DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/08/2026 regarding the prior art rejections of Claims 1 - 16 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
The Remarks argue that:
The passages cited for the "section fail determination circuit" and "filtering circuit" limitations belong to Sity, not Han, and the passages cited for the "dividing" and "XOR" limitations belong to Han, not Sity.
Applicant respectfully submits that due to the above errors in citation, the deficiencies of the primary Kim document are not remedied by Sity or Han. Furthermore, if the faults in attribution identified above were to be corrected, Applicant still submits that the combination of the references does not render the pending claims obvious.
Kim does not supply these limitations. Kim merely counts the total number of individual fail data bits across the selected data and compares this total bit count to a reference value (Ref) during an ISPP operation. Kim lacks concepts of partitioning data into multi-bit sub-groups and evaluating a pass/fail status on a per-group basis.
The limitations in (a) and (b) above are not taught or suggested by Han.
Sity does not remedy the gap because Sity does not teach the section fail determination circuit of Claim 1.
In summary, Kim contributes an aggregate individual-bit counter within an ISPP verify loop; Han contributes an analog read-voltage valley-finding method; and Sity contributes power-managed mat activation, payload-field comparators, and bank load balancing in a distributed PIM chip. Their combination does not teach or suggest the claimed architecture in which read data is divided into multi-bit groups, each group is individually classified, and section fail information is generated when the count of failed groups meets or exceeds a first threshold.
Claim 9 is directed to logically partitioning a single read data word into multi-bit groups, classifying each group
pass/fail against expected data, and generating section fail information from the count of failed groups for the purpose of filtering scattered errors during memory testing and avoiding overkill in error review (see [0027]-[0029]). In contrast, Sity is directed to data-placement optimization, not a test-classification scheme.
In addition, in Claim 9 the steps of determining pass/fail per group and generating section fail information from a count of failed groups meeting a first threshold are not taught or disclosed by Sity or Han for the same reasons discussed above with reference to Claim 1.
The cited documents do not identify or offer a solution for the problem of excessive error analysis in memory testing due to localized or scattered errors, nor is there a motive to combine them in such fashion to result in the pending claims. None of the references identifies this problem, instead relying solely on a general statement in paragraph [0003] of Han and suggesting modification of 'a memory cell array, a pass/fail check circuit and a control logic circuit of Kim with the teaching of [Han/Sity]... in order improve reliability and efficiency.' This does not explain why a person of skill in the art would import an analog read-voltage calibration technique and a PIM power-management scheme to solve the error analysis overkill problem.
For these reasons as well, Applicant respectfully submits that the combination of Kim, Han and Sity does not render Claim 9 unpatentable and requests reconsideration and withdrawal of the obviousness rejection as applied to Claim 9 and all claims that depend therefrom.
The Examiner acknowledges the errors in the citation and they have been corrected.
The Examiner agrees Kim does not provide disclosure on claim limitations a and b.
The Examiner agrees Han does not teach limitation a but disagrees regarding limitation b. Han suggests pass/fail determination in [0055] “The control logic 250 may control various operations including a program operation, a read operation, and an erase operation of the memory device 200. The voltage generator 260 may generate word line voltages (e.g., a program voltage Vpgm, a read voltage Vread, and a pass voltage Vpass) to be supplied to word lines according to an operation mode and a voltage to be supplied to a bulk (e.g., a well region) in which memory cells are formed. A voltage generating operation of the voltage generator 260 may be controlled by the control logic 250.” While Sity teaches the division of read data through “distribution of code amongst processor subunits, data may be divided between memory banks of the memory chip.”[0374] This is one of the many examples shown to remedy the gaps of Kim and Han. Sity also teaches ‘limitation a’ as shown below regarding claim 1.
One skilled in the art could combine the teachings of Kim, Han, and Sity to conclude the claimed limitations. Kim teaches pass/fail check circuitry, threshold voltage distribution, and a memory cell array. Han teaches multi-bit cells, a memory cell array, read voltage level determination information, and read environment information. Han also suggests pass/fail circuitry as the voltage threshold can be used for pass/fail determination. Sity teaches multi-bit values, read operations, time thresholds, and filtering parameters maintaining the previous prior art rejection. However, with the inclusion of the filtering circuits and filtering modes into the independent claims the applicant may be able to overcome the prior art of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 7746703 B2) in view of Han (US 2018/0173432 A1) in view of Sity (US 2022/0164297-A1).
In regards to claim 1, Kim teaches:
A memory comprising: a cell array including a plurality of memory cells and providing read data from the plurality of memory cells selected by row and column addresses; (Abstract, A flash memory device and a method of programming the same include a memory cell array, a pass/fail check circuit and a control logic circuit. The memory cell array includes multiple memory cells arranged in rows and columns.) as "fail" when the number of the plurality of multi-bit data groups determined as "fail" by the pass/fail determination circuit is greater than or equal to a first threshold value. (37, The program controller 171 controls the address generating circuit 160 as described above until the number of fail data bits input from the fail data bit detector 172 is greater than the reference value Ref.)
