DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Teo (US 2023/0310992).
Regarding claim 1, Teo discloses method performed by a computing device including one or more processors, the method comprising:
setting a safe zone (231, fig. 2b) within a field (200, fig. 2b) where game play of a user (210, fig. 2b) takes place; and
updating the safe zone (see updated 232, fig. 2c) at every preset area update cycle (para. 77; wherein a default time period is preset for each update cycle),
wherein the updating comprises:
setting some areas (323, fig. 2c) within an existing safe zone (231, fig. 2c) as a new safe zone each time the area update cycle starts (see fig. 2c-2e and para. 94); and
changing remaining areas within the existing safe zone, excluding the new safe zone, to a danger zone (290 in fig. fig. 2c-2e) each time the area update cycle ends (para. 76).
Regarding claim 2, Teo discloses further comprising changing some areas of the existing safe zone or the new safe zone to the danger zone regardless of the area update cycle (para. 77; wherein the shortened period of time is used for updating instead of the default time period).
Regarding claim 4, Teo discloses wherein the setting comprises determining a size of the new safety zone based on a preset ratio (para. 74, 33) to a size of the existing safety zone each time the area update cycle starts (para. 32, 51).
Regarding claim 5, Teo discloses wherein the preset ratio increases or decreases each time the safe zone is updated according to the area update cycle (para. 74; see default shrink rate and increased shrink rate).
Regarding claim 6, Teo discloses wherein the updating further comprises displaying a graphic effect (232, fig. 2C) on the field (see 200, fig. 2c and para. 70) that allows visual identification of the new safe zone and the remaining areas (see fig. 2c).
Regarding claim 8, Teo discloses wherein the updating further comprises displaying the new safe zone (232, fig. 2c) and a current location of a game character (210, fig. 2c) being played by the user on a mini map (210, fig. 2c and para. 70) displayed on a game play screen provided to the user (para 70).
Claims 9-10, 12-14 and 16 are rejected for the same reasons stated for claims 1-2, 4-6 and 8, respectively. See above rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teo in view of Sun (US 2021/0178270).
Regarding claim 3, Teo fails to disclose randomly determining a location of the new safe zone.
Sun discloses wherein the setting comprises randomly determining a location of the new safe zone within the existing safe zone each time the area update cycle starts (see para. 52, 69, 72).
When the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the teachings of Sun in the device of Teo. The motivation for doing so would have been to keep the new location of the safe zone unpredictable (Sun; para. 75). Ultimately creating greater usability in the game, such that the game does not become repetitive and predictable.
Claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 3 above.
Claim(s) claims 7 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teo in view of Aita (US 2020/0306649).
Regarding claim 7, Teo fails to disclose displaying a timer to the user.
Aita discloses wherein the updating further comprises displaying a remaining time (see para. 345) until the safe zone is updated according to the area update cycle on a game play screen provided to the user (para. 345 and fig. 7A).
When the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the teachings of Aita in the device of Teo. The motivation for doing so would have been to been display a timer to the user, such that the user has a visual indicator telling him how much time is left to complete his current objective (Aita; para. 345 and fig. 7). Ultimately creating better understanding for the user.
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons stated for claim 7 above.
Conclusion
/ROBIN J MISHLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628