DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,265,684. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are generic to all that is recited in Patent 12,265,684 claims 1 and 12 as seen in the table below.
Instant Application 19/066983
Patent 12,265,684
Claim 1:A touch panel, comprising:
a plurality of touch transmitting electrodes on a substrate; and
a plurality of touch receiving electrodes that cross the plurality of touch transmitting electrodes to define a plurality of touch units,
wherein the plurality of touch transmitting electrodes include at least one transmitting main electrode, at least one transmitting auxiliary electrode that is parallel to the at least one transmitting main electrode, and at least one transmitting connecting electrode connected to the at least one transmitting main electrode, and
wherein the at least one transmitting main electrode, the at least one transmitting auxiliary electrode and the at least one transmitting connecting electrode are disposed on a same layer as each other.
Claim 1:
A touch panel, comprising:
a substrate including a central area and a boundary area;
a barrier layer over the substrate;
a plurality of touch transmitting electrodes on the barrier layer; and
a plurality of touch receiving electrodes that cross the plurality of touch transmitting electrodes to define a plurality of touch units,
wherein one of the plurality of touch transmitting electrodes in the boundary area includes at least one transmitting main electrode, at least one transmitting auxiliary electrode that is parallel to and horizontally separated from the at least one transmitting main electrode, and at least one auxiliary connecting electrode that connects together the at least one transmitting main electrode and the at least one transmitting auxiliary electrode,
wherein the at least one transmitting main electrode, the at least one transmitting auxiliary electrode and the at least one auxiliary connecting electrode have a same layer as each other on the barrier layer, and
wherein one of the plurality of touch transmitting electrodes in the central area includes at least one transmitting main electrode but not any transmitting auxiliary electrode and auxiliary connecting electrode
Claim 8:
A touch display device, comprising:
a display panel configured to display an image;
a touch panel on the display panel, the touch panel comprising:
a plurality of touch transmitting electrodes on a substrate; and
a plurality of touch receiving electrodes that cross the plurality of touch transmitting electrodes to define a plurality of touch units,
wherein the plurality of touch transmitting electrodes include at least one transmitting main electrode, and at least one transmitting auxiliary electrode that is parallel to and spaced apart from the at least one transmitting main electrode; and
a cover window on the touch panel.
Claim 13: A touch display device, comprising:
a display panel configured to display an image;
a touch panel on the display panel, the touch panel comprising:
a substrate including a central area and a boundary area;
a barrier layer over the substrate;
a plurality of touch transmitting electrodes on the barrier layer; and
a plurality of touch receiving electrodes that cross the plurality of touch transmitting electrodes to define a plurality of touch units,
wherein one of the plurality of touch transmitting electrodes in the boundary area includes at least one transmitting main electrode, at least one transmitting auxiliary electrode that is parallel to and horizontally separated from the at least one transmitting main electrode, and at least one auxiliary connecting electrode that connects together the at least one transmitting main electrode and the at least one transmitting auxiliary electrode,
wherein the at least one transmitting main electrode, the at least one transmitting auxiliary electrode and the at least one auxiliary connecting electrode have a same layer as each other on the barrier layer, and
wherein one of the plurality of touch transmitting electrodes in the central area includes at least one transmitting main electrode but not any auxiliary electrode and auxiliary connecting electrode; and
a cover window on the touch panel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Teranishi et al. (US Pub. 2016/0147339), hereinafter Teranishi.
Regarding claim 1, Teranishi discloses a touch panel, comprising: a plurality of touch transmitting electrodes on a substrate (Paragraph [0228]: the driving signals Tsig1 to Tsig4 which are clock signals φ are transmitted to the corresponding signal wirings LTX1 to LTX4 to be supplied to the corresponding common electrodes TL(0) to TL(3). When the driving signals Tsig1 to Tsig4 are supplied to the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(3), changes in the amount of voltage change caused in accordance with whether vicinities thereof are touched or not are generated at the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(3), are transmitted to the external terminals TxP1(IO) to TxP4(IO) via the signal wirings LTX1 to LTX4 and are amplified by the touch detection signal amplifying unit 1601. This makes it possible to detect whether any of the vicinities of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(3) is touched or not); and a plurality of touch receiving electrodes that cross the plurality of touch transmitting electrodes to define a plurality of touch units (Fig. 17; Paragraph [0204]: touch detection signal amplifying unit 1601 receives the detection signals TxD1 to TxD4 from the signal wirings LTX1 to LTX4 via the external terminals TxP1(IO) to TxP4(IO), amplifies changes in electric charge generated depending on whether vicinities of the common electrodes are touched or not as changes in voltage and outputs the signals to the A/D conversion unit 14 shown in FIG. 1. Namely, during this period, the external terminals TxP1(IO) to TxP4(IO) function as input terminals; Paragraph [0253]: In each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(7), the amount of voltage change is generated in accordance with whether vicinities thereof are touched or not upon supply of the driving signals Tsig1 to Tsig4. The generated amount of voltage change is synthesized in the signal wirings LTX1 to LTX4, and the synthesized amount of voltage change is transmitted to the external terminals TxP1(IO) to TxP4(IO) of the semiconductor device for touch. The transmitted amount of voltage change is amplified in the touch detection signal amplifying unit 1601 (FIG. 17). The amplified amount of voltage change is processed in the A/D conversion unit 14 (FIG. 1), the signal processing unit 15 (FIG. 1) and the coordinate extraction unit 16, and the process result is supplied to the control unit 19), wherein the plurality of touch transmitting electrodes include at least one transmitting main electrode, at least one transmitting auxiliary electrode that is parallel to the at least one transmitting main electrode (Paragraph [0170]: first display/touch detection switch circuit 1500 is disposed on one end side of each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) extending along the column, and the second display/touch detection switch circuit 1501 is disposed on the other end side of each of the extending common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p). Namely, the first display/touch detection switch circuit 1500 and the second display/touch detection switch circuit 1501 are disposed such that the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) are interposed between. The first display/touch detection switch circuit 1500 and the second display/touch detection switch circuit 1501 include a plurality of switches which are controlled by control signals VCOMSEL, and a predetermined voltage VCOMDC is supplied to each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) during display periods, while the common electrodes and signal lines SL(i) are electrically connected during touch detection periods. With this arrangement, during the display periods, a predetermined voltage VCOMDC is supplied to the common electrodes extending in the column direction from both ends thereof, so that it is possible to suppress fluctuations in voltages of the common electrodes during the display periods. Further, during the touch detection periods, signal lines and common electrodes are electrically connected in parallel), and at least one transmitting connecting electrode connected to the at least one transmitting main electrode (Fig. 3B; Paragraph [0021]: the touch detection driving electrodes are formed on the same substrate as a substrate formed with pixel electrodes, the first selection circuit is formed in a frame region along a short side of the substrate, and the touch detection driving electrodes are also used as common electrodes for a video display; Paragraph [0085]: FIG. 3B, an insulation layer 301 is further formed on a main surface of signal lines SL(0)0(R), SL(0)0(G) and SL(0)0(B) corresponding to image signals R, G and B and on a main surface of the TFT substrate 300, and the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) are formed on the insulation layer 301. Auxiliary electrodes SM are formed at each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p), and the auxiliary electrodes SM are electrically connected with the common electrodes for achieving reductions in electric resistance of the common electrodes. An insulation layer 302 is formed on the upper surface of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) and the auxiliary electrodes SM, and pixel electrodes LDP are formed on the upper surface of the insulation layer 302), and wherein the at least one transmitting main electrode, the at least one transmitting auxiliary electrode and the at least one transmitting connecting electrode are disposed on a same layer as each other (Fig. 3B; Paragraph [0085]: FIG. 3B, an insulation layer 301 is further formed on a main surface of signal lines SL(0)0(R), SL(0)0(G) and SL(0)0(B) corresponding to image signals R, G and B and on a main surface of the TFT substrate 300, and the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) are formed on the insulation layer 301. Auxiliary electrodes SM are formed at each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p), and the auxiliary electrodes SM are electrically connected with the common electrodes for achieving reductions in electric resistance of the common electrodes. An insulation layer 302 is formed on the upper surface of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) and the auxiliary electrodes SM, and pixel electrodes LDP are formed on the upper surface of the insulation layer 302. In FIG. 3B, each of CR, CB and CG are color filters, and a liquid crystal layer 303 is interposed between the color filters CR(red), CG(green) and CB(blue) and the insulation layer 302. Here, the pixel electrodes LDP are provided at intersections of the scanning lines and signal lines, and a color filter CR, CG or CB corresponding to each of the pixel electrodes LDP is provided above each of the pixel electrodes LDP. A black matrix BM is provided between the color filters CR, CG and CB; Paragraph [0170]: first display/touch detection switch circuit 1500 is disposed on one end side of each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) extending along the column, and the second display/touch detection switch circuit 1501 is disposed on the other end side of each of the extending common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p). Namely, the first display/touch detection switch circuit 1500 and the second display/touch detection switch circuit 1501 are disposed such that the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) are interposed between. The first display/touch detection switch circuit 1500 and the second display/touch detection switch circuit 1501 include a plurality of switches which are controlled by control signals VCOMSEL, and a predetermined voltage VCOMDC is supplied to each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) during display periods, while the common electrodes and signal lines SL(i) are electrically connected during touch detection periods. With this arrangement, during the display periods, a predetermined voltage VCOMDC is supplied to the common electrodes extending in the column direction from both ends thereof, so that it is possible to suppress fluctuations in voltages of the common electrodes during the display periods. Further, during the touch detection periods, signal lines and common electrodes are electrically connected in parallel).
Regarding claim 2, Teranishi discloses the touch panel of claim 1, wherein the at least one transmitting main electrode includes two or more transmitting main electrodes that are connected together via the at least one transmitting connecting electrode (Paragraph [0170]: first display/touch detection switch circuit 1500 is disposed on one end side of each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) extending along the column, and the second display/touch detection switch circuit 1501 is disposed on the other end side of each of the extending common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p). Namely, the first display/touch detection switch circuit 1500 and the second display/touch detection switch circuit 1501 are disposed such that the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) are interposed between. The first display/touch detection switch circuit 1500 and the second display/touch detection switch circuit 1501 include a plurality of switches which are controlled by control signals VCOMSEL, and a predetermined voltage VCOMDC is supplied to each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) during display periods, while the common electrodes and signal lines SL(i) are electrically connected during touch detection periods. With this arrangement, during the display periods, a predetermined voltage VCOMDC is supplied to the common electrodes extending in the column direction from both ends thereof, so that it is possible to suppress fluctuations in voltages of the common electrodes during the display periods. Further, during the touch detection periods, signal lines and common electrodes are electrically connected in parallel).
Regarding claim 3, Teranishi discloses the touch panel of claim 1, wherein the plurality of touch receiving electrodes include at least one receiving main electrode (Fig. 17; Paragraph [0204]: touch detection signal amplifying unit 1601 receives the detection signals TxD1 to TxD4 from the signal wirings LTX1 to LTX4 via the external terminals TxP1(IO) to TxP4(IO), amplifies changes in electric charge generated depending on whether vicinities of the common electrodes are touched or not as changes in voltage and outputs the signals to the A/D conversion unit 14 shown in FIG. 1. Namely, during this period, the external terminals TxP1(IO) to TxP4(IO) function as input terminals; Paragraph [0253]: In each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(7), the amount of voltage change is generated in accordance with whether vicinities thereof are touched or not upon supply of the driving signals Tsig1 to Tsig4. The generated amount of voltage change is synthesized in the signal wirings LTX1 to LTX4, and the synthesized amount of voltage change is transmitted to the external terminals TxP1(IO) to TxP4(IO) of the semiconductor device for touch. The transmitted amount of voltage change is amplified in the touch detection signal amplifying unit 1601 (FIG. 17). The amplified amount of voltage change is processed in the A/D conversion unit 14 (FIG. 1), the signal processing unit 15 (FIG. 1) and the coordinate extraction unit 16, and the process result is supplied to the control unit 19).
Regarding claim 4, Teranishi discloses the touch panel of claim 3, wherein the at least one receiving main electrode includes two or more receiving main electrodes that are connected together via at least one receiving connecting electrode (Fig. 17; Paragraph [0204]: touch detection signal amplifying unit 1601 receives the detection signals TxD1 to TxD4 from the signal wirings LTX1 to LTX4 via the external terminals TxP1(IO) to TxP4(IO), amplifies changes in electric charge generated depending on whether vicinities of the common electrodes are touched or not as changes in voltage and outputs the signals to the A/D conversion unit 14 shown in FIG. 1. Namely, during this period, the external terminals TxP1(IO) to TxP4(IO) function as input terminals; Paragraph [0253]: In each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(7), the amount of voltage change is generated in accordance with whether vicinities thereof are touched or not upon supply of the driving signals Tsig1 to Tsig4. The generated amount of voltage change is synthesized in the signal wirings LTX1 to LTX4, and the synthesized amount of voltage change is transmitted to the external terminals TxP1(IO) to TxP4(IO) of the semiconductor device for touch. The transmitted amount of voltage change is amplified in the touch detection signal amplifying unit 1601 (FIG. 17). The amplified amount of voltage change is processed in the A/D conversion unit 14 (FIG. 1), the signal processing unit 15 (FIG. 1) and the coordinate extraction unit 16, and the process result is supplied to the control unit 19).
Regarding claim 5, Teranishi discloses the touch panel of claim 3, further comprising: at least one receiving extending electrode extending from the at least one receiving main electrode (Fig. 16A; Paragraph [0195]: FIG. 16A to FIG. 16C are explanatory views for explaining the basic principle of touch detection of self-capacity method. In FIG. 16A, TL(0) to TL(p) are the common electrodes respectively extending in the column direction and disposed in parallel in the row direction, and RL(0) to RL(p) are the detection electrodes respectively disposed to intersect with the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p). The detection electrodes RL(0) to RL(p) respectively extend in the row direction and are disposed in parallel in the column direction to intersect with the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p). Further, while the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) and the detection electrodes RL(0) to RL(p) appear to be intersected with each other when seen in a plan view, an insulating layer is interposed between the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) and the detection electrodes RL(0) to RL(p) such that they do not electrically contact each other; Paragraph [0205]: external terminal TxP1(IO) functions as an output terminal for outputting driving signals Tsig1 and as an input terminal for receiving detection signals TxD1, and the external terminal TxP2(IO) functions as an output terminal for outputting driving signals Tsig2 and as an input terminal for receiving detection signals TxD2. Similarly, the external terminal TxP3(IO) functions as an output terminal for outputting driving signals Tsig3 and as an input terminal for receiving detection signals TxD3, and the external terminal TxP4(IO) functions as an output terminal for outputting driving signals Tsig4 and as an input terminal for receiving detection signals TxD4. Namely, in the second embodiment, the number of external terminals TxP1(IO) to TxP4(IO) for outputting driving signals is four, and the number of external terminals TxP1(IO) to TxP4(IO) receiving detection signals is also four. While the external terminals TxP1(IO) to TxP4(IO) are defined to be input/output terminals in FIG. 17).
Regarding claim 6, Teranishi discloses the touch panel of claim 5, wherein the at least one receiving main electrode includes two or more receiving main electrodes that are connected together via at least one receiving connecting electrode, and wherein the at least one receiving extending electrode extends from the at least one receiving connecting electrode (Fig. 17; Paragraph [0204]: touch detection signal amplifying unit 1601 receives the detection signals TxD1 to TxD4 from the signal wirings LTX1 to LTX4 via the external terminals TxP1(IO) to TxP4(IO), amplifies changes in electric charge generated depending on whether vicinities of the common electrodes are touched or not as changes in voltage and outputs the signals to the A/D conversion unit 14 shown in FIG. 1. Namely, during this period, the external terminals TxP1(IO) to TxP4(IO) function as input terminals; Paragraph [0253]: In each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(7), the amount of voltage change is generated in accordance with whether vicinities thereof are touched or not upon supply of the driving signals Tsig1 to Tsig4. The generated amount of voltage change is synthesized in the signal wirings LTX1 to LTX4, and the synthesized amount of voltage change is transmitted to the external terminals TxP1(IO) to TxP4(IO) of the semiconductor device for touch. The transmitted amount of voltage change is amplified in the touch detection signal amplifying unit 1601 (FIG. 17). The amplified amount of voltage change is processed in the A/D conversion unit 14 (FIG. 1), the signal processing unit 15 (FIG. 1) and the coordinate extraction unit 16, and the process result is supplied to the control unit 19).
Regarding claim 7, Teranishi discloses the touch panel of claim 1, wherein each of the at least one transmitting main electrode, the at least one transmitting auxiliary electrode and the at least one transmitting connecting electrode has a straight bar shape or a zigzag bar shape (Fig. 2A; Paragraph [0024]: FIG. 2A, each of 12-0 to 12-p indicates a unit buffer provided within the driving electrode driver 12. Namely, driving signals TX(0) to Tx(p) are output from the unit buffers 12-0 to 12-p. Further, each of the 13-0 to 13-p indicates a unit amplifying unit within the touch detection signal amplifying unit 13. In FIG. 2A, pulse signals surrounded by the solid line circle indicate voltage waveforms of driving signals Tsign1 to Tsig4 which are to be the driving signals Tx(0) to Tx(p). While only a voltage waveform of driving signal Tsig1 is shown in FIG. 2A, driving signals Tsig2 to Tsig4 have similar waveforms. In this drawing, a finger is indicated as FG as an external object).
Regarding claim 8, Teranishi discloses a touch display device (Fig. 1; Paragraph [0054]: an outline of the overall configuration of the liquid crystal display 1 with touch detection functions will be explained using FIG. 1. FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing a configuration of the liquid crystal display 1 with touch detection functions. The liquid crystal display 1 with touch detection functions includes a liquid crystal panel (display panel) 2, a display control device 5, a signal line selector 6, a touch control device 7 and a gate driver 8. In FIG. 1, the liquid crystal panel 2 is illustrated in schematic form so as to make the drawing easy to see, and includes a liquid crystal panel portion (display panel portion) 3 and a touch detection panel portion 4), comprising: a display panel configured to display an image (Abstract: a display capable of achieving downsizing and a touch detection method. The display includes a pixel array including a plurality of pixels disposed in a matrix form, a plurality of scanning lines disposed in each row of the pixel array and supplying scanning signals to the plurality of pixels disposed in corresponding rows, a plurality of signal lines disposed in each column of the pixel array and supplying image signals to the plurality of pixels disposed in corresponding columns, a plurality of common electrodes disposed in each of the columns of the pixel array and supplied with driving signals for detecting touch, and a semiconductor device for touch including a plurality of driving terminals for supplying the driving signals. Here, the plurality of driving terminals of the semiconductor device for touch are smaller in number than the plurality of common electrodes disposed in the pixel array); a touch panel on the display panel, the touch panel comprising: a plurality of touch transmitting electrodes on a substrate (Paragraph [0228]: the driving signals Tsig1 to Tsig4 which are clock signals φ are transmitted to the corresponding signal wirings LTX1 to LTX4 to be supplied to the corresponding common electrodes TL(0) to TL(3). When the driving signals Tsig1 to Tsig4 are supplied to the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(3), changes in the amount of voltage change caused in accordance with whether vicinities thereof are touched or not are generated at the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(3), are transmitted to the external terminals TxP1(IO) to TxP4(IO) via the signal wirings LTX1 to LTX4 and are amplified by the touch detection signal amplifying unit 1601. This makes it possible to detect whether any of the vicinities of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(3) is touched or not); and a plurality of touch receiving electrodes that cross the plurality of touch transmitting electrodes to define a plurality of touch units (Fig. 17; Paragraph [0204]: touch detection signal amplifying unit 1601 receives the detection signals TxD1 to TxD4 from the signal wirings LTX1 to LTX4 via the external terminals TxP1(IO) to TxP4(IO), amplifies changes in electric charge generated depending on whether vicinities of the common electrodes are touched or not as changes in voltage and outputs the signals to the A/D conversion unit 14 shown in FIG. 1. Namely, during this period, the external terminals TxP1(IO) to TxP4(IO) function as input terminals; Paragraph [0253]: In each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(7), the amount of voltage change is generated in accordance with whether vicinities thereof are touched or not upon supply of the driving signals Tsig1 to Tsig4. The generated amount of voltage change is synthesized in the signal wirings LTX1 to LTX4, and the synthesized amount of voltage change is transmitted to the external terminals TxP1(IO) to TxP4(IO) of the semiconductor device for touch. The transmitted amount of voltage change is amplified in the touch detection signal amplifying unit 1601 (FIG. 17). The amplified amount of voltage change is processed in the A/D conversion unit 14 (FIG. 1), the signal processing unit 15 (FIG. 1) and the coordinate extraction unit 16, and the process result is supplied to the control unit 19), wherein the plurality of touch transmitting electrodes include at least one transmitting main electrode (Paragraph [0170]: first display/touch detection switch circuit 1500 is disposed on one end side of each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) extending along the column, and the second display/touch detection switch circuit 1501 is disposed on the other end side of each of the extending common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p). Namely, the first display/touch detection switch circuit 1500 and the second display/touch detection switch circuit 1501 are disposed such that the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) are interposed between. The first display/touch detection switch circuit 1500 and the second display/touch detection switch circuit 1501 include a plurality of switches which are controlled by control signals VCOMSEL, and a predetermined voltage VCOMDC is supplied to each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) during display periods, while the common electrodes and signal lines SL(i) are electrically connected during touch detection periods. With this arrangement, during the display periods, a predetermined voltage VCOMDC is supplied to the common electrodes extending in the column direction from both ends thereof, so that it is possible to suppress fluctuations in voltages of the common electrodes during the display periods. Further, during the touch detection periods, signal lines and common electrodes are electrically connected in parallel), and at least one transmitting auxiliary electrode that is parallel to and spaced apart from the at least one transmitting main electrode (Paragraph [0170]: first display/touch detection switch circuit 1500 is disposed on one end side of each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) extending along the column, and the second display/touch detection switch circuit 1501 is disposed on the other end side of each of the extending common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p). Namely, the first display/touch detection switch circuit 1500 and the second display/touch detection switch circuit 1501 are disposed such that the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) are interposed between. The first display/touch detection switch circuit 1500 and the second display/touch detection switch circuit 1501 include a plurality of switches which are controlled by control signals VCOMSEL, and a predetermined voltage VCOMDC is supplied to each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) during display periods, while the common electrodes and signal lines SL(i) are electrically connected during touch detection periods. With this arrangement, during the display periods, a predetermined voltage VCOMDC is supplied to the common electrodes extending in the column direction from both ends thereof, so that it is possible to suppress fluctuations in voltages of the common electrodes during the display periods. Further, during the touch detection periods, signal lines and common electrodes are electrically connected in parallel); and a cover window on the touch panel (Fig. 4A; Paragraph [0086]: a polarization plate 401 is formed above the detection electrodes RL(0) to RL(p). In this respect, while such surfaces are denoted as upper surfaces since the example is a case in which the drawing is seen from the upper side as shown in FIG. 4A, it goes without saying that upper surfaces could be lower surfaces or side surfaces when directions of viewing are changed).
Regarding claim 9, Teranishi discloses the touch display device of claim 8, wherein the plurality of touch transmitting electrodes further include at least one auxiliary connecting electrode that connects together the at least one transmitting main electrode and the at least one transmitting auxiliary electrode (Fig. 6; Paragraph [0102]: One liquid crystal display element SPix corresponds to the above-described one sub-pixel. Accordingly, sub-pixels of the three primary colors of R, G and B are composed of three liquid crystal display elements SPix. In FIG. 6, one pixel Pix is formed of three liquid crystal elements SPix disposed successively in the same row and a color is represented by this pixel Pix. Namely, in FIG. 6, the liquid crystal display element SPix indicated as 600R is defined to be a sub-pixel SPix(R) of R(red), the liquid crystal display element SPix indicated as 600G is defined to be a sub-pixel SPix(G) of G(green) and the liquid crystal display element SPix indicated as 600B is defined to be a sub-pixel SPix(B) of B(blue). Therefore, a red color filter CR is provided as a color filter for the sub-pixel SPix(R) indicated as 600R, a green color filter CG is provided as a color filter for the sub-pixel SPix(G) indicated as 600G and a blue color filter CB is provided as a color filter for the sub-pixel SPix(B) indicated as 600B).
Regarding claim 10, Teranishi discloses the touch display device of claim 9, wherein each of the at least one transmitting main electrode, the at least one transmitting auxiliary electrode and the at least one auxiliary connecting electrode has a straight bar shape or a zigzag bar shape (Fig. 2A; Paragraph [0024]: FIG. 2A, each of 12-0 to 12-p indicates a unit buffer provided within the driving electrode driver 12. Namely, driving signals TX(0) to Tx(p) are output from the unit buffers 12-0 to 12-p. Further, each of the 13-0 to 13-p indicates a unit amplifying unit within the touch detection signal amplifying unit 13. In FIG. 2A, pulse signals surrounded by the solid line circle indicate voltage waveforms of driving signals Tsign1 to Tsig4 which are to be the driving signals Tx(0) to Tx(p). While only a voltage waveform of driving signal Tsig1 is shown in FIG. 2A, driving signals Tsig2 to Tsig4 have similar waveforms. In this drawing, a finger is indicated as FG as an external object).
Regarding claim 11, Teranishi discloses the touch display device of claim 9, wherein the at least one transmitting main electrode, the at least one transmitting auxiliary electrode and the at least one auxiliary connecting electrode are disposed on a same layer as each other (Fig. 3B; Paragraph [0085]: FIG. 3B, an insulation layer 301 is further formed on a main surface of signal lines SL(0)0(R), SL(0)0(G) and SL(0)0(B) corresponding to image signals R, G and B and on a main surface of the TFT substrate 300, and the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) are formed on the insulation layer 301. Auxiliary electrodes SM are formed at each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p), and the auxiliary electrodes SM are electrically connected with the common electrodes for achieving reductions in electric resistance of the common electrodes. An insulation layer 302 is formed on the upper surface of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) and the auxiliary electrodes SM, and pixel electrodes LDP are formed on the upper surface of the insulation layer 302. In FIG. 3B, each of CR, CB and CG are color filters, and a liquid crystal layer 303 is interposed between the color filters CR(red), CG(green) and CB(blue) and the insulation layer 302. Here, the pixel electrodes LDP are provided at intersections of the scanning lines and signal lines, and a color filter CR, CG or CB corresponding to each of the pixel electrodes LDP is provided above each of the pixel electrodes LDP. A black matrix BM is provided between the color filters CR, CG and CB; Paragraph [0170]: first display/touch detection switch circuit 1500 is disposed on one end side of each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) extending along the column, and the second display/touch detection switch circuit 1501 is disposed on the other end side of each of the extending common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p). Namely, the first display/touch detection switch circuit 1500 and the second display/touch detection switch circuit 1501 are disposed such that the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) are interposed between. The first display/touch detection switch circuit 1500 and the second display/touch detection switch circuit 1501 include a plurality of switches which are controlled by control signals VCOMSEL, and a predetermined voltage VCOMDC is supplied to each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) during display periods, while the common electrodes and signal lines SL(i) are electrically connected during touch detection periods. With this arrangement, during the display periods, a predetermined voltage VCOMDC is supplied to the common electrodes extending in the column direction from both ends thereof, so that it is possible to suppress fluctuations in voltages of the common electrodes during the display periods. Further, during the touch detection periods, signal lines and common electrodes are electrically connected in parallel).
Regarding claim 12, Teranishi discloses a touch panel comprising: a plurality of touch transmitting electrodes on a substrate (Paragraph [0228]: the driving signals Tsig1 to Tsig4 which are clock signals φ are transmitted to the corresponding signal wirings LTX1 to LTX4 to be supplied to the corresponding common electrodes TL(0) to TL(3). When the driving signals Tsig1 to Tsig4 are supplied to the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(3), changes in the amount of voltage change caused in accordance with whether vicinities thereof are touched or not are generated at the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(3), are transmitted to the external terminals TxP1(IO) to TxP4(IO) via the signal wirings LTX1 to LTX4 and are amplified by the touch detection signal amplifying unit 1601. This makes it possible to detect whether any of the vicinities of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(3) is touched or not); and a plurality of touch receiving electrodes that cross the plurality of touch transmitting electrodes to define a plurality of touch units (Fig. 17; Paragraph [0204]: touch detection signal amplifying unit 1601 receives the detection signals TxD1 to TxD4 from the signal wirings LTX1 to LTX4 via the external terminals TxP1(IO) to TxP4(IO), amplifies changes in electric charge generated depending on whether vicinities of the common electrodes are touched or not as changes in voltage and outputs the signals to the A/D conversion unit 14 shown in FIG. 1. Namely, during this period, the external terminals TxP1(IO) to TxP4(IO) function as input terminals; Paragraph [0253]: In each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(7), the amount of voltage change is generated in accordance with whether vicinities thereof are touched or not upon supply of the driving signals Tsig1 to Tsig4. The generated amount of voltage change is synthesized in the signal wirings LTX1 to LTX4, and the synthesized amount of voltage change is transmitted to the external terminals TxP1(IO) to TxP4(IO) of the semiconductor device for touch. The transmitted amount of voltage change is amplified in the touch detection signal amplifying unit 1601 (FIG. 17). The amplified amount of voltage change is processed in the A/D conversion unit 14 (FIG. 1), the signal processing unit 15 (FIG. 1) and the coordinate extraction unit 16, and the process result is supplied to the control unit 19), wherein the plurality of touch transmitting electrodes include at least one transmitting main electrode (Paragraph [0170]: first display/touch detection switch circuit 1500 is disposed on one end side of each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) extending along the column, and the second display/touch detection switch circuit 1501 is disposed on the other end side of each of the extending common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p). Namely, the first display/touch detection switch circuit 1500 and the second display/touch detection switch circuit 1501 are disposed such that the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) are interposed between. The first display/touch detection switch circuit 1500 and the second display/touch detection switch circuit 1501 include a plurality of switches which are controlled by control signals VCOMSEL, and a predetermined voltage VCOMDC is supplied to each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) during display periods, while the common electrodes and signal lines SL(i) are electrically connected during touch detection periods. With this arrangement, during the display periods, a predetermined voltage VCOMDC is supplied to the common electrodes extending in the column direction from both ends thereof, so that it is possible to suppress fluctuations in voltages of the common electrodes during the display periods. Further, during the touch detection periods, signal lines and common electrodes are electrically connected in parallel), and at least one transmitting auxiliary electrode that is connected to the at least one transmitting main electrode (Paragraph [0170]: first display/touch detection switch circuit 1500 is disposed on one end side of each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) extending along the column, and the second display/touch detection switch circuit 1501 is disposed on the other end side of each of the extending common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p). Namely, the first display/touch detection switch circuit 1500 and the second display/touch detection switch circuit 1501 are disposed such that the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) are interposed between. The first display/touch detection switch circuit 1500 and the second display/touch detection switch circuit 1501 include a plurality of switches which are controlled by control signals VCOMSEL, and a predetermined voltage VCOMDC is supplied to each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) during display periods, while the common electrodes and signal lines SL(i) are electrically connected during touch detection periods. With this arrangement, during the display periods, a predetermined voltage VCOMDC is supplied to the common electrodes extending in the column direction from both ends thereof, so that it is possible to suppress fluctuations in voltages of the common electrodes during the display periods. Further, during the touch detection periods, signal lines and common electrodes are electrically connected in parallel), and wherein a portion of the at least one transmitting main electrode and the at least one transmitting auxiliary electrode connected to each other constitutes a closed loop shape (Fig. 6; Paragraphs [0098]-[0100]: FIG. 6 is a circuit diagram showing a circuit configuration of the liquid crystal panel 2. In the drawing, each of the plurality of SPix shown by one dot chain lines indicates a single liquid crystal display element. The liquid crystal display elements SPix are disposed in a matrix form in the liquid crystal panel 2 and form a liquid crystal element array LCD. The liquid crystal element array LCD includes a plurality of scanning lines GL0 to GLp disposed in each row and extending in the row direction, and signal lines SL(0)0(R), SL(0)0(G), SL(0)0(B) to SL(p)p(R), SL(p)p(G) and SL(p)p(B) disposed in each column and extending in the column direction. The liquid crystal element array LCD further includes common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) disposed in each column and extending in the column direction. FIG. 6 shows a portion of the liquid crystal element array related to scanning lines GL0 to GL2, signal lines SL(0)0(R), SL(0)0(G), SL(0)0(B) to SL(1)0(R), SL(1)0(G), SL(1)0(B) and common electrodes TL(0) and TL(1)… common electrodes TL(0) and TL(1) are shown so as to be disposed in each of the columns in FIG. 6 for ease of explanations, it should be understood that one common electrode is disposed for a plurality of signal lines as explained in FIG. 3A and FIG. 3B. It is of course possible to dispose common electrodes in each of the columns of the liquid crystal element array LCD, as shown in FIG. 6. In any case, each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) is disposed at columns of the liquid crystal element array LCD to be in parallel with the signal lines… Each of the liquid crystal display elements SPix disposed at intersections of rows and columns of the liquid crystal element array LCD includes a thin film transistor Tr formed on the TFT glass substrate 300 and a liquid crystal element LC of which one terminal is connected to a source of the thin film transistor Tr. In the liquid crystal element array LCD, gates of the thin film transistors Tr of a plurality of liquid crystal display elements SPix disposed in the same row are connected to scanning lines disposed in the same row, and drains of the thin film transistors Tr of a plurality of liquid crystal display elements Spix disposed in the same column are connected to scanning lines disposed in the same column. In other words, a plurality of liquid crystal display elements SPix are disposed in a matrix form, scanning lines are disposed in each row, and a plurality of liquid crystal display elements SPix disposed in corresponding rows are connected to the scanning lines. Further, signal lines are disposed in each column and liquid crystal display elements SPix disposed in corresponding columns are connected to the signal lines. The other ends of the liquid crystal elements LC of the plurality of liquid crystal display elements SPix disposed in the same column are connected to common electrodes disposed in the columns).
Regarding claim 13, Teranishi discloses the touch panel of claim 12, wherein the closed loop shape is a quadrangular shape (Fig. 6; Paragraphs [0098]-[0100]: FIG. 6 is a circuit diagram showing a circuit configuration of the liquid crystal panel 2. In the drawing, each of the plurality of SPix shown by one dot chain lines indicates a single liquid crystal display element. The liquid crystal display elements SPix are disposed in a matrix form in the liquid crystal panel 2 and form a liquid crystal element array LCD. The liquid crystal element array LCD includes a plurality of scanning lines GL0 to GLp disposed in each row and extending in the row direction, and signal lines SL(0)0(R), SL(0)0(G), SL(0)0(B) to SL(p)p(R), SL(p)p(G) and SL(p)p(B) disposed in each column and extending in the column direction. The liquid crystal element array LCD further includes common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) disposed in each column and extending in the column direction. FIG. 6 shows a portion of the liquid crystal element array related to scanning lines GL0 to GL2, signal lines SL(0)0(R), SL(0)0(G), SL(0)0(B) to SL(1)0(R), SL(1)0(G), SL(1)0(B) and common electrodes TL(0) and TL(1)… common electrodes TL(0) and TL(1) are shown so as to be disposed in each of the columns in FIG. 6 for ease of explanations, it should be understood that one common electrode is disposed for a plurality of signal lines as explained in FIG. 3A and FIG. 3B. It is of course possible to dispose common electrodes in each of the columns of the liquid crystal element array LCD, as shown in FIG. 6. In any case, each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) is disposed at columns of the liquid crystal element array LCD to be in parallel with the signal lines… Each of the liquid crystal display elements SPix disposed at intersections of rows and columns of the liquid crystal element array LCD includes a thin film transistor Tr formed on the TFT glass substrate 300 and a liquid crystal element LC of which one terminal is connected to a source of the thin film transistor Tr. In the liquid crystal element array LCD, gates of the thin film transistors Tr of a plurality of liquid crystal display elements SPix disposed in the same row are connected to scanning lines disposed in the same row, and drains of the thin film transistors Tr of a plurality of liquid crystal display elements Spix disposed in the same column are connected to scanning lines disposed in the same column. In other words, a plurality of liquid crystal display elements SPix are disposed in a matrix form, scanning lines are disposed in each row, and a plurality of liquid crystal display elements SPix disposed in corresponding rows are connected to the scanning lines. Further, signal lines are disposed in each column and liquid crystal display elements SPix disposed in corresponding columns are connected to the signal lines. The other ends of the liquid crystal elements LC of the plurality of liquid crystal display elements SPix disposed in the same column are connected to common electrodes disposed in the columns).
Regarding claim 14, Teranishi discloses the touch panel of claim 12, wherein each of the at least one transmitting main electrode, and the at least one transmitting auxiliary electrode has a zigzag bar shape (Fig. 2A; Paragraph [0024]: FIG. 2A, each of 12-0 to 12-p indicates a unit buffer provided within the driving electrode driver 12. Namely, driving signals TX(0) to Tx(p) are output from the unit buffers 12-0 to 12-p. Further, each of the 13-0 to 13-p indicates a unit amplifying unit within the touch detection signal amplifying unit 13. In FIG. 2A, pulse signals surrounded by the solid line circle indicate voltage waveforms of driving signals Tsign1 to Tsig4 which are to be the driving signals Tx(0) to Tx(p). While only a voltage waveform of driving signal Tsig1 is shown in FIG. 2A, driving signals Tsig2 to Tsig4 have similar waveforms. In this drawing, a finger is indicated as FG as an external object).
Regarding claim 15, Teranishi discloses the touch panel of claim 12, wherein the plurality of touch transmitting electrodes further includes at least one connecting electrode connected to the at least one transmitting main electrode, wherein at least one transmitting main electrode includes two or more transmitting main electrodes that are connected together via the at least one connecting electrode (Paragraph [0170]: first display/touch detection switch circuit 1500 is disposed on one end side of each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) extending along the column, and the second display/touch detection switch circuit 1501 is disposed on the other end side of each of the extending common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p). Namely, the first display/touch detection switch circuit 1500 and the second display/touch detection switch circuit 1501 are disposed such that the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) are interposed between. The first display/touch detection switch circuit 1500 and the second display/touch detection switch circuit 1501 include a plurality of switches which are controlled by control signals VCOMSEL, and a predetermined voltage VCOMDC is supplied to each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) during display periods, while the common electrodes and signal lines SL(i) are electrically connected during touch detection periods. With this arrangement, during the display periods, a predetermined voltage VCOMDC is supplied to the common electrodes extending in the column direction from both ends thereof, so that it is possible to suppress fluctuations in voltages of the common electrodes during the display periods. Further, during the touch detection periods, signal lines and common electrodes are electrically connected in parallel).
Regarding claim 16, Teranishi discloses the touch panel of claim 15, wherein the at least one transmitting main electrode, the at least one transmitting auxiliary electrode and the at least one connecting electrode are disposed on a same layer as each other (Fig. 3B; Paragraph [0085]: FIG. 3B, an insulation layer 301 is further formed on a main surface of signal lines SL(0)0(R), SL(0)0(G) and SL(0)0(B) corresponding to image signals R, G and B and on a main surface of the TFT substrate 300, and the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) are formed on the insulation layer 301. Auxiliary electrodes SM are formed at each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p), and the auxiliary electrodes SM are electrically connected with the common electrodes for achieving reductions in electric resistance of the common electrodes. An insulation layer 302 is formed on the upper surface of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) and the auxiliary electrodes SM, and pixel electrodes LDP are formed on the upper surface of the insulation layer 302. In FIG. 3B, each of CR, CB and CG are color filters, and a liquid crystal layer 303 is interposed between the color filters CR(red), CG(green) and CB(blue) and the insulation layer 302. Here, the pixel electrodes LDP are provided at intersections of the scanning lines and signal lines, and a color filter CR, CG or CB corresponding to each of the pixel electrodes LDP is provided above each of the pixel electrodes LDP. A black matrix BM is provided between the color filters CR, CG and CB; Paragraph [0170]: first display/touch detection switch circuit 1500 is disposed on one end side of each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) extending along the column, and the second display/touch detection switch circuit 1501 is disposed on the other end side of each of the extending common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p). Namely, the first display/touch detection switch circuit 1500 and the second display/touch detection switch circuit 1501 are disposed such that the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) are interposed between. The first display/touch detection switch circuit 1500 and the second display/touch detection switch circuit 1501 include a plurality of switches which are controlled by control signals VCOMSEL, and a predetermined voltage VCOMDC is supplied to each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) during display periods, while the common electrodes and signal lines SL(i) are electrically connected during touch detection periods. With this arrangement, during the display periods, a predetermined voltage VCOMDC is supplied to the common electrodes extending in the column direction from both ends thereof, so that it is possible to suppress fluctuations in voltages of the common electrodes during the display periods. Further, during the touch detection periods, signal lines and common electrodes are electrically connected in parallel).
Regarding claim 17, Teranishi discloses the touch panel of claim 12, wherein the plurality of touch transmitting electrodes further include at least one connecting electrode that connects together the at least one transmitting main electrode and the at least one transmitting auxiliary electrode (Fig. 6; Paragraph [0102]: One liquid crystal display element SPix corresponds to the above-described one sub-pixel. Accordingly, sub-pixels of the three primary colors of R, G and B are composed of three liquid crystal display elements SPix. In FIG. 6, one pixel Pix is formed of three liquid crystal elements SPix disposed successively in the same row and a color is represented by this pixel Pix. Namely, in FIG. 6, the liquid crystal display element SPix indicated as 600R is defined to be a sub-pixel SPix(R) of R(red), the liquid crystal display element SPix indicated as 600G is defined to be a sub-pixel SPix(G) of G(green) and the liquid crystal display element SPix indicated as 600B is defined to be a sub-pixel SPix(B) of B(blue). Therefore, a red color filter CR is provided as a color filter for the sub-pixel SPix(R) indicated as 600R, a green color filter CG is provided as a color filter for the sub-pixel SPix(G) indicated as 600G and a blue color filter CB is provided as a color filter for the sub-pixel SPix(B) indicated as 600B).
Regarding claim 18, Teranishi discloses the touch panel of claim 17, wherein the at least one transmitting main electrode, the at least one transmitting auxiliary electrode and the at least one connecting electrode are disposed on a same layer as each other (Fig. 3B; Paragraph [0085]: FIG. 3B, an insulation layer 301 is further formed on a main surface of signal lines SL(0)0(R), SL(0)0(G) and SL(0)0(B) corresponding to image signals R, G and B and on a main surface of the TFT substrate 300, and the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) are formed on the insulation layer 301. Auxiliary electrodes SM are formed at each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p), and the auxiliary electrodes SM are electrically connected with the common electrodes for achieving reductions in electric resistance of the common electrodes. An insulation layer 302 is formed on the upper surface of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) and the auxiliary electrodes SM, and pixel electrodes LDP are formed on the upper surface of the insulation layer 302. In FIG. 3B, each of CR, CB and CG are color filters, and a liquid crystal layer 303 is interposed between the color filters CR(red), CG(green) and CB(blue) and the insulation layer 302. Here, the pixel electrodes LDP are provided at intersections of the scanning lines and signal lines, and a color filter CR, CG or CB corresponding to each of the pixel electrodes LDP is provided above each of the pixel electrodes LDP. A black matrix BM is provided between the color filters CR, CG and CB; Paragraph [0170]: first display/touch detection switch circuit 1500 is disposed on one end side of each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) extending along the column, and the second display/touch detection switch circuit 1501 is disposed on the other end side of each of the extending common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p). Namely, the first display/touch detection switch circuit 1500 and the second display/touch detection switch circuit 1501 are disposed such that the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) are interposed between. The first display/touch detection switch circuit 1500 and the second display/touch detection switch circuit 1501 include a plurality of switches which are controlled by control signals VCOMSEL, and a predetermined voltage VCOMDC is supplied to each of the common electrodes TL(0) to TL(p) during display periods, while the common electrodes and signal lines SL(i) are electrically connected during touch detection periods. With this arrangement, during the display periods, a predetermined voltage VCOMDC is supplied to the common electrodes extending in the column direction from both ends thereof, so that it is possible to suppress fluctuations in voltages of the common electrodes during the display periods. Further, during the touch detection periods, signal lines and common electrodes are electrically connected in parallel).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 19 would be allowable over the prior art of record since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly disclose or suggest a touch panel wherein the at least one receiving connecting electrode is disposed between the first transmitting main electrode and the second transmitting main electrode and is not disposed between the second transmitting main electrode and the third transmitting main electrode, as presented in the environment of the remaining limitations of claim 19. It is noted that the closest prior art, Teranishi, shows wherein the at least one transmitting main electrode includes a first transmitting main electrode, a second transmitting main electrode and a third transmitting main electrode, and the at least one transmitting auxiliary electrode includes a first auxiliary electrode, a second auxiliary electrode and a third auxiliary electrode connected to the first transmitting main electrode, the second transmitting main electrode and the third transmitting main electrode, respectively, wherein the plurality of touch receiving electrodes include a plurality of receiving main electrodes that are connected together via at least one receiving connecting electrode. However, the Teranishi fails to disclose or suggest wherein the at least one receiving connecting electrode is disposed between the first transmitting main electrode and the second transmitting main electrode and is not disposed between the second transmitting main electrode and the third transmitting main electrode.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW SALVUCCI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613