DETAILED ACTION
This action is written in response to the amendment filed 04/20/2026
Claims 1, 3 and 5 have been amended
Claims 1-6 are presented for examination
This action is Final
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trayhern (US 2024/0262561) in view of Miller et al. (US 2025/0236447).
Claim 1. Trayhern discloses a beverage stabilizing implement 1 operable to insert into a portable cooler to secure a plurality of beverage containers in an upright position, the stabilizing implement comprising:
a plurality of interconnected cylindrical receptacles 2, each cylindrical receptacle formed from an uninterrupted annular sidewall 7 extending between an open top end and an open bottom end and defining a hollow interior recess configured to receive a beverage container ([0041-0044]; fig. 5); and
a plurality of protuberances 11 jutting inwardly from the annular sidewalls into the hollow interior recess, each protuberance operable to collapse when pressed against by a beverage container [0046];
wherein each protuberance is deformable to resiliently collapse upon contact with an exterior surface of the beverage container to form a frictional
engagement [0046];
wherein the plurality of cylindrical receptacles are arranged such that adjacent receptacles define enclose one or more intermediate recesses extending between the receptacles and configured to permit ice to flow between the receptacles and contact the beverage container (fig. 8, 10).
Trayhern discloses through intermediate recesses but fails to be defined by the cylindrical receptacles. Miller discloses features 210 defined by receptacles 220 ([0052]; fig. 3-5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shape of the intermediate recesses of Trayhern to include the receptacle defined recesses of Trayhern to assist in easy manufacturing of the beverage implement.
It is noted that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to change the circular recess to eh receptacle-shaped recess, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) MPEP 214.04 IV B
Claim 2. Trayhern discloses the beverage stabilizing implement of claim 1, wherein the protuberances are formed with the sidewall as a single integrated piece ([0046]; fig. 9).
Claim 3. Trayhern discloses the beverage stabilizing implement of claim 1, wherein four or more receptacles 8 join to define an intermediate recess 12 adapted to receive ice, the triangular recess having an open top and open bottom end [0043].
Claim 4. Trayhern discloses the beverage stabilizing implement of claim 1, wherein the protuberances extend into the container recesses [0046].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the size of the protuberance to vary in size in order to assist in accommodating beverages that vary in size.
To modify the size of the protuberances into the claimed varying sizes would entail a mere change in size of the components and yield only predictable results. "[I]f a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person's skill." KSR Int 'l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1396 (2007). A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 5. Trayhern discloses the beverage stabilizing implement of claim 1, wherein the protuberances are spaced at regular intervals (fig. 9).
Claim 6. Trayhern disclose the beverage stabilizing implement of claim 1, wherein the sidewall is between 0.3 inches and 2 inches in height [0019].
It is noted that the average beverage can has a height of 4.83 inches. Trayhern presents an option where the protective device can have a height of half the length of the stored beverage item.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but in view of the amendment the search has been updated, new prior art has been identified and applied, and a new rejection has been made.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAVEN COLLINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/Anthony D Stashick/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735