Kim fails to teach:
a pass/fail determination circuit configured to divide the read data into a plurality of multi-bit data groups and to determine whether each multi-bit data group is "pass" or "fail";
However, Han teaches:
a pass/fail determination circuit configured to divide the read data into a plurality of multi-bit data groups and to determine whether each multi-bit data group is "pass" or "fail"; (0079, The memory device MD may perform a logical operation on pieces of data read at two adjacent voltage levels from among the plurality of different voltage levels and may count the number of memory cells existing in each of a plurality of sections based on a result of the logical operation.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a memory cell array, a pass/fail check circuit and a control logic circuit of Kim with the teaching of Han, which teaches a read operation method in order improve reliability and efficiency. (Han: 0003, it takes a long time and the performance of a memory system including the nonvolatile memory is reduced.)
Kim in view of Han fails to teach:
and a section fail determination circuit configured to determine section fail information of sections, which correspond to the row and column addresses and each section associated with one of the plurality of multi-bit data groups,
However, Sity teaches:
and a section fail determination circuit configured to determine section fail information of sections, which correspond to the row and column addresses and each section associated with one of the plurality of multi-bit data groups, (0831, an activation circuit may be configured to activate one group of memory mats without activating another group of memory mats that share the same memory lines—or at least are coupled to different memory line segments that have a same line address.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a memory cell array, a pass/fail check circuit and a control logic circuit of Kim with the teaching of Sity, which teaches an integrated circuit for memory security in order improve hardware used to analyze data. (Sity: 0007, if the new chips are designed to operate with current data handling methods, they will have poor performance because current methods can limit the chip's ability to handle parallel operations.)
With regards to claim 2, Kim in view of Han in view of Sity teaches the memory of claim 1 and teaches:
wherein a read operation is performed multiple times changing one or more values of the row and column addresses, and a fail determination operation of the pass/fail determination circuit and the section fail determination circuit is performed whenever the read operation is performed. (15: Until all the memory cells are programmed within the predetermined number of times, the program loops are repeatedly performed. The program verify operation is essentially the same in the read operation except that read data are not output.)
With regards to claim 3, Kim teaches the memory of claim 2.
Kim fails to teach:
further comprising: a filtering circuit configured to filter the section fail information generated for each of the row and column addresses; and an output circuit configured to output a filtering result of the filtering circuit.
However, Han teaches:
further comprising: a filtering circuit configured to filter the section fail information generated for each of the row and column addresses; and an output circuit configured to output a filtering result of the filtering circuit. (1322, The filtering units may perform filtering operations such as comparing a value of a field to a threshold, comparing a value of a field to a predefined value, determining if a value of a field is within a predefined range, and the like.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a memory cell array, a pass/fail check circuit and a control logic circuit of Kim with the teaching of Han, which teaches a read operation method in order improve reliability and efficiency. (Han: 0003, it takes a long time and the performance of a memory system including the nonvolatile memory is reduced.)
With regards to claim 4, Kim in view of Han in view of Sity teaches the memory of claim 3.
Kim fails to teach:
wherein when a filtering mode is set, the filtering circuit maintains section fail information corresponding to predetermined target row and column addresses as they are and processes remaining section fail information as "pass".
However, Han teaches:
wherein when a filtering mode is set, the filtering circuit maintains section fail information corresponding to predetermined target row and column addresses as they are and processes remaining section fail information as "pass". (1322, The filtering units may perform filtering operations such as comparing a value of a field to a threshold, comparing a value of a field to a predefined value, determining if a value of a field is within a predefined range, and the like.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a memory cell array, a pass/fail check circuit and a control logic circuit of Kim with the teaching of Han, which teaches a read operation method in order improve reliability and efficiency. (Han: 0003, it takes a long time and the performance of a memory system including the nonvolatile memory is reduced.)
With regards to claim 5, Kim in view of Han in view of Sity teaches the memory of claim 4.
Kim fails to teach:
wherein the predetermined target row and column addresses have values of row and column addresses located in a diagonal portion of the cell array.
However, Han teaches:
wherein the predetermined target row and column addresses have values of row and column addresses located in a diagonal portion of the cell array. (0314 & 1322In a partial tile connection, the data from the diagonal adjacents may be passed through other adjacent processor subunits connected to the processor subunit. The filtering units may perform filtering operations such as comparing a value of a field to a threshold, comparing a value of a field to a predefined value, determining if a value of a field is within a predefined range, and the like.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a memory cell array, a pass/fail check circuit and a control logic circuit of Kim with the teaching of Han, which teaches a read operation method in order improve reliability and efficiency. (Han: 0003, it takes a long time and the performance of a memory system including the nonvolatile memory is reduced.)
