time, can be determined based on the component data 31 and installation data 32 contained in the digital double dataset 21 with the aid of computer simulations and/or computer models”)
With respect to claims 11 and 24,
Burri and Novacek disclose all of the above limitations, Burri further discloses,
wherein the control system is configured to select the extended reality data based on the simulation of the operation of the digital twin on a basis of the identified at least one component being related to the state of the people conveyor system (¶76: “Each of these component dataset modules 22, 23, 24 contains component data 31 concerning physical properties Dla, Dlb, Dlc, D2a, D2b… Dna… Dnx of an associated component 2 to 8. Since these component dataset modules 22, 23, 24 concern datasets, by means of which a virtual three-dimensional image of the passenger transport system 1 according to FIG. 1 can be displayed, for example, on the screen of the computer 20, these component dataset modules 22, 23, 24 in fact have the same shape as their physical equivalents, but are illustrated with broken lines. For example, the component data 31 may contain information on a geometry, materials used and/or other physical properties Dna… Dnx of the associated component 2 to 8. Furthermore, other physical properties Dna… Dnx such as installation data 32 may be stored in a component dataset module 22, 23, 24. This installation data 32 refers to the type of installation of a component 2 to 8 in the passenger transport system 1. For example, the installation data 32 may contain information on torques D2c, D2d, D3d, with which the fastening elements 9 in the form of screws were tightened during the installation”; ¶78: “If components 2 to 8 are exchanged when the passenger transport system 1 is serviced, a few of the characteristic physical properties of these components typically change. Consequently, these changes should also be updated in the digital double dataset 21, which exists parallel to the passenger transport system 1 and can be used as simulation environment, for example, for monitoring the passenger transport system 1 and/or for preparing a proactive service schedule therefrom”)
With respect to claims 12 and 25,
Burri and Novacek disclose all of the above limitations, Burri further discloses,
wherein the extended reality data provides visualization descriptive of a maintenance operation with respect to the at least one component (¶76: “Each of these component dataset modules 22, 23, 24 contains component data 31 concerning physical properties Dla, Dlb, Dlc, D2a, D2b… Dna… Dnx of an associated component 2 to 8. Since these component dataset modules 22, 23, 24 concern datasets, by means of which a virtual three-dimensional image of the passenger transport system 1 according to FIG. 1 can be displayed, for example, on the screen of the computer 20, these component dataset modules 22, 23, 24 in fact have the same shape as their physical equivalents, but are illustrated with broken lines. For example, the component data 31 may contain information on a geometry, materials used and/or other physical properties Dna… Dnx of the associated component 2 to 8. Furthermore, other physical properties Dna… Dnx such as installation data 32 may be stored in a component dataset module 22, 23, 24. This installation data 32 refers to the type of installation of a component 2 to 8 in the passenger transport system 1. For example, the installation data 32 may contain information on torques D2c, D2d, D3d, with which the fastening elements 9 in the form of screws were tightened during the installation”; ¶81: “The thusly transmitted installation data 32 can be associated, for example, with a virtual model of the fastening means 9 or specifically the screw in the digital double dataset 21”; ¶88: “The removal of an existing component 2 to 8 and the subsequent installation of a replacement component may be accompanied by a computer, for example, in the form of a laptop, a tablet, a mobile telephone, VR goggles or the like, which can access component data 31 of the digital double dataset 21. In this case, it would be possible to provide an installation program that specifies installation steps by accessing involved component dataset modules 22, 23, 24 in the digital double dataset 21”)
With respect to claims 13 and 26,
Burri and Novacek disclose all of the above limitations, Burri further discloses,
wherein the extended reality data is one of: augmented reality data, virtual data (¶26: “The digital double may therefore be considered as a virtual image of the finished passenger transport system or the components contained therein. The data contained in the digital double dataset should reflect the physical properties of the components in a sufficiently detailed manner in order to make it possible to derive information on current structural and/or functional properties of the entire passenger transport system therefrom. The digital double particularly should make it possible to derive information on current structural and/or functional properties, which characterize a current state of the entire passenger transport system and can be used for evaluating its current or future operational safety, its current or future availability and/or a current or future need for service or repair”; ¶76: “These component dataset modules 22, 23, 24 concern datasets, by means of which a virtual three-dimensional image of the passenger transport system 1 according to FIG. 1 can be displayed, for example, on the screen of the computer 20, these component dataset modules 22, 23, 24 in fact have the same shape as their physical equivalents”; ¶88: “The removal of an existing component 2 to 8 and the subsequent installation of a replacement component may be accompanied by a computer, for example, in the form of a laptop, a tablet, a mobile telephone, VR goggles or the like, which can access component data 31 of the digital double dataset 21. In this case, it would be possible to provide an installation program that specifies installation steps by accessing involved component dataset modules 22, 23, 24 in the digital double dataset 21”)
With respect to claim 27,
Burri and Novacek disclose all of the above limitations, Burri further discloses,
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing a computer program comprising instructions which, when the program is executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out the steps of the method of claim 1 (¶1: “a device and a computer program product, which particularly can be used in the course of carrying out the inventive method, as well as to machine-readable medium for storing the computer program product”; ¶16: “a computer program product with machine-readable instructions is proposed, upon the execution of which a computer is instructed to carry out process steps of a method”; ¶60: “provide a computer program that is configured for detecting that a component of the passenger transport system should be exchanged and for subsequently generating a suitable information output in order to suitably assist the installer carrying out the exchange”)
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hershey et al., US Patent Application Publication No US 2017/0286572 A1, “Digital Twin of Twinned Physical System”, relating to a method/system for receiving data associated with the sensors and, for at least a selected portion of the twinned physical system, monitor a condition of the selected portion of the twinned physical system and/or assess a remaining useful life of the selected portion based at least in part on the sensed values of the one or more designated parameters. A communication port may transmit information associated with a result generated by the computer processor.
Song et al., US Patent Application Publication No US 2016/0247129 A1, “Digital twins for Energy Efficient Asset Maintenance”, relating to a system for using digital twins for scalable, model-based machine predictive maintenance comprises a plurality of digital twins and a simulation platform.
Hirohata et al., US Patent No US 12,586,074 B2, “Model Utilization System, Model Utilization Method, and Computer Program Product”, relating to maintenance planning determined through sensing and monitoring of infrastructure equipment, and failure risk prediction and triage of infrastructure equipment… in the case of an elevator as the infrastructure equipment, the maintenance planning includes determining the sequence of restoration support work by field engineers when a plurality of failures have occurred.
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Lynda Jasmin can be reached at (571)272-6782. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
KIMBERLY L. EVANS
Examiner
Art Unit 3629
/KIMBERLY L EVANS/Examiner, Art Unit 3629
/NATHAN C UBER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3626