Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a log saving section,” “a log saving priority-setting section” : in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claim 3, the limitations of “a unit” is unclear and lacks antecedent basis. The claim is dependent on claim 1 which recites “a plurality of units” as well as “one unit.” It is unclear which unit the claim is referring to.
As per claim 4, the limitations of “a unit” and “above-mentioned unit” are unclear and lacks antecedent basis. The claim is dependent on claim 1 which recites “a plurality of units” as well as “one unit.” It is unclear which unit the claim is referring to.
As per claim 6, the limitation of “the same unit” is unclear and lacks antecedent basis. The claim is dependent on claim 1 which recites “a plurality of units” as well as “one unit.” It is unclear which unit the claim is referring to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanematsu United States Patent Application Publication No. 20190199862 in view of Akiyama et al. United States Patent Application Publication No. 20130135646
As per claim 1, Kanematsue teaches a printing system including, error detection and a plurality of units associated with a plurality of types of functions [printer fax an scanner (pp 0051-0053); error mode (pp 00, respectively, comprising:
a log saving section that automatically saves an operation log of firmware that controls one unit [log storage (pp 0057)];
a log saving priority-setting section for setting a priority of operation of the log saving section when an error has occurred [preferential storage of log (pp 0057); and
a controller that causes, when occurrence of an error is detected by the error detection section in a case where the priority of operation of the log saving section has been set by the log saving priority-setting section, the log saving section to execute an automatic saving process for automatically saving an operation log of firmware, and a screen to be displayed on a display section, for prompting a user to wait until the automatic saving process is terminated [warning for user to not shut down (pp 0047)].
Kanematsu does not explicitly teach a jam detection section that detects occurrence of a jam as a state in which a sheet is jammed and a guide display section that displays a guide of a procedure for removing a sheet in response to occurrence of the detected jam.
However, in analogous art, Akiyama teaches a jam detection section that detects occurrence of a jam as a state in which a sheet is jammed and guide display section that displays a guide of a procedure for removing a sheet in response to occurrence of the detected jam [user guidance system (pp 0008, 0103) consecutive instructions (Figures 5A-5E, pp 0083-0088)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the jam detection and user display for removing the sheet of Akiyama with the error of Kanematsu. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this as a paper jam is a known error in printers and to provide the operator with timely guidance in the consecutive instructions (Akiyama pp 0117).
As per claim 2, Kanematsu in view of Akiyama teach the printing system according to claim 1, wherein the controller further causes, when occurrence of a jam is detected by the jam detection section in a case where the priority of operation of the log saving section has been set by the log saving priority-setting section, the log saving section to execute the automatic saving process for automatically saving the operation log of firmware without displaying the guide, and disables reception of a user's operation during execution of the automatic saving process but enables reception of a user's operation by displaying the guide after the automatic saving process is terminated [Kanematsu: log storage prompt (pp 0047); display tunred off during log storage (S624 pp 0058). Akiyami teaches jam is the error (pp0008)].
As per claim 3, Kanematsu in view of Akiyama teach the printing system according to claim 1, wherein a unit in which a jam has occurred generates a jam code defining automatic log saving target information indicating whether or not a log is to be saved with respect to the jam which has occurred and notifies the generated jam code to the controller, and wherein the controller further determines whether or not to execute the automatic saving process based on a type of the notified jam code [Kanematsu: determining where the error has occurred (pp 0056); Akiyami teaches paper jam is the error (pp0008)].
As per claim 5, Kanematsu in view of Akiyama teach the printing system according to claim 1, wherein the controller further calculates a processing time required to perform the automatic saving process this time and displays the calculated processing time on the display section [Kanematsu: indicate length of time (pp0040), user screen (pp 0047)]
As per claim 7, Kanematsu in view of Akiyama teach the printing system according to claim 1, wherein the controller saves an operation log collected by executing the automatic saving process in a nonvolatile memory [Kanematsu pp0002].
As per claim 8, Kanematsu in view of Akiyama teach the printing system according to claim7,wherein the controller compresses operation logs most recently collected over a plurality of times by executing the automatic saving process and collectively stores the operation logs in a nonvolatile memory, and deletes an older operation log than the operation logs most recently stored over the plurality of times [Kanematsu: written over stored operation log (pp 0004).
As per claim 9, Kanematsu in view of Akiyama teach the printing system according to claim 7, further comprising a transmission section that transmits the collected operation logs to an information processing apparatus installed in an apparatus vendor at a predetermined timing via a network [Kanematsu: connected to a network (pp 0030)].
As per claim 10, Kanematsu in view of Akiyama teach the printing system according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of units include a scanner section that performs scanning and a printer section that performs printing [Kanematsu: Figure 1].
Claims 11-12 are rejected under the same rationale, mutatis mutandis, as claim 1 as they do not teach or further define over the limitations of claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is noted in PTO-892.
UZMA . ALAM
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2877
/UZMA ALAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884