With regards to claim 6, Kim in view of Han in view of Sity teaches the memory of claim 3 and teaches:
wherein when a filtering mode is set and the number of sections in which the section fail information is "fail" in an N number of adjacent rows is greater than or equal to a threshold value (where "N" is an integer greater than or equal to 2), the filtering circuit maintains section fail information of sections in the N number of adjacent rows as they are and assigns a "pass" value to sections of remaining rows. (40: The flash memory device may include a memory cell array having multiple memory cells arranged in rows and columns; a pass/fail check circuit for verifying whether data bits selected by a column address during a column scan operation have program data values.)
With regards to claim 7, Kim in view of Han in view of Sity teaches the memory of claim 3 and teaches:
herein when a filtering mode is set and the number of sections in which section fail information is "fail" in an M number of adjacent columns is greater than or equal to a third threshold value (where "M" is an integer greater than or equal to 2),the filtering circuit maintains section fail information of sections in the M number of columns as they are and processes section fail information in sections in the remaining columns as "pass". (40: The flash memory device may include a memory cell array having multiple memory cells arranged in rows and columns; a pass/fail check circuit for verifying whether data bits selected by a column address during a column scan operation have program data values.)
With regards to claim 8, Kim in view of Han in view of Sity teaches the memory of claim 1.
Kim fails to teach:
wherein the pass/fail determination circuit performs an XOR operation for each group and determines "pass" or "fail".
However, Han teaches:
wherein the pass/fail determination circuit performs an XOR operation for each group and determines "pass" or "fail". (0082, the defence code operator 314 may perform an XOR operation on the first data RD1 and the second data RD2 based on a selection defence code.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a memory cell array, a pass/fail check circuit and a control logic circuit of Kim with the teaching of Han, which teaches a read operation method in order improve reliability and efficiency. (Han: 0003, it takes a long time and the performance of a memory system including the nonvolatile memory is reduced.)
In regards to claim 9, Kim teaches:
An operating method of a memory, the operating method comprising: reading data of memory cells selected by a row address and a column address; (Abstract, A flash memory device and a method of programming the same include a memory cell array, a pass/fail check circuit and a control logic circuit. The memory cell array includes multiple memory cells arranged in rows and columns.) determining whether data is "pass" or "fail" for each group; and generating section fail information of a section, which corresponds to the row and column addresses, (Abstract, The pass/fail check circuit verifies whether data bits selected by a column address during a column scan operation have program data values. The control logic circuit detects fail data bits from the selected data bits and stores the column address in response to the verification result of the pass/fail check circuit.) as "fail" when a number of groups from the plurality of groups determined as "fail" by a pass/fail determination circuit is greater than or equal to a first threshold value. (37, The program controller 171 controls the address generating circuit 160 as described above until the number of fail data bits input from the fail data bit detector 172 is greater than the reference value Ref.)
Kim fails to teach:
dividing the data read from the memory cells into a plurality of groups;
However, Sity teaches:
dividing the data read from the memory cells into a plurality of groups; (0547, and dividing the number of words required simultaneously between multiple memory banks;)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a memory cell array, a pass/fail check circuit and a control logic circuit of Kim with the teaching of Sity, which teaches an integrated circuit for memory security in order improve hardware used to analyze data. (Sity: 0007, if the new chips are designed to operate with current data handling methods, they will have poor performance because current methods can limit the chip's ability to handle parallel operations.)
With regards to claim 10, Kim in view of Sity teaches the operating method of claim 9 and corresponds to claim 2 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 11, Kim in view of Sity in view of Han teaches the operating method of claim 10 and corresponds to claim 3 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 12, Kim in view of Sity in view of Han teaches the operating method of claim 11 and corresponds to claim 4 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 13, Kim in view of Sity in view of Han teaches the operating method of claim 12 and corresponds to claim 5 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 14, Kim in view of Sity in view of Han teaches the operating method of claim 11 and corresponds to claim 6 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 15, Kim in view of Sity in view of Han teaches the operating method of claim 11 and corresponds to claim 7 as analyzed accordingly.
With regards to claim 16, Kim in view of Sity teaches the operating method of claim 9 and corresponds to claim 8 as analyzed accordingly.
Prior Art Made of Record
The prior art mode of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
Abiko (US-8599613-B2): a nonvolatile semiconductor memory includes a memory cell array including memory cells of a first unit in which read and write are parallelly performed, n (n is a natural number of not less than 2) sense amplifiers, n detection circuits corresponding to the n sense amplifiers, an accumulator configured to divide the first unit data read from the memory cell array into z (z is a natural number) second unit data and accumulate a fail bit for which the write is incomplete for the second unit data, and a control circuit configured to control an operation of detecting the fail bit after the write.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
should be directed to VICTOR PERRY whose telephone number is (571)272-6319. The examiner can
normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 - 5:00.
Mark Featherstone can be reached on (571) 270-3750. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/V.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2111
/GUERRIER MERANT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111
11/9/2026