DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Swenson et al. (US 3727974) (“Swenson”). Swenson discloses an isolator to movably support a seat of a vehicle, the isolator comprising: an isolator frame (figs. 1, 4: 27) supporting a seat portion of the seat; and a Z-shaped pivot link (fig. 4: 10, 12 and 14 form a Z shape), including: a first leg portion (fig. 4: 14) extending in a first direction to define a first axis; a second leg portion (fig. 4: 12) extending in a second direction to define a second axis; and a stem portion (fig. 4: 10) extending between the first leg portion and the second leg portion, the stem portion extending transverse to the first and second axes to define an offset between the first axis and the second axis; the Z-shaped pivot link pivotally engaging the isolator frame along the first axis defined by the first leg portion of the pivot link, to pivotally support the isolator frame relative to the vehicle.
As concerns claim 6, Swenson discloses wherein the vehicle includes a suspension supporting the seat, the suspension including: a suspension frame (fig. 4: 2), the Z-shaped pivot link supporting the isolator frame relative to the suspension frame.
As concerns claim 7, Swenson discloses wherein the Z-shaped pivot link supports the isolator frame along the first axis defined by the first leg portion of the pivot link and supports the suspension frame along the second axis defined by the second leg portion of the pivot link (as shown in figs. 1 and 4).
Claim(s) 8 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Magnus et al. (US 2013/0113247) (“Magnus”). Magnus discloses: a suspension frame (fig. 1: 13); an isolator including an isolator frame (fig. 1: 2); and an overmolded-wire pivot link (fig. 1: 4, 5) that supports the isolator frame relative to the suspension frame, the overmolded-wire pivot link being rotatably engaged with the suspension frame along a first axis (fig. 1: 12) and rotatably engaged with the isolator frame along a second axis (fig. 1: 11), the first axis and the second axis being offset from each other.
As concerns claim 12, Magnus discloses wherein the overmolded-wire pivot link includes a plastic overmolded portion (fig. 1: 4) encapsulating a metallic wire portion (fig. 1: 5) of the pivot link.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 9-11, and 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 16-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art reference of Swenson fails to teach:
wherein the Z-shaped pivot link includes a plastic overmolded portion encapsulating a metallic portion of the pivot link along the first leg portion to support the metallic portion relative to the isolator frame;
a locking mechanism, including: a locking handle pivotably supported relative to the vehicle; anda leaf spring engaged with the locking handle, the leaf spring being movable between a locked and unlocked position via movement of the locking handle;wherein the locking handle locks the isolator frame against movement relative to the vehicle when the leaf spring is in the locked position, and permits movement of the isolator frame relative to the vehicle when the leaf spring is in the unlocked position;
a tie bar secured to the isolator frame, the tie bar extending from the isolator frame to define a first movement limit for the isolator frame in a first direction and define a second movement limit for the isolator frame in a second direction;
wherein one or more of the isolator frame or the suspension frame defines a protrusion extending towards the overmolded-wire pivot link, the protrusion contacting the overmolded-wire pivot link to limit lateral deflection of the suspension; or
wherein a first end of the wire portion extends along the first axis and is encapsulated by the plastic overmolded portion along the first axis, and a second end of the wire portion extends along the second axis and is encapsulated by the plastic overmolded portion along the second axis.
Further, there is no teaching, suggestion or motivation to modify the prior art absent hindsight.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY J BRINDLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636