DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed June 18, 2026 has been entered. Claims 7, 9 – 11, 14 and 21 – 35 are pending in the application with claims 21 – 35 being newly added and claims 1 – 6, 8, 12, 13 and 15 – 20 being cancelled. The amendment to the claims has overcome the drawing and claim objections set forth in the last Non-Final Action mailed March 26, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 9, 10, 14 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mack et al. (US 2020/0072296 – herein after Mack) in view of Watanabe et al. (EP 3006741A1 – herein after Watanabe).
In reference to claim 7, Mack teaches an electric submersible pump (ESP) assembly, comprising (see fig. 3A or 4A):
a first ESP component (see ¶26) comprising a first drive shaft (132) defining male splines (150) and a cut-out area (156;
a coupling shell (130) comprising
female splines (148) configured to mate with the male splines (150) of the first drive shaft, and
a first shoulder (154; “shouldered aperture” = stepped opening), wherein the first shoulder defines an aperture of the coupling shell (as evident from fig. 3A or 4A); and
a removable lug (set screw 158 + split ring 152).
Mack does not teach the removable lug comprising a second shoulder configured to abut the first shoulder, and a pin extending from the second shoulder, wherein the pin is configured to extend through the aperture and into the cut-out area.
However, Watanabe teaches (see fig. 19A-19B) a pump comprising: a first drive shaft (4) defining a cut-out area (4G); a coupling shell (130) comprising a first shoulder (10c; “shouldered aperture” = stepped opening), wherein the first shoulder defines an aperture (10s) of the coupling shell; a removable lug (20) comprising a second shoulder (20a) configured to abut the first shoulder, and a pin (threaded in/portion of the bolt 20) extending from the second shoulder, wherein the pin is configured to extend through the aperture and into the cut-out area (4G).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Mack’s coupling shell for substituting set-screw securing mechanism in the ESP assembly of Mack with another securing mechanism that has the coupling shell comprising a first shoulder, wherein the first shoulder defines an aperture of the coupling shell; a removable lug comprising a second shoulder configured to abut the first shoulder, and a pin extending from the second shoulder, wherein the pin is configured to extend through the aperture and into the cut-out area as taught by Watanabe in order to obtain the predictable result of axially locking the coupling. KSR Int’l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1740-41, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
In reference to claim 9, Mack teaches the ESP assembly, wherein (as evident from fig. 3A or fig. 4A) the cut-out area (156) is defined on an area of a surface of the first drive shaft (156) that does not feature the male splines (150).
In reference to claim 10, Mack teaches the ESP assembly, wherein a housing (casing) of the first ESP component (component being upper shaft 132, see fig. 3A) defines an access port (top or bottom opening) for accessing the removable lug (set screw 158 + split ring 152) [see figs. 2-3 and ¶25-26: “coupling 130” is between two shafts 132, 134; these shafts have casing surrounding it; the casing has “top or bottom” opening through which the asserted lug is accessible].
In reference to claim 14, Mack teaches the ESP assembly, further comprising (as evident from fig. 4A) a second ESP component (see ¶26) comprising a second drive shaft (134) configured to mate with the coupling shell (130).
In reference to claim 35, Mack teaches the ESP assembly, wherein (as evident from fig. 4A) the second drive shaft (134) is configured to abut a plate (164) of the coupling shell.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 21 – 34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior arts of record alone or in combination fails to teach the ESP assembly: wherein “the removable lug is secured to the coupling shell by a threaded bolt or a threaded screw”, as in claim 11; or further comprising “a first fastener configured to fasten the removable lug to the coupling shell”, as in claim 21.
Claims 22 – 34 depend on claim 21.
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed June 18, 2026 have been fully considered but they are moot. The amendment to independent claim 7 changed the scope of the claim. As a result, the prior arts have been re-evaluated and re-applied to claim 7, in view of newly found reference of Watanabe.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIRAG JARIWALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/BRYAN M LETTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746