Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-10) in the reply filed on 7/6/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 11-20 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1- 4, 7, 8, 9, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (CN114103101A, English translation provided).
Regarding claims 1, 2, Li discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1, 2, 3, a device comprising:
a rotatable head (as illustrated in Fig. 1, the electroatomization nozzle 14, the electrospray printing nozzle 15, and the electrospinning nozzle 16 (i.e., three nozzles having their outlets) are switched during rotation about its axis (page 4, lines 221-228) (related to claim 2)); and
one or more fluid dispensers coupled to the rotatable head (items 14, 15, 16 in Fig. 1 or 2 or 3 (page 3, lines 143-144)),
wherein the one or more fluid dispensers define multiple outlets (as shown in Fig. 2),
wherein the one or more fluid dispensers are configured to eject polymer melts through the multiple outlets while rotating the rotatable head about an axis (page 1, lines 19-39 (i.e., to drive the functional liquid to generate a fine jet to form resin-based composite structure); page 4, lines 221-228 (i.e., the electroatomization nozzle 14, the electrospray printing nozzle 15, and the electrospinning nozzle 16 are switched by the motor bevel tooth 17 with rotating)).
Regarding claim 3, Li discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 2, the three outlets are circumferentially symmetric about the axis.
Regarding claim 4, Li discloses that, by using PVP solution, the functional solution reaches the electroatomization nozzle 14 with an inner diameter of 50-500 µm, the electrospray printing nozzle 15 with an inner diameter of 10-100 µm, and the electrospinning nozzle 16 with an inner diameter of 30-200 µm (page 4, lines 209-217). At least, as illustrated in Fig. 3, adjust the key process parameters, control the printing device, the electroatomization layer 28, the electrospray printing layer 29 and the electrospinning layer 30 are sequentially prepared according the difference of the composite structure (page 5, lines 240-242).
Regarding claim 7, Li discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 3, after the nozzle switched, the PVP solution flowing into the nozzle through the buffer tube 26 and the liquid storage tank 4 forms droplets or jets (page 4, lines 232-236). Here, the liquid storage tank 4 can be considered as the claimed reservoir.
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 1, using the pushing force of the syringe pump 1, the PVP solution in the syringe is transported to the liquid storage tank 4 (page 4, lines 209-217).
Regarding claim 9, Li discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 1, the high-power supply 3 is supplied to the electroatomization nozzle 14, the electrospray printing nozzle 15, and the electrospinning nozzle 16 through the nozzle electrode 6 high voltage, and a driving electric field is formed between the substrate 13 and the electroatomization nozzle 14 or the electrospray printing nozzle 15 or the electrospinning nozzle 16 and the electroatomization layer 28, the electrospray printing layer 29 and the electrospinning layer 30 are formed on the substrate accordingly (page 4, lines 190-202).
Regarding claim 10, Li discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 3, the electroatomization layer 28, the electrospray printing layer 29 and the electrospinning layer 30 are intertwined on the surface of the substrate 13. It is noticed that, when the electroatomization layer 28, the electrospray printing layer 29 and the electrospinning layer 30 are deposited, the motor bevel tooth 17 is meshing with the conversion head bevel teeth 9 to rotate the print head accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN114103101A, English translation provided) in view of Chen (CN107281548A, English translation provided).
Regarding claims 5, 6, Li does not explicitly disclose a thermos-regulating device is coupled with the rotatable head.
In the same field of endeavor, 3d printing, Chen discloses that, 10 grams polydioxanone (PPDO (having a melting point around 107 to 115 C)) particles are placed in a nozzle (inner nerve catheter extrusion nozzle) heating device, the temperature of the heating device was set to 110 C, the PPDO was heated (to its melting state) (page 3, lines 142-148).
It would have been obvious to use the apparatus of Li to have the rotatable print head as Chen teaches that it is known to have the heating device coupled with the nozzle to melt the inside polymer for printing/jetting. It has been held that the combination of known technique to improve similar device is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
Conclusion
/SHIBIN LIANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741