Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/141338 A1 to Kim et al., hereinafter, “Kim” in view of WO 2023/181041 A1 to Raviv et al., hereinafter, “Raviv”.
Claim 1. Kim teaches A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute [0097] A recording medium in which a program for executing the above-described method is recorded may be provided.
a process for measuring ship information, the process comprising: [Abstract] acquiring collision-related information about the ship, including the distance between the ship and another ship on the basis of the pair of second points.
imaging a predetermined vessel with an image acquisition device to obtain a captured image of the predetermined vessel; [0014] acquiring an image of a port including the sea and a vessel
extracting a feature point of the predetermined vessel in the captured image based on an output obtained by inputting the obtained captured image to a machine learning model that extracts a feature point of a vessel from an image; [0014] acquiring an image of a port including the sea and a vessel, an input image and using an artificial neural network learned using a learning set in which class values indicating the sea, vessel, and feature, respectively, are labeled in pixels (feature points) corresponding to objects including the sea, ship, and feature included in the input image
[0281] the control module 200 may extract a pair of first points for obtaining a bow distance and a stern distance of a ship using an artificial neural network. As another example, the control module 200 may extract a pair of second points for obtaining the intership distance of the vessel using the artificial neural network.
obtaining a distance from the image acquisition device to a horizontal plane on which the predetermined vessel is positioned; [0437] The device 10 may use the acquired camera images to calculate the distance between the vessel and another vessel and/or the distance between the vessel and the quay wall
[0350] …Objects that exist in the image are treated as if they exist on a horizontal plane (sea level)…
Kim fails to explicitly teach obtaining an inclination angle of the image acquisition device with respect to the horizontal plane Raviv, in the same field of measuring ship information using neural networks to analyze image data teaches obtaining an inclination angle of the image acquisition device with respect to the horizontal plane; [page 40] The method further includes (793) determining an angle (noted angle _to _artificial_horizon) of the given marine object with respect to the artificial horizon line (see Fig. 71)…
Fig. 2D illustrates a schematic representation of the influence of the height of the imaging device in estimating the distance between the marine vessel and the marine object ([page 16] The marine objects can include e.g., other marine vessels, icebergs, buoys, etc)
Raviv teaches and identifying the ship information of the predetermined vessel based on a position of the feature point in the captured image, the distance, and the inclination angle. [page 17] the neural network 160 provides, in real time, or quasi real time after obtaining the image from the imaging device 120, an estimation of the distance between the marine vessel 125 and the marine object.
[page 20] …The pixel (understood to be feature point) position of each marine object can be identified in the image (as explained above). The image (together with the position of each marine object in the image) can be fed to the neural network 160 which outputs, for each given marine object, an estimate of the distance from the marine vessel 125 to the given marine object.
[page 31] a plurality of sensors 115 is available, which includes sensors 115 of different types (e.g., a first sensor is a radar, a second sensor is AIS, a third sensor is GPS, etc.). In this case, for each sensor, position data of marine objects detected by this sensor is obtained.
[page 32] if sensor 115 is an AIS, absolute position (latitude, longitude in world coordinates) of the marine objects is obtained. (understood to be distance)
[page 32] If sensor 115 is a radar, position of the marine object relative to the marine vessel 125 is obtained (expressed e.g., as a range and an angular position relative to the radar and/or marine vessel 125). (understood to be inclination angle)
Thus, before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Raviv [page 1] because it is now necessary to provide new methods and systems in order to improve safety and reliability of marine vessels navigation, improve understanding of the marine environment for marine vessels, and improve control of marine vessels. More generally, it is necessary to develop innovative methods in the marine domain, and in particular, in the field of autonomous ships.
Claim 2. Kim teaches The non-transitory computer-readable recording medium according to claim 1, the medium storing the program for causing the computer to execute the process further comprising: causing the machine learning model to train to extract, as the feature point, a point according to a definition of a dimension of the vessel. [0014] …using an artificial neural network learned using a learning set in which class values indicating the sea, vessel, and feature, respectively, are labeled in pixels (equivalent feature points) corresponding to objects including the sea, ship, and feature included in the input image.
[0281] the control module 200 may extract a pair of first points for obtaining a bow distance and a stern distance of a ship (dimension of the vessel) using an artificial neural network. As another example, the control module 200 may extract a pair of second points for obtaining the intership distance of the vessel (dimension of the vessel) using the artificial neural network.
Claim 3. Raviv teaches The non-transitory computer-readable recording medium according to claim 1, wherein the extracting the feature point includes: obtaining probability distribution of the feature point output from the machine learning model in the captured image; [page 20] Fig. 2E, in which, for each candidate distance (the X-axis of the graph corresponds to the estimation of the distance value D between the marine vessel 125 and the marine object), a probability (the Y-axis of the graph corresponds to the probability P associated with each distance value) is provided. The higher the value of P, the higher the probability that the corresponding distance value is correct according to the neural network 160.
[page 20] Fig. 2A can be performed in parallel for a plurality of different marine objects. Assume for example that a plurality of N different marine objects is present in the image. The pixel (understood to be feature point) position of each marine object can be identified in the image (as explained above). The image (together with the position of each marine object in the image) can be fed to the neural network 160 which outputs, for each given marine object, an estimate of the distance from the marine vessel 125 to the given marine object.
[page 20] the distance output by the neural network 160 can be selected as the candidate distance with the highest probability. This is not limitative. In some embodiments, a statistical analysis can be performed on the probability distribution of the candidate distances.
Fig. 2E - a distribution of candidate distances estimated by a neural network
and identifying the position of the feature point based on the probability distribution. Raviv [page 22] as illustrated in Fig. 3B, for the image of the marine object 370 acquired at T.sub.1, the distribution 375 of candidate distances is obtained (each candidate distance being associated with a probability), for the image of the marine object 370 acquired at T.sub.2, the distribution 376 of candidate distances is obtained (each candidate distance being associated with a probability), and for the image of the marine object 370 acquired at T.sub.N, the distribution 377 of candidate distances is obtained.
Fig. 3C illustrates an embodiment of a system which uses the plurality of distributions of candidate distances estimated by a neural network over time to determine the candidate distance;
Claim 4. Raviv teaches The non-transitory computer-readable recording medium according to claim 1, wherein the identifying the ship information includes: converting the position of the feature point in the captured image into a position in a first coordinate system with an imaging direction of the image acquisition device as a reference; [page 17] If the sea level is considered as the X-Y plane, and the Z axis corresponds to the height from the sea level, the distance can be expressed e.g. between a point of the sea level located at the same X/Y coordinates as the imaging device 120 of the marine vessel 125 and the marine object 270.
[page 37]In order to convert the first position data into the common referential, an assumption on the data informative of the height and/or orientation of the imaging device 120 can be made.
converting the position of the feature point in the first coordinate system into a position in a second coordinate system with a plane parallel to the horizontal plane as a reference; [page 37] The common referential can correspond e.g., to a global/absolute referential such as world coordinates (latitude, longitude). This is not limitative and other referentials can be used. For example, a predefined set of coordinates which share the same plane can be used (for example the set of coordinates is expressed relative to the marine vessel’s position, which is selected as the origin of the set of coordinates).
[page 37] If position data is provided by a radar, it is possible to convert the position data in world coordinates by using the position of the marine vessel 125. Indeed, since the radar provides relative position (range/bearing), and the position of the marine vessel 125 is known (using e.g., a localization system such as GPS/AIS of the marine vessel 125), it is possible to project the position data into world coordinates (or into another common referential).
[page 38] Fig. 7E illustrates a projection of the first position data and the second position data into a common referential 752 (a global/absolute referential, such as an Earth referential).
and identifying the ship information of the predetermined vessel based on the position of the feature point, the distance, and the inclination angle in the second coordinate system. [page 20] …The pixel (understood to be feature point) position of each marine object can be identified in the image (as explained above). The image (together with the position of each marine object in the image) can be fed to the neural network 160 which outputs, for each given marine object, an estimate of the distance from the marine vessel 125 to the given marine object.
[page 31] a plurality of sensors 115 is available, which includes sensors 115 of different types (e.g., a first sensor is a radar, a second sensor is AIS, a third sensor is GPS, etc.). In this case, for each sensor, position data of marine objects detected by this sensor is obtained.
[page 32] if sensor 115 is an AIS, absolute position (latitude, longitude in world coordinates) of the marine objects is obtained. (understood to be distance)
[page 32] If sensor 115 is a radar, position of the marine object relative to the marine vessel 125 is obtained (expressed e.g., as a range and an angular position relative to the radar and/or marine vessel 125). (understood to be inclination angle)
Claim 5. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 1. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 6. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 1. See the above analysis and rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2020/0365035 A1 to Im et al.
/DELOMIA L GILLIARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2661