DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 21-31 and 37-40) in the reply filed on 24 June 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 32-36 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 24 June 2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-31 and 37-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,240,085 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims recite a broader version of the same limitations presented in the ‘085 Patent. As such, the claims of the ‘085 Patent read on the instant claims.
Regarding claim 21, the limitations of this claim are read on by claim 1 of the ‘085 Patent.
Regarding claim 22, the limitations of this claim are read on by claim 2 of the ‘085 Patent.
Regarding claim 23, the limitations of this claim are read on by claim 3 of the ‘085 Patent.
Regarding claim 24, the limitations of this claim are read on by claim 4 of the ‘085 Patent.
Regarding claim 25, the limitations of this claim are read on by claim 5 of the ‘085 Patent.
Regarding claim 26, the limitations of this claim are read on by claim 6 of the ‘085 Patent.
Regarding claim 27, the limitations of this claim are read on by claim 7 of the ‘085 Patent.
Regarding claim 28, the limitations of this claim are read on by claim 8 of the ‘085 Patent.
Regarding claim 29, the limitations of this claim are read on by claim 9 of the ‘085 Patent.
Regarding claim 30, the limitations of this claim are read on by claim 10 of the ‘085 Patent.
Regarding claim 31, the limitations of this claim are read on by claim 11 of the ‘085 Patent.
Regarding claim 37, the limitations of this claim are read on by claim 12 (or claims 1 and 10) of the ‘085 Patent.
Regarding claim 38, the limitations of this claim are read on by claim 13 of the ‘085 Patent.
Regarding claim 39, the limitations of this claim are read on by claim 11 of the ‘085 Patent.
Regarding claim 40, the limitations of this claim are read on by claim 14 of the ‘085 Patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-31 and 37-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dey, IV et al. (US 2017/0246732 A1) hereinafter referred to Dey in view of Ely (WO 2008/139216 A2).
Regarding claim 1, Dey discloses a power tool (10) comprising:
a housing (fig. 1; #20, 25, 30);
a brushless direct current (DC) motor (#15 – paragraph 0052) within the housing (figs. 1 and 21A), wherein the brushless DC motor includes a rotor (paragraphs 0056, 0058) and a stator (paragraph 0058 – “stator coils”), wherein the rotor is coupled to a motor shaft (fig. 21A-B – shaft extending between #15 and #77 and/or shaft connecting #77 to #375 in fig. 21B; see also shaft connecting #15 to impact mechanism #67 in fig. 1) to produce a rotational output (paragraphs 0053, 0058, 0079);
an impact mechanism (#67, fig. 1; #300, fig. 14) including:
a hammer (#75, fig. 1; #375, fig. 14) coupled to the motor shaft (paragraphs 0053, 0058, 0079), and
an anvil (#70, fig. 1; #370, fig. 14) including anvil lugs (90, fig. 1; also 390a, 390b, fig. 14) configured to receive impacts from the hammer (paragraphs 0053, 0079);
an output drive device (#40 and longitudinal shaft of anvil #70, 370) including a shaft (#40 and longitudinal shaft of anvil #70, 370; figs. 1, 14, 18-19 and 21) coupled to the anvil and configured to rotate to perform a task (paragraphs 0053, 0079); and
a position sensor (#305; It is noted that the teachings of the methods utilized by positions sensors #130 and #405 are cited as being applicable to those of #305 in paragraphs 0081 and 0082) including:
an inductive sensor (#305a, 305b and/or 305c, paragraph 0080; see also #130, paragraph 0056 and 0081 for related teachings and #405 paragraphs 0082, 0083 for related teachings) positioned proximate the anvil lugs (paragraph 0079, fig. 14),
a first transmitting circuit trace (paragraph 0080 – “The three inductive sensors 305a, 305b, 305c are positioned on an annular structure (i.e., a printed circuit board (PCB)… Since the two protrusions 390a, 390b are stationary relative to the anvil 370, the three inductive sensors 305a, 305b, 305c output information regarding the rotational position of the anvil 370”; emphasis added. The trace of the PCB that sends the signal out towards the controller 135.), and
a first receiving circuit trace, wherein the inductive sensor is configured to inject a signal on the first transmitting circuit trace and detect a first output signal on the first receiving circuit trace to determine a position of the anvil (paragraph 0080 – “The three inductive sensors 305a, 305b, and 305c can detect, by detecting a change in their electromagnetic field, the passing of the two protrusions 390a, 390b of the engagement structure 385 of the anvil 370, and may, in some instances, be referred to as anvil position sensors or anvil sensors… Therefore, each inductive sensor 305a, 305b, 305c outputs a different signal to the controller 135 based on where along the length of the inductive sensor 305a, 350b, 305c each of the protrusions 390a, 390b is positioned” emphasis added. The trace of the PCB connected to the controller 135 that receives the signal); and
a controller (135) connected to the position sensor (paragraph 0080 – “each inductive sensor 305a, 305b, 305c outputs a different signal to the controller 135 based on where along the length of the inductive sensor 305a, 350b, 305c each of the protrusions 390a, 390b is positioned”), the controller configured to:
control the brushless DC motor based on the drive angle of the anvil (paragraphs 0080-0081; fig. 4 - #153, 155, 170; fig. 5 - #180, 185, 190, 215; fig. 7 - #225, 230, 240; fig. 9 - #245, 250, 265; fig. 30 - #1015, 1020, 1025; fig. 31 - #1120, 1130, 1135).
Dey is deemed to disclose a first transmitting circuit trace and a first receiving circuit trace in that it discloses a PCB which both transmits signals from the sensors and receives signals at the controller. Wherein the Applicant may argue that traces are not part of a PCB, the Office further points to Ely.
Ely teaches position sensor (fig. 1) using a PCB (#9; figs. 8a-8b) which makes use of multiple traces (13-2 and 13-1; pg. 7 line 36 – pg. 9 line 38) to transmit and receive signals.
Given the teachings of Ely, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify the teachings of Dey to include multiple traces for transmitting and receiving information. Ely teaches how traces were a common means on electrically connecting sensors to other components to as to transmit and receive data that was being gathered. Traces were a well-known means of transmitting and receiving signals which were easy to construct and reliable for doing so.
Regarding claim 22, Dey discloses wherein, to calculate the drive angle, the controller (135) is configured to:
determine a first rotational position of the anvil upon a first impact between the hammer and the anvil based on the first output signal,
determine a second rotational position of the anvil upon a second impact between the hammer and the anvil based on the first output signal, and
determine a drive angle experienced by the output drive device based on the first rotational position and the second rotational position (paragraph 0080 – “Therefore, each inductive sensor 305a, 305b, 305c outputs a different signal to the controller 135 based on where along the length of the inductive sensor 305a, 350b, 305c each of the protrusions 390a, 390b is positioned… When a plurality of position measurements for the anvil 370 are analyzed over time, other measurements regarding the anvil 370 can be derived (e.g., velocity, acceleration, etc.). Therefore, the output position sensor 305 provides information that the controller 135 of the power tool 10 uses to directly determine the position, velocity, and/or acceleration of the anvil 370”; see also paragraph 0081 referring to figs. 3-12 and methods of paragraphs 0065-0069, 0071, 0075; fig. 4, #153, 155, 160, 165, 170; fig. 5, #179, 180, 185, 205; fig. 11; additionally, fig. 30, #1015, 1020, 1025; fig. 31 - #1120, 1130, 1135).
Regarding claim 23, Dey discloses wherein, to determine the drive angle experienced by the output drive device based on the first rotational position and the second rotational position, the controller is configured to:
determine a difference between the second rotational position and the first rotational position,
subtract a predetermined angle from the difference between the second rotational position and the first rotational position, and
determine the drive angle experienced by the output drive device based on the difference between the second rotational position and the first rotational position subtracted by the predetermined angle (paragraph 0080 – “Therefore, each inductive sensor 305a, 305b, 305c outputs a different signal to the controller 135 based on where along the length of the inductive sensor 305a, 350b, 305c each of the protrusions 390a, 390b is positioned. When one of the protrusions 390a, 390b is positioned closer to the first end 380 of the sensor 305a, 305b, 305c, the inductive sensor 305a, 305b, 305c generates a larger output signal. On the other hand, when one of the protrusions 390a, 390b is positioned closer to the second end 382 of the sensor 305a, 305b, 305c, the sensor 305a, 305b, 305c outputs a smaller output signal. When a plurality of position measurements for the anvil 370 are analyzed over time, other measurements regarding the anvil 370 can be derived (e.g., velocity, acceleration, etc.). Therefore, the output position sensor 305 provides information that the controller 135 of the power tool 10 uses to directly determine the position, velocity, and/or acceleration of the anvil 370”).
Regarding claim 24, Dey discloses wherein the controller (135) is configured to: control the brushless DC motor (15) based on the drive angle experienced by the output drive device by adjusting a speed (paragraphs 0066, 0071, 0073) of the brushless DC motor based on the drive angle experienced by the output drive device (paragraph 0081; fig. 4 - #153, 155, 170; fig. 5 - #180, 185, 190, 215; fig. 7 - #225, 230, 240; fig. 9 - #245, 250, 265; fig. 30 - #1015, 1020, 1025; fig. 31 - #1120, 1130, 1135).
Regarding claim 25, Dey discloses wherein, to control the brushless DC motor based on the drive angle, the controller is configured to: determine a rotation count by accumulating a value for each calculated drive angle of the anvil below a drive angle threshold (#155, 190, 250, 1020, 1130) of a plurality of calculated drive angles of the anvil, and reduce a speed (paragraphs 0066, 0071; also #1135) of the brushless DC motor in response to determining that the rotation count is greater than a rotation threshold (paragraph 0081; fig. 4 - #153, 155, 170; fig. 5 - #180, 185, 190, 215; fig. 7 - #225, 230, 240; fig. 9 - #245, 250, 265; fig. 30 - #1015, 1020, 1025; fig. 31 - #1120, 1130, 1135).
Regarding claim 26, Dey discloses a transceiver (#146; paragraph 0061) coupled to the controller (#135; fig. 3), wherein the controller is configured to receive, wirelessly from an external device (#147; fig. 3; paragraph 0061) via the transceiver, the rotation threshold (paragraph 0061 – “The external device 147 generates a graphical user interface (see, e.g., FIG. 10) that receives various control parameters from a user… The graphical user interface receives selections from a user specifying which features are included in each mode profile and defining the parameter values for the selected features… the controller 135 can convert into absolute values for controlling the operation of the power tool 10.”; #155, 190, 230, 260, 1020, 1130).
Regarding claim 27, Dey discloses wherein, to control the brushless DC motor based on the drive angle, the controller is configured to: determine whether the drive angle of the anvil is less than a drive angle threshold (#155, 190, 230, 250, 1020, 1130), and reduce a speed (paragraphs 0066, 0071, 0073; also #1135) of the brushless DC motor in response to determining that the drive angle of the anvil is less than the drive angle threshold (paragraph 0081; fig. 4 - #153, 155, 170; fig. 5 - #180, 185, 190, 215; fig. 7 - #225, 230, 240; fig. 9 - #245, 250, 265; fig. 30 - #1015, 1020, 1025; fig. 31 - #1120, 1130, 1135).
Regarding claim 28, Dey discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: determine whether the drive angle of the anvil is less than a drive angle threshold (#155; 190), increment an impact counter (#160; 205) for a detected impact in response to determining that the drive angle of the anvil is less than the drive angle threshold, determine whether the impact counter has reached an impact counter threshold (#165; 210), and reduce a speed (#170, paragraph 0066; #215) of the brushless DC motor in response to determining that the impact counter has reached the impact counter threshold (paragraph 0081; fig. 4 and paragraphs 0064-0067; fig. 5).
Regarding claim 29, Dey discloses a transceiver (#146; paragraph 0061) coupled to the controller (#135; fig. 3), wherein the controller is configured to receive, wirelessly from an external device (#147; fig. 3; paragraph 0061) via the transceiver, a finishing speed (paragraph 0061 – “The external device 147 generates a graphical user interface (see, e.g., FIG. 10) that receives various control parameters from a user… The graphical user interface receives selections from a user specifying which features are included in each mode profile and defining the parameter values for the selected features… the controller 135 can convert into absolute values for controlling the operation of the power tool 10.”; #170, 215, 265; fig. 10 – “Speed (RPM)”; #1135), and wherein the controller, to reduce the speed of the brushless DC motor in response to determining that the impact counter has reached the impact counter threshold, is configured to reduce the speed of the brushless DC motor from a first speed to the finishing speed (paragraphs 0066, 0069, 0119).
Regarding claim 30, Dey as modified by Ely above discloses wherein the position sensor (Dey - 305) further comprises: a second receiving circuit trace (Dey – paragraph 0080, printed circuit for any of #305a, 305b or 305c not used for first transmitting circuit trace in parent claim; Ely – figs. 8a-8b, #13-2, 13-1; pg. 7 line 36 – pg. 9 line 38), wherein the inductive sensor is configured to: detect a second output signal on the second receiving circuit trace, and determine the position of the anvil based on the first output signal and the second output signal (paragraph 0080 – “each inductive sensor 305a, 305b, 305c outputs a different signal to the controller 135 based on where along the length of the inductive sensor 305a, 350b, 305c each of the protrusions 390a, 390b is positioned”).
Regarding claim 31, Dey as modified by Ely above discloses a first anvil lug (Dey - 390a) overlaps the first receiving circuit trace (Ely – figs. 8a-8b, #13-2, 13-1; pg. 7 line 36 – pg. 9 line 38) and the second receiving circuit trace circuit (Ely – figs. 8a-8b, #13-2, 13-1; pg. 7 line 36 – pg. 9 line 38) during a first portion of a rotation path of the anvil, and a second anvil lug (Dey - 390b) that overlaps the first receiving circuit trace and the second receiving circuit trace circuit during a second portion of the rotation path of the anvil (Dey - paragraph 0080 – “Therefore, each inductive sensor 305a, 305b, 305c outputs a different signal to the controller 135 based on where along the length of the inductive sensor 305a, 350b, 305c each of the protrusions 390a, 390b is positioned. When one of the protrusions 390a, 390b is positioned closer to the first end 380 of the sensor 305a, 305b, 305c, the inductive sensor 305a, 305b, 305c generates a larger output signal. On the other hand, when one of the protrusions 390a, 390b is positioned closer to the second end 382 of the sensor 305a, 305b, 305c, the sensor 305a, 305b, 305c outputs a smaller output signal.”).
Regarding claim 37, Dey discloses an impact power tool (10) comprising:
a housing (fig. 1; #20, 25, 30);
a brushless direct current (DC) motor (#15 – paragraph 0052) within the housing (figs. 1 and 21A), wherein the brushless DC motor includes a rotor (paragraphs 0056, 0058) and a stator (paragraph 0058 – “stator coils”), wherein the rotor is coupled to a motor shaft (fig. 21A-B – shaft extending between #15 and #77 and/or shaft connecting #77 to #375 in fig. 21B; see also shaft connecting #15 to impact mechanism #67 in fig. 1) to produce a rotational output (paragraphs 0053, 0058, 0079);
an impact mechanism (#67, fig. 1; #300, fig. 14) including:
a hammer (#75, fig. 1; #375, fig. 14) connected to the motor shaft (paragraphs 0053, 0058, 0079), and
an anvil (#70, fig. 1; #370, fig. 14) including anvil lugs (90, fig. 1; also 390a, 390b, fig. 14) configured to receive impacts from the hammer (paragraphs 0053, 0079);
an output drive device (#40 and longitudinal shaft of anvil #70, 370) including a shaft (#40 and longitudinal shaft of anvil #70, 370; figs. 1, 14, 18-19 and 21) coupled to the anvil and configured to rotate to perform a task (paragraph 0053); and
a position sensor (#305; It is noted that the teachings of the methods utilized by positions sensors #130 and #405 are cited as being applicable to those of #305 in paragraphs 0081 and 0082) including:
an inductive sensor (#305a, 305b and/or 305c, paragraph 0080; see also #130, paragraph 0056 and 0081 for related teachings and #405 paragraphs 0082, 0083 for related teachings) positioned proximate the anvil lugs (paragraph 0079, fig. 14),
a first transmitting circuit trace (paragraph 0080 – “The three inductive sensors 305a, 305b, 305c are positioned on an annular structure (i.e., a printed circuit board (PCB)… Since the two protrusions 390a, 390b are stationary relative to the anvil 370, the three inductive sensors 305a, 305b, 305c output information regarding the rotational position of the anvil 370”; emphasis added. The trace of the PCB that sends the signal out towards the controller 135.), and
a first receiving circuit trace, wherein the inductive sensor is configured to inject a signal on the first transmitting circuit trace and detect a first output signal on the first receiving circuit trace (paragraph 0080 – “The three inductive sensors 305a, 305b, and 305c can detect, by detecting a change in their electromagnetic field, the passing of the two protrusions 390a, 390b of the engagement structure 385 of the anvil 370, and may, in some instances, be referred to as anvil position sensors or anvil sensors… Therefore, each inductive sensor 305a, 305b, 305c outputs a different signal to the controller 135 based on where along the length of the inductive sensor 305a, 350b, 305c each of the protrusions 390a, 390b is positioned” emphasis added. The trace of the PCB connected to the controller 135 that receives the signal); and
a controller (135) coupled to the position sensor (paragraph 0080 – “each inductive sensor 305a, 305b, 305c outputs a different signal to the controller 135 based on where along the length of the inductive sensor 305a, 350b, 305c each of the protrusions 390a, 390b is positioned”) and configured to:
receive, from the position sensor, a first position signal from the position sensor at a first time (paragraph 0080 – “When a plurality of position measurements for the anvil 370 are analyzed over time”),
receive a second position signal from the position sensor at a second time (paragraph 0080 – “When a plurality of position measurements for the anvil 370 are analyzed over time”),
calculate a position of the anvil based on the first position signal and the second position signal (paragraph 0080 – “Therefore, each inductive sensor 305a, 305b, 305c outputs a different signal to the controller 135 based on where along the length of the inductive sensor 305a, 350b, 305c each of the protrusions 390a, 390b is positioned. When one of the protrusions 390a, 390b is positioned closer to the first end 380 of the sensor 305a, 305b, 305c, the inductive sensor 305a, 305b, 305c generates a larger output signal. On the other hand, when one of the protrusions 390a, 390b is positioned closer to the second end 382 of the sensor 305a, 305b, 305c, the sensor 305a, 305b, 305c outputs a smaller output signal. When a plurality of position measurements for the anvil 370 are analyzed over time, other measurements regarding the anvil 370 can be derived (e.g., velocity, acceleration, etc.). Therefore, the output position sensor 305 provides information that the controller 135 of the power tool 10 uses to directly determine the position, velocity, and/or acceleration of the anvil 370”),
control the brushless DC motor based on the position of the anvil (paragraph 0081; fig. 4 - #153, 155, 170; fig. 5 - #180, 185, 190, 215; fig. 7 - #225, 230, 240; fig. 9 - #245, 250, 265; fig. 30 - #1015, 1020, 1025; fig. 31 - #1120, 1130, 1135).
Dey is deemed to disclose a first transmitting circuit trace and a first receiving circuit trace in that it discloses a PCB which both transmits signals from the sensors and receives signals at the controller. Wherein the Applicant may argue that traces are not part of a PCB, the Office further points to Ely.
Ely teaches position sensor (fig. 1) using a PCB (#9; figs. 8a-8b) which makes use of multiple traces (13-2 and 13-1; pg. 7 line 36 – pg. 9 line 38) to transmit and receive signals.
Given the teachings of Ely, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify the teachings of Dey to include multiple traces for transmitting and receiving information. Ely teaches how traces were a common means on electrically connecting sensors to other components to as to transmit and receive data that was being gathered. Traces were a well-known means of transmitting and receiving signals which were easy to construct and reliable for doing so.
Regarding claim 38, Dey as modified by Ely above discloses wherein the position sensor (Dey - 305) includes: a second receiving circuit trace (Dey – paragraph 0080, printed circuit for any of #305a, 305b or 305c not used for first transmitting circuit trace in parent claim; Ely – figs. 8a-8b, #13-2, 13-1; pg. 7 line 36 – pg. 9 line 38), wherein the inductive sensor is configured to: detect a second output signal on the second receiving circuit trace, and determine the position of the anvil based on the first output signal and the second output signal (paragraph 0080 – “each inductive sensor 305a, 305b, 305c outputs a different signal to the controller 135 based on where along the length of the inductive sensor 305a, 350b, 305c each of the protrusions 390a, 390b is positioned”).
Regarding claim 39, Dey as modified by Ely disclosese a first anvil lug (Dey - 390a) overlaps the first receiving circuit trace (Ely – figs. 8a-8b, #13-2, 13-1; pg. 7 line 36 – pg. 9 line 38) and the second receiving circuit trace circuit (Ely – figs. 8a-8b, #13-2, 13-1; pg. 7 line 36 – pg. 9 line 38) during a first portion of a rotation path of the anvil, and a second anvil lug (Dey - 390b) that overlaps the first receiving circuit trace and the second receiving circuit trace circuit during a second portion of the rotation path of the anvil (Dey - paragraph 0080 – “Therefore, each inductive sensor 305a, 305b, 305c outputs a different signal to the controller 135 based on where along the length of the inductive sensor 305a, 350b, 305c each of the protrusions 390a, 390b is positioned. When one of the protrusions 390a, 390b is positioned closer to the first end 380 of the sensor 305a, 305b, 305c, the inductive sensor 305a, 305b, 305c generates a larger output signal. On the other hand, when one of the protrusions 390a, 390b is positioned closer to the second end 382 of the sensor 305a, 305b, 305c, the sensor 305a, 305b, 305c outputs a smaller output signal.”).
Regarding claim 40, Dey discloses wherein, to control the brushless DC motor based on the position of the anvil (paragraph 0081; fig. 4 - #153, 155, 170; fig. 5 - #180, 185, 190, 215; fig. 7 - #225, 230, 240; fig. 9 - #245, 250, 265; fig. 30 - #1015, 1020, 1025; fig. 31 - #1120, 1130, 1135), the controller is configured to reduce a speed (paragraphs 0066, 0071; also #1135) of the brushless DC motor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References cited. The art of record not relied upon generally pertains to electric controls of hand impact tools as exemplified by Dey, IV et al. (US 2017/0173768).
/ANDREW M TECCO